Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Christ stopped in Eboli
It is a wonderful book, I could read it over and over and see something different.
It really depicts life in Italy in those times.
Published 4 months ago by roy parry

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is not the Basilicata I know
Mr. Levi is certainly a gifted writer, and while I do not doubt the veracity of this political prisoner, his depiction of the people, culture, and geography of Basilicata (formerly Lucania) during the Italian facist period misrepresents the region and the people. The small corner of the rough country from which he draws his experiences is not the Basilicata that I...
Published on Dec 29 1999 by James Martino


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Christ stopped in Eboli, March 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Christ Stopped At Eboli (Paperback)
It is a wonderful book, I could read it over and over and see something different.
It really depicts life in Italy in those times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Southern Italy: A country within a country, Dec 25 1999
This a memoir of Carlo Levi`s experience as a political exile during the fascist regime, at the outset of the Abyssinian war. The setting is a remote village in Lucania, southern Italy, a region characterized by poverty, malaria, completely forgotten and neglected by the State. Levi's artistic sensitivity describes the people, the landscape, with an acute human feeling. This is the other side of Italy, the reverse of the rich, famous, well-developed North. After reading this book, it is easy to understand why so many Italians were tempted to emigrate to the American continent. Levi's ability to socialize and understand the peasant mentality is outstanding; it's a merit to his personality. The fact that he did not isolate himself from the people around the village, regardless of social and cultural level, enable him, after his realease, to write this book with a deep understanding of the social, political, religious, economical, and cultural problems of Southern Italy. The style is simple, direct, and elegant. Why Christ, why Eboli? the author only wants to say that the "civilized world" of Christianity has not reached this region of Italy, be it in Eboli or any other village of the South. An interesting book, written by someone whose main occupation in life was not be a writer. Levi was trained as a doctor, and as a "social doctor" he brush-stroked his thoughts into this memoir.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Book Painted with Words, April 2 2004
This brilliant book is an account of Carlo Levi's banishment to a remote village in southern Italy for his opposition to Fascism in 1935. The title may be a bit misleading: this book is not about an incarnation of the deity that alighted in a place called Eboli. Eboli, a town of no consequence to the action of the book, is, rather, the farthest south Christianity (read: civilization) got. Gagliano, the town in which Levi arrives to carry out his exile, is as far south from Eboli as Eboli is from Naples, and is the end of the road in more than one respect.
In Gagliano, Levi lives a somewhat enviable (for an exile, at least) existence painting, writing, and, as a doctor, administering to the sick and injured. But the book is not about Levi's good works among the peasants. Rather, it is a series of sublime sketches about a people so grim, so primitive, so impoverished, so imbued with superstition and pagan ritual (Gagliano has a village priest, but he's drunk most of the time) that they seem an alien species. Levi doesn't so much understand them as observe them and paint them with words.
Levi's artistic gifts extend to his descriptions, and phrases such as "Grassano...is a streak of white at the summit of a bare hill" make the book come alive. It is clear that Frances Frenaye, the translator, deserves no small credit in this respect. This is a haunting work, and one of the most memorable books I have ever enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gagliano as It Was, April 22 2002
By 
John Jones (Richmond, Virginia) - See all my reviews
Carlo Levi as a gifted artist wrote about what he saw. It must be objective for its virtual universal acceptance by scholars and other readers. Certainly it is artistically and beautifully presented. It is an example of objective aesthetics.
For Mr. Martino to advise us in his earlier review that Gagliano and its ilk are not the same as in the 1940's and are now nice places with mature, decent, religious people, is a bit superfluous. Who cares? We are only interested in what was contemporary with Carlo Levi's being there, not what it is like now. Apparently Mr. Martino feels that Levi's book competes with his little travel narrative.
Christ Stopped at Eboli is a classic and an educational fun read. Perhaps it will help those in the future fear fascism enough to prevent it from rearing its ugly head.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Year in exile, Nov. 7 2001
This is a memoir of a year spent in exile in 1930s facist Italy. Carlo Levi ,anti-facist, is exiled to a small poor village in southern Italy. When the villagers say Christ stopped at Eboli, a village located northeast of theirs, they mean that civilization never made it this far. Levi's prose descriptions are smooth and mostly free of authorial intrusion. He turns what could be a grim situation, after all he is a prisoner in the village, into a cherished part of his life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hidden underneath the bark of the tree, March 28 2001
By 
John C. Hancock (Provo, Utah United States) - See all my reviews
Although he possessed rhetorical power and artistic proficiency, the true strength of Levi's early work Christ Stopped at Eboli flows from his capacity to love. Certainly he could not succor people as Christ did. Nevertheless, Levi helped to impart at least a portion of divine charity to the people of Lucania. Much has changed since the era of fascism, but there is something lasting in Levi's descriptions of Southern Italy. In some ways this portrait in prose is a caustic criticism of political negligence and indifference, but more precisely it is a profound meditation on the ubiquitous longing for human sympathy. Out of this meditation there arises not only an appreciation for the farmers of Gagliano and the surrounding villages, but also a hope that Christ did not stop at Eboli. In other words, Christ descended below all things; the descension of the political prisoner was simply a metaphor for the suffering and compassion of Christ. Christ Stopped at Eboli will satiate the curiosity of anyone who is interested in Italian culture. I recommend this book to such readers, and to anyone who is human.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christ may not have stopped here but I'm glad Levi did, Feb. 14 2001
I was provoked to submit my comments as I can't agree with the review "This is not the Basilicata I know." Levi is exiled to the remote region of Lucania in Italy about sixty years ago - the book is not about contemporary conditions there. But it is a sensitive portrayal of a particular time and place. Instead of dwelling on the misfortune of his exile, Levi describes his sojourn there with a painter's eye and a poet's heart. One of my favourite books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite, March 20 2000
By 
saliero (NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
I think this is my favourite book. It is certainly one I wouldpack amongst my Top Ten for life on a desert island. It is about theindomitability of human spirit. It is about attempted repression and inhumanity of fascism, yet it is about the small wonders and joys that are human life. Eboli, the nearest major town is the 'last outpost' of civilization - beyond which are 'heathens', untouched by Christ, or salvation. Of course that is a metaphor, not reality, for our little village has the same corrupt and stifling religiosity as elsewhere.
This is one of those personal accounts that makes it possible to begin to understand the enormity of the outrage of political repression, and ultimately war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderfully evocative and yet matter of fact, March 21 1999
By A Customer
I bought this book years ago, but somehow never got around to read it. Finally I picked it up and read it on the tube, on the way to work. The writing is elegant and simple. The characters are painted in a few words, and it is easy to imagine them. Now that I've read it, I wonder what happened next - what happened to the author. I empathise with his sense of loss. Anyone who likes to savour good writing should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Moving..different, Nov. 21 1998
By A Customer
Truly a moving and a unique book. The setting is the narrowest of venues, an almost forgotten village in southern Italy, during the 1930's. A physician, internally exiled by the Fascist government, experiences a culture that in many respects is pre-Christian (hence the title.)
Almost without plot, the strength of the book is in the wonderfully evocative descriptions of the people and landscape. One of the best written books I have ever read - remarkable considering the author was not a professional writer. The translator also deserves credit for helping to create so many memorable passages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Christ Stopped At Eboli
Christ Stopped At Eboli by Carlo Levi (Paperback - Jan. 12 2006)
CDN$ 15.50 CDN$ 12.27
Usually ships in 3 to 6 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews