Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely loved it, Sept. 11 2007
By 
Melanie (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Savage Thunder (Mass Market Paperback)
I read this book in two days; I just could not put it down. I'm not usually one for Western Romance Novels but I got hooked on this one. Such interesting characters a duchess and a Cheyenne Warrior, combine that with a great story and the steamy love scenes, who could resist. I also enjoyed the fact that the leading lady wasn't some push over; she was spunky and could hold her own. Johanna Lindsey you have not let me down yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely loved it, July 16 2007
By 
Melanie (Toronto, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Savage Thunder (Mass Market Paperback)
I read this book in two days; I just could not put it down. I'm not usually one for Western Romance Novels but I got hooked on this one. Such interesting characters a duchess and a Cheyenne Warrior, combine that with a great story and the steamy love scenes, who could resist. I also enjoyed the fact that the leading lady wasn't some push over; she was spunky and could hold her own. Johanna Lindsey you have not let me down yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'd give it 10 stars, if I could, June 29 2004
By 
Dakota "daxydakota" (Southern California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Savage Thunder (Mass Market Paperback)
"Savage Thunder" is my favorite Lindsey romance, hands down. From the gripping first chapter in which the hero, Colt Thunder, is almost whipped to death for being half-Cheyenne, to the many, many HOT love scenes, "Savage Thunder" is a wonderful story you just can't put down.
I adore Colt, who is the best JL hero EVER! He is a moody, dangerous "breed" who struggles to control his desire for Jocelyn, a widowed English Duchess as fiery as her red hair. The pair has great chemistry together, whether it is in sizzling repartee or a tumble in bed (or, in some instances, on a horse).
The storyline is also intriguing. Jocelyn is plagued by an assassin out to kill her, and this puts her in some interesting positions, including being kidnapped. We also get to meet "cold-blooded" Angel at this point, who gets his own story later on in the aptly titled Lindsey romance, "Angel."
Whatever criticisms I have about "Savage Thunder" are minor. For one, Lindsey went into A LOT of detail describing extraneous scenes like the famous showdown in Tombstone with Wyatt Earp. She also brought in Billy from "Brave the Wild Wind" as the reason why Colt was in Arizona and, of course, literally runs into the Duchess. But Billy is forgotten after that (I wouldn't mind Billy getting his own story, by the way).
I recommend "Savage Thunder" with a passion. It is the best Lindsey romance, in my opinion, followed only by "Once a Princess." However, before you read "Savage Thunder," read its awesome prequel, "Brave the Wild Wind," where Colt is still living with his Cheyenne tribe and is known as White Thunder. Then, after you read "Savage Thunder," be sure to read "Angel," which takes place just days after "Savage Thunder" ends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great story. Wish there could have been more happy times., Jan. 15 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Savage Thunder (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is a page turner. The story is action- packed. The characters are vivid. My only complaint is that the leading couple do not share
much happiness together.
Colt Thunder is an angry, vengeful, resentful half- breed who has sworn off white women. He has a good reason: after courting a white woman
in the past, he was savagely whipped nearly to death. However, this experience has made him rather mean- spirited. His rudeness and spite get
old at times, especially when he is aiming it at a woman who treats him with respect and friendship. But he also proves to be a brave and powerful hero, who saves the lady's life several times.
Jocelyn is an English Duchess, who is traveling the world to keep from being caught and murdered by a hitman. For 3 years, she has not known
peace. During an ambush, her coach is thrown down a hill. Handsome Colt Thunder shows up to help her. She is instantly attracted to him, but
he seems bitter for reasons she can't understand. (She later learns it is because she is white, and he likes her.)
Jocelyn is on a mission to lose her virginity. Her deceased husband was impotent. She feels she must lose her virginity to someone who is not
within her own social circle before she can remarry, to keep the public from knowing of her husband's embarrassing condition. Colt Thunder
becomes her target. She sets out to seduce him, with plans of using him free herself of her innocence.
Colt wants to stay as far away from Jocelyn as possible. He doesn't want to bring her reputation down by her being seen with him. He also
does not want a repeat whipping.
Jocelyn manages to trap Colt into acting as a guide for her traveling group of servants and guards. Over the next months, she chases him, he runs
from her, etc... When she finally gets him in bed, he is surprised to find she is an innocent. When he learns that she used him, is becomes more
angry than ever. Still, she won't leave him alone.
Colt saves her life from enemies several times, and finally decides it would be best to rush her to safety without the rest of her group slowing them
down. He also plans to use the time to have her to himself. For a week, they enjoy privacy and blissful love. (Finally!)
Once they are back in society, Colt again disappears. His constant self- loathing has resurfaced. He feels he is not good enough for the
Duchess.
Everything is wrapped up suddenly by a quick visit from Colt's sister. In a blink, his anger and resentfulness vanish. A few minutes later, he is
asking Jocelyn to marry him. The ending didn't seem to fit the rest of the book.
Rather mild, yet wild love scenes. Very little romance. Still a good story for adventure and excitement. A wide variety of characters. Several
humorous scenes as well. It kept me interested, and kept me reading. I read the 420 page book in a little over a day. It's a good, worth while
read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Yes indeed, you gotta Love a Lindsey, Oct. 9 2003
This review is from: Savage Thunder (Mass Market Paperback)
You see it on the covers and I've heard it in some reading circles, yes, you GOT TO LOVE A LINDSEY. I've read Savage Thunder a couple of times over the past few years when I've needed a break from the "real world" and this book sure does it. We first met Colt, aka,White Thunder, and a few of his family members in Brave the Wild Wind. Savage Thunder picks Colt and Jocelyn's story. Johanna Lindsey doesn't write the generic bodice ripper seen in the early Rosemay Rogers books -- yes, there IS hot sex -- but its between partners who are in their own way faithful to each other and love each other deeply. While Lindsey's books are escapist reading, are generally written in another time (or planet) they also deal with many of our modern issues around race,religion and cultural misunderstanding. Anyone can pick up one of her books and relate to parts,if not all of them.
Colt, like many of Lindsey's hero's is hurt physically and emotionally, he's vulnerable and hides it until he meets Jocelyn who has no preconceived notions, enjoys life and begins to heal his hurts. In this, Lindsey's 25th book, there is more character development and it almost feels like you know or could know and admire these people. Her descriptions of the places they travel through feed the imagination so that if you are looking to "escape" for a short period of time to another place and time your mind certainly takes you there.
Its an easy read, but one you want to read over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wow, better than some , still not the best., Aug. 15 2003
By 
Ana Q (Oregon, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Savage Thunder (Mass Market Paperback)
I did like this book, I finished the book three days after I started it! I thought it was great. But.....I HATED the ending. If you read the book you will understand. I still don't get it. I can come up with half a dozen other endings and that says to me that she could have tried harder. It just left a bad taste.
If you are looking for a truly unique book by this author, Please, go check out Warrior's Woman. I LOVED this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Could not put it down!!, July 23 2003
By 
Kristal Gorman (Buffalo, New York United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Savage Thunder (Mass Market Paperback)
This is another great Johanna Lindsey book! Colt and Jocelyn are beautiful together. I love to watch him overcome all of his insecurities and let her love him. The part where he leaves her at his dad's ranch brought tears to my eyes!! And then there is the "interesting" incident that happened on top of a horse. Absolutley the hottest love scene that I have ever read!! Read this book! You will not be sorry!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Won-der-ful!, April 7 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Savage Thunder (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is HOT! I don't usually like Westerns, but this book has it all: awesome hero, adorable heroine, and great plot. Colt Thunder has got to be one of the most gorgeous men in romance fiction (if you don't believe me, read the other reviews). Jocelyn is really great too: funny, spunky, and vulnerable. You've got to read this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gallopping in the Wild West!, Jan. 25 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Savage Thunder (Mass Market Paperback)
The second book in the trilogy. Colt Thunder is to Die For. Read it for one of the most creative and steamiest sex scenes written! Will make you want to journey into the Wild West!
Lealing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars one of lindsey's better works, Oct. 31 2002
By 
This review is from: Savage Thunder (Mass Market Paperback)
i usually steer clear of the "old west" romance because i have read some that were so god awful that i was cringing every other line. after reading some of lindsey's other works i decided to give "angel," the sequel to this work, and "savage thunder a try. lindsey is a writer who writing style leads more toward the tamer side of bedroom scenes. sometimes being so vague that i wont have known that anything happened until a few chapters later. but she makes up for it wonderfully in her characters and flowing dialogue.
this story of jocelyn, a widowed duchess being hunted by a inept man trying to kill her so her money will go to her dead husband's greedy relatives, and colt, a half breed who is bitter and jaded after a horribe experience when he is found courting a "white woman" is one i had not seen before. when jocelyn sees colt she knows he is the one who can help her with her "little problem." her marriage to the duke was one of convience, he was dying and she needed a protector but he was never able to consumate the marriage. jocelyn refuses to let anyone know of this failing and so in order to marry later she must take a lover and be rid of her virginity. she hires colt as her guide for a near fortune after she traps him in a bluff and the story that follows is humorous and delightful.
like any story there is good and bad.
the good: lindsey's characters are heart warming, like some long lost friend. jocelyn and colt together were priceless and i was laughing quite a bit as jocelyn is anything but some prim and meek duchess. this book surprisingly had a few very steamy scenes and one that was rather umm shall we say creative? it was all still tasteful it just added an edge to the book in my opinion. the story itself is unique and i found it pretty refreshing as the duchess is anything but helpless and simpering as in many books. it has great dialogue between characters that is snappy and fast. the characters are witty in a way that few writers can accomplish. never once did any of linsdey's characters sound melodramtic and in fact they seem pretty at ease with themselves. many writers go into that self torture bit which may be a little more realistic sometimes but can become tiresome quickly. the book kept my interest from beginning to end with no real lag anywhere.
now sadly for the bad: this book is one in a continuing series though you wouldn't know it from just looking at it. now i wouldn't begrudge anyone a series but there is no mention that this a sequel to any other books but draws pretty heavily from it prequel. nothing major as i was still able to understand the plot but i felt almost cheated since many former events are refered to. i will read the prequel, as soon as i figure just exactly which one of lindsey five million books it is, and volia i will know what's going on. but while reading "savage thunder" it was annoying. the side stories were a little bland when i would have liked to have seen the developing relationships instead of just being told "oh yeah and then those two fell in love." and finally the ending was just a little to nice and neat for me. all colt's unresolved bitterness and mistrust are resolved after one short visit from his sister? come on. it didn't need to be anything epic but it felt like lindsey was just tired of writing and wanted to just end it.
i liked this book. the characters are great, the dialogue superb and the story original. i wish they would list the books that come before this one or just declare it a series already and aside from the somewhat lackluster ending this was an enjoyable read and it will be staying on my bookshelf for awhile. check it out it's a fun read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Savage Thunder
Savage Thunder by Johanna Lindsey (Mass Market Paperback - Dec 1 1989)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
Usually ships in 3 to 6 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews