Customer Reviews


164 Reviews
5 star:
 (87)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why it's still in print a hundred years later...
H.G. Wells wrote War of the Worlds as a warning to the complacent, world-dominating British citizens of his era to not take the status quo for granted. The arrogance of some British politicians in particular rubbed Wells entirely the wrong way, particularly their sentiment that the British had an 'obligation' to 'civilize' the world (read: colonize) for its own good...
Published on Oct. 12 2006 by Mark Wakely

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT HISTORY LESSON!
Greatly enjoyed this old classic!
Had trouble following all the London landmarks, so it took considerable concentration to visualize the movements of the Martians and the others in the story.
Glad I read it though.
Recommend it to both HISTORY and sci-fi. Buffs.
Published 9 months ago by Christine Brandon


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars War of the worlds, Dec 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is one of the classics by H.G. Wells. Intriguing story; however, tends to drag in parts. Reader must allow for the fact that Wells was writing without the benefit of current scientific knowledge. Consequently, story seems implausible in parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why it's still in print a hundred years later..., Oct. 12 2006
By 
Mark Wakely (Lombard, Illinois) - See all my reviews
H.G. Wells wrote War of the Worlds as a warning to the complacent, world-dominating British citizens of his era to not take the status quo for granted. The arrogance of some British politicians in particular rubbed Wells entirely the wrong way, particularly their sentiment that the British had an 'obligation' to 'civilize' the world (read: colonize) for its own good. Well's book was a rock thrown at that attitude-on-a-pedestal, and although he didn't knock it down, he made his point- and in spectacular fashion. In one way, the Martians *were* the conquering British, with their superior weapons and baffling ways that must have seemed incomprehensible to the natives of Africa and other areas colonized by force. Wells' dark tale was also a warning that even the British- despite their firm belief in their world destiny- could be squashed like so many bugs by an indifferent cosmos that didn't give one whit about the British (or anyone else's) false boast of superiority. In the end, though, it's a hopeful book- just as the Martians died off because they weren't biologically suited to live in this world, Wells also foretells the end of the British Empire because the British (alien) way was not the native way of life in the colonies, suggesting that the British wouldn't survive there long; the natives would eventually prevail. And they did. On top of all that, it's rousing entertainment that can be read just for its drama and suspense.

And that's why it's still in print a hundred years later.

-Mark Wakely, author of An Audience for Einstein
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book., July 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book doesn't really need another review (especially not one written by me), and there is nothing worse about the Kindle edition when compared to the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It has held up very well, May 16 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The story is very familiar and over a century later it is still quite engaging. I particularly liked how it serves as a time capsule. Four generations on and people are the same yet our technology has evolved so astoundingly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT HISTORY LESSON!, Oct. 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Greatly enjoyed this old classic!
Had trouble following all the London landmarks, so it took considerable concentration to visualize the movements of the Martians and the others in the story.
Glad I read it though.
Recommend it to both HISTORY and sci-fi. Buffs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Classic Book, Oct. 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great classic book; awesome for it to be free. Reccomended read for all!!! The Kindle version is very user friendly and a pleasure to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, Sept. 29 2013
By 
Bootsy Bass (Winnipeg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Maybe one of the books that could be credited with starting the sci-fi genre. This is a must read for any sci-fi geeks out there. Very well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, Sept. 11 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent book. I always liked all versions of WotW. Especially a musical version I found in a flea market. It was on 2 CDs and first time I listened to it it was like taking an audio adventure. I was young and it was both scary and interesting at the same time listening to that. This book takes me back to those days
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An enduring classic, June 20 2013
This is one of my all-time favourite books. I've read and re-read it many times, and it never fails to delight me. Some readers may not enjoy the 19th century style of the writing, but I find it adds to the overall effect: you really do feel as if you're in turn of the century England as the Martians begin landing! Pretty much all subsequent alien invasion stories owe something to Wells' classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, May 19 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
One of the best science fiction books I have ever read! Read it first as a teenager and still entertains as a senior! Excellent writing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The War of the Worlds
The War of the Worlds by H.G. Wells (Paperback - March 12 2002)
CDN$ 10.00 CDN$ 9.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews