Customer Reviews


515 Reviews
5 star:
 (176)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (35)
1 star:
 (231)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Sends the bleeding hearts squealing!!!
If you don't like Bill and the thing he says, you won't like this book.
But, if your loking for someone who tells it like it is--not the way you'd like to think it is---check this book out.
As other reveiwers have stated there is a lot of common sense in this book, So whats wrong with reading a little of that. God know we see enough nonsense in the media these...
Published on Oct. 16 2003 by Robert

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars RE: why isn't this taught in our universities? it should be.
Flashnews : Marxism started in the 19th century.
THis guy is saying that Plato, Rousseau and Machiavelli are communists.
I repeat Machiavelli, Author of the prince is a communist. A book largely quoted by Mussolini is communist propaganda. I don't remember any communist leader in the 16th century.
And Jean Jacques Rousseau, one of the fathers of the french...
Published on April 9 2004 by eltidi


‹ Previous | 1 252 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Sends the bleeding hearts squealing!!!, Oct. 16 2003
By 
Robert (PETOSKEY, MI, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you don't like Bill and the thing he says, you won't like this book.
But, if your loking for someone who tells it like it is--not the way you'd like to think it is---check this book out.
As other reveiwers have stated there is a lot of common sense in this book, So whats wrong with reading a little of that. God know we see enough nonsense in the media these days. We as a country need to be reminded that we have lost our way, and we need to return to the thinking, values, and beliefs that made us great.
Sorry liberals, democrats, communists, you are in for a lot of stuff you won't like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Hypocrisies and Propaganda don't look out for you, July 17 2004
Who's looking out for you? Well, I really can't answer that question, but I know for sure that it isn't Bill O'Reily after seeing his show numerous times and reading this book. Like his show the book focuses more on ranting about things that make Bill angry rather than on something that's actually relevant. Even if he was brought up in a lower class home (a point that is debated) it still dosen't change the fact that he is one of the elite now. His books have sold millions of copies and his show is pretty popular so I think it's safe to say he won't be moving in next door anytime soon. Bill and Fox news repeatidly say they are fair and balanced, but really you can find evidence to the contrary on this very page! The conservative book club will give you a discount on this book if you join now. People who bought this also bought books from Rush Limbaugh, Laura Ingrahim and Sean Hannity, and many self-proclaimed conservatives put this on their lists of best conservative books. People will probably label this review "leftist propaganda", but I can tell you with full confidence that I am 100% independent. I believe Micheal Moore is just as much of a propagandist as Bill and wish they would both go away. I believe a choice between John Kerry and Bush is like choosing your poison seeing as how they will both run this country into the ground. (Nader is too pshychotic to even mention) So as an actual independent and not just some liar who claims to be like O'Reily, I can finally tell you who's looking out for you. No ones looking out for you. In this day and age your on your own. The media lies, the government lies and everyone lies. The truth is out there but you have to quit being so apathetic and find it yourself. There's no one out there you can trust to do it for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, July 6 2004
By 
To all the moral relativists and left of center critics out there, this book seems to be the holy water that makes you hiss and burn. Mr. O'Reilly outdoes himself because he suggests Americans play by ethical standards of "right and wrong" as opposed to "if it feels good, then do it." I can relate to Bill's upbringing because my father was a police officer for 30 years. He taught me the distinct difference between right and wrong, and how to decipher the differences. Many American parents today are lazy, foolish, and have little to no concern about the importance of morals with their children. Many simply place them in front of the daycare center (and eventually the tv), and expect the child to come out alright in the end. In reality, kids needs rules such as: No swearing, no cigarettes, no drugs, no alcohol, and certainly no talking back in a disrespectful manner. If parents would learn how to raise children, then our society would be a better place. Oh, and to the myrmidons of the left, Bill is going to be your worst nightmare for a long time because he expects the individual to take accountability for his/her actions rather than blame society or others for problems. Stop comparing him to Adolf Hitler. Hitler called for the systematic genocide of those who disagree with him. O'Reilly asks that people act responsibly, do the right thing, and learn the true definition of words such as "honor, discipline, and self-respect." He upsets you because he is right about how Americans SHOULD lead their lives. He says the words, "Moral Responsibility," and you shriek like a frightened child. Shame on you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars It's really BLAH!, June 21 2004
By A Customer
Look, I'm a Bill O'Reilly fan, of sorts, and I generally agree with what he has to say. The man, however, does not write in a very engaging manner. I think it basically because he one of those guys who just likes to talk and (this book being another example) takes thousands of rather simplistic words to express a valid idea that is probably best expressed in a short essay format. His books are so blah that I'm beginning to think that he is just another guy trying to capitalize on his celebrity status while trying to take my money to make himself richer. Maybe then Bill O'Reilly really is not looking out for me! Many of Bill O'Reilly's rehashed ideas are good, but they typically are not thoroughly original, and they certainly are not well presented in his books. He's much more engaging as a TV show host. Get the book from your library if you feel compelled to read it. Don't spend any money on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No Spin Here, June 20 2004
By 
Jeremiah (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
O'Reilly revels in the truth. The best person to look after you is yourself and personal responsibility, not self-pity or blame, will ultimately be your key to a fulfilling life. This responsibility is not selfish, but rather a genuine respect for yourself and your relations. Depending upon a government to take care of you is just as repressive as a lack of freedom to take care of yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a Very good book, June 19 2004
By 
Mark Dias "Mark Dias" (Newark, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Can you imagine the world without Bill O'reilly who tries to be fair and analyze things in a logical manner. I happened to read his book while sitting in the bookstore, and I found it very compelling. I thought it was going to be all about politics, but it was more than that. It gives practical advice concerning how to view whether or not your parents were looking out for you, and how to deal with your own kids. People hold grudges that have been generated from their youth because the way you were raised, his advice, get over it. I am buying this book for my kids, because it gave very sound advice, and also talked about various politicians. You know the people who gave this book 1 star will be right up front voting for the corrupt Hillary clinton in the next election. The fear is there seems to be no front runner after the Bush presidency. I hope it changes. My son always says, I learn by my mistakes - I don't know who ever told him that gobbldy gook. Reilly's advice, make the minimum amount of mistakes, very sage advice. I highly recommend this book.
Mark
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Moderation, June 15 2004
By A Customer
The unfortunate truth of the world is that nothing falls into neatly delineated black-and-white categories. One thing affects every other in chaotic and unpredictable ways. I believe that most people sense this uncertainty on some level, and it frightens them, which is unsurprising. Bill O'Reilly comforts people by telling them that everything is actually very simple, but that the leftist interests in America are undermining us at every turn, preventing us from taking the decisive action he feels we need. This approach was perfected by Adolf Hitler, who blamed the problems of Germany, which stemmed from their poor decision-making, on the Jews. He won the support of the German people by telling them that they were the best people in the world, with the best values, they just had an internal enemy who was responsible for all their problems. Does this sound familiar?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Love the man, Hate the ideals, June 12 2004
By 
Robert J. Nelson (The Woodlands, Tx United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm an avid avowed deeply committed Leftist Atheist, yet I have to admit: I love Bill O'Reilly. That is, I love the man, but hate nearly every one of his simplistic ideas. I cringe with absolute contempt and hatred even at the thought of Bill O'Reilly, yet at the same time, watch him on tv nearly every night. In fact, when I don't watch him, I get depressed. When I do watch him, I hate everything he says, yet still find my eyes glued to the tube. I don't know what it is about him, but he has charsima that can only be compared to Ronald Reagan's, though I believe liberals like me (radicals rally) were more indifferent to Reagan and his policies than they are to O'Reilly. Since I can't stand any of O'Reilly's ideas I can't recommend this book. I wish him well, though, and continued success!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars O'Reilly quoting, in his words, "sex-saturated Penthouse", June 8 2004
So O'Reilly reads an article denouncing Bill Moyers in what O'Reilly calls the "sex-saturated Penthouse" magazine. Brilliant. I guess that's where O'Reilly gets his news and information from, sex-saturated magazines. Sounds about right for him.
Don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Who ISN'T Looking Out For You? Demoncrats and Liberal Media!, June 2 2004
The masses of intimidated, frightened prostitutes of Demoncrat's fanatical left-wing offshoot who gratingly keep forging their reviews are vomit-inducing, nauseous Bin Laden-loyalists, whose derisions at O'Reilly as a "Republican mouthpiece" are so infernally retarded, they backfire. It's aggravating to witness denigrated, undereducated Nazis wear out O'Reilly-branding mantras, when, to any anti-religious liberal who doesn't want to be scandalized as a uselessly imperceptive Neanderthal, O'Reilly's views are centrist, unshakably founded within rationale. It's observable why the liberal-stoners are loathsomely ostracizing humiliatingly clear-cut issues into partisan-lines; socialists are insanely slighted when O'Reilly communicates bluntly straightforward directness-disowning PC sensitivity-because socialists are inefficiently discursive, evasive enfeeblers. This soullessness is what makes them menacingly effective terrorist-enablers. These ravaging, agitated, race-dividing liberals are totally mischievous delinquents, proven by their irrationally automated seizures of falsifying reviews to bestially scathe public figures their diabolical minds can't accept, this misconduct happening broadly under conservative book reviews.
Only reason Demoncrats suffer from incrementing inferiority complexes is because O'Reilly condemns the blame on majorities of Demoncratic-incited initiatives. Abrasively, many of America's ordeals of the past years are DIRECTLY TRACEABLE to their evildoings!!!! O'Reilly's praiseworthy for recapitulating that 9/11's death toll belongs to CLINTON ADMIN. misbehavior, the primary one being the "Torricelli Principle"-killing America's establishment to gather intelligence on terrorism, as found in a House Intelligence Committee report-the second trespass being the animosity-incurring maltreatment of Reno towards Freeh's FBI's request to appoint independent counsels to investigate unkosher Clinton-Gore finance misdemeanors. Resulting was the most frailly impeded WH-FBI relationship in history, which birthed America's worst body-count ever!!!!
Another exemplar of O'Reilly's centricity is well-intentioned focus on sweepingly mattering issues, indifferent to party partiality. O'Reilly, social-consciously, retraces INS' willful slipping in apprehending sniper Malvo, which may've staved-off D.C. area attacks. The culprit's INS head Ziglar, whose subordinate, Seattle's Blake Brown, encroachingly overruled Border Patrol's verdict to deport Malvo and his mother, incurred even more terribly by the spiteful fact the order was rejected because of insufficiency in INS funding. As evidenced herein, O'Reilly ISN'T wrathfully segregative like alarming liberal propaganda-mongers (Ivins, Corn), instead allowing reason to dictate his viewpoints!!!! O'Reilly even scolds Bush for not tightening borders up despite the 10 million illegals roaming around undocumented. Truly, with such bipartisanship, the viciously undereducated, Demoncratic-sensationalism apostles counterfeiting their reviews mountingly fit the frenetic radicalism Demoncrats are often demeaned with.
Improprieties during Clinton's Admin. are highlighted, namely the scandal that Clinton was just consequently authorized while everything American was succeeding: the economy and airs of "peace". Clinton did Diddlysquat to broker this. For oppressively irrational liberals, Clinton didn't create jobs. They were the side-effect of late-90s lustfulness for speculative tech stocks which "created" jobs in savagely perilous tech "start-ups". If you don't succumb to this, Demoncratic demagogues have brainwashed you irretrievably!!!! That's why most of so-called "2 million" jobs lost "under Bush's Admin." were unsubstantial, inherently. Clinton's incriminated for being the most cunningly chicaning president, fabricating minority empathy, yet under whose tenure Black children kept underperforming in public schools. Clinton anarchically let CEOs pillage companies, disguising the resentfulness of CEOs' salaries crushing average workers' by 100 times through a BUBBLE economy. Clinton soullessly backslid as North Korea contravened nuclear treaty, speculatively contributing to North Korea's present-day extortions. Unless you're a barbarically hostile apologist, you'd surrender that Clinton absconded calamitous disasters on Bush!!!!
The liberal media's exposed as an exorbitantly predominant nuisance, misleader in information dissemination. One simply has to look at the spitefully PREJUDICIAL, ANTI-WAR mentality most networks abuse in "chronicling" post-war Iraq's reconstruction. For anyone (excluding liberals), it was loathsomely blatant most networks misreported Iraq's combat-phase, soliciting their bosses' plot for scornful "internationalism" subserving UN "authority". Besides broader cross-section of networks mistreating broadcasts on anti-war psychos and inadmissible "world-opinion", some renegade papers-LAT, NYT-abysmally forged the Coalition was being wasted!!!! O'Reilly observantly postulates the accursed liberal media's baneful to Americans' interests because, at war's onset, Gallup polls were intimidating an overwhelming 76% approval of war while the media perpetrated dissipated malcontent. Still now-a year later-approval of war is well at 60%, from Newsweek to CNN. America's media disease isn't solely contaminating networks; even PBS experiences liberal infestation!!!! Bill Moyers illy misallocates money to his punk-son John, Thomas Paine operator-dangerous liberal propagandist-as president at Schumann foundation.
The ACLU's seditious tactics of combatively suing and terrorizing everyone seeking to practice religion publicly are essayed. AGAIN OBDURATE liberals, O'Reilly doesn't careen to pushing his agenda of marginalizing the ACLU based on his Catholicism, but non-partisanly displays the facts after examination. The results happen to unmask irreligious wrath from the ACLU, which just happens to dirty liberals also, because of their sacrilegiousness. Dissatisfied liberals abjectly confuse this strict fact as "proof" of O'Reilly's conservatism!!!! ACLU animosities have trespassed onto worse than separating state and religion. O'Reilly lucidly distinguishes how the ACLU's hounded even people exercising their private rights to professing religion in public, not just their bar to solely chase violations of Church and State separation.
O'Reilly's a well-read, literate analyst of politics/news. Displeasingly insensate liberals/socialists WILL do well to estrange themselves from ungoverned psychopaths like Ivins, Moore, Corn. Only O'Reilly DOESN'T takeover arguments to fabricate prejudices succumbing to his views, UNLIKE the aforementioned liberal arch-fiends. When O'Reilly censures traitorous celebrities on decaying already harrowing principles that children in today's parentally backslid, information-age corruptibility have-like Whitney "JUNKHEAD" Houston; Jennifer Lopez, preys on men selfishly; George Clooney, terrifyingly lies to magazines after omitting 9/11 victims' collection from funds-O'Reilly DOESN'T maltreat that to declare all celebrities sinful. Unjust, renegade, liberal authors would misappropriate those respective examples indiscriminately to all celebrities. Likewise, when O'Reilly correlates discomforting facts that, as secularists forsake children to rely on dissipating media assailment; and bar them from easier religious exposure, the ferocious rise in young people's unmanageability is dependent on rotting integrity, he DOESN'T tyrannize that to condemn American children as the world's worst. One self-hating, anti-American plotter (Moore) would!!!! O'Reilly expects you to disagree TO FOSTER debate, and DOESN'T intimidatingly subject his beliefs on anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 252 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Who's Looking Out for You?
Who's Looking Out for You? by Bill O'Reilly (Hardcover - Sept. 23 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews