Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Baby ,You're The Best!!
Dr. Jane Darlington, a genius physics professor, wants nothing more than to have a baby. She has a couple of obstacles in her way though. She currently has no prospects for the father. And growing up as a genius made her feel like a freak, so she wants to spare her child this pain. Therefore, she needs a very special man. A stupid man. When she sees Cal Bonner, the famous...
Published on March 9 2004 by klpepsi

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 2/3rds of the book well worth reading
I really hated the first 1/3rd of the book. The only character who wasn't immoral was Kevin Tucker. All the other secondary characters were just plain sad or dispicable. As for the main characters Jane and Cal - Yikes! Cal is a jerk. It's totally understandable that he is furious with Jane but to want to destroy the mother of his future child is not only stupid it's also...
Published on Feb. 26 2004


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Father Wanted, Dec 7 2005
This review is from: Nobodys Baby But Mine (Mass Market Paperback)
I found this story to be entertaining and typical of the SEP style and manner of writing. It seems most of the women in Phillips' books are underhandedly seeking the opposite sex and always seem to know they love them first, portraying the male figure to be a blockhead when it comes to his feelings. Eventually the men in these stories come around, but sometimes (as w/Kevin in "This Heart of Mine") they almost need a hammer to the head to know what they are feeling. The main focus of the story consists of Dr. Jane Darlington, genius scientist, looking for a less-than-average intelligent man to father her would-be child in order that the child not grow up a freak as Jane did - attending college at the age of 14! Along comes Cal Bonner, jock and superstar (i.e., in Jane's mind, all muscle and no brains) football player and Jane is convinced Cal is the perfect father figure. The situation is a little like a comedy sitcom, however, the characters are very likeable and the story is well written. I gave this book 4 stars because of the character development and excellent story telling, in particular, the Bonner family trials and tribulations as well as resolutions. Annie Glide is my favorite character in the story and I really enjoyed the interaction with Annie and Jane as the two woman give and take equally to their newly-formed friendship. If you want light, enjoyable reading with an "I Love Lucy" (R-rated) tone, you should definitely read "Nobody's Baby But Mine," the third book in the Chicago Stars/Bonner Brothers series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Baby ,You're The Best!!, March 9 2004
This review is from: Nobodys Baby But Mine (Mass Market Paperback)
Dr. Jane Darlington, a genius physics professor, wants nothing more than to have a baby. She has a couple of obstacles in her way though. She currently has no prospects for the father. And growing up as a genius made her feel like a freak, so she wants to spare her child this pain. Therefore, she needs a very special man. A stupid man. When she sees Cal Bonner, the famous Chicago Stars quarterback, her prayers seem to be answered. He's handsome, a jock, and with his good ol' boy ways, he must be slow-witted. But when he figures out what she's done, he's not about to go along blindly with her plans. On top of that, Jane begins to realize, a little too late, Cal may be a whole lot smarter than he looks.
This is the third installment in the Chicago Stars/Bonner Brothers series. A funny, fast-paced, interesting love story between real people, each with their own set of insecurities.
SEP has an uncanny gift with writing complex, three dimensional characters. They become so real, I half expect to look up from the page and find them in the room with me. Her stories and characters wiggle themselves under your skin and in your heart where they stay.
There is a secondary story with Cal's parents that was quite good as well. Overall, I certainly enjoyed this book, except it was difficult getting through the portion where Cal was so angry and spiteful toward her. Even after considering this, it's still a favorite book of mine. Once Jane decides she will no longer sit back and tolerate his behavior, well then it really gets good! I still smile every time I see a box of Lucky Charms cereal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 2/3rds of the book well worth reading, Feb. 26 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Nobodys Baby But Mine (Mass Market Paperback)
I really hated the first 1/3rd of the book. The only character who wasn't immoral was Kevin Tucker. All the other secondary characters were just plain sad or dispicable. As for the main characters Jane and Cal - Yikes! Cal is a jerk. It's totally understandable that he is furious with Jane but to want to destroy the mother of his future child is not only stupid it's also not a character trait you want to see in a leading man. He also shows his stupidity by not protecting himself while having sex with a potential wacko groupie with some unknown agenda. Yet the fact that he had unprotected sex is never mentioned again. He certainly never assigns himself any blame. Then there is the "genius" Jane. If she had any smarts, she certainly didn't show it in the first third of the book. She's a researcher but when it comes to genetics or sperm banks or Cal Bonner she doesn't do any research. First of all, even I , a simple engineer knows that genetics can be a real crap shoot. The probability of having genius offspring is incredibly small no matter who the parents are. Also, men who donate to sperm banks come from many different backgrounds - not just med students. Finally, if Jane was so concerned with the sperm donor's intelligence why didn't she do any research into Cal's background (besides health history). Jane's actions simply made no sense.
The other thing that I hated about the first part of the book were the two sex scenes. They were brutal and sad and really made me despise both Cal and Jane.
It was not a good beginning for a book. The only thing that kept me reading was that I really liked "Heaven Texas" and "It Had To Be You". So I kept reading and along about page 175 or so an amazing thing happened. The book actually began to get really good. Jane developed a backbone and Cal lightened up. The interactions between Cal and Jane became warm and funny. The secondary characters were good (with some real depth) and some of the situations had me laughing out loud. By the end of the book I had no trouble believing that Jane and Cal would have a good marriage and be decent parents.
So, how do I rate this book? Well, the first 1/3 gets zero stars and the last 2/3 gets 4.5 stars. Overall - 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In need of funny and romantic story, stop looking!, Oct. 5 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Nobodys Baby But Mine (Mass Market Paperback)
You'll love Jane Darlington the minute you meet her and you'll never want to live without the handsome Cal Bonner. Susan E. Phillips has a great gift to open up the romantic side in everyone. She tells the story of two people in desperate need of one another but yet unaware of that very fact.
Jane Darlington believes to lead an empty life, so she sets up her mind on having a child of her own and the lucky sperm donator is quickly chosen, our own football star Cal Bonner. Unfortunately, Dr. Jane cannot (as planned) keep her pregnancy a secret from our great quaterback Calvin Bonner. With his sense of duty he forces her to marry him and chaos breaks loose all aorund them.
This is a heart-warming story full of passion, fun and love. Jane Darlington is warm and intelligent woman with many all too human flaws at the same time. And Cal Bonner is at first a man not from this world, until we realise that he is in fact a very believable and loveable man who needs someone to settle him down.
If you have a romantic vein running through you, you'll never go wrong with Susan E. Phillips great stories. Don't hesitate and buy this sharp and witty story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, poignant, sweet, and enjoyable, Aug. 28 2003
By 
This review is from: Nobodys Baby But Mine (Mass Market Paperback)
I discovered this book through my Amazon.com friend Janlouise's review and decided to check it out - and I'm glad I did! My only prior SEP book was BREATHING ROOM, but now I think I'm going to have to read all the books in the Bonner Brothers/Chicago Stars series. BUT I must say that you have to suspend belief a bit in the beginning. For a woman supposedly so smart, some of her ideas and the way she goes about getting pregnant are kind of ridiculous (since when are only smart guys sperm donors?!).
Brilliant physicist Dr Jane Darlington wants a child desperately, but there's no man in her life and she has some specific requirements for a potential father, so she decides a dumb jock like Chicago Stars quarterback Cal Bonner will perfectly suit her needs. See Jane had a very sad and lonely childhood isolated from the other kids who thought she was some sort of brainiac freak (she was in college at 16). She figures that his lack of smarts will balance out her abundance of them (?!) and her kid will have a better life than she did. So she poses as a hooker and allows herself to be Cal's birthday gift from his teammates. Soon she is ecstatically pregnant but her ecstasy doesn't last long. Unfortunately for Jane, Cal finds out and he's NOT happy about it (nor is he as dumb as she assumed he was - summa cum laude not dumb - how did her plan go so wrong?!). His strong sense of family drives him to marry Jane with every intention of divorcing her once the baby is born. But the press won?t leave them alone, so he takes her to his hometown of Salvation, NC to hide out for a bit.
Slowly their mutual anger and dislike for each other starts to fade, but Cal doesn't want his family to get too attached to Jane and asks her to be cold and unpleasant around them. She reluctantly does so, though it hurts because his family is so nice. But time spent together starts to change things between them (there's certainly a strong sexual attraction) and as they get to know one another will they stay together or is there just too much between them to make this marriage work?
I liked Cal's character a lot (some disliked him in the beginning, but I felt he was totally justified in his anger toward Jane) and I laughed out loud at Jane's tampering with his Lucky Charms! Then there's his attempt to give her the make-out session at the drive-in that she never had as a teenager. That was sweet - and, okay, self-serving! And I loved how he would put on his "hillbilly-from-the-sticks-dumb-jock" act on for people he disliked or disrespected. I also found Cal's family enjoyable to read about: his brother Ethan (who gets his story in Dream a Little Dream), his sassy grandmother Annie and his parents who are in the midst of a mid-life marriage crisis. A really enjoyable book and I will definitely be checking out the rest in the series. A recommended read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It really is a cute story!, July 22 2003
By 
janlouise (Ruston, LA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nobodys Baby But Mine (Mass Market Paperback)
At first I had reservations. Jane's sneaking around to have sex with Cal really got on my nerves. But when the story got past that it really got cute with good humor and I really enjoyed it. Cal Bonner is the star quarterback for the Chicago Stars. He is in his late-thirties and is fighting to hold onto his position. But physically it is becoming harder and harder to do. He just isn't ready to give it up though and what for? What would he do if he didn't have football in his life? He has been taught strong values by his parents about marriage commitment and pictures getting married and having kids as being put out into the pasture as far as football is concerned. He is not ready to face that yet. So he fights it by partying with the younger members on the team and dating only YOUNG women in no older than 24, preferably 21.
Dr. Jane Darlington just turned 34 and her biggest desire is to have a child but forget about the husband. She is independent and looks at having a husband as having unnecessary baggage. But she is picky about who she wants for the father of her child. To equal out the IQ of the child, Jane wants someone dumb to equal out her HIGH IQ. When she is offered the opportunity to be the "present" to a football player from the other team members, she thinks 'why not? football players are dumb right?!' It works. Jane is pregnant and Cal knows nothing of it- until a football fan who wants Cal's attention gets jealous and leaks out the information that Cal has fathered a baby. Cal is now out for revenge and forces Jane into marriage so his child will have a name. Due to the publicity (the press is having a time with this news) Cal and Jane are forced to live together for the next 3 months before spring training making everyone believe this is a match made in heaven. Cal's family gets involved and things really "mushroom."
Jane is real cute, real smart but nerdy- brought up in a broken family and really needs someone to love her. Cal is extremely good looking and plays the "dumb football" part real well. But he is actually "a brain" having graduated with honors from college in biology. He comes from a strong family that is very involved with each other.
It is a great story! and I very much recommend it! It's a keeper!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not her best, but good...., July 17 2003
This review is from: Nobodys Baby But Mine (Mass Market Paperback)
One more really cute story by SEP. This lady always comes up with some really original tales. I will have to say that I don't care for the antagonistic approach that she used between the 2 main characters; That is something that bunches of readers enjoy - but not me. Parts of this one were really funny, but I don't care for it when they spend all night long making love, then wake up the next morning & decide they have to save-face by spouting off the most offensive thing they can think of...... that really annoys me. However, SEP did save me from a real let-down by also writing about the good times they had together. They spent time getting to know each other & acting like civilized beings. My favorite romances are ones like this one where I can actually see why the main characters are falling in love.
SEP also put in really good secondary characters (as usal). I simply loved Cal's family... especially his grandmother!
Although this one won't be on my keepers shelf, it's still a pretty good read. If you like SEP, then definitely read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Tedious, May 3 2003
This review is from: Nobodys Baby But Mine (Mass Market Paperback)
I'd read great things about this author from other authors whose works I like, so was surprised to find her work slow going. There were a few catchy dialogue exchanges, but haracterizations were a bit heavy handed: Genius with angst meets jock with genius to make a baby to turn off the alarm on her biological clock. She stupidly (for a genius) assumes the jock is stupid and that his dumb genes will offset her overly intelligent ones to create a 'normal' baby.
Ms. Phillips rightly says in the back of the book that she was too tempted to write about a subject (physics) about which she knows little and is a 'doofus' (her words). She's a bit more of a doofus about the characters, which are almost bi-polar in their good guy, bad guy/gal impersonations. By the end of the book everyone is brought round to be a good guy or gal and the poor heroine who wanted a normal baby to love, is stuck with a potential genius offspring. There's some agist rhetoric, a tacky embezzling evangelist to bash, and a hillbilly granny with an irascible temper and a heart of gold (natch!). Characters and plot are shallow, giving the impression that Ms. Phillips should stick with city characters and beef up her plots a bit. Something beyond 'will-they, won't-they get/stay together.'
The book could do with some serious editing (lose 100 pages). The author seems cheerful enough, with flashes of entertaining dialogue here and there, just a bit undisciplined overall. Three stars is kind, in this reader's opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nobodys baby but mine, July 23 2002
By 
jessica (Riverside, Ca USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nobodys Baby But Mine (Mass Market Paperback)
Nobody's baby but mine is one of the best books around. It has so much passion and love. Its so much based on what is happening these days in our world. I am only 14 years old and i read this 376 page book in 5 days. Most parents know its not easy getting there kids to read. well let me tell u i am the same its impossible to get me to read but i read and when i went for the first time into borders to pick my own book for once i found nobodys baby but mine. I fell in love with it. It made me cry it made me laugh and it also made me think. This book is not only for adults but kids should read it to. It helps you on your vocabulary and reading skills. This book shows you how the poeple speak in certain parts. This book is full of so much love and hate. About a plan that back fires but and so much hate between two people that suddenly turns into true love. U should really read or even better buy this book it was one of the best book i have ever read. I am sure you would say to. I might not have lots of experience but i have read over 400 hundred books since the 4th grade i still have almost every book and i even handed some down but far more Noodys angel but mine is the most romantic and best book i have ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Contrived plot, with unbelievable characters, Dec 10 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Nobodys Baby But Mine (Mass Market Paperback)
It really pains me to be the lone ranger here and give a SEP book such a mediocre rating, but it pained me more to finish the book. The plot seemed overly contrived with a desperate physicist setting out to get "knocked-up" by a dumb jock so that her baby would be "normal." I thought the author used a lot of stereotypes about athletes and southerners even as she condemed her heroine for doing so. For example, Cal, the quarterback was from my home state of N.C. Maybe, I'm being overly sensitive, but to prove that Cal really was smart and not a dumb hick, the author had him graduating from Michigan. SEP, ever heard of Duke or the Univ. of North Carolina?, two of the most prestigious colleges in the country. Although I found a lot of humor in this book and loved the characters of Annie and Lynn, (the secondary plot of Cal's parents was very touching) I couldn't get past how stupid Jane, the genius physicist, and Cal, were. For two smarties, they acted really dumb. I suppose this must have been an attempt at irony but it didn't work. And for someone who was so desperate to have a baby, I think there would have been more mention of her pregnancy along the way. The actual labor and delivery was too unbelievable as well. Don't doctors wash their hands before delivering a baby? And Cal chooses that moment to announce he wants to go to medical school. Yes, I know I'd be thrilled to give birth and have my husband announce plans to be away. Thanks, hon. For me to enjoy a book, I have to respect the hero or heroine or they must redeem themselves. Although, SEP tried, I never felt anything but contempt for both the main characters. Yes, I know we must suspend our imaginations when reading romance, but when one is reading a contemporary, it helps if the plot is at least a little believable. Maybe I am a bit jaded because SEP's previous book, HEAVEN, TEXAS just blew me away. Although the characters were just as mismatched, the story was much believeable and the characters endearing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nobodys Baby But Mine
Nobodys Baby But Mine by Susan E Phillips (Mass Market Paperback - Feb. 1 1997)
CDN$ 8.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews