Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars This "Quiche" is one to savor!
Jill Churchill has written another wonderful Jane Jeffry mystery. When Jane's mother comes to visit, Jane agrees to attend a writing class with her. Little does she know one of the would-be authors has murderous intentions against another classmate. When the police don't seem to be working fast enough for Jane's taste, Jane and her friend Shelley decide to take the...
Published on Feb. 6 2000 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Well, I didn't really like quiche before this book.........
While I still remain a fan of Jill Churchill and her Jane Jeffry series, this book was a slight disappointment compared to her first two. This mystery revolves around Jane and her classmates in a week-long seminar she takes with her mother and sidekick/neighbor, Shelley. Naturally Jane gets involved when someone bumps off Mrs. Pryce, the crotchety old lady from class...
Published on Feb. 17 2003


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars This "Quiche" is one to savor!, Feb. 6 2000
Ce commentaire est de: Quiche Before Dying (Mass Market Paperback)
Jill Churchill has written another wonderful Jane Jeffry mystery. When Jane's mother comes to visit, Jane agrees to attend a writing class with her. Little does she know one of the would-be authors has murderous intentions against another classmate. When the police don't seem to be working fast enough for Jane's taste, Jane and her friend Shelley decide to take the investigation into their own hands. This case is a tough one to crack because everyone in the class hated the victim. As if that weren't enough, everyone seems to have secrets of their own.
I couldn't get to the part where the killer was revealed fast enough -- I was completely stumped! Yet when it all came out, it made so much sense -- the clues were all laid out in the book. This book was a quick, delightful read with immensely likable characters. I highly recommend it to all readers, mystery buffs or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Well, I didn't really like quiche before this book........., Feb. 17 2003
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Quiche Before Dying (Mass Market Paperback)
While I still remain a fan of Jill Churchill and her Jane Jeffry series, this book was a slight disappointment compared to her first two. This mystery revolves around Jane and her classmates in a week-long seminar she takes with her mother and sidekick/neighbor, Shelley. Naturally Jane gets involved when someone bumps off Mrs. Pryce, the crotchety old lady from class. Obviously it's one of the classmates, but who?
Like the old saying, "too many cooks spoil the broth?" Well in this case I believe too many suspects spoiled the mystery! So while it didn't keep me from finishing the story (and guessing who did it before the end) it was a little too "busy." However, Churchill's writing style and flair for humor never cease, and for that reason it was worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A Quiche before Dying, July 1 2000
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Quiche Before Dying (Mass Market Paperback)
I must be missing something because this author's books get 5 stars. However, I felt the characters were never fully developed, that they lacked depth. Also some of the events seemed forced. I couldn't accept that they really would have happened so I was unable to be drawn into the story. An example of this is Mrs. Pryce inviting her classmates to her home for dinner. The book didn't so much bore as disappoint because the elements of a good mystery were there and the characters had the potential of growing on you. I'd consider this a light weight mystery. Unlike an Elizabeth George or even a Faye Kellerman mystery that pulls you into the story and keeps you thinking about it long after it's finished and whose characters you hate to say goodbye to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quiche This!, Feb. 13 2002
Ce commentaire est de: Quiche Before Dying (Mass Market Paperback)
Jane Jeffrey, at the last minute, enrolls in a local writing course. Of course, the class is full of the usual eccentrics, including the town's totally obnoxious crone. Needless to say, the poisoned tongue this old biddy creates too much damage for one of the class members. She finally gets her comeuppance and winds up dead after sampling a bit of poisoned quiche at a class pot luck supper.
Everyone in the class has a motive for killing, and it is up to Jane to find out who did it.
Like Jill Churchill's other books, I figured out who the murderer was before the end of the book, but it was pleasant cozy mystery.
Recommend reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Quice Before Dying Keeps You Guessing, June 18 1998
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Quiche Before Dying (Mass Market Paperback)
A Quice before dying is a very good, entertaining, and funny book, from Jill Churchill. Through Jane Jeffry and best friend Shelly's ponderings, the reader can see why each person is a possible suspect and their motives. Jill Churchill keeps you guessing to the very end. I like the fact how in every Jill Churchill book, she has Jane Jeffry dating a detective, and how it is kind of funny how Jane always figures it out before the police do. When, in A Quiche Before Dying, Jill Churchill gives clues, they are very broad. I thought it was someone else completely until the end of the book. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another dessert book!, Dec 2 2001
By 
Ruth A. Caldwell "Highland Princess" (Walnut Creek, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Quiche Before Dying (Mass Market Paperback)
Jane enrolls in a writing course only to find out the local obnoxious busy-body is also taking the course! The woman was truly outrageous with her tactless comments to her fellow classmates, so it's no wonder she was poisoned during a potluck dinner! As disagreeable as the old biddy was, Jane finds herself attempting to determine "who done it". I'd have given five stars if the old biddy had been less nasty and I wasn't so appalled at her character bashing of the fellow students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jane Jeffrey is a wonderful character..., Nov. 5 2001
Ce commentaire est de: Quiche Before Dying (Mass Market Paperback)
Jane Jeffrey is a fun character to follow. I enjoyed this book b/c readers are able to meet Jane's mother - who is delightful. This story is interesting and I was very surprised at the ending! This series is awesome. Even if you happen to read one out of order, there is no trouble understanding the story. I recommend this book to anyone who likes mysteries, comedy and fiction that is true to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fluffy & easy fun, Sept. 8 2001
By 
frumiousb "frumiousb" (Amsterdam, the Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Quiche Before Dying (Mass Market Paperback)
Jane Jeffry decides to beat summer boredom by enrolling in an autobiography class together with her mother. Her boredom quickly ends when the class harridan is poisoned and dies.
The book is not a serious mystery, and the plot holes are occasionally large, but they're also easy to forgive because of the endearing characters and the author's ability to find the humor in every day small town life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Churchill's Jane Jeffery is my kind of neighbor., April 26 1998
By 
sept13@webtv.net (east rutherford, new jersey) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Quiche Before Dying (Mass Market Paperback)
Jane Jeffery finds herself in the middle of a murder at, of all places, a cooking class. Her relationship with the local copper never deters her from working out who "done it" As usual, Churchill's wit keeps this book moving along and makes you eager for the next in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, Jan. 31 2000
By 
John (Watertown. WI) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Quiche Before Dying (Mass Market Paperback)
I picked this bok up at a sale one day. I read it and loved it so much. it's very exciting and interesting. it has a lot of events that suprise and amuse you. it makes you smile and laugh out loud. You should buy it. Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quiche Before Dying
Quiche Before Dying by Jill Churchill (Mass Market Paperback - Feb. 1 1993)
CDN$ 9.50
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews