Customer Reviews


118 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Bridgertons No 1
This wasn't the first Bridgerton book I read but as soon as I'd read the other one, I knew I had to read them ALL. So I began in chronological order. The Duke and I is absolutely marvellous. Simon is both funny and endearing and of course he's very much a Duke, you cant miss that. Daphne Bridgerton is my second favourite Bridgerton sister, the favourite being Hyacinth...
Published 6 months ago by Zeenat Mahal

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mildly Entertaining
I agree with a couple other reviewers that most of this dialogue seemed highly anachronistic. It made me reflect "These people sound straight out of Brideshead Revisited" which was set in the 1920s I believe. Everyone is very witty, slap-happy, and droll. Phrases such as "dumb as a post," "where the hell?" and "butterfly kiss"...
Published on Oct. 20 2003 by Karen Mercury


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Bridgertons No 1, Jan. 11 2014
This review is from: Duke & I (Mass Market Paperback)
This wasn't the first Bridgerton book I read but as soon as I'd read the other one, I knew I had to read them ALL. So I began in chronological order. The Duke and I is absolutely marvellous. Simon is both funny and endearing and of course he's very much a Duke, you cant miss that. Daphne Bridgerton is my second favourite Bridgerton sister, the favourite being Hyacinth. Daphne is smart and the encounters between her and Simon are hilarious and romantic at the same time, but there's Julia Quinn for you. She pulls this off in every book! Love this writer.
Simon's dark childhood overshadows his life. He doesn't want to marry. Yet, he cannot resist Daphne. The shadows linger and Daphne must fight them alongside Simon. However, as circumstances would have it, the Duke must choose between being honourable and being honourable. What's the choice? Read the book and find out. Although the books can be read separately, it's so much more satisfying reading them in order. Start with this. You'll love the Bridgertons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars D-d-d-d-duke!, April 26 2004
By 
KenichiKat (fort wayne, in) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Duke & I (Mass Market Paperback)
The first installment of the Bridgerton series focuses on the eldest Bridgerton sister, Daphne. This is an emotional joy ride in how Simon Bassett, the Duke of Hastings found true love with Daphne Bridgerton. Simon grew up motherless, rejected by his father, and with a speech impediment to boot --he stutters. He overcame this impediment but it still comes out especially in times of great emotional strain.
Simon met Daphne when he rescued her from an obssessed suitor. The Duke just came back from living abroad and found out that Mamas with marriageable daughters kept hounding him; whereas Daphne needed to raise her marriage desirability among the eligible bachelors of the ton. So they struck a deal, they will announce a sham engagement. Of course, once the proposals started pouring in for Daphne, Simon thought that the sham engagement must be turned into a real one. And before anyone could say "Duke of Hastings," they were married.
Daphne found bliss and happiness in Simon's arms, and wants to start a family; but Simon's painful childhood is blocking the way to their total happiness.
"The Duke and I" started off lighthearted but it has moments where you truly feel for the characters. I like Daphne's strength and her determination to pull Simon out of the dark remembrance of his past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Love this book!!!, June 1 2010
This review is from: Duke & I (Mass Market Paperback)
This book was so good i couldnt put it down. This is my second book from Julia Quinn and she's now one of my favorite authors along with Johanna Lindsey, Judith McNaught and Josie Litton. It's so easy to love the hero of this story unlike many romance novels where the hero is dark and brooding and doesnt seem to care if he hurts the heroine feelings. Simon does care and shows it and he's so endearing because of he's flaws. And Daphne is so charming because of her outspoken maners and her take charge attitude. I definetly recommend this book!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, April 7 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Duke & I (Mass Market Paperback)
Julia Quinn is incredibly funny. This is not my favorite book in the series because I love Anthony Bridgerton and The Viscount Who Loved Me is my favorite. However, Daphne and Simon are both endearing characters and their story will keep you riveted from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mildly Entertaining, Oct. 20 2003
By 
Karen Mercury (Green River, UT United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Duke & I (Mass Market Paperback)
I agree with a couple other reviewers that most of this dialogue seemed highly anachronistic. It made me reflect "These people sound straight out of Brideshead Revisited" which was set in the 1920s I believe. Everyone is very witty, slap-happy, and droll. Phrases such as "dumb as a post," "where the hell?" and "butterfly kiss" indeed weren't in use as early as 1813, as well as words like "teeny" and "dither."
Is this what is called a "costume drama"? There was no detail as to their surroundings, clothing, or technology of the time. It didn't make me feel "You Are There." I, too, felt she had been too lazy to do any research. However, I do like the hero. I get tired of "perfect" heroes who are handsome, rich -- oh wait, I guess Simon is both of those! -- but at least he had some flaws which to my trivial mind makes him "deeper." :)
Overall, just way too much cutesy dialogue that went on and on forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Warning: Bodice Ripper, May 10 2003
By 
Jennie Lyn "jennielyn" (Silicon Valley, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Duke & I (Mass Market Paperback)
As an avid Jane Austen and Georgette Heyer fan, I'm always looking for a quality Regency romance. I wish these reviews had warned me to LOOK FURTHER. There are at least three extended sex scenes in this book (I'm talking pages and pages) ... with only the barest of nods to the challenging conventions of the Regency genre. It's no surprise the author is an American ... and a young one at that. Unless soft porn is your thing, re-read some of the real stuff instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Near Perfect Romance Novel!, April 1 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Duke & I (Mass Market Paperback)
I absolutely loved Simon and Daphne was a great heroine. Simon's horrible upbringing and treatment by his father made me want to grab him in a hug and hold him forever. The stuttering made me fall head over heels for him. He was so REAL. I actually found the stuttering a bit sexy when he did it as an adult. He was so passionate and so intense. I just loved him!
The Bridgertons are an awesome family and the rest of the series is as wonderfully warm and sensual as "The Duke & I."
I highly recommend this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars refreshing introduction to Quinn, March 29 2004
By 
S. Lin "SL" (Wellesley, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Duke & I (Mass Market Paperback)
The Duke and I is a splendid book and a great introduction to the writing style of Julia Quinn!
Simon Basset has never been perfect in his father's eyes, and having failed, he's decided to thwart his father forever by being everything his father never thought he would be, including refusing to marry and continue the long and mighty Hastings ducal line. And however much he wants Daphne Bridgerton, he refuses to go back on his vow.
Daphne has always been friendly...so friendly in fact, that potential suitors never consider her a likely candidate for marriage. That is, until Daphne meets Simon. Even though he tries to be aloof, not only because of his vow but because Anthony Bridgerton (a long-time friend of Simon's) threatens his neck, Simon cannot help but be attracted to Daphne during the span of their pretend courtship.
Caught in a compromising position, they are forced to wed, and both are at the beginning of a journey to learn more about themselves and each other. Of course, included is a healthy dose of humor. Julia Quinn is IMHO, one of the best writers of witty dialogue, not to mention the incredible Lady Whistledown! Her books are bound to make you laugh out loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The book that started it all..., March 7 2004
By 
Jem S. (BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Duke & I (Mass Market Paperback)
It was very unfortunate for me to read the FIRST book in the series as the LAST one. Because of that reason, I will never find out if I could have reacted differently if I read them all in order. But in order or not in order, this is DEFINITELY worth the hunting I did just so I can finally read Daphne's story.
Daphne is who u call "one of the guys"; the girl who boys can hang out with--period: no marriage intentions or whatsoever. But as it turns out, there is one Duke out there that will fall for her charms nonetheless. The only problem is, this is one of those Dukes who has a depressingly destructing childhood. If he consulted a psychiatrist-if there is one on that time-then we won't have to go through another emotional-roller-coaster-self-conflicted-ride...but since they weren't (probably)offering any psychology courses for the ton, we have to rely to the "healing power of love", whew! that is HEAVY eh? So here we have Daphne, who wishes to have a loving husband and lots and lots of children, falling in love with Simon, who had a bastard of a father, and sweared to his death that He will never, I repeat, NEVER continue the line of the Basset's ancestry; therefore, ending the dukedom with him. But of course, when you have the Bridgertons, what else could go wrong? You'll surely have a happy-ending.
I don't know if Quinn has brothers and sisters, but I was surprised and impressed on how he completely captured the "barbaric" relationship between siblings. I laughed so hard especially when Daphne and one of his brother get into the fighting mode--physically. There is also a family dinner which you CAN'T miss...I mean, the Bridgertons in a family dinner...it almost killed me!hehe--Violet Bridgerton will completely crack u up!
As a wrap-up, half of the book is simple and easy-going with all the charms and antics u'll expect from a Bridgerton book, and half of the book is emotional, touching and sweet as u'll expect from Quinn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quinn's best in my opinion!!!, Nov. 13 2003
By 
This review is from: Duke & I (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the first novel in the "Bridgeton" series...followed by "The Viscount who Loved Me" "An Offer from a Gentleman" "Romancing Mr Bridgerton" "To Sir Phillip, With Love" and soon..."When He was Wicked."
This first installation of the series is by far the best book. I really did enjoy them all and it is great to have the "Whistledown" aspect of these novels. You will have to read it yourself to understand that...but it's worth it and Lady Whistledown's true identity is revealed in a later novel.
Daphne and Simon have one of those loves that is just so meant to be that it happens despite everyone's efforts to stop it! Daphne is determined to marry only for love, and Simon is determined not to marry at all. TOgether they scheme to pretend to be engaged so that all the pesty mamas will stop thrusting their daughters at him and so that Daphne's own mama and potential suiters will leave her alone. But, their sham of an engagement soon becomes an excuse to be together...and their mutual attraction cannot be ignored!
All the books in this series are good, but this one should not be missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Duke & I
Duke & I by J Quinn (Mass Market Paperback - Jan. 6 2000)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews