Customer Reviews


1,789 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,149)
4 star:
 (324)
3 star:
 (156)
2 star:
 (99)
1 star:
 (61)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling read
This is one of the best books I have ever read in my entire life. It is tied for the best and favorite with McCrae’s explosive, funny, and shocking “A Tour of Southern Homes and Gardens.” Memoirs of A Geisha is a wonderful book that captivates the reader from page one. My only disappointment with the book is that it wasn't longer. When's the...
Published on March 11 2006 by Fanny

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Inaccurate portrayal, but written to please the reader
So everyone has talked and talked the life out of this book. And I myself have read it more than once. However, there is a lot of inaccuracy and since it is my culture I may notice it more than others. I think it is perhaps worth noting that the author is a very young individual and may not have grasped the true japanese culture or moreover the even more complex and...
Published on Jan. 2 2006


‹ Previous | 1 2179 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling read, March 11 2006
By 
This review is from: Memoirs of a Geisha (Paperback)
This is one of the best books I have ever read in my entire life. It is tied for the best and favorite with McCrae’s explosive, funny, and shocking “A Tour of Southern Homes and Gardens.” Memoirs of A Geisha is a wonderful book that captivates the reader from page one. My only disappointment with the book is that it wasn't longer. When's the last time THAT happened to you? The book was 428 pages I wish it could have been 1,000.

Also, I read the book too quickly. It is a book that people should read a chapter at a time, reflect, and read the next chapter the next day. But, unfortunately, a book this good will never allow you to put it down.

Memoirs of a Geshia takes a look at a girl who is stolen from her home at age 9 and sold. She is abused, ridiculed, and humiliated throughout her journey. She has to learn the many skills of becoming a Geisha. It is a book that is truly excellent and wonderful. It is probably one of the best books I have ever read. I would only recommend this book to more mature audiences. It does contain some graphic and sexually paragraphs. However, these paragraphs add to the theme and the events of the book. Without them, you have a different book. It is truly a wonderful novel and these areas and themes only add to it. You must, must, must also try the “Tour of Southern Homes and Gardens” for another look into another world—this time, the Southern United States as you’ve never seen them before!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Portrayal of Geisha Life, Nov. 12 2008
This review is from: Memoirs of a Geisha (Paperback)
Arthur Golden spent a fair amount of time researching this book, speaking to geishas whose stories in one form or another appear here. The book basically presents the biography of one geisha who through often very harsh events in her life transforms herself from the daughter of a fisherman into one of the most famous geishas of Japan. Both she and her sister are thrown into geisha houses to be taught this profession although her sister falls quickly into misfortune. Geisha houses demand strict discipline and service and have firm hierarchies that allow the use of power either purposefully or with cruelty. Jealousies and rivalries threaten the course of this woman. Once she achieves her goal, there remain tough decisions about whom she will serve. Economics and survival prevail over personal preferences and sentiment. The stability of her career is precarious as numerous events threaten to destroy it as they have for other geishas who are then often dragged into lives of prostitution. The intrusion of WWII presents other unexpected challenges and compromises to cope with shortages and lean times. A vivid and captivating book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Geishas are not Prostitutes, Jan. 5 2004
By 
Andrea (Boise, Id USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Memoirs of a Geisha (Hardcover)
Im Japanese, I was born in Japan, and still am very familiar with the language. So throughout the years I have come across the word Geisha, and I took high interest in this book. I have been told that Geisha were prostitutes but my Japanese mother begged a differ and recommended this book for me. It takes place in a little fishing village on the sea of Japan called "Yoroido" Chiyo-san is the youngest of a fisherman's daughter, she was very unique for she had these breath-taking gray-blue eyes. Her older sister Satsu wasnt anything to look at. Their mother was dying and there father was in no condition to raise children alone. So a wealthy man by the name of Ichiro Tanaka, persuaded their father to sell the girls. Chiyo was sold to an Okiya where geisha were trained and lived and Satsu was sold to a whore house. The girls loose contact with eachother, and lived on their lives as they were bought for. Chiyo went to school for she was in training to be a Geisha. Satsu ran away from the whore house and is never seen or heard of ever again. As the years pass, Chiyo turns into this beautiful young apprentice geisha and she even falls in love with the wealthy chairman of Iwamura electric company, but geisha are not allowed to have husbands or boyfriends, unless they buy that geisha. This whole story is told through her eyes, and all the hardships she goes through in order to become a geisha. She didnt have a choice whether or not she could or could not be a geisha, she was forced. Geisha are "artisan" they entertain a crowd of men through dancing and playing their shamisen which is a japanese guitar. She has an older sister geisha who looks after her and teaches her more about entertaining men, that was Mameha. She makes Chiyo into a Geisha whos name turns into Sayuri. Sayuri's virginity is sold to the highest bidder and then a man buys her for solo personal night time hours in exchange that he pays for all of her expenses. These are just a few experiences that she has to face in order to become a success. Throughout her years of becoming a geisha Sayuri grows old and is known as one of the best Geisha known in Japan. Japan was not doing so well economically where abouts in the US they were rising. So Sayuri decides to move to the US and own her own teahouse. Every chapter of this book is suspensful, it was intense, i felt terrible for her having her viriginty sold and when her whole family was taken away from her before her eyes. But im very hopeful that she does get to know what love feels like and that she finds happiness in the end. Thats just a fast easy to follow summary on "Memoirs of a geisha." And please do not think Geisha's are prostitutes for they are graceful entertainers, that are trained to dance and sing, they set the meaning of beauty in Japanese history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Will Feel The Emotion, March 25 2006
This review is from: Memoirs of a Geisha (Paperback)
"Memoirs of a Geisha" is a stunning novel. It is an emotional event from start to finish and absolutely stunningly beautiful even in moments of dark pain. In terms of quality of story and writing, you'd have to compare it to books "The Kite Runner" and "My Fractured Life." This a really one book that you should read because you will feel it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful, captivating story!, June 14 2011
By 
Darlene (Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Memoirs of a Geisha (Audio CD)
This book by Arthur Golden has been on my "To Be Read" list for a long time! I thought the narrator, Bernadette Dunne, did a beautiful job. I think I enjoyed this book much more hearing it than reading it, as I could hear the names and words spoken in the way that they were meant to be. I have always been fascinated with other cultures, so this book was a real treat.

The book is about a young girl, Sayuri, who is sold into slavery to a geisha house in Gion, Japan. As she gets older, she must learn the geisha ways and traditions of the geisha, including: the tea ceremony, how to wear the kimono, the elaborate hair and make-up, the dancing.

The writing was beautiful, and I was totally captivated by this story.

My rating: 4.5 stars!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very moving!, July 21 2008
This review is from: Memoirs of a Geisha (Paperback)
I have to admit it took me a while to read this book. The beguining about her childhood is a bit long, but once you enter the real world of a geisha house... I could not put this book down. The rivalry & mean competition between the women is outstanding. The culture & customs are so beautiful. Please read this book first if you intend to see the movie & not the other way around or you will be very dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful and poetic step into a hidden piece of Japan's past., Oct. 4 2010
By 
Ria (Bibliotropic) (Saint John, New Brunswick Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Memoirs of a Geisha (Paperback)
I honestly can't count the number of times I've read this novel, and I think it's the sign of an excellent book when one can read it time and time again without once growing bored of the story that they know by heart.

Arthur Golden's novel of the life of a geisha in pre-war (and some post-war) Japan is a captivating one, the kind that draws you into another world from the very first sentence. It's at once familiar and foreign, simple and complex, straightforward and twisty. The story's gimmick is that it's presented as though it's nonfiction, the transcription of a story that the geisha Sayuri told to a loyal friend and finally published after her death. The truth is that it's a stunning piece of fiction. Arthur Golden certainly did his homework, it's true, but the story itself is pure fiction.

Thanks to this perspective, though, the story feel very real. There characters, cruel or kind, are presented as real people rather than caricatures or flat character archetypes. Anything we learn about them is seen through Sayuri's eyes, which is another thing that makes it very easy to fall into the story.

I was particularly impressed with the way some sensitive material was handled, such as the subject of mizuage, or the act of losing one's virginity to someone who has paid for it. This could have been written distastefully, or Golden could have attempted to use the scene to convey some sort of moral message, but instead it was told for what it was, and any subjective thoughts were subjective only to the situation in which the scene takes place. I really have to give the man kudos for doing that so well!

If this book suffers anywhere, it's in the overuse of similes. This is supposed to lend a somewhat poetic feel to the narration, and very often it works, if you take each event on its own. But when you're getting a simile in every paragraph or two, it becomes a little difficult to read, and some of the poetry, I'm sad it say, gets lost along the way.

Still, when that's the only real failing worth noting, that still speaks very well for the novel. I definitely recommend this to, well, just about anybody, but especially those interested in Japan, history, or memoir-style books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MEMOIRS OF A MASTERPIECE, Nov. 17 2008
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Memoirs of a Geisha (Hardcover)
If you have only experienced the movie, let me make it as clear as possible: you have barely scraped the surface. This a very rich and rewarding novel that will absorb you into another time, a far away land and a completely alien mentality. Welcome to the Floating World of the Geishas in its twilight.

This is the true story of Mineko Iwasaki (whose personal autobiography is also available under the title Geisha: A Life) presented in the form of a novel by a brilliant Arthur Golden (too bad he did not follow up his success with a second novel).

Japan in the years following WWI was a country in transition. The old ways were on their way out yet they have a way of soothing the soul of any nation, especially one found itself caught in limbo, between progress and tradition. In this transitional world Sayuri is offered the chance to become a Geisha. The unique color of her eyes, her patience and artistic abilities soon propel her to the position of the most famous Geisha of them all. But one should always be wary of what he wishes for.

Fame and success are never a guarantee for personal happiness. Predictably, Sayuri's love story is bittersweet and has many false starts. In fear of spoilers, I shall only say that life is never boring.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting, June 7 2008
By 
elfdart - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
this book was very detailed. i read it after watching the movie, and learned more in the first few pages than i did from the entire film. i won't summarize as others have done that, suffice it to say this is a story about the life of a geisha. i thought that though the author was very descriptive, i wasn't compelled to immerse myself in the book. sometimes i felt the author's writing style to be uncomfortably detailed. i do enjoy detailed writing, but... i don't know what it was but at some points i just felt uncomfortable. maybe that was the author doing his job well as i know if i lived in japan at that time i'd be pretty uncomfortable, but people can write about uncomfortable subjects and not make it uncomfortable to the reader, so i guess i didn't enjoy his writing style. in fact if i remember correctly i put this down for a while somewhere in the middle of it and then convinced myself to finish it. of course it didn't help that i knew the basic story line, even if i didn't enjoy the writing style i'll stick it our for a good story, but that part was kind of spoiled for me.

the story itself was fascinating though. it covers a very interesting subject and is very much worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Exceptional Novel, Dec 8 2007
This review is from: Memoirs of a Geisha (Paperback)
By using his detailed long-term research on the geisha culture in Japan, Arthur Golden wrote a historical fiction novel entitled "Memoirs of a Geisha." The book drives one to experience the entire life of young geisha by the name of Nitta Sayuri, beginning from her origins as a fisherman's blue-ish green-eyed daughter to her achieved status of a well-known geisha in Kyoto, Japan. Through the eyes of an emerging geisha, the author created a plausible fictional story that involve vivid historical events, and he capture the readers to encounter the Japanese culture with his use of Asian metaphors, attitudes, and portrayals. There are thirty-five chapters in this novel with an addition of the "Translator's Note," which introduces a fictional character by the name of "Jakob Haarhuis," who the elder Sayuri was recounting her life story to.

This book explores the profession of a geisha in prewar Japan. The women in prewar Japan tended to be viewed as women who cared for others in their home and obeyed only their father, husband, and son throughout their lives. Before Second World War, geisha was a profession in Japan that preserved the culture of art, music, and dancing in which the name of geisha means an "artist" (p. 141). The profession of a geisha was not an easily achieved status. To be a geisha, a young girl would have to be accepted by renowned elder geisha before putting her through the apprenticeship which might involves living with the geishas. The process of being a geisha required a long period of time because they would have to learn all of the arts including dancing and music, and the casual manners that a geisha would have to perform in the presence of wealthy and rich men. In the Japanese society, a geisha functions as an entertainer in the teahouse for paying male customers and as a performer in the public productions. A geisha's main function was based on preserving the Japanese traditional arts in an era where Japanese people would not be able to respect and honor their oral tradition and ancient culture of their grace country of Japan. In prewar Japan, the profession of a geisha was an equivalent to a career of an artist, a performer, and an entertainer, but not to a prostitute as one might believe.

One can apprehend the subordinated role of women in the Japanese society by looking at the geisha profession in Japan, the fitting role of a geisha, Sayuri's attractiveness, and Japanese men's appreciation of geisha's virginity throughout this book. With his decade of research in Japanese culture and the geisha life, Arthur Golden created an exceptional novel which expresses ravishing and interesting perspective about a geisha's life and the role of women in the Japanese society in his "Memoirs of a Geisha."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2179 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Memoirs of a Geisha
Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden (Hardcover - Sept. 23 1997)
CDN$ 38.95 CDN$ 24.42
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews