Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The Very Best of Vintage Mayle
I am a native of Provence, so I love the novels of Peter Mayle (I've read everything he's ever published) and I see, no doubt more clearly than most, how wonderfully they capture the essence of the Provence of the Lubéron. I find Mayle's novels breezy, lighthearted fun and I know they are sure to bring a smile to my face no matter how I'm feeling. Mayle's fifth...
Published on June 1 2004 by Totally Anonymous

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good light reading
Peter Mayle's novel about a man who leaves his high-stress job in London for an inherited vineyard in southern France is not a great book, but it is a good enough story to enjoy, especially for light summer reading.
Max Skinner has had enough of the rat race in London and quits his job in the financial world. Conveniently enough, his uncle has passed away and left...
Published on June 12 2004 by Brent Wigen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A Votre Santé, July 7 2004
By 
S. A. Cartwright "Stu Cartwright" (Wayland, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: A Good Year (Hardcover)
A Good Year is the first I've read by Peter Mayle. I did not know that it had been headed to Hollywood, but one certainly suspects it. The book reads like a screenplay. Colorful characters, enchanting settings and whimsical plotline set up perfectly for a 110 minute trip to southern France on the big screen. After sailing through a very light 287 pages, I feel I've been 'en vacances.'
Descending upon the tiny village of Saint Pons for the summer are: Max Skinner, our hero who has been tossed out of his financial job in London, but immediately inherits a house with vineyard, Le Griffon, in Provence; Christie, a Californian cousin with a possible claim to the beautiful property; and Charlie, brother-in-law and money lender to Max. They join the locals: Monsieur Rousseau, caretaker to the vineyard; Fanny, a temptingly beautiful restaurant owner; Nathalie Auzet, the fashionable local notary; and Madame Passepartout, the matronly housekeeper and village gossip.
The storyline bounces from meal to meal, as nothing happens unless accompanied by sausages, paté, tarte aux pommes, pastis, marc and plenty of red wine. Meals at the village café, at the restaurant, at Le Griffon, and most magnificently at the Rousseau home are described in succulent detail. Evidently, someone is getting wealthy from mysteriously grown grapevines at the far, dusty edge of the property, and therein lies the plot. An ex-advertising executive, Mayle pokes good fun at the culture of wine marketing.
Further coloring the screenplay are the budding romances and the ultimate question of will Max make Le Griffon his home and livelihood. Hardly suspenseful, but what summer vacation is?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Head Off to the South of France Sans Luggage This Summer, July 5 2004
By 
L. Young "palmtree2000" (West Orange, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: A Good Year (Hardcover)
If a trip to the South of France doesn't fit into this summer's budget, head to your bookstore instead, for copy of Peter Mayle's latest look at the charms and the foibles of the French. Max Skinner, a thirty-something Englishman struggling to make his way in London's shark-like financial world, loses his job and conveniently receives a surprise inheritance. Max's elderly English uncle, Henry has died bequeathing to Max a modest and somewhat decrepit chateau and vineyard. In his childhood Max had spent summers with good old uncle Henry, and now as Henry's supposedly only heir, Henry has left it all to Max. And just in time too to head off financial disaster after Max is fired, and to rescue him from the ghastly London weather. Max heads off to the south of France to check out the state of his inheritance, and along the way meets a taciturn farmhand, a lovely notaire, a gorgeous local restaurant owner, and a California Napa valley girl who may or may not be Uncle Henry's love child, thus complicating the inheritance picture. Max wants to get the vineyard up and running, and to add to the fun encounters a vineyard mystery. Someone is hiding the fact that a portion of the vineyard produces outstanding wine. But where are the profits going? Who is covering up the fact and cooking the books? All gets unraveled in the end, and we are treated to a charming look at the French and their habits (descriptions of wine tastings and local cuisine abound), and some well-placed jibes at the English and the American character as well as the wine industry. Light-hearted, charming and fun, a perfect novel to enjoy this summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars No legs, July 1 2004
By 
bentmax "bentmax" (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: A Good Year (Hardcover)
I am a devoted fan of Peter Mayle and always look forward to his next work. I am a frequent traveler to Provence as well and know most, if not all, of the non fictional places he refers to in his books. Reading Mayle is a pleasant reminder of the south of France. In past books, he has excelled in character development, devotion to detail and his obvious passion for his Provencal subjects.
Sadly, most of that is lacking in A Good Year. The plot is as thin as a watered-down Rhone, his characters as underdeveloped as June Pinot Noir. His affinity for Provence still shines through but other than a recipe for vinaigrette and a few brief mentions of French food here and there, this tale could as easily have unfolded in Spain or Chile or New Zealand - just rearrange the names.
Mayle has enjoyed, at least in my small opinion, a distinct advantage over Frances Mayes and her "Under the Tuscan Sun" series. He understands characters and character development. While Mayes focuses on a sense of place with incidental characters Mayle develops his characters intertwined with a sense of place.
None of that development occurs in A Good Year. This ultra light weight novel is so wafer thin from cover to cover one would think that Mayle wrote it in his sleep, it simply has no legs. I cannot imagine this novel being transcribed into a motion picture, yet, apparently, that is what is going to transpire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good light reading, June 12 2004
By 
Brent Wigen (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: A Good Year (Hardcover)
Peter Mayle's novel about a man who leaves his high-stress job in London for an inherited vineyard in southern France is not a great book, but it is a good enough story to enjoy, especially for light summer reading.
Max Skinner has had enough of the rat race in London and quits his job in the financial world. Conveniently enough, his uncle has passed away and left him a small vineyard in the south of France. Max heads south to check it out, and finds a small chateau with a small vinyard that makes terrible wine. Or does it? A second heir suddenly arrives, and the plot thickens when it is discovered that a second wine is made from a small patch at the vineyard. The story is hardly a thriller, it simply meanders along lazily, much the same as the days and the lives that Mayle describes.
I have no complaints about this book. I enjoyed it, and didn't take long to finish. This certainly isn't a dissertation on life's meaning, and everything in the book falls together just a little too conveniently, but Mayle's manner of writing about Provence conveys just the right tone; the kind of laid-back life in paradise that makes the region such a popular destination. It's not a thrill-a-minute, but it is a good, relaxing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Very Best of Vintage Mayle, June 1 2004
Ce commentaire est de: A Good Year (Hardcover)
I am a native of Provence, so I love the novels of Peter Mayle (I've read everything he's ever published) and I see, no doubt more clearly than most, how wonderfully they capture the essence of the Provence of the Lubéron. I find Mayle's novels breezy, lighthearted fun and I know they are sure to bring a smile to my face no matter how I'm feeling. Mayle's fifth novel, A GOOD YEAR, is, I think, his very best. Like all novelists, Mayle, in his early novels, had a tendency at times to create too many characters and subplots simply to ratchet up the suspense. This is a common problem but it certainly is nowhere to be found in A GOOD YEAR.
A GOOD YEAR centers on failed London financier Max Skinner. Just when Max is wondering what on earth he is going to do next, he finds he has inherited a Provençal vineyard from his Uncle Henry. Max, who remembers idyllic summers spent at Le Griffon, wants very much to start afresh in Provence but one thing is stopping him...money. That hurdle is soon overcome when his ex-brother-in-law, Charlie, loans him the money to make Le Griffon's vineyard viable once again.
Arriving in Provence, Max finds Le Griffon in worse shape than he could have ever imagined and, surprisingly, its wine cellar is filled with bottles of a totally undrinkable vintage. Max decides to go ahead with his plans for renovations and appeals to Le Griffon's caretaker, Claude Roussel and its housekeeper, Madame Passepartout who are, much to Max's consternation, quite uncooperative. And what is going on with Nathalie Auzet? (Anyone familiar with the writing of Peter Mayle will remember his wonderful description of Chez Auzet in the town of Cavaillon, a boulangerie I've visited often.) Life, however, eventually settles down and Max finds himself almost happy. Then, of course, disaster occurs.
This time "disaster" arrives from California in the form of Uncle Henry's daughter, Christie Roberts. Charlie also arrives at Le Griffon and the three get caught up in a scandal involving a wonderful, but somewhat mysterious, wine known as Le Coin Perdu.
A GOOD YEAR is a more straightforward story than some of Mayle's previous novels, ANYTHING CONSIDERED, especially, but it is wonderful, lighthearted fun and Mayle writes with an intimate knowledge, appreciation and love of Provence and its inhabitants and well as its viniculture. Although I would have liked to have seen a little more "heft" to the story, I still think this is Mayle's "cleanest" and best novel to date. I only hope the film version will remain true to the book and not "ruin" it the way Frances Mayes' delightful UNDER THE TUSCAN SUN was butchered. Mayle (and Mayes) certainly deserve better than that.
A GOOD YEAR isn't for those looking for life-altering, deeply insightful literary fiction, but it is a book that make all but the most hard-hearted smile and for those who know and love Provence, like I do, it is essential reading. A GOOD YEAR is certainly vintage Mayle, and I think it's vintage Mayle at his very best. I hope there's a lot more to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant enough, but ...., June 10 2004
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: A Good Year (Hardcover)
Once again Peter Mayle writes what he knows -- in this story a 30-something, burned-out, over-drafted London businessman inherits a winery in Provence, chucks the rat race and embraces a simpler life. Amusing complications arise, of course, but they're dealt with so easily they're hardly worthy of the term "plot device". It IS a very pleasant read, funny in spots, and our hero is charming, but it's also less than Mayle has delivered in the past. Bottomline: A quick, charming read without much oomph! to it, and certainly not worth buying in hardcover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars sour grapes, June 17 2004
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: A Good Year (Hardcover)
While still a lighthearted, fun read, this book disappoints on many levels. Too much focus on plot, not enough on the characters. Why hadn't Max seen his uncle in years? And was the California cousin really necessary? It would have been more interesting for Max to figure out the deception on his own. And the scant attention paid to the sting operation and the criminals' impluasibly quick exit left much to be desired. For a much better Mayle novel of this type, read Chasing Cezanne.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book on CD, June 28 2004
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: A Good Year (Hardcover)
I am a big fan of Peter Mayle and in addition just last week returned from a trip to France. I listened to the book on CD during a car trip from NJ to Boston (about 5 1/2 hours each way). I was caught in a traffic jam on the return but spent the time listening to this delightful tale. I also travel frequently to Napa Valley in California, mentioned so often in the story. It was a light and pleasant story filled with interesting wine facts. I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Summer Reading, June 18 2004
By 
Ce commentaire est de: A Good Year (Hardcover)
This is another great Peter Mayle book. While the characters are familiar, pretty girls with great legs, loveable locals, a snoppy housekeeper, cautious neighbors etc., the plot has many unpredictable turns. All in all you are left with a wonderful tale for great arm chair adventurering. It will bring many smiles to your face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Peter Mayle? Non!, June 5 2004
By 
Provencal "stremy" (Washington, DC USA) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: A Good Year (Hardcover)
For the most part, Peter Mayle's books have distinguished themselves because of their apt and charming descriptions of the cultural idiosyncrasies of small-town Provence. Mayle's primary and secondary characters were full-bodied -- people whom could easily visualize and with whom you could empathize. The Provencal countryside and markets were alive and stimulated your palate.
In comparison with his earlier works, Mayle's latest endeavor falls flat! The characterizations are shallow, the plot simplistic, and the spirit of the Luberon is not much in evidence. In "A Year in Provence" and "Toujours Provence" you could feel the physical impact of the Mistral's battering winds. While breezy, "A Great Year" has none of the full-fledged richness of his earlier works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Good Year
A Good Year by Peter Mayle (Paperback - June 14 2005)
CDN$ 18.95 CDN$ 13.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews