Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Story That Needed To Be Told!!!
This book handled a very rough plot very smoothly. I
admire this author for writing this book. There are so many
situations out there just waiting to have stories written about
them, and I applaud Susan Elizabeth Phillips for having the courage to write this book.
A woman and her son return to Salvation, NC, with not much more than a bad reputation...
Published on May 27 2004 by L. Hall

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Page-turner, but romance for the Mommy-van crowd...
Enjoyable, but sappy with the son Edward and all her holier-than-thou sacrifices for him and the sudden turn of Gabe's feeling for Edward (a.k.a. Chip - how dumb was that?) was all too quick and convenient. Give me a break, in one day? I enjoyed the story, and read it quickly. Rachel & Gabe had good chemistry, and I loved the scenes at the cottage which sounded...
Published on Feb. 3 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars An A for the romance, an A for the humor, Aug. 16 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Dream A Little Dream (Mass Market Paperback)
How is it that I'd never even heard of SEP before? I have a policy of always trying a new book along with my other buys, this way I occasionally stumble onto someone really refreshing and great. Well, it worked this time.
Since others have written about the story line, I just want to say that she has some of the snappiest funniest dialogue in this genre. I kept laughing and laughing about these feisty characters. Like when she tells him she's surprised he's so prickly in the ams, she thought it was only a nighttime thing. He tells her its a pretty much around the clock affair.
There's one scene where a sleeping naked Gabe throws a night prowler against the wall and then realizes its a dazed Rachel. She's still woozy but can't help but notice his assets. He tries to see how fuzzy she is and asks her how many?? She answers one. Then she realizes he's asking about fingers.... oh, fingers!!
Or how they call each other names the first time *immediately* prior to being together: "Spoilsport". "Hussy". You have to love them.
It was interesting to have a different takes on Rachel's actions, plus all the side stories- her boy, the family, the 'treasure', community acceptance/non-acceptance, Gabe's own major issues . Can't wait to read more of her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SEP at her best!, June 24 2001
This review is from: Dream A Little Dream (Mass Market Paperback)
Susan Elizabeth Phillips is one of the best writers of contemporary romance as is amply proven by "Dream a Little Dream" . This is the story of Rachel Stone, the widow of a TV evangelist whose greed and hypocrisy continue to haunt their former home, Salvation, North Carolina. Rachel and her son Edward are truly destitute, and she returns to Salvation in search of some of her husband's ill-gotten gains. In order to conduct her search, she must outwit the current occupant of her former home, the widower Gabe Bonner. Gabe is still in such deep mourning for his lost wife and son, that he has completely closed down emotionally. Circumstances bring Rachel and Gabe together, and much to their mutual surprise, their initial antipathy and wariness begins to awaken emotional feelings neither anticipated. Their sparing matches are hysterical and Phillips does a wonderful job building the sexual tension between the two.
This is actually a two-for-one romance. In addition to Rachel and Gabe's story, the book includes the romance of Gabe's brother Ethan and his secretary Kristy. Ethan is a reformed sinner who became a pastor, the kind that sharply contrasts with Rachel's flamboyant dead husband. Kristy has been a part of his life forever and clearly always had a crush on Ethan. When Rachel comes to town, she inspires Kristy to make some changes in her life which completely throw Ethan's world into a tailspin,
This novel has a unique plot, wonderfully developed characters, and extremely amusing dialouge. Even if you aren't a fan of contemporary romance, this is such a sweet and funny novel that you are bound to enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Read, May 20 2001
This review is from: Dream A Little Dream (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the first book I've read by Ms. Phillips, and I was not disappointed and hope to read many others as good as this one was.
Rachel was married to a television evangelist who turned out to not be so good a person and stole millions of dollars of donations that belonged to others. Before he died, he confessed his sins, all the while making it seem that his wife, Rachel, had led him to do the horrible things he did. After he died, Rachel was trying to support her son and herself when she comes into a town filled with many of her late husband's followers. The only person in town who is remotely nice to her at all is Gabe Bonner. He gives Rachel a job and secures a place for her to live.
Gabe is not exactly super nice, but there is something about Rachel, like the way she looks like she hasn't eaten in a month, how he wants her in spite of that, or the fact that she is a fighter in a town of people who hate her that makes him want to help. Gabe has also suffered in his life, when his wife and son died two years before. Will Rachel and Gabe be able to heal and helpe each other despite the past and the efforts of all the people in the town and their families to keep them apart?
I liked each of the main characters and the secondary characters because they all were intrigueing and wonderful. Rachel was a true fighter who was willing to sacrifice anything for her son and was generous to a fault. Gabe was extremely alpha, one of those brooding men, and it just makes the reader ache to heal him, or at least have Rachel heal him. There is also a secondary romance between Gabe's brother pastor Ethan and his secretary Kristy, who has secretly been in love with him for a long time. Dependable Kristy is about to break out of her shell and really show Ethan just what he's been overlooking all those years. Their story is heartwarming and touching as well.
This story had a nice plot, good characters, and a happy ever after ending for everyone and is just the type of romance I want to curl up with and read in one sitting. I recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good love story. Happy Reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dream a little dream, March 5 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Dream A Little Dream (Mass Market Paperback)
This is my second SEP and I read the entire thing in a weekend. I am now looking into collecting all of her books keep for myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not a true SEP fan, Feb. 13 2001
By 
Tara (Wyncote, PA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dream A Little Dream (Mass Market Paperback)
With a 'million' reviews already written, I just wanted to express my opinion. It is a good book. Great dialog. Rachel is one of my favorite female leads. Definitely a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A DREAM OF A BOOK, Jan. 30 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Dream A Little Dream (Mass Market Paperback)
What a pleasant surprise this was! After It Had To Be You and Heaven Texas, I was a little hesitant to jump back into another SEP book. I felt uncomfortable with the "heroes" in those books. Was never sure I even liked them. Low and behold along comes Dream A Little Dream, and I am hooked from the start. A fully developed character in SEP's fiesty heroine who you pull for, feel for, cry for and laugh with (excuse the prepositions). A hero that, while initially unpleasant, you can at least understand why he shut down his emotions. Great, great story. Good secondary characters, too. This book should get at least 5 stars and definitely more than the above mentioned SEP books. Dream A Little Dream is a book to keep and reread. Light the fire in the fireplace, grab a glass of wine, and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Book to Read ~ I'm Not Good WIth Titles, Oct. 16 2000
This review is from: Dream A Little Dream (Mass Market Paperback)
I think this is a wonderful book!. This is almost like the conclusion to "Nobody's Baby But Mine", because "Dream A Little Dream" involves the second Bonner brother, Gabe Bonner.
Rachel Stone was the widower of a very evil and greedy man that made Rachel take the blame of his greediness. After her husband died, everyong hated her because they believed that she was the reason, her husband became so corrupt. But Rachel don't care what the others think because she got a son to take care of, Edward who perfers to be called Chip. (Go Figure)
Rachel was stuck in Salvation, North Carolina because her car broke down, right in front of the property that belongs to Gabe Bonner.
Gabe Bonner was a man who was cold and empty of all emotions because of the devastating loss of his wife and son, due to a car accident. Gabe hired Rachel to help with his drive-in and they work together, side by side. When Gabe starts to living as as an almost human being again, the animosity the town causes a few problems for both of them. The problems might force Rachel out of the town but Gabe isn't going to let Rachel and her son go without a fight. And Rachel is no puhover either.
I love this book! Susan Elizabeth Phillips is a genius with words. I can never think to write such outrageous things, if I was to write a book but Philliips pull it off and with a big sucess. "Dream A Little Dream" is like a must read and whoever doesn't is in a great loss. I'm glad I read this book, but it was kinda hard with all the late nights I spent with this book.
= o )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Feel Good" book of all time, July 14 2000
This review is from: Dream A Little Dream (Mass Market Paperback)
Open DREAM A LITTLE DREAM and visit Salvation, NC where the famous Bonner family resides. Get in a little deeper and get to know Heartbreak Mountain, which is the heart of the Bonner Family. Read more and get hooked on Dream A Little Dream, the story of Gabe Bonner and Rachel Stone.
The Bonner brothers have always been close, looking out for each other. When Rachel Stone's car breaks down and is stuck in Salvation, they think she's not good news and try to get her to leave. But they're not the only ones who do, the people of Salvation have decided to blame all their problems on her. Because she was married to a televangelist who played them all for fools.
Most importantly, Gabe wants Rachel and her 5 year old son gone too. He's grieving over the death of his wife and son and doesn't want to feel anything again.
However, Rachel is broke and her luck had just run out. And she was not going to give up the only hope she has of securing her son's future. As for the people and the Bonner brothers, she's never given up on a fight before.
Dream A Little Dream is about many things, the love of a mother for her son, the healing of a grieving heart, the struggle of a strong woman to make it, and how they teach each other to love again.
Susan Elizabeth Phillips is known for her funny and heartwarming dialogue, and Dream A Little Dream is no exception. However, it also has a deeper sense of feeling. She'll make ya laugh and cry, and at the end, make ya feel good all over!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Satisfying read, July 5 2000
This review is from: Dream A Little Dream (Mass Market Paperback)
I suppose I grew to like Gabe, but I most definitely didn't like him at the start. But at least he wasn't prejudiced against Rachel like everybody else. Rachel is finally given the chance to come out of herself and show everybody who she really is, seeing as everybody saw a certain image of her before. But I didn't really like Kristy's relationship with Gabe's brother. It just didn't ring true. Well, I suppose you do have to suspend belief for the whole book, but even still...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dream A Little Dream, March 25 2000
This review is from: Dream A Little Dream (Mass Market Paperback)
Susan Elizabeth Phillips packs a heavy punch through her words. This book was so emotional, it drains your senses while enchanting the whole way through. Rachel is a woman to be admired for her gutsy, driven personality. I like how SEP gives her charachters a gritty, down-to-earth, in-the-mud kind of life. There is never too much glitter in her stories, even when they start out in the high life, SEP knocks them all off their pedastals and forces them (and her readers) to face the dirty side of life. "Dream A Little Dream" takes on the after effects of a televangelist's downfall. He's dead, but he left behind a bitter town, and a wife soiled by his fall. Five years later, Rachel returns to Salvation with her young son in tow, to retrieve the five million dollars, her husband embezzled from the town and his followers. Rachel meets Gabe, the black sheep son of the town's fabled family. Gabe has demons of his own, and he wants nothing to do with Rachel and especially her child.
I was fighting for Rachel every time I flipped a page. It was sad when it ended...I wanted to continue being a voyeur into Rachel and Gabe's story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dream A Little Dream
Dream A Little Dream by Susan E Phillips (Mass Market Paperback - Feb. 1 1998)
CDN$ 8.99 CDN$ 8.54
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews