Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Home, Kitchen and Garden Gift Guide

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars74
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$15.15+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 1, 2015
This guy simply can not write a bad book! If you truly wish to gain an insight on life, the universe and everything, then I suggest reading ANYTHING this man puts out!

He write for me,,, someone who is absolutely fascinated with science, especially quantum mechanic and cosmology,yet without the academic background to fully understand the physics. Be not afraid, and persevere! Brian will guide you gently not into that good night; rather, into the shimmering blaze of understanding!

I have all his books, btw. Just sayin'
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2014
Brian Greene has created a great presentation for the non physics students whereby the theories are easy to understand.
For me, no math formulas, a great bonus.
Plenty of visual aids to show the concept explained.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2014
After reading this book, and also many other popular physics titles, you will be ready to explore the world of more advanced physics texts, that would be incomprehensible otherwise.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2013
One word is enough to sum it up: Amazing! I first got hooked watching Fabric of the Cosmos on TV, so decided to get the book. Definitely am not dissappointed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2013
An insightful, interesting and surprisingly easy read. That does not mean that it is not challenging. I will reread this one several times.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on March 12, 2013
Liked the DVD. Very informative and well presented.Watched it twice for better understanding.Acquired other DVD's on the same subject.The book is a little heavy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2013
Brian Greene has the ability to write books about physics that non-physicists can understand. He takes you into the world of quantum physics, looking at the structure of the universe, without going over your head. I enjoyed reading this book and would recommend it to students or general readers with an interest in science.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on September 4, 2011
Let's just get this out of the way first: this book is awesome. Seriously. Do not let any of the naysayers dissuade you from picking this book up if you have even the slightest interest in cosmology or theoretical physics. Hell, I'd probably still recommend Brian Greene's book to those with a more specialized education in the matter, simply as a useful reference. It's that good.

The "Fabric of the Cosmos" is a big book. Not in size, but in content. Greene goes from Newton's Laws, grounded in classical physics, and ends up discussing M-theory, p-branes, and extra dimensional Calabri-Yau shapes by the end of the text. His writing is vast and comprehensive, but what makes this book so good is its accessibility. Does the symmetry of physics (translational symmetry, gauge symmetry, etc.), the Higgs feld and its energy bowl, spontaneous symmetry breaking, the electroweak force, and how it all relates make sense to you? No? Well, it didn't to me, either, until I read this book. Greene elucidates it all in such a style as to appeal to any layman with any sort of interest in the subject matter and a willingness to learn. Classical physics, Einstein's relativity, Maxwell's work on electromagnetism, quantum mechanics, unification, inflationary cosomology . . . you name it, it's in here.

One of the greatest elements of this book is its layout. Greene breaks each section down into smaller, digestible topics separated by headers that don't require pages and pages of reading with nary a break in between. Because of the complexity of the subject matter, being able to read small pieces at a time about a topic such as string theory (which is touched on at the end, but not nearly in as much depth as in his "Elegant Universe") allows me to take a break from the book to do some other research, or just to contemplate the new info, without feeling lost when I return to reading. It was a fantastic decision and shows Greene's experience in communicating complex concepts.

Another device Greene uses liberally throughout the text is analogy. The wide use of this shows you that the book is truly intended for the general reader, and, for the most part, they are very useful, explanatory, and easy to follow. Some, though, get a little annoying. The repeated use of the Simpsons during his explanation of relativity is one of these times. It's not a big thing, and the analogies still work great, but it is a gripe, albeit a small one, surrounded by heaps of praise.

In a nutshell, Brian Greene is a fantastically accessible writer on the topic of theoretical physics. I can't stress this enough. Accessibility of the complex subjects broached in the "Fabric of the Cosmos" is, I would wager, of the utmost importance to most any general reader interested in picking up the text. Without accessibility, a book on those topics herein tends to devolve into a scientific treatise or a text book. A book filled with complex equations would not lend itself to simply expressing the concepts and ideas behind the math. Thankfully, through the skill of Greene's writing and his ability to teach, the accessibility of the "Fabric of the Comsos" is one of his most crowning achievements.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2009
I really loved this book. Covered a lot of territory found in similar explorations, but always with a fresh slant, and lots of surprises. Very,very well organized. A treat from start to finish, and so far as I could tell quite up-to-date.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on March 10, 2007
Bruan Greene does a wonderful job in providing background information in modern physics to the average science buff. His descriptions and concise and his analogies are quite useful. My only concern is that, when presenting his ideas on string theory, there is very little mention of the fact that hardly anything has been proven in this area. Its largest competition, quantum gravity, is abrely mentioned, and seems to be an after thought. I do not blame Mr. Greene for his feeling, considering all he has invested in string theory, but the book leaves you with the idea that string theory is the only real theory to explain the entire universe, and this is definately false.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

A Brief History of Time
A Brief History of Time by Stephen Hawking (Paperback - Sept. 1 1998)
CDN$ 13.30