Customer Reviews


135 Reviews
5 star:
 (100)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Her children are lucky
I am disturbed by some of the reviews that cruelly state that Mrs. Dacyczyn's children are being shortchanged--one reviewer called her childrearing philosophy child neglect and borderline abuse.
I think the Dacyczyn children are very blessed to be raised in a family where worldly values are put in perspective and the important things in life are stressed. My daughter...
Published on Sept. 26 2003 by C. Walker

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I laughed and laughed, but did not get many good ideas.
I read this book and shared it with a friend. We both thought that it was an interesting and often hysterical look an alternative lifestyle, but that it was not terribly useful to us.First of all, the author and her family live in the-back-of-beyond rural Maine, where being a little "eccentric" is perhaps less problematic than for most of us in the real...
Published on April 5 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You can make do better than you think, Nov. 30 2003
This review is from: The Complete Tightwad Gazette (Paperback)
This combination of all three books is such a resource that every home should have one. When you run out of something you can usually find a homemade alternative in her books. Also if you need a substitution it is probably in there.
Amy D. really know's how to make the most of her money and leave a person not feeling deprived. She is innovative and resourceful and each section of the book tells you exactly how.
Some of the ideas are kind of out there but glean out the information that is most practical to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I laughed and laughed, but did not get many good ideas., April 5 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Complete Tightwad Gazette (Paperback)
I read this book and shared it with a friend. We both thought that it was an interesting and often hysterical look an alternative lifestyle, but that it was not terribly useful to us.First of all, the author and her family live in the-back-of-beyond rural Maine, where being a little "eccentric" is perhaps less problematic than for most of us in the real world. Also, the author's hard-nosed approach to saving money at all costs struck us as very cold sometimes, such as when she said she tried putting Desitin ointment on one-half of her baby's diaper rash to see if it healed faster with the cream. It didn't, so she concluded that she didn't need to spend money on it. However, she didn't consider that perhaps the treated rash FELT BETTER to the baby as it healed. Same with her attitude about meals: her kids are "disciplined" if they don't clean their plates, and they MUST eat whatever she puts in front of them, whether they like it or not. She claims this prevents picky eaters, and I'm sure she's right -- but what other eating problems might that cause down the road? In another section she devotes several pages to "dumpster diving" -- I thought I'd hurt myself laughing -- is she serious? She also devotes endless pages to describing how to calculate the cheapest meal ingredients, down 1/10 of a cent in some cases. She says this is fun! She also says she gets a thrill from wearing socks with holes in them, and testing to see how little detergent she can use on diapers before they seem to bother the baby. Of course, it's her life and she's entitled to her choices, but I think for most of us these are not choices that make sense. Unless, of course, you think it's fun to spend 30 minutes with a calculator to find out that one muffin recipe is 4/10ths of a cent cheaper than another. I also found it annoying that references in the text often sent me to pages that did not contain the promised information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Want to Be A Millionaire? The Small Change Adds Up, June 24 2000
This review is from: The Complete Tightwad Gazette (Paperback)
Surprise! You don't have to go on a quiz show or live before the TV cameras with a bunch of strangers to come into big money. Amy Dacyczyn, the self-proclaimed Frugal Zealot, shows you how to do it yourself: save a little here, a little there. Make frugality your lifestyle. Track prices and purchases. Those pennies add up to big bucks.
The author's money-saving tips were originally brought out during recessionary times, but don't turn up your nose. Even in a good economy, saving is important. And it will become even more so if inflation returns. So get in the habit now!
What you don't spend, you can invest. Dacyczyn, whose name is pronounced "decision," demonstrates that the little decisions we make every day make a big difference over time. And they affect the overall bottom line.
Her -- and her saavy readers' -- advice to drivers and car owners is worth its weight in gold in the Summer of 2000's high gas price economy. Ditto, her lecture about not charging full speed ahead with your credit cards. Those items alone will more than pay for your book purchase.
I like the book's spirit. Being a tightwad, the Frugal Zealot says, is FUN! You'll be proud of your ingenuity. Bargain hunt, barter and buy on sale or secondhand. Above all, watch what you spend. And eat.
You don't have to skip the celebrations to cut costs. The Frugal Zealot is an experienced mom; she shows how to make your kid the most original Halloween costumes ever and put on fabulous birthday parties using discarded items. Her description of tightwad weddings make them sound more delightful than the big -- and no doubt overpriced -- storybook weddings touted in most magazines.
Stay out of the malls and shop the garage sales -- you'll save a fortune and have a wonderful "yard sailing" adventure every Saturday. You can make the outdated clothes fashionable again with a few scissor snips, and collect Leggos and Lincoln logs for your kids for pennies on the dollar.
Even if you don't want to dumpster dive, water down your shampoo or cut your own hair, there are plenty of clever tips to inspire you. She gives dozens of painless ways to save $100. Drink tap water, not soda pop; find free entertainment; use clotheslines, not clothes dryers; don't buy Tupperware when you can save and use butter tubs; and brush your teeth, you'll save a wad at the dentist.
Environmentally concerned readers will delight in tips how to use and reuse everything from razor blades to building materials.
Big ticket items are covered, too: everything from travel to home ownership to unsubscribing from the idea that Christmas is all about spending money.
What to do with all that loot you save? Invest in the stock market, save for your kids' educations or your own retirement -- and realize the American Dream. Make this book your money Bible and you'll become debt- and worry free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but irritating, June 9 2004
This review is from: The Complete Tightwad Gazette (Paperback)
While I enjoy and have used much of the information in this book, my big gripe is that the index is done terribly. It seems like they just copied the indexes from the three books instead of re-doing them, so nothing is listed under the proper page number. It makes trying to find anything a nightmare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Huge book with useful tips and formulas, Dec 26 2011
By 
This review is from: The Complete Tightwad Gazette (Paperback)
This amazingly huge tome of almost 1000 pages contains a wealth of money saving knowledge, good sense, and formulas to help you calculate savings and create your own recipes. Some of the information is a little outdated and some things apply to the USA only, but the majority of articles, tips, recipes, formulas etc... are useful for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 1000 great ways to save money!, Sept. 9 2009
By 
A. Jarvis (Ancaster, On Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Tightwad Gazette (Paperback)
There are just so many great money saving ideas in here and other useful information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good advice, some outdated, Nov. 20 2006
By 
L. A. Turner (Saskatoon, Saskatchewan Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Complete Tightwad Gazette (Paperback)
This book offers great money saving advice for those who don't care what others think of them. Many of the tips given result in obviously "home made" solutions. I think more of us need to use these tips and forget about trying to "keep up with the Joneses".

My only complaint is that prices are very out of date, so it is a bit odd, but you can get past that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Gift for a Young Adult Starting Out, Feb. 4 2004
By 
Michelle C (Las Vegas, NV United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Complete Tightwad Gazette (Paperback)
How I wish I had read this book when I was first married! This gigantic book -- almost 1000 pages! -- is filled with a wealth of ideas for the frugal or simple lifestyle. Not very many recipes in here (intentional on the author's part), but those are easy to come by in books like _Miserly Moms_ or _Not Just Beans_. Some of the strategies described may sound extreme, but I think the intent of the author was to provide many ways to save money, and let the readers decide which they can comfortably adopt. This will tell you how to save money for just about every imaginable expense. An excellent reference all around. I would highly recommend this as a gift for a newlywed couple, a new graduate, or a new mother. It's worth its weight in gold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT, Dec 5 2003
This review is from: The Complete Tightwad Gazette (Paperback)
GET TO THE HEART OF THE MATTER, FORGET WHAT SOCIETY SAYS-BE YOUR OWN PERSON/FAMILY, AND CONSERVE MONEY AND RESOURCES!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Too extreme and too narrow, Dec 1 2003
This review is from: The Complete Tightwad Gazette (Paperback)
Some of the suggestions in this book are good. Indeed it's funny how much of it my wife and I already implement. However, the scrimping is overdone. For example, my wife and I catered our own wedding and saved a bundle. However, we would never have dreamed of having a pot luck wedding!
I prefer Andrew Tobias' approach, which is more balanced. He both scrimps and invests. With six kids you could argue that Amy is not doing the Earth any favors. No doubt it's hard to have six kids and any money left to save no matter how frugal you are.
A healthy balance is sadly lacking here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xf704e34)

This product

The Complete Tightwad  Gazette
The Complete Tightwad Gazette by Amy Dacyczyn (Paperback - Dec 15 1998)
CDN$ 28.00 CDN$ 17.56
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews