Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars I'd give it 10 stars, if I could, June 29 2004
By 
Dakota "daxydakota" (Southern California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Savage Thunder (Mass Market Paperback)
"Savage Thunder" is my favorite Lindsey romance, hands down. From the gripping first chapter in which the hero, Colt Thunder, is almost whipped to death for being half-Cheyenne, to the many, many HOT love scenes, "Savage Thunder" is a wonderful story you just can't put down.
I adore Colt, who is the best JL hero EVER! He is a moody, dangerous "breed" who struggles to control his desire for Jocelyn, a widowed English Duchess as fiery as her red hair. The pair has great chemistry together, whether it is in sizzling repartee or a tumble in bed (or, in some instances, on a horse).
The storyline is also intriguing. Jocelyn is plagued by an assassin out to kill her, and this puts her in some interesting positions, including being kidnapped. We also get to meet "cold-blooded" Angel at this point, who gets his own story later on in the aptly titled Lindsey romance, "Angel."
Whatever criticisms I have about "Savage Thunder" are minor. For one, Lindsey went into A LOT of detail describing extraneous scenes like the famous showdown in Tombstone with Wyatt Earp. She also brought in Billy from "Brave the Wild Wind" as the reason why Colt was in Arizona and, of course, literally runs into the Duchess. But Billy is forgotten after that (I wouldn't mind Billy getting his own story, by the way).
I recommend "Savage Thunder" with a passion. It is the best Lindsey romance, in my opinion, followed only by "Once a Princess." However, before you read "Savage Thunder," read its awesome prequel, "Brave the Wild Wind," where Colt is still living with his Cheyenne tribe and is known as White Thunder. Then, after you read "Savage Thunder," be sure to read "Angel," which takes place just days after "Savage Thunder" ends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great story. Wish there could have been more happy times., Jan. 15 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Savage Thunder (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is a page turner. The story is action- packed. The characters are vivid. My only complaint is that the leading couple do not share
much happiness together.
Colt Thunder is an angry, vengeful, resentful half- breed who has sworn off white women. He has a good reason: after courting a white woman
in the past, he was savagely whipped nearly to death. However, this experience has made him rather mean- spirited. His rudeness and spite get
old at times, especially when he is aiming it at a woman who treats him with respect and friendship. But he also proves to be a brave and powerful hero, who saves the lady's life several times.
Jocelyn is an English Duchess, who is traveling the world to keep from being caught and murdered by a hitman. For 3 years, she has not known
peace. During an ambush, her coach is thrown down a hill. Handsome Colt Thunder shows up to help her. She is instantly attracted to him, but
he seems bitter for reasons she can't understand. (She later learns it is because she is white, and he likes her.)
Jocelyn is on a mission to lose her virginity. Her deceased husband was impotent. She feels she must lose her virginity to someone who is not
within her own social circle before she can remarry, to keep the public from knowing of her husband's embarrassing condition. Colt Thunder
becomes her target. She sets out to seduce him, with plans of using him free herself of her innocence.
Colt wants to stay as far away from Jocelyn as possible. He doesn't want to bring her reputation down by her being seen with him. He also
does not want a repeat whipping.
Jocelyn manages to trap Colt into acting as a guide for her traveling group of servants and guards. Over the next months, she chases him, he runs
from her, etc... When she finally gets him in bed, he is surprised to find she is an innocent. When he learns that she used him, is becomes more
angry than ever. Still, she won't leave him alone.
Colt saves her life from enemies several times, and finally decides it would be best to rush her to safety without the rest of her group slowing them
down. He also plans to use the time to have her to himself. For a week, they enjoy privacy and blissful love. (Finally!)
Once they are back in society, Colt again disappears. His constant self- loathing has resurfaced. He feels he is not good enough for the
Duchess.
Everything is wrapped up suddenly by a quick visit from Colt's sister. In a blink, his anger and resentfulness vanish. A few minutes later, he is
asking Jocelyn to marry him. The ending didn't seem to fit the rest of the book.
Rather mild, yet wild love scenes. Very little romance. Still a good story for adventure and excitement. A wide variety of characters. Several
humorous scenes as well. It kept me interested, and kept me reading. I read the 420 page book in a little over a day. It's a good, worth while
read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Yes indeed, you gotta Love a Lindsey, Oct. 9 2003
This review is from: Savage Thunder (Mass Market Paperback)
You see it on the covers and I've heard it in some reading circles, yes, you GOT TO LOVE A LINDSEY. I've read Savage Thunder a couple of times over the past few years when I've needed a break from the "real world" and this book sure does it. We first met Colt, aka,White Thunder, and a few of his family members in Brave the Wild Wind. Savage Thunder picks Colt and Jocelyn's story. Johanna Lindsey doesn't write the generic bodice ripper seen in the early Rosemay Rogers books -- yes, there IS hot sex -- but its between partners who are in their own way faithful to each other and love each other deeply. While Lindsey's books are escapist reading, are generally written in another time (or planet) they also deal with many of our modern issues around race,religion and cultural misunderstanding. Anyone can pick up one of her books and relate to parts,if not all of them.
Colt, like many of Lindsey's hero's is hurt physically and emotionally, he's vulnerable and hides it until he meets Jocelyn who has no preconceived notions, enjoys life and begins to heal his hurts. In this, Lindsey's 25th book, there is more character development and it almost feels like you know or could know and admire these people. Her descriptions of the places they travel through feed the imagination so that if you are looking to "escape" for a short period of time to another place and time your mind certainly takes you there.
Its an easy read, but one you want to read over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars one of lindsey's better works, Oct. 31 2002
By 
This review is from: Savage Thunder (Mass Market Paperback)
i usually steer clear of the "old west" romance because i have read some that were so god awful that i was cringing every other line. after reading some of lindsey's other works i decided to give "angel," the sequel to this work, and "savage thunder a try. lindsey is a writer who writing style leads more toward the tamer side of bedroom scenes. sometimes being so vague that i wont have known that anything happened until a few chapters later. but she makes up for it wonderfully in her characters and flowing dialogue.
this story of jocelyn, a widowed duchess being hunted by a inept man trying to kill her so her money will go to her dead husband's greedy relatives, and colt, a half breed who is bitter and jaded after a horribe experience when he is found courting a "white woman" is one i had not seen before. when jocelyn sees colt she knows he is the one who can help her with her "little problem." her marriage to the duke was one of convience, he was dying and she needed a protector but he was never able to consumate the marriage. jocelyn refuses to let anyone know of this failing and so in order to marry later she must take a lover and be rid of her virginity. she hires colt as her guide for a near fortune after she traps him in a bluff and the story that follows is humorous and delightful.
like any story there is good and bad.
the good: lindsey's characters are heart warming, like some long lost friend. jocelyn and colt together were priceless and i was laughing quite a bit as jocelyn is anything but some prim and meek duchess. this book surprisingly had a few very steamy scenes and one that was rather umm shall we say creative? it was all still tasteful it just added an edge to the book in my opinion. the story itself is unique and i found it pretty refreshing as the duchess is anything but helpless and simpering as in many books. it has great dialogue between characters that is snappy and fast. the characters are witty in a way that few writers can accomplish. never once did any of linsdey's characters sound melodramtic and in fact they seem pretty at ease with themselves. many writers go into that self torture bit which may be a little more realistic sometimes but can become tiresome quickly. the book kept my interest from beginning to end with no real lag anywhere.
now sadly for the bad: this book is one in a continuing series though you wouldn't know it from just looking at it. now i wouldn't begrudge anyone a series but there is no mention that this a sequel to any other books but draws pretty heavily from it prequel. nothing major as i was still able to understand the plot but i felt almost cheated since many former events are refered to. i will read the prequel, as soon as i figure just exactly which one of lindsey five million books it is, and volia i will know what's going on. but while reading "savage thunder" it was annoying. the side stories were a little bland when i would have liked to have seen the developing relationships instead of just being told "oh yeah and then those two fell in love." and finally the ending was just a little to nice and neat for me. all colt's unresolved bitterness and mistrust are resolved after one short visit from his sister? come on. it didn't need to be anything epic but it felt like lindsey was just tired of writing and wanted to just end it.
i liked this book. the characters are great, the dialogue superb and the story original. i wish they would list the books that come before this one or just declare it a series already and aside from the somewhat lackluster ending this was an enjoyable read and it will be staying on my bookshelf for awhile. check it out it's a fun read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Savage Thunder, Feb. 3 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Savage Thunder (Mass Market Paperback)
HOT HOT HOT are the only words to describe this Johanna Linsey Romance. With Savage Thunder, the story of half-Cheyanne/half-white Colt (aka White Thunder) and rich widow Joscelynn Flemming, Ms. Lindsey is at her best.
It seems Colt and Joscelynn are destined for each other, at a time when neither is prepared. He is wary of all white women, she is wary of everyone. Both have good reasons to be cautious, but the obsticles they overcome and their struggle to understand each other only serve to bring them closer together.
This book is filled with action and suspence and of course steamy love scenes. Joscelynn and Colt give new meaning to the term "WILD West". However it was the realistc dialogue that did it for me. You realize that these people, although fictional, are from a very real time in America when Native Americans were treated as second class citizens. (Some argue they still are)
All in All an excellent book. Very good escape reading with the primary love story not at all marred by the weighty social problems of the day. A good choice for both JL romance fans and Native American History buffs looking for a good "fantasy escape" alike. Five Stars *****!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sequel to Brave the Wild Wind, Oct. 16 2000
By 
J. Austin "jodylync" (Dublin, OH United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Savage Thunder (Hardcover)
Jesse Summer's half-brother White Thunder is half-Cheyenne. At his mother's request, he has cut his hair and is living as a white man. But when Jesse's neighbor discovers the truth, he beats Thunder nearly killing him because Thunder has been dating his white daughter. Thunder survives, but swears to never trust a white woman again. Years later, he stumbles upon a widowed English Duchess. Jocelyn Fleming has inherited her late husband's fortune, but his other living relative is having her hunted down so he might take her inheritance. After Thunder saves Jocelyn's life, she begs for his help and offers him a fortune to serve as her guide. But Thunder doesn't want the job. A Cheyenne brave doesn't lose control and Jocelyn is causing him to do just that.
Johanna Lindsey writes of the old west with adventure, danger, intrigue, and wild romance. Thunder is savage, but gentle and caring. Jocelyn is warm and very likable. Together they are magnificent. And the horseriding scene! I won't get that scene out of my head anytime soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just plain wonderful!, Aug. 11 2000
This review is from: Savage Thunder (Mass Market Paperback)
What more can I say? This book is just fabulous! I am a huge fan of historical romance, and recently discovered Johanna Lindsey. Let me tell you, I am dissapointed that I havn't found her sooner. Her writing is fresh and lite... just enough to give you a little historical lesson without boring you. Johanna's characters are amazingly three dimensional, her plots are unique and interesting, and her choice of setting is delightful. I must say that I was getting rather tired of Regency England, and I was quite happy that _Savage Thunder_ took place in historical America. I have been hunting the shelves of my bookstore and library trying to find a good American historical, and I finally found one. Colt Thunder was a fabulous hero. I loved the fact that he was half Native American and had no social standing whatsoever. Sometimes, I get the feeling that romance novelists are trying to tell their readers that the only way to have a really desireable man is if he is a duke or lord or something. With Colt, you know that Jocelyn loves him for him, and no other reason. He was tall, strong, handsom, etc... I just loved him! Jocelyn was the perfect person for him. She was strong, independent, and wouldn't let anyone tell her what to do... even the man she loved. The scene where she tricks Colt into working for her will bring a smile to your face and warmth to your heart. The relationship these two people had was special and touching. FYI! This book is the second in a trilogy. It starts with _Brave The Wild Wind_, and the series ends with _Angel_. As I usually start series out of order, _Savage Thunder_ was the book I started with. But, I have every intention of finishing the series. So if you love historicals, and are looking for a change of pace, I would highly recomend _Savage Thunder_ to you. It is lite, funny and touching. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Jan. 11 2001
This review is from: Savage Thunder (Mass Market Paperback)
This book was just great. It had everything- a great hero and heroine and a good plot mixed in with humor and just enough conflict. Colt Thunder, a half-breed Cheyenne Indian is hired by the Dowager Duchess Jocelyn Flemming to lead her to Wyoming. Before I read this book I had many misconceptions about Jocelyn. I thought that she would be a spoiled idiot who would constantly whine and complain. To my great suprise she was a sweet and intelligent lady who was resourcefull and could fend for herself. She was also very determined in her persuit of Colt. This book is very good because it leaves you with a warm feeling inside and makes you want to know more about what happens to the characters. As a matter of fact, these two, as well as Jesse and Chase, make an appearance in the third book in this series, Angel, which I also highly recommend. Happy Reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lindsey is the best!, Sept. 11 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Savage Thunder (Hardcover)
Johanna Lindsey is by far my favorite romance author! Savage Thunder is my favorite of her many books (I have them all and have read them many times!). The book has historical depth, interesting subplots, humor, and of course, the trademark Lindsey romantic scenes. After reading this book I considered buying a horse! Her polically-correct treatment of the subject of Native Americans and bi-racial people was sensitively handled. The only problem that I have with any of Lindsey's books is that new ones aren't published often enough. For years I refused to read any romantic author except her, but her books came out so sporadically that I decided to branch out to a few other authors... but I still LOVE A LINDSEY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL!!! Lindsey is great!, June 5 2002
By 
L. Garcia "monalisa" (Stafford, VA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Savage Thunder (Mass Market Paperback)
Lindsey is a genius.I read "A Heart so Wild" first, and thought she couldn't get any better. Well, i was wrong. "Savage Thunder" is AMAZING!!! I couldn't put it down. From the first pages i was totally trapped in Colt Thunder's world! (who by the way, is HOT HOT HOT)But, besides the beautiful half Indian, the other characters are superb! And the story is actually very,very interesting. It kept me hooked until the very end, wich i got to say, caught me by suprise. I was kind of hoping for a little more details on their happily ever after, but, hey, with Colt Thunder, my imagination will certainly do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Savage Thunder
Savage Thunder by Johanna Lindsey (Mass Market Paperback - Dec 1 1989)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews