Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The second book in the Malory family series
This is the story Of Roslynn Chadwick and Anthony (Tony) Malory. Roslynn is a proud Scot and Tony is an arrogant English nobleman. When he meets her, he vows she will be his. When they marry, everything seems to be going happily ever after, untill Rosylnn thinks Tony cheated on her. James Malory, ( hero of the third book, Gentle Rogue) helps his brother and his proud...
Published on May 18 2002 by cmwalton2

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Malory Series Part 2
Set in 1818 London. Rosalynn Chadwick, Scottish beauty and rich heiress flees Scotland and her fortune hunting cousin, Geordie Cameron, who is out to get his hands on her money by forcing her into marriage. Rosalynn decides to enter London society in order to find a suitable husband who will protect her from the unwanted attentions of Geordie.
During her second ball,...
Published on May 28 2003 by Lealing


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Malory Series Part 2, May 28 2003
By 
Lealing (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tender Rebel (Mass Market Paperback)
Set in 1818 London. Rosalynn Chadwick, Scottish beauty and rich heiress flees Scotland and her fortune hunting cousin, Geordie Cameron, who is out to get his hands on her money by forcing her into marriage. Rosalynn decides to enter London society in order to find a suitable husband who will protect her from the unwanted attentions of Geordie.
During her second ball, whilst trying to escape from the persistent but clumsy Lord Bradley, Rosalynn disappears into the garden and runs straight into Lord Anthony Malory, a most handsome black haired, blue eyed rakehell. "...and she was staring at him with a new look, obvious fascination, and he was glad that women found him appealing to the senses." However, Rosalynn had been warned before about rakes and "He was one of them, one of the 'not to be considered'."
I was looking forward to Anthony's story after reading about him in Love Only Once. As with the previous book, I found this book to be a run of the mill regency romp. I did find that Rosalynn spent too much time of the novel being jealous and angry at Anthony but then where would the fun be without the antagonism? You'll enjoy the book anyway if you are a JL fan like myself.
Don't miss James' story in Gentle Rogue, the next in the series.
Lealing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not As Good As I Had Expected, Nov. 1 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Tender Rebel (Mass Market Paperback)
I'm a huge JL fan, especially of the Mallory series. Anthony was SO good in the other series and I couldn't wait to read his story. But, for heaven's sake, all he and his bride did was argue, argue, and argue. It was never pleasant to have them in the same room together. As easy going as Anthony was, in this book he's forced to become very moody and depressed, not to mention terribly unhappy.
I can't imagine anyone even remotely enjoying this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The second book in the Malory family series, May 18 2002
By 
"cmwalton2" (Tomball, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tender Rebel (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the story Of Roslynn Chadwick and Anthony (Tony) Malory. Roslynn is a proud Scot and Tony is an arrogant English nobleman. When he meets her, he vows she will be his. When they marry, everything seems to be going happily ever after, untill Rosylnn thinks Tony cheated on her. James Malory, ( hero of the third book, Gentle Rogue) helps his brother and his proud Scottish bride fall back into love. This book is full of all the things I love about Johanna Lindsey. Love, Fueding, And Inticate Families.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tender Rebel, Feb. 3 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Tender Rebel (Mass Market Paperback)
This may not be the best Mallory novel Ms. Lindsey has written but it's darned close. Tony is every woman's dream - Tall, dark, and handsome. And who can resist a "bad boy". Apparently not Rosalyn, the beautiful heiress looking for a husband. She gets more than she bargained for in Tony, though. Also great are the reappearence of Nicholas and Regina Eden, Tony's niece and black sheep nephew-in-law from the first Mallory novel. You can guess who is match making. This is an all around great romance second only to Gentle Rogue, the story of Anthony's brother James.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best, Nov. 27 2001
By 
deanna (COUNCIL BLUFFS, IA, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tender Rebel (Mass Market Paperback)
I HAVE READ ALMOST ALL OF THE MALORY BOOKS. THE ONLY ONE I DID NOT READ WAS GENTAL ROUGE AND THIS ONE. I HAD WENT TO THE LIBRARY AND CHECKED IT OUT. I AM DEFINTLY GOING TO BUY IT FOR MY COLLECTION.
ROSELYN IS A FIRY SCOT THAT HAS BOTH ANTHONY AND JAMES INTEREST PIKED. IN THIS BOOK THE PLOT IS BOTH WONDERFULLY MADE AND WELL THOUGHT OUT I CANNOT WAIT TO READ THE "GENTAL ROUGE" IF IT IS AS WELL WRITTEN AS THIS ONE I WILL ENJOY IT EMENSLY.
THANK YOU
DE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Second in Mallory series, July 17 2001
By 
Stacy Wallace (Lumberton, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tender Rebel (Mass Market Paperback)
This was one of the best books Johanna Lindsey has done. Her Mallory series are exciting and action packed. And so romantic. Keep it up, Lindsey!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a beutiful story, June 10 2001
By 
"candcs" (kenner, la United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tender Rebel (Mass Market Paperback)
i really enjoyed this book, maybe because i am in love with the main character, anthony malory. he is so sweet and patience. the only complaint is i wish thier was more actual love parts in the story, not about the mistrust and anger between the two main characters. this is my 8th book i read by JL and so far all the books have the two main characters in the book fighting and hating each other till the end, just once i would like to see love between the two and something else they must overcome, but i contiunue to read these books, never giving up hope because you never....! other then that it is a great story and i really like how JL intercept two story (this one and Gentle Rogue) into the same story but from different points of view. i hope you enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 2nd book of the Malory Series, April 30 2001
By 
Abbys (Moreno Valley, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tender Rebel (Mass Market Paperback)
First off, here is the series in sequence: 1. Love Only Once 2. Tender Rebel 3. Gentle Rogue 4. The Magic of You 5. Say You Love Me 6. The Present: The Malory Holiday Novel
Because Anthony (and James) are my two favorite uncles in LOVE ONLY ONCE, I was so excited to read this 2nd book of the series. I couldn't wait to find out who would be the lucky lady to sweep Anthony off his feet and what his story would be, I was not disappointed. The story line, twist and secondary characters truly made a big effect. The usual spice of the Malory Family especially the updates of Regina and Nicholas thoroughly entertained me. The reason why I didn't rate this book a 5 stars was cuz in my opinion, Anthony fell in love too quickly. It's just a teeny weeny unsatisfaction... His actions were abrupt and uncool considering he is London's biggest rake. I guess I expected more of him, i just wasn't convince... its was all too soon for me. Roslynn wasn't a bad heroine, she was level headed, kind hearted and witty but perhaps my mistake was that i compare her to Regina who is my favorite of all Malory. I decided to finish reading the whole series before i write the reviews so i can compare it all. Love Only Once & The gentle Rogue is my favorite of all 6 in the series. However, this book is still a great read. Despite that small niggel mentioned above, I still recommend this book to anyone especially those who started reading the Malory series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars #2 in the Mallory series, Nov. 9 2000
By 
J. Austin "jodylync" (Dublin, OH United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tender Rebel (Mass Market Paperback)
Anthony is the youngest Mallory brother and one of London's biggest rakes. Scottish born Roslynn flees to London to escape her greedy cousin when her grandfather leaves her his entire fortune. Now Roslynn is desparate to find a husband so her cousin will leave her in peace. Anthony realizing his feelings for her decides to fill that role, but is stunned by the conditions Roslynn wants to put on their marriage. She wants him. That is undeniable, but she is terrified to give him her heart. This book is one of Lindsey's best. Anthony is magnetic and held my heart. Roslynn is nervous and unsure, but a very likable character. You cheer them on and you read their story and renew your acquaintance with the whole Mallory family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Uncle Tony's own seduction, Aug. 30 2000
This review is from: Tender Rebel (Mass Market Paperback)
Sequel to the first Malory novel- Love Only Once. The story is heart warming, definitely not to be miss by Lindsey's fans and those who dearly loved the Malory. Better than before,this story revolves Anthnoy Malory, the uncle to Regina Eden and Roslynn Chadwick, a Scottish heiress. A whirlwind of instant attraction and bold romance between both of them will ties them in a stormy marriage. With Roslynn's little trust on her own heart, she defies Anthony even after the marriage. Thier marriage was definitely having lots of ups and downs, and doses of adventures before both knew that their heart was stolen by the other. Definitely a keep for the Malory fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9edbfc9c)

This product

Tender Rebel
Tender Rebel by Johanna Lindsey (Mass Market Paperback - June 1 1988)
CDN$ 9.50 CDN$ 9.02
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews