Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A top one
Except for Gentle Rogue, this is JL's best book.
What I loved about it was that the characters were less than perfect in terms of beauty. As a rule, most romance heroes and heroines tend to be outstanding in terms of looks: they are most often pictured as being perfect: the men tall and handsome, the women beautiful to die for. This is one of those books in which the...
Published on Nov. 5 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Definitely was not 'an Angel of a book'.
Not one of the best, but worth reading! Not being a devoted Lindsey fan, I found this book worth reading, especially since I paid a 'whopping $ .25 cents for it. If you're a devoted Lindsey fan, you'll love it! If you're a devoted Lindsey fan of the Mallory family, you'll question the purpose of this book and if you're like me and intend to read it for a change in...
Published on June 7 2000 by slwt


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A top one, Nov. 5 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Angel (Mass Market Paperback)
Except for Gentle Rogue, this is JL's best book.
What I loved about it was that the characters were less than perfect in terms of beauty. As a rule, most romance heroes and heroines tend to be outstanding in terms of looks: they are most often pictured as being perfect: the men tall and handsome, the women beautiful to die for. This is one of those books in which the characters are not like that and this makes it easier for the reader (for me at least) to identify with them.
The heroine is very lovable with her tendency to make things right which always gets her into trouble. The hero is not the usual big guy who makes his way through life using his sword/gun or whatever is appropriate to his time and place; instead, he has a hidden humour which I loved (although you have to read the previous book about Colt in order to see it fully displayed :). They do not fight all the time as do all the characters in JL's "early Middle Ages" book, but they do not have a soapy relationship either. It is just the right kind of "we get along" and "we don't get along". You can understand why they fell in love with each other.
One of my favourites. JL is seen at her best in the Malory novels (don't we all agree about that :) ) and in the Wild West novels. My advice is to skip the Middle Ages and vikings books altogether, unless you prefer more violence, seemingly mindless struggle, and punishments in your romance book. I vote for the humor and adventure part myself.
Happy reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sexy Gunslinger Story, June 28 2004
By 
Dakota "daxydakota" (Southern California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Angel (Mass Market Paperback)
"Angel" is the third in a series of romances set mostly in the wilds of Wyoming. In this Lindsey novel, the hero is an intimidating gunslinger named Angel, more often called the Angel of Death, because he never loses a fight. He is called down to Texas to repay a favor of a man who saved his life. The favor: to keep a "meddler" named Cassie from getting kicked out of Texas by the two families enraged at her botched attempt at matchmaking.
Both Angel and Cassie are interesting characters, Angel more so for his tragic upbringing and his highly dangerous, but mostly lonesome career as a hired gun. Cassie is perky with her fine lady mannerisms and rancher upbringing. With her flair for getting into other people's business, she can't seem to stay out of trouble. Plus, she has an eccentric homelife, which includes a pet panther from Africa named Marabelle who loves to clean her teeth on bare toes.
The story is fun and the action nonstop, from the first chapter's opening showdown at noon to the final "showdown" between Cassie and Angel, with stampedes, brawls, and all sorts of crazy things thrown in between. Angel's search for his identity is also an important element in this novel, and it is treated with care. The only "fluff" extraneous scene happens at the very end and I won't go into detail, but it doesn't serve much in my opinion other than to get Cassie's unconventional mom to like Angel.
Altogether, I enjoyed "Angel." It is fast-paced and witty, and it brings back all the characters from "Brave the Wild Wind" and "Savage Thunder." Of the three books, however, I thought "Angel" was the least passionate. "Savage Thunder" is, by far, my favorite Lindsey novel EVER and it was where Angel made his first brief, memorable appearance. But the spark between Cassie and Angel isn't as strong as with Colt and Jocelyn of "Savage Thunder" or Jessie and Chase of "Brave the Wild Wind."
I highly recommend "Angel." However, I'd first read its two prequels, "Brave the Wild Wind" and "Savage Thunder" (in that order) to familiarize yourself with the storyline and to wet your appetite for "Angel."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book. Better than it's prequel., Jan. 24 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Angel (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the sequel to Lindsey's "Savage Thunder." The hero from "Angel" appears in "Savage Thunder", but very briefly. However, the characters of "Savage Thunder" appear quite a bit in "Angel." So it is worth while to read them in order. However, "Angel" is far better than "Savage."
Well known as "The Angel of Death" in the West, Angel is a fast gun for hire. To repay a debt to a friend, he travels to Texas to provide protection for a young woman caught in a feud among families. When he first arrives, he is not captivated by the woman. (She's not your classic beauty.) However, the more he sees of her, the prettier she appears to him.
Cassie has a bad habit of meddling in other people's affairs. In effort to end a 20 year feud between two neighboring families, she plays match maker by setting up a daughter from one family, with a son from the other. The two lovers then run off to be married, but come back to rejoin the feud. Now both families are mad at Cassie. They threaten to burn her ranch to the ground if she doesn't vacate Texas. Cassie seeks to hire a peacemaker. However, the peacemaker sends Angel in his place to handle the young woman's problem.
After facing a few weeks of Angel's intimidation, the father of one feuding family forces Angel and Cassie to marry at gun point. Cassie can't figure out why Angel didn't fight to stop it from happening. Nor does she understand why he took his marriage rights with her. She doesn't believe herself attractive, so she wonders why Angel would not insist that they have an immediate annulment.
When Cassie's parents show up, Angel's obligation is fulfilled. Feeling he can't offer her a good life, he decides to leave and let Cassie's mom push for a divorce. Before he goes, he wants to do something for her. He sets out to put an end to the feud that has been causing Cassie such anguish. Cassie wants to do something for Angel too, so she hires a detective to find his family from whom he was stolen as a child.
Both Cassie and Angel decide that they don't want to be divorced. Before they can tell one another, Cassie is kidnapped. Angel sets out to save his beloved wife from her captures.
Angel is a great hero. Even though he is a gun fighter, he keeps his killing on the side of the law. He protects the under dog and won't compromise his principles. He's dangerous, exciting, and still honest. Cassie is a very realistic character. She's not the usual raving beauty. Men don't flock to her. But she is vibrant, brave, and loyal. I do wish she wasn't quite so mousy in the face of her mother, but that is consist with the era of the story.
Some of the major problems that the characters face are too prettily solved. In stead of a realistic truce, many unlikely people end up in love at the end. It's the usual "Happy Ending Overkill." Still you leave the story feeling satisfied. The book held my interest from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this was one of her best!, Nov. 1 2003
By 
Ana Q (Oregon, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Angel (Mass Market Paperback)
I really enjoyed the book, the reason for only four stars is that there were parts that i really didn't like, but other people might really enjoy. I never know quite what i'll get with a Lindsey book, but this one was GREAT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely wonderful!!!!, July 23 2003
By 
Kristal Gorman (Buffalo, New York United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Angel (Mass Market Paperback)
I am an absolute lover of all of JL's books, except one which is not worth a mention, but, this book is one of my all time favorites!!! I loved Cassie and Angel and the way that they ended up getting married is hilarious!!!! This book is one to read and reread over and over again. Angel- well, one word describes him: hubba hubba. Ok, so it is kinda two words!!!! Read this book! You will love it and read it a gazillion times!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read, Sept. 20 2002
By 
Amy E. Gideon "ames81g" (Lewisville, Texas USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Angel (Mass Market Paperback)
This is one of my favorite Lindsey novels. The characters are wonderfully real, and the hero Angel is one of my all time favorites. The dialogue is witty and their story is a lot of fun. You get to revisit some other characters of Lindsey's from Savage Thunder and Brave the Wild Wind. That's one of the things I absolutely love about Lindsey's novels; is that we get to see some of our old friends from previous novels, and see how they're doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars couldn't put the book down, Oct. 24 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Angel (Mass Market Paperback)
i have read just about every one of johanna lindey's books and this is one of my favorites. i read the first page and i was hooked. i love the hero and heroine. the story, the plot, and characters were all great. not a boring read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An "Angel" To Die For, Oct. 9 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Angel (Mass Market Paperback)
One of Johanna Lindsey's very best books, it has humor, terrific characters, great storylines and action. Cassie makes you laugh outloud by what she does and says. Angel is so devastatingly attractive, I just wish he was real. Lots of interesting characters that fit well together and make for intriguing plot developments, as well as characters from Brave the Wild Wind and Savage Thunder. A devoted Malory fan, I find this book every bit as great or better than that series, and I love them too. This is a special love story that haunts after the book is finished. Would bet that if you like it, would end up reading it more than once...it is as addictive as potato chips, one is never enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heavenly "Angel", June 26 2001
This review is from: Angel (Mass Market Paperback)
I LOVED THIS BOOK. IT WAS EXCELLENT IN EVERYWAY FROM THE FIRST PAGE TO THE LAST. I ESPECIALLY LIKED THE PART WHERE ANGEL SHOWED UP AT THE RANCH ONLY TO BE GREETED BY CASSIE'S 'CAT'. IT WAS A MUST READ. APRIME EXAMPLE OF MISS LINDSEY'S WORK. FIVE STARS...IT DESERVES TEN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Angel, June 4 2001
By 
Nicole Cox (Blue Springs, Missouri USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Angel (Mass Market Paperback)
I have probably read 90% of Johanna Lindsey's books and this one ranks pretty high. I really enjoy the western setting giving us all a break from the European and Southern plantation themes. I find the multifaceted plot to be fascinating and entertaining. One of Lindsey's trademarks is to build the story by incorporting more than one plot/conflict into the story. Angel has around four mini-stories within the main frame. Her hero is oh, so, masculine and her heroine has spunk. Look for some surprises near the end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa91c6e4)

This product

Angel
Angel by Johanna Lindsey (Mass Market Paperback - Dec 1 1992)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
Usually ships in 2 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews