Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible first book by a new talent
Craig is a master beyond his years. Moi, j'chapeau l'mec.
A book about the deep feelings and longings that are possible in the world of existence, told through a mythologized melange of lumpy dumpy bumpy people, "funny animals", a neurotic bird, motown, moments of passion, clinking clunking bottles, interpersonal and intrapersonal ignorance and discovery.
A...
Published on Feb. 25 2003 by Ron A. Zajac

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars cute & sweet
good-bye, chunky rice is a short little cutie of a comic & it carries some sweet poignancy about friendship & finding a place in the world, but i didn't find it quite as profound as some of the other reviewers.
i think some of the flashbacks were a bit off-putting as in 'wait, where are we now?" & although chunky rice was certainly a darling little...
Published on Feb. 21 2004 by lady detective


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars cute & sweet, Feb. 21 2004
good-bye, chunky rice is a short little cutie of a comic & it carries some sweet poignancy about friendship & finding a place in the world, but i didn't find it quite as profound as some of the other reviewers.
i think some of the flashbacks were a bit off-putting as in 'wait, where are we now?" & although chunky rice was certainly a darling little character- what was he searching for? i longed for a bit more depth.
warning! this little book took me under 20 minutes to read- so i recommend getting it from the library or borrowing it from a friend first. if you love it (and most of the reviewers really did), then buy it. it's pretty pricey for such a quickie read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible first book by a new talent, Feb. 25 2003
By 
Ron A. Zajac (Dallas, TX, United States) - See all my reviews
Craig is a master beyond his years. Moi, j'chapeau l'mec.
A book about the deep feelings and longings that are possible in the world of existence, told through a mythologized melange of lumpy dumpy bumpy people, "funny animals", a neurotic bird, motown, moments of passion, clinking clunking bottles, interpersonal and intrapersonal ignorance and discovery.
A very rich comic experience, sure to capivate those who already know the comics universe is bigger than many think, and probably a safe bet first foray for those who are looking to start exploring that universe.
I bought this at the Knockabout stall at the Angouleme (France) comics festival in January of 2000. But you don't have to go to France. If it will help you make the decision to buy this book, then think of buying this book via Amazon as possessing the magic and mystery of going to France. There; did that work?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this is it, May 30 2002
By 
amy (south florida) - See all my reviews
You know that feeling when you see something for the first time, and it perfectly defines an undefinable emotion? Like the first time you heard Pink Floyd's "Great Gig in the Sky?"
Same thing here. This book manages to completely encapsulate that raw loss---of friends, of family, of innocence, of whatever while going to seek your fortune. I don't want to sound corny, but it's like an elegy to what you leave behind in order to get to your future.
Glorious glorious book. Go read it. Now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wistful...don't look back in anger., June 30 2000
By A Customer
A potent story to pass around...skirts the edge of the maudlin, but is rescued by the author's keen sensibilities. Reinvigorates the American graphic novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Makes comics high literary and visual art!, June 22 2000
By A Customer
This stunning comic was so good I read it in one sitting (no breaks) and even cried at the end. It would make an excellent gift for a friend or a traveller (graduates!). I highly, highly recommend Chunky. It was breathtaking. I couldn't share it fast enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, innovative and very moving! WONDERFUL!, Jan. 15 2000
By 
Sherm Cohen (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
This is simply the best piece of comic-art I have read in years, and each time I re-read it, I find more to enjoy. Do yourself a favor and order at least two of them, because you'll really feel the need to share this one! I have already given away a dozen copies of this wonderful book, and I recommend it without reservation to anyone, especially if they never read comics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating tale of the ongoing struggle to find ones home., Nov. 16 1999
By A Customer
Chunky Rice is like no other book I've ever read. Its at one time adorable and depressing, but always captivating. Comparable to Melvile's MOBY DICK, this tale of a wandering sprit's driving desire to leave his safe and almost perfect life in exchange for the uncertantity of life at sea is one that anyone can relate to. The fact that the central character is an almost genderless cartoon turtle makes him truly iconic so that anyone can put their own identity into the character's life journey. Once Chunky Rice sets sail we are introduced to a strange crew of freakish characters each with a striking vulnerability that they try to keep buried within them only to find it constantly resurfacing. This is the type of book to read and then share with a friend. I Highly encourage everyone one to pick up this book. It's quietly poetic and beautifully drawn with a wild imaginative style that truly stands out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good-bye, Chunky Rice is beautiful, sad, and impressive., Sept. 29 1999
By A Customer
"Good-bye, Chunky Rice" is among the best graphic novels I've ever read. It tells several interweaving heart-breakingly sad stories--each of which becomes more layered and interesting as the story goes on. Plus the art is a real wower! I recommend it for anyone--most of my friends who do not read comic books found themselves transported by this impressive and transporting work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unique illustrations and overlapping plot lines, Exceptional, Sept. 28 1999
By A Customer
This foray into the full graphic novel has proven quite successful for an innovative artist. The intricate, interwoven plots address issues few would expect from a first novel. The author/illustrator reaches out to those of us who have experienced life in "an isolated farming community" and experienced not fitting in. His character Chunky is touching and realistic. He knows that carrying his home on his back is not the best, but that he must make the best of it. The author also emphasized the point that each individual must seek out to find that one place, that one lifestyle that will make them happy, regardless of the obstacles.
I was also impressed by the mosaic illustrations. A very creative view of the mundane and allows the reader to discover many things on their own. I am looking forward to further works by this newcomer.
Overall, I am raving over a book by a fellow I am proud of!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A moving graphic Novel, beautifully rendered, Sept. 27 1999
By 
Craig Thompson's debut graphic novel Good-bye Chunky Rice is a delight. The title character is a small turtle who sets off on a sea voyage of self-discovery. Thompson interweaves this quest with those of friends Chunky has left ashore and with flashbacks from their lives. An initially complex structure becomes clear after twenty pages or so. What distinguishes the book is a moving story rendered beautifully by Mr. Thompson's pen.The transitions are unique and surprising and the images range from starkly simple to dense and complex. The book is suitable for adults and children but one episode involving drowned puppies is disturbing. I eagerly await Craig Thompson's next books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Good-bye, Chunky Rice
Good-bye, Chunky Rice by Craig Thompson (Paperback - May 9 2006)
CDN$ 18.00 CDN$ 13.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews