Customer Reviews


118 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars D-d-d-d-duke!
The first installment of the Bridgerton series focuses on the eldest Bridgerton sister, Daphne. This is an emotional joy ride in how Simon Bassett, the Duke of Hastings found true love with Daphne Bridgerton. Simon grew up motherless, rejected by his father, and with a speech impediment to boot --he stutters. He overcame this impediment but it still comes out...
Published on April 26 2004 by KenichiKat

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mildly Entertaining
I agree with a couple other reviewers that most of this dialogue seemed highly anachronistic. It made me reflect "These people sound straight out of Brideshead Revisited" which was set in the 1920s I believe. Everyone is very witty, slap-happy, and droll. Phrases such as "dumb as a post," "where the hell?" and "butterfly kiss"...
Published on Oct. 20 2003 by Karen Mercury


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars D-d-d-d-duke!, April 26 2004
By 
KenichiKat (fort wayne, in) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Duke & I (Mass Market Paperback)
The first installment of the Bridgerton series focuses on the eldest Bridgerton sister, Daphne. This is an emotional joy ride in how Simon Bassett, the Duke of Hastings found true love with Daphne Bridgerton. Simon grew up motherless, rejected by his father, and with a speech impediment to boot --he stutters. He overcame this impediment but it still comes out especially in times of great emotional strain.
Simon met Daphne when he rescued her from an obssessed suitor. The Duke just came back from living abroad and found out that Mamas with marriageable daughters kept hounding him; whereas Daphne needed to raise her marriage desirability among the eligible bachelors of the ton. So they struck a deal, they will announce a sham engagement. Of course, once the proposals started pouring in for Daphne, Simon thought that the sham engagement must be turned into a real one. And before anyone could say "Duke of Hastings," they were married.
Daphne found bliss and happiness in Simon's arms, and wants to start a family; but Simon's painful childhood is blocking the way to their total happiness.
"The Duke and I" started off lighthearted but it has moments where you truly feel for the characters. I like Daphne's strength and her determination to pull Simon out of the dark remembrance of his past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mildly Entertaining, Oct. 20 2003
By 
Karen Mercury (Green River, UT United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Duke & I (Mass Market Paperback)
I agree with a couple other reviewers that most of this dialogue seemed highly anachronistic. It made me reflect "These people sound straight out of Brideshead Revisited" which was set in the 1920s I believe. Everyone is very witty, slap-happy, and droll. Phrases such as "dumb as a post," "where the hell?" and "butterfly kiss" indeed weren't in use as early as 1813, as well as words like "teeny" and "dither."
Is this what is called a "costume drama"? There was no detail as to their surroundings, clothing, or technology of the time. It didn't make me feel "You Are There." I, too, felt she had been too lazy to do any research. However, I do like the hero. I get tired of "perfect" heroes who are handsome, rich -- oh wait, I guess Simon is both of those! -- but at least he had some flaws which to my trivial mind makes him "deeper." :)
Overall, just way too much cutesy dialogue that went on and on forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Warning: Bodice Ripper, May 10 2003
By 
Jennie Lyn "jennielyn" (Silicon Valley, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Duke & I (Mass Market Paperback)
As an avid Jane Austen and Georgette Heyer fan, I'm always looking for a quality Regency romance. I wish these reviews had warned me to LOOK FURTHER. There are at least three extended sex scenes in this book (I'm talking pages and pages) ... with only the barest of nods to the challenging conventions of the Regency genre. It's no surprise the author is an American ... and a young one at that. Unless soft porn is your thing, re-read some of the real stuff instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars refreshing introduction to Quinn, March 29 2004
By 
S. Lin "SL" (Wellesley, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Duke & I (Mass Market Paperback)
The Duke and I is a splendid book and a great introduction to the writing style of Julia Quinn!
Simon Basset has never been perfect in his father's eyes, and having failed, he's decided to thwart his father forever by being everything his father never thought he would be, including refusing to marry and continue the long and mighty Hastings ducal line. And however much he wants Daphne Bridgerton, he refuses to go back on his vow.
Daphne has always been friendly...so friendly in fact, that potential suitors never consider her a likely candidate for marriage. That is, until Daphne meets Simon. Even though he tries to be aloof, not only because of his vow but because Anthony Bridgerton (a long-time friend of Simon's) threatens his neck, Simon cannot help but be attracted to Daphne during the span of their pretend courtship.
Caught in a compromising position, they are forced to wed, and both are at the beginning of a journey to learn more about themselves and each other. Of course, included is a healthy dose of humor. Julia Quinn is IMHO, one of the best writers of witty dialogue, not to mention the incredible Lady Whistledown! Her books are bound to make you laugh out loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The book that started it all..., March 6 2004
By 
Jem S. (BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Duke & I (Mass Market Paperback)
It was very unfortunate for me to read the FIRST book in the series as the LAST one. Because of that reason, I will never find out if I could have reacted differently if I read them all in order. But in order or not in order, this is DEFINITELY worth the hunting I did just so I can finally read Daphne's story.
Daphne is who u call "one of the guys"; the girl who boys can hang out with--period: no marriage intentions or whatsoever. But as it turns out, there is one Duke out there that will fall for her charms nonetheless. The only problem is, this is one of those Dukes who has a depressingly destructing childhood. If he consulted a psychiatrist-if there is one on that time-then we won't have to go through another emotional-roller-coaster-self-conflicted-ride...but since they weren't (probably)offering any psychology courses for the ton, we have to rely to the "healing power of love", whew! that is HEAVY eh? So here we have Daphne, who wishes to have a loving husband and lots and lots of children, falling in love with Simon, who had a bastard of a father, and sweared to his death that He will never, I repeat, NEVER continue the line of the Basset's ancestry; therefore, ending the dukedom with him. But of course, when you have the Bridgertons, what else could go wrong? You'll surely have a happy-ending.
I don't know if Quinn has brothers and sisters, but I was surprised and impressed on how he completely captured the "barbaric" relationship between siblings. I laughed so hard especially when Daphne and one of his brother get into the fighting mode--physically. There is also a family dinner which you CAN'T miss...I mean, the Bridgertons in a family dinner...it almost killed me!hehe--Violet Bridgerton will completely crack u up!
As a wrap-up, half of the book is simple and easy-going with all the charms and antics u'll expect from a Bridgerton book, and half of the book is emotional, touching and sweet as u'll expect from Quinn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quinn's best in my opinion!!!, Nov. 13 2003
By 
This review is from: Duke & I (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the first novel in the "Bridgeton" series...followed by "The Viscount who Loved Me" "An Offer from a Gentleman" "Romancing Mr Bridgerton" "To Sir Phillip, With Love" and soon..."When He was Wicked."
This first installation of the series is by far the best book. I really did enjoy them all and it is great to have the "Whistledown" aspect of these novels. You will have to read it yourself to understand that...but it's worth it and Lady Whistledown's true identity is revealed in a later novel.
Daphne and Simon have one of those loves that is just so meant to be that it happens despite everyone's efforts to stop it! Daphne is determined to marry only for love, and Simon is determined not to marry at all. TOgether they scheme to pretend to be engaged so that all the pesty mamas will stop thrusting their daughters at him and so that Daphne's own mama and potential suiters will leave her alone. But, their sham of an engagement soon becomes an excuse to be together...and their mutual attraction cannot be ignored!
All the books in this series are good, but this one should not be missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Delightful and charming!, Sept. 21 2003
This review is from: Duke & I (Mass Market Paperback)
What a delightful read! This is my first book from Julia Quinn and I am enchanted. For sure, I will soon be reading the Bridgerton series.
Though Simon is supposed to be a nortorious rake, there was little ink about it. In fact, Simon appeared to be a perfect gentlemen in the league of rakes among the romance novels. Daphne was lovely and kind, with a touch of innocence but enough intelligence to not to appear too child-like. The secondary characters were charming too and I look forward to read more about them.
The book was well-paced and the dialogue was very engaging. I thought I was immuned to being over-sentimental after so many romance books but I was amazed that my tears fell when Simon told Daphne that he could not marry her, after Anthony discovered them. Julia Quinn was wonderful in making her characters came alive and touched you. Though knowing that there would be a happy ending, it was the journey that counted and Julia Quinn had made that so vivid and charming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First In A Fabulous New Series, Aug. 24 2003
By 
Trisha A. Howell "Howell Canyon Press author" (Los Angeles, CA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Duke & I (Mass Market Paperback)
Julia Quinn has a definite winner in The Duke and I! This entertaining novel introduces the delightful Bridgerton family, which happily Quinn will no doubt revisit in later novels as there are many Bridgerton siblings. The matron-tough, independent but totally loving Violet Bridgerton-gave birth to eight children, named in descending order with the letters of the alphabet (clever of Quinn to make it easier for us to remember who's who!): Anthony, Benedict, Colin, Daphne, Eloise, Francesca, Gregory and Hyacinth. This novel focuses on Daphne.
Daphne Bridgerton is beautiful, warm, witty and kind. She's had a very loving upbringing and wants nothing more than to find the right husband and to create a family of her own. But she's not attracting the right suitors (only a really hilarious loser here!); she is such a friend to everyone that no one sees her in a romantic light.
Enter Simon Bassett, the Duke of Hastings. Having been raised motherless by an incredibly cruel father, Simon has sworn that he will never marry nor have children- that's how he will finally get even with his now deceased father: He will refuse to perpetuate the title that his father worshipped. (His father's only interest in Simon was in having an heir to carry on the family name and title.) Simon is very damaged psychologically, and has worked hard for years to overcome his stutter, which was the pretext for his father's rejection of him.
Daphne doesn't know anything about Simon's past, but she and Simon realize that they can join forces to their own advantage: they pretend to the world that they are courting. Simon is such an illustrious personage that this indeed creates a lot of romantic interest in Daphne from others. Suitors start swarming around her. Simon, for his part, is spared from the constant stream of women who've been trying to snag him-they assume he's already taken.
But their plan backfires when Daphne finds herself falling in love with the mesmerizing duke, and Simon alarmingly finds himself growing possessive of Daphne and jealous of her suitors. When Simon is nevertheless willing to lose his life rather than to marry Daphne, the stakes get extremely high, and the relationship takes on an urgency and intensity that sweeps the reader along. It is beautiful and touching watching their relationship grow deeper as Simon works through his problems.
Julia Quinn has made a quantum leap here. The Duke and I has a greater depth of emotion than Quinn's earlier works while retaining Quinn's signature witty dialogue. This makes the story more substantial and the characters seem more real.
Secondary characters are also great. The irrepressible Lady Danbury-whom I adored in How to Marry a Marquis-reappears, still sassy as ever. And we're introduced to the witty, charming and mysterious Lady Whistledown, whose entertaining Society Papers begin each chapter. I'm pretty sure I know who she really is, but that doesn't damage the fun in the least.

Don't miss The Duke and I, which is sure to charm every romance aficionado!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars (3.5 stars really) - Another "almost" good novel fr/ Quinn, Sept. 26 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Duke & I (Mass Market Paperback)
I love romance novels set in regency era England and I especially like those that include lighthearted, witty dialogue. Julia Quinn novels have these traits, which is why I've read all but one (Romancing Mister Bridgerton) in the Bridgerton series. I've read them out of sequence, reading this first one in the series only recently. Like so many of her other novels, The Duke and I has a contrived conflict; this, perhaps, is Quinn's greatest weakness in all her novels. The conflict that she creates between the hero and the heroine is always something that seems silly after a while. It's always an internal (i.e., mental) conflict on the part of the hero. And, while I concede that those type of problems can be serious, I just can't really accept that the heroes of her novels would risk their entire lives for something abstract. For example, in this novel, the hero would rather get killed than marry Daphne and have children because his father was so rotten to him as a child; he can't let go of the anger. I guess I'd be more likely to accept this if the hero didn't admit to his own internal conflict, if, for example, the problem was so deeply buried within him that he's not aware of why he acts as he does and then later has an epiphany of sorts. It just doesn't seem realistic that he's aware enough of himself to know where his problem lies, but isn't aware enough to conquer it until it's almost too late.
Of all the novels in this series, "An Offer from a Gentleman" is my favorite (that's Benedict's story) because the conflict is real. It's a conflict between classes, with Benedict trying to find some way to have a relationship with a woman who is a servant.
The Duke and I is a cute romance, with the standard Quinn witty repartee and humourous moments. However, it lacks depth as the conflict seems so contrived that readers are likely to get frustrated at times. I would recommend that Quinn fans (particularly those who've read other novels in her Bridgerton series) read this because it is mildly entertaining --- just don't expect a mememorable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful! Just... wonderful!, Feb. 14 2002
By 
Heather (Wisconsin, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Duke & I (Mass Market Paperback)
Julia Quinn has, without a doubt, written her way into being my personal favorite author!... a spot that had has been unchanged since I was sixteen years old. Oh yeah, with each book of hers that I read, I cannot help but admire her more and more! Such talent, and to think that she began writing just as a passing thought really, it astounds me. Wish I had that sort of talent bursting at my fingertips.
"The Duke and I" was uncomparibly brilliant! I think Julia's biggest talent in her writing (and I'm sure most would agree with me here) is her dialogs. She has the ability to make her characters become real with laughter, tears and joy.
Julia is exceptionally good with adding a whole lot of humor into her novels, and this book was no expection... without giving anything away, I MUST say that I laughed for a good 10 minutes strait reading the part where Simon was drunk and trying to explain his feeling while his brain just wouldn't cooperate with him (nor his speech for that matter)... OH SO FUNNY!!!!
You've gotta read this book! You won't be disapointed! Again, many many thanks to Julia for sharing her talent with us!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Duke & I
Duke & I by J Quinn (Mass Market Paperback - Jan. 6 2000)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews