Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Mayle Triumph
This book certainly follows the pattern of a year in Provence with an up-close and in-depth look at the rural culture of a town in provence. The book, however, starts off in London where the life of the hero, Max has just fallen apart. His friend, Charlie, helps him travel to the warmer, more exotic environs of southern Provence where the weather is warmer and the people...
Published on Nov. 3 2008 by Douglas P. Murphy

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Juvenile writing
I am a big fan of Peter Mayle and so , for this reason alone I can only tell you how disappointing this book was for me.

This book has nothing to offer; it has the depth that only a juvenile reader could actually be happy with.
The characters are so superficial it makes you wonder if this book wasn't written for a teenage target kind of audience.
And...
Published 20 months ago by Martin Berthiaume


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Juvenile writing, Nov. 9 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Good Year (Paperback)
I am a big fan of Peter Mayle and so , for this reason alone I can only tell you how disappointing this book was for me.

This book has nothing to offer; it has the depth that only a juvenile reader could actually be happy with.
The characters are so superficial it makes you wonder if this book wasn't written for a teenage target kind of audience.
And the story.... please! it hurts just to think about how naive the whole plot was....
This book has the feel of "I must write another book because this is in my contract" ...
I have no idea how anybody could enjoy this piece of work from the "master of Provence"

I haven't read the other work of fiction from Peter Mayle and I sure will avoid them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Mayle Triumph, Nov. 3 2008
This review is from: A Good Year (Paperback)
This book certainly follows the pattern of a year in Provence with an up-close and in-depth look at the rural culture of a town in provence. The book, however, starts off in London where the life of the hero, Max has just fallen apart. His friend, Charlie, helps him travel to the warmer, more exotic environs of southern Provence where the weather is warmer and the people somewhat strange and mysterious. He takes up residence in the house of his uncle which sits on a vineyard that produces a wine of horrific qualities. The story takes off from there into a tangled but fascinating whirlwind of romance, crime, boutique wineries, local culinary customs and some rather unique, local personalities. Mayle peppers the story with witticisms that add extra life to the story...a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Peter Mayle? Non!, June 5 2004
By 
Provencal "stremy" (Washington, DC USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Good Year (Hardcover)
For the most part, Peter Mayle's books have distinguished themselves because of their apt and charming descriptions of the cultural idiosyncrasies of small-town Provence. Mayle's primary and secondary characters were full-bodied -- people whom could easily visualize and with whom you could empathize. The Provencal countryside and markets were alive and stimulated your palate.
In comparison with his earlier works, Mayle's latest endeavor falls flat! The characterizations are shallow, the plot simplistic, and the spirit of the Luberon is not much in evidence. In "A Year in Provence" and "Toujours Provence" you could feel the physical impact of the Mistral's battering winds. While breezy, "A Great Year" has none of the full-fledged richness of his earlier works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Peter Mayles books, Sept. 14 2010
This review is from: A Good Year (Paperback)
I read Peter Mayle's book "A Vintage Caper", and liked it so much I wanted to read all of his books starting with "A Year in Provence". I am on the second book now "Toujours Provence", and loving it. I have all his books now thanks to Amazon.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A Good Year, but a Bad Book, April 6 2007
By 
Flaubert (Rochester, Kent.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Good Year (Paperback)
What has happened to Peter Mayle? From the triumphs of A Year in Provence and Hotel Pastis, he has descended to the depths of churning his earlier books. A Good Year simply recycles characters and text. There are so many sentences copied nearly verbatim from earlier works that I had the impression that I had read the book before.

I thought that Chasing Cezanne was scraping the bottom of the barrel, but this takes scraping to new lengths.

Absolute rubbish - avoid at all costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Votre Santé, July 7 2004
By 
S. A. Cartwright "Stu Cartwright" (Wayland, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Good Year (Hardcover)
A Good Year is the first I've read by Peter Mayle. I did not know that it had been headed to Hollywood, but one certainly suspects it. The book reads like a screenplay. Colorful characters, enchanting settings and whimsical plotline set up perfectly for a 110 minute trip to southern France on the big screen. After sailing through a very light 287 pages, I feel I've been 'en vacances.'
Descending upon the tiny village of Saint Pons for the summer are: Max Skinner, our hero who has been tossed out of his financial job in London, but immediately inherits a house with vineyard, Le Griffon, in Provence; Christie, a Californian cousin with a possible claim to the beautiful property; and Charlie, brother-in-law and money lender to Max. They join the locals: Monsieur Rousseau, caretaker to the vineyard; Fanny, a temptingly beautiful restaurant owner; Nathalie Auzet, the fashionable local notary; and Madame Passepartout, the matronly housekeeper and village gossip.
The storyline bounces from meal to meal, as nothing happens unless accompanied by sausages, paté, tarte aux pommes, pastis, marc and plenty of red wine. Meals at the village café, at the restaurant, at Le Griffon, and most magnificently at the Rousseau home are described in succulent detail. Evidently, someone is getting wealthy from mysteriously grown grapevines at the far, dusty edge of the property, and therein lies the plot. An ex-advertising executive, Mayle pokes good fun at the culture of wine marketing.
Further coloring the screenplay are the budding romances and the ultimate question of will Max make Le Griffon his home and livelihood. Hardly suspenseful, but what summer vacation is?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Head Off to the South of France Sans Luggage This Summer, July 5 2004
By 
L. Young "palmtree2000" (West Orange, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Good Year (Hardcover)
If a trip to the South of France doesn't fit into this summer's budget, head to your bookstore instead, for copy of Peter Mayle's latest look at the charms and the foibles of the French. Max Skinner, a thirty-something Englishman struggling to make his way in London's shark-like financial world, loses his job and conveniently receives a surprise inheritance. Max's elderly English uncle, Henry has died bequeathing to Max a modest and somewhat decrepit chateau and vineyard. In his childhood Max had spent summers with good old uncle Henry, and now as Henry's supposedly only heir, Henry has left it all to Max. And just in time too to head off financial disaster after Max is fired, and to rescue him from the ghastly London weather. Max heads off to the south of France to check out the state of his inheritance, and along the way meets a taciturn farmhand, a lovely notaire, a gorgeous local restaurant owner, and a California Napa valley girl who may or may not be Uncle Henry's love child, thus complicating the inheritance picture. Max wants to get the vineyard up and running, and to add to the fun encounters a vineyard mystery. Someone is hiding the fact that a portion of the vineyard produces outstanding wine. But where are the profits going? Who is covering up the fact and cooking the books? All gets unraveled in the end, and we are treated to a charming look at the French and their habits (descriptions of wine tastings and local cuisine abound), and some well-placed jibes at the English and the American character as well as the wine industry. Light-hearted, charming and fun, a perfect novel to enjoy this summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars No legs, July 1 2004
By 
bentmax "bentmax" (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Good Year (Hardcover)
I am a devoted fan of Peter Mayle and always look forward to his next work. I am a frequent traveler to Provence as well and know most, if not all, of the non fictional places he refers to in his books. Reading Mayle is a pleasant reminder of the south of France. In past books, he has excelled in character development, devotion to detail and his obvious passion for his Provencal subjects.
Sadly, most of that is lacking in A Good Year. The plot is as thin as a watered-down Rhone, his characters as underdeveloped as June Pinot Noir. His affinity for Provence still shines through but other than a recipe for vinaigrette and a few brief mentions of French food here and there, this tale could as easily have unfolded in Spain or Chile or New Zealand - just rearrange the names.
Mayle has enjoyed, at least in my small opinion, a distinct advantage over Frances Mayes and her "Under the Tuscan Sun" series. He understands characters and character development. While Mayes focuses on a sense of place with incidental characters Mayle develops his characters intertwined with a sense of place.
None of that development occurs in A Good Year. This ultra light weight novel is so wafer thin from cover to cover one would think that Mayle wrote it in his sleep, it simply has no legs. I cannot imagine this novel being transcribed into a motion picture, yet, apparently, that is what is going to transpire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book on CD, June 28 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: A Good Year (Hardcover)
I am a big fan of Peter Mayle and in addition just last week returned from a trip to France. I listened to the book on CD during a car trip from NJ to Boston (about 5 1/2 hours each way). I was caught in a traffic jam on the return but spent the time listening to this delightful tale. I also travel frequently to Napa Valley in California, mentioned so often in the story. It was a light and pleasant story filled with interesting wine facts. I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Summer Reading, June 18 2004
By 
This review is from: A Good Year (Hardcover)
This is another great Peter Mayle book. While the characters are familiar, pretty girls with great legs, loveable locals, a snoppy housekeeper, cautious neighbors etc., the plot has many unpredictable turns. All in all you are left with a wonderful tale for great arm chair adventurering. It will bring many smiles to your face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Good Year
A Good Year by Peter Mayle (Paperback - June 14 2005)
CDN$ 18.95 CDN$ 13.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews