Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Max is One of the Sexiest Heroes Ever!
Unfortunately, Lola Carlyle didn't mean to reveal it all, but during a weak moment with her fiancé, she allowed him to snap some nude pictures of her. Even though she's now an ex-supermodel, she's still a very recognizable face. Cashing in on her fame, her now ex-fiancé exploits Lola by peddling her pictures on the Internet. Tired of the gossip surrounding...
Published on April 14 2004 by klpepsi

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It was pretty good but fizzled near the end
I enjoyed Gibson having a female lead who showed her vulnerabilities and needed the male. It was refreshing not to have Miss Independance like in every other romance novel that's afraid to be that stereotypical damsel in distress. That having been said, I enjoyed the story and the time they spent alone on the yacht, but then when they got back home I just didn't see...
Published on Nov. 6 2003 by Isobel


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Max is One of the Sexiest Heroes Ever!, April 14 2004
This review is from: Lola Carlyle Reveals All (Mass Market Paperback)
Unfortunately, Lola Carlyle didn't mean to reveal it all, but during a weak moment with her fiancé, she allowed him to snap some nude pictures of her. Even though she's now an ex-supermodel, she's still a very recognizable face. Cashing in on her fame, her now ex-fiancé exploits Lola by peddling her pictures on the Internet. Tired of the gossip surrounding the photos, she takes a vacation and goes into hiding in the Bahamas. Alone aboard a yacht with her little dog, Baby Doll, a man on the run commandeers Lola and the vessel.
Max Zamora works for the government in a top-secret capacity, and his mission has just gone completely wrong, forcing him to flee for his life from a drug lord. Max has seen Lola before in magazines, and on billboards, wearing next to nothing. Lola and her little dog are less than thrilled to be kidnapped by some madman claiming he's one of the good guys. Max finds Lola beautiful, desirable, and a huge pain in the backside. And that goes double for her little dog with the Napoleon complex. Just when Max believes his situation couldn't get any worse, Lola accidentally torches part of the boat, leaving them to drift in the water without a motor. Alone together for several days struggling through life and death situations, they find it difficult to keep their hands off each other. And when they do give in, it may be impossible to ever let go.
I really didn't know what to expect when I picked up this book to read. The premise sounded intriguing, since I liked the idea of the couple being stranded alone on a boat. I've read a couple of other books by Ms. Gibson and loved both of them, but after reading some of the reviews on Amazon for this book, I just wasn't sure. Well, I'm now sure I loved this book! I loved the character of Max, the bad boy doing good guy deeds. And I liked Lola as well. Even though her description sounded like physical perfection, she had body image issues, which led to a disorder she now controls after years of treatment. I was a little skeptical of her judgment in allowing a man to take nude photos of her, but her illness at the time could easily account for her lapse. She was a strong and likeable heroine. There were some real funny moments here as well, especially between Max and the dog, Baby Doll. The love scenes were intensely erotic. Overall, it was a sexy, smart and fun read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a man!, Jan. 18 2004
By 
"napoleonne" (Montréal, Québec Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lola Carlyle Reveals All (Mass Market Paperback)
It's my first novel from Gibson and i'm really glad that i read that one first! Make me think of an Evanovich's one because of the tension between the 2 characters and the superb masculinity of Max. I laugh, I cried! Well written, easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Max could "commandeer" my boat anytime!, Nov. 11 2003
By 
This review is from: Lola Carlyle Reveals All (Mass Market Paperback)
You know, I almost didn't read this book because, from many of the reviews, you get the impression that Lola is some sort of moronic, one-dimensional bimbo. Well, she's not! She's a woman who is put into some very scary situations and, ok maybe she does one or two stupid things, but who's to say how any of us might react if we believe our lives are in danger? And so what if she gave her dog a stupid name - lots of people are guilty of that. Give her a break! She's a recovering bulimic former model who's ex has been making a fortune off of naked pictures she had allowed him to take of her because she (stupidly as it turned out) trusted him. She's trying to get away from it all on a vacation to the Bahamas when the yacht she is on is "commandeered" by a scary looking, beaten and bruised, very large man. Why is this happening to her and how much more can she take?
Max Zamora is a former Navy SEAL, now a government operative who works covertly on very special assignments where the government needs plausible deniability. This assignment has gone as wrong as it can get! First drug lords capture him, then he is brutally beaten, and in order to escape must kill the drug lord's son and now, on the run, he's commandeered a yacht with a former lingerie model and her annoying little dog on board. He can barely see straight and is still bleeding when she threatens him with a flare gun and winds up setting the engine on fire! Now they are adrift in the Atlantic. Can this get any worse?
They wind up bickering and fighting their growing mutual attraction while waiting to be rescued. Lola starts to trust Max, who begins to show her some kindness and even her dog seems to grow on him. He feels responsible for her and the predicament they find themselves in and promises Lola he will get her home safe. But will bad storms and drug dealers allow Max to keep his promise? And if so, what happens when they get back on dry land - will they ever see one another again?
I just adored Max - he was absolutely yummy!! Lola was likable and I was sympathetic to her continuing issues with her weight and body image and her fear in relation to her experiences adrift at sea with Max. I did not sympathize, however, with her naked pictures issue. Anyone (especially someone in the public eye) in this day and age stupid enough to allow such pictures to be taken just has to deal with the consequences! But she does get her revenge in the end - thanks to Max!
OK, perhaps not Ms. Gibson's best, but still an enjoyable and recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It was pretty good but fizzled near the end, Nov. 6 2003
This review is from: Lola Carlyle Reveals All (Mass Market Paperback)
I enjoyed Gibson having a female lead who showed her vulnerabilities and needed the male. It was refreshing not to have Miss Independance like in every other romance novel that's afraid to be that stereotypical damsel in distress. That having been said, I enjoyed the story and the time they spent alone on the yacht, but then when they got back home I just didn't see what was actually keeping them apart..his top secret job?
It wasn't the best by Rachel Gibson, but it's a fun, light read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hmm, not her best effort..., Aug. 30 2003
This review is from: Lola Carlyle Reveals All (Mass Market Paperback)
Rachel Gibson's It Must Be Love and See Jane Score enthralled me from cover to cover. As a result, I bought all of her books. However, I am disappointed with Lola Carlyle Reveals All.
Having discovered some rather intimate photos of herself on the Internet, supermodel Lola Carlyle flees to the sunny Bahamas to escape scrutiny and scandal from the press. Little did she envisage that her yacht would be "commandeered" by a seemingly mad - albeit gorgeous - government employee named Max Zamora. Stuck in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean, Lola and Max's animosity changes to intense attraction in quick succession. But will they be able to return to their respective lives?
There are various typos and grammatical errors in this book. Was Ms. Gibson on a crucial publishing deadline? Also, some of the scenes are too far-fetched to be believable. For instance, Max has loving thoughts of Lola while on a mission to escape to freedom from dangerous drug lords. And Max's government job isn't realistic. To make matters worse, the romance isn't as palpable as her other efforts. There just isn't enough building of tension between Max and Lola.
This isn't my favorite Gibson book, but she's nevertheless a wonderful contemporary romance writer and I look forward to giving Truly Madly Yours and Simply Irresistible a whirl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I cant believe this book hasnt gotten better reviews!!!, July 22 2003
By 
M. I. "krushedvelvet" (Old Bridge, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lola Carlyle Reveals All (Mass Market Paperback)
I absolutely LOVED this book! I am a big fan of Rachel Gibsons and this has to be one of my faves! I LOVED Max.. he is agressive and arrogant but sooo sweet!... I loved him sooo much!!..Hes definitely been added to my list of favorite heros..Lola was entertaining ..I really liked the fact that although she was girly, she didnt act like a total TSTL ninny. This book was fast paced and wildly entertaining. If youre into stories where the h/h get stranded and are alone together for long periods of time..this is the book for you. I highly recommend reading this..Im definitely taking it with me to the Desert Isle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Adventure and Humor on the High Seas!, July 8 2003
This review is from: Lola Carlyle Reveals All (Mass Market Paperback)
My first Gibson book and am I happy! Very funny and fast-paced, I was thrilled. Full of action and adventure, I couldn't put it down.
A former supermodel and a black ops agent stranded together you say? With a anklebitter dog named Baby? Naked pictures of the said model on the net, but not your typical ones...kinda embarassing actually....very embarassing...so much so that the supermodel finds herself taking a much needed vacation to get away from the laughs she is experiencing behind her back. Not to mention the tabloids calling her 'fat' and 'heavyweight' after she's gaining 25 pounds.
What Lola Carlyle, ex-supermodel and owner of Lola Inc., a lingerie company doesn't expect is her friend's yacht to get taken hostage by a beaten and bruised crazy-man toting a gun demanding she be quiet and sit down and keep her little 'rat' away from him as he takes the boat out to sea!
Things can't get any worse for Max when the crazy-woman on the boat turns on him in the middle of the ocean and fires a flaregun into the controls and fries the engine to stop him. And he also just then realizes she is the famous supermodel Lola Carlyle!
Dead in the water, the two begin to fight like cat and dog...not to mention the little 'rat' that keeps trying to assert his authority by biting Max's leg. With threats of throwing the rat overboard, Lola rethinks her strategy for attack and finds herself unable to do anything.
With druglords after him and a government that refuses to acknowledge its existence, the black ops agent Max Zamora must get back to D.C quick before they finish him off this time. But how? The boat is dead and the controls are fried...a storm is brewing, and not just outside, but between the stranded castaways also.
Can Max save them both? Does he want to? Attracted to the crazywoman, he can't help but feel responsible.
Lola will need to trust the crazyman to survive, as long as she can keep her hands off of his sexy body. Why? She has no idea, must be Stockholm's Syndrome...
Druglords, guns, boats, a deserted island, explosives and true love and oh yeah...the 'rat' Baby, all packed into one explosive book! A keeper!
Tracy Talley~@
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I thought, April 18 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Lola Carlyle Reveals All (Mass Market Paperback)
I read Gibson's book See Jane Score and loved it! But when I picked up this book, I expected the same enjoyment. I was kind of disappointed. I would not recommend this book. I thought it was predictable and really cheesy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Makes you want to rent a boat, April 13 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Lola Carlyle Reveals All (Mass Market Paperback)
I am a huge fan of Rachel Gibson, this story had a little of everything action, comdey and of course romance....
Although, she has written better books, she doesn't totally let you down. I would still recommend it to Ms. Gibson's fan old and new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great story, March 13 2003
This review is from: Lola Carlyle Reveals All (Mass Market Paperback)
Rachel Gibson always keeps the story going at a fast pace. A little predictable, but very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lola Carlyle Reveals All
Lola Carlyle Reveals All by Rachel Gibson (Mass Market Paperback - March 14 2002)
CDN$ 8.99 CDN$ 8.54
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews