Customer Reviews


576 Reviews
5 star:
 (499)
4 star:
 (52)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Best read in a long time
It feels like you're right there, living the action. Breathtaking!
Highly recommended for anyone who's into horses, horse racing, sports, etc.
Published 5 months ago by Caroline F

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Seabiscuit
The story of Seabiscuit is absolutely remarkable. Out of a nation in crisis rises an incredible symbol of hope and out of the depths of poverty rises a man with a passion. Red Pollard and Seabiscuit are an American legend. Though Laura Hillenbrand attacks this novel with great enthusiasm, she seems to lack a much-needed sense of emotion. She becomes too overwhelmed...
Published on Dec 1 2003 by Joseph Longo


‹ Previous | 1 258 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Best read in a long time, Feb. 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It feels like you're right there, living the action. Breathtaking!
Highly recommended for anyone who's into horses, horse racing, sports, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Educational as well as entertaining., Jan. 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I enjoy Hillenbrand's writing and research. Here she brings to light the life and determined attributes of man and animal in striving for a goal and their willingness to give their all for the achieving of the goal. The insight into the personal relationships forged between man and horse was exciting to read about and emotionally engaging for the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Imagery Jumps Off the Page, Feb. 3 2005
Reading "Seabiscuit" made it clear why it became such a successful film. The vividness of the imagery jumps right off the page. It made reading it almost like seeing a movie in my head, very similar to when I read "My Fractured Life" and "The Time Traveler's Wife" (except in this case "Seabiscuit" is already a film). Having not already seen the film, I cannot wait to see it based on the fantastic imagery the book has created in my head (although I can't imagine the film will match the full vividness of the book).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life Changing, June 17 2005
"SEABISCUIT" is not so much a story about a horse, but rather a story about the lives of the men which that horse changes.
Red is an orphan of the depression. Scrapping to get by after abandoned by his parents, Red is half blinded as a "boxer" in human-versions of warehouse dog fights. He turns to horse racing. Although technically too big to be a jockey, he starves himself to make weight.
Buick is a bicycle repairman who stumbles into automobile manufacturing and makes a fortune. When he loses a member of his family in an automobile accident, the family crumbles.
Red and Buick are broken men who come together because of Seabiscuit. Buick is the owner of the scrappy horse, and his broken cowboy trainer insists Red is the only jockey with the scrappy fire to ride it. "SEABISCUIT" is as much their story as that of the horse.
Ironic that a story about a horse can end up being such a "human" story.
Judged on those merits "SEABISCUIT" is a gripping drama that is in the same league as "SECRET LIFE OF BEES, " "MY FRACTURED LIFE" and "THE DA VINCI CODE."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, July 16 2004
I WASN'T interested in horses before, or horse racing, but I still really enjoyed this book. A real page turner, excellently written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, July 15 2004
By 
David W. Nicholas (Van Nuys, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I don't know anything about horseracing. I saw the movie, and then this book fell into my hands, and I began it wondering if it would live up to the hype. Of course, it did, and then some. Laura Hillenbrand is a wonderful writer, full of anecdotes and information about the '30s, the depression, and the world of horseracing in those days. The author spends a great deal of time (a quarter or a third of the book) setting the stage, but she does such a wonderful job that you don't mind. When she gets to the spot where things begin to take off, the book is frankly wonderful.
I won't tell you anything more about the book, other than to mention that Seabiscuit was the typical underdog (underhorse?) that Americans love to see win, and he didn't dissappoint. I enjoyed this book immensely, and would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Seabiscuit, Dec 1 2003
The story of Seabiscuit is absolutely remarkable. Out of a nation in crisis rises an incredible symbol of hope and out of the depths of poverty rises a man with a passion. Red Pollard and Seabiscuit are an American legend. Though Laura Hillenbrand attacks this novel with great enthusiasm, she seems to lack a much-needed sense of emotion. She becomes too overwhelmed with the facts, failing to draw the reader into the characters' successes, failures, and disappointments. The novel becomes more of an encyclopedia than a living story. Nevertheless, the characters are well-developed, the challenges that jockeyes face are well described, and Seabiscuit's journey to fame is adaquately portrayed. Luara Hillenbrand brings a weak, but informative life to this American legend-- you can't help but be inspired!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh seabiscut, July 14 2004
I love this book so much that I want to tell the whole world. Seabiscut I love you !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A first-rate read, June 14 2004
By 
Ken Zirkel "Kickstand" (Somewhere in New England) - See all my reviews
Extremely well-written, great evocation of the times and the characters. The only flaws are minor: Hillenbrand sometimes uses a bit too much racing jargon without explanation, and I would love to have more photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seabiscuit is my hero here in 2004!, May 7 2004
By A Customer
It took me a while to get thru the first part because the author writes about the history of the owner and the jockey. It got interesting when I got to the middle of the book. The book is full of old photos of Seabiscuit and some of his races. I actually cried during some of the sad parts. I just wished I was there back in the 30's so I could really see Seabiscuit in a race. I was never a horse lover, but after reading this book I realized what a great horse Seabiscuit was and what a true American hero he was for people back then. I'm glad Laura Hillenbrand wrote this book so Seabiscuit would not be forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 258 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seabiscuit: An American Legend
Seabiscuit: An American Legend by Laura Hillenbrand (Audio Cassette - March 6 2001)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.35
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews