Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A Cinderella Story
I think this was the first Julia Quinn book I ever picked up, and I do think it's one of the best in the Bridgerton Series. It's basically a cinderella type story but better.
Published on April 7 2009 by Book-Rants(dot)blogspot(dot)com

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Another Bridgerton
So Benedict is a Bridgerton. You can't really fault him, but this is one of my not-so-favourite ones. Bridgertons are above reproach so when they do things that lesser mortals do, it leaves me a bit...disappointed. His offer to Sophie and his love for her war within him, as much as his choices or lack thereof do within the reader, the loyal Bridgerton reader--till the...
Published 3 months ago by Zeenat Mahal


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Another Bridgerton, Jan. 11 2014
This review is from: Offer From A Gentleman (Mass Market Paperback)
So Benedict is a Bridgerton. You can't really fault him, but this is one of my not-so-favourite ones. Bridgertons are above reproach so when they do things that lesser mortals do, it leaves me a bit...disappointed. His offer to Sophie and his love for her war within him, as much as his choices or lack thereof do within the reader, the loyal Bridgerton reader--till the very end. Benedict's story is one of yearning and denial. We feel his heartache throughout. It's very well-told, I mean it's Julia Quinn for heaven's sake, but there's something missing and I think it's the Bridgerton-ness. By it's very nature, the story had to be as separated from the rest of the clan as possible. There are Cinderella elements there and I'm not sure whether they help or detract from the story.

I'd read it because it's Julia Quinn and the Bridgertons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Cinderella Story, April 7 2009
This review is from: Offer From A Gentleman (Mass Market Paperback)
I think this was the first Julia Quinn book I ever picked up, and I do think it's one of the best in the Bridgerton Series. It's basically a cinderella type story but better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best one of the bunch, May 27 2005
By 
Sarah Stewart "scs" (Calgary and Edmonton, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Offer From A Gentleman (Mass Market Paperback)
This is easily the best of the Bridgerton series, though on JQ's website its said not to be part of the series. Which makes no sense but anyhow, that's what it says.
Sophie has had a crappy life but it has taught her to stand on her own, while Benedict wants to be seen as something other then another Bridgerton. The two meet in a great way, at a masked ball and in typical fashion he never finds out her identity before she runs off. The book really starts to role once the two re-unite but Benedict doesn't realize who she is.
Quinn does a great job dealing with the class difference between the two of them and Sophie's reasons for them not being together are sound and make perfect sense with the way she grew up. This is a heroine who makes the choices she believes are best, even if they don't make her happy. Benedict grows as a character (though he has his moments of bratiness).
JQ is generally very reliable for a good book but this is definitely one of her great one. Highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Prince Charming Named Benedict, May 8 2004
By 
KenichiKat (fort wayne, in) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Offer From A Gentleman (Mass Market Paperback)
The Bridgerton series by Julia Quinn is one of my most favorite books to read over and over again; this time, the second Bridgerton brother Benedict met his match in Sophie Beckett, the illegitimate daughter of the Earl of Penwood. This is a charming retelling of the Cinderella story but the focus here is more on the Prince Charming --Benedict. Benedict met Sophie in his mother's annual masked ball but he did not know it was Sophie because of her mask. He was immediately smitten and intrigued; while Sophie did the "run at midnight" but without the glass slipper. Benedict never forgot the lady in silver as what he started calling Sophie in his mind. He searched for her in vain. Then one night, he met a woman who aroused the same feeling as the lady in silver, the woman was Sophie Beckett whom Benedict rescued from a lecherous employer.
Benedict fell in love with Sophie, and yet he kept thinking of the lady he met in the masked ball. Sophie cannot bring herself to tell Benedict that she was the lady he met in the masked ball. This might be a true and tried story but leave it to Ms. Julia Quinn to throw in some twists that might not leave you at the edge of your seat but will make you satisfied at the ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The whole Bridgerton series is awesome!, May 2 2004
By 
This review is from: Offer From A Gentleman (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the Third in the Bridgergon series. First was The Duke and I (excellent), the second was the Viscount Who Loved Me, the fourth is Romancing Mr. Bridgerton. the fifth is To Sir Philip With Love, and the sixth is When He Was Wicked." The whole series is great, but the first four are the best! While all the Bridgerton novels are a series, they can be read in any order...they stand alone well...but the first few are my favorites!
The first time I read this book it was no my favorite of this series. But, I picked it up again later and I really really liked it more! It is a Cinderella story and the first time I read it I just kept saying to myself "Whe doesn't she just TELL him?" and "How can he not tell it is her?" The second time it just seemed to flow better for me! Sophie and Benedict have a unique version of the Cinderella story when he meets her on a balcony where she is disguised and spends the next few years not giving his heart to anyone else in hopes of finding her. When Sophie's evil stepmother and evil stepsisters kick her out of her own house she has no place to go. She runs across a sick Benedict again, and nurses him back to health, only to avoid telling him that they have met before. Benedict falls for Sophie but holds back to find his true love from the ball! I know this all sounds silly, but Quinn is a natural story teller so everything just comes together!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a Regency Cinderella, March 29 2004
By 
S. Lin "SL" (Wellesley, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Offer From A Gentleman (Mass Market Paperback)
Although this story is unbelievably close to the traditional story of Cinderella, it's still a must-read!
Benedict thought he'd never find the one until he saw a splendid vision in silver...and he just KNEW that she was the woman that he belonged to. But he had let her slip through his fingers that long ago night. After months of searching for her, he has nearly given up hope, though he still has dreams about her. Then, saving a pretty servant from a party, Benedict once again feels the emotions that he had experienced only one other time in his life, with the silver siren. This time, he refuses to let go, even though she can be nothing more than a mistress...
Which is a position that Sophie Beckett refuses to fill! Benedict was the Prince Charming that had filled her dreams ever since that magical night when she had slipped away to the Bridgerton masquerade. An earl's [illegitimate] daughter, she had once had the privilege genteel ladies of the ton had...however, after her father remarried and died, she is left to do the work of three maids. After she is kicked out, she meets Benedict again as he saves her from near rape. But how can she be his mistress when she has vowed never to bring an illegitimate child into this world to suffer as she did? She can only accept marriage, but Benedict being who he is, the possibility is nil.
A heartwarming story to the end, especially the end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a fairy tale indeed, Feb. 14 2004
By 
Jem S. (BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Offer From A Gentleman (Mass Market Paperback)
First of all,the novel is based on fairy tale, anyone who said that it's PREDICTABLE, well, sorry, but ur just stating the obvious fact. I've watched and read 20+ different versions of cinderella on films, cartoons, television and fairy tale books; the first time, it was kinda enchanting and magical just like how it should be for 8-yr-old girls. On the 10th and 11th version, it became a hobby of pointing technical alternations, a glove for a glass slipper, or a housekeeper for a fairy-godmother. Now, as I read the nth version of Cinderella, I was getting ready on calling the shots as I usually do, and I was disappointed that Quinn didn't even try hard enough to alter any details at all. What she did was even better; she extended the time line of the story, she bent the plot inside out, and she succeeded on breathing life to the overrated kiddie-tale. I always think the story a little bit lacking and unsatisfactory. For when the prince found Cinderella, they immediately hit u with their happily-ever-afters. Let me tell u, this novel didnt end there; it's the beginning instead. Dont u ever wonder wat will happen if the prince met the pauper b4 the princess? My wonderings ended shortly as I became engorged with Quinn's magic. I thought I'll find it absolutely ridiculous if the writer squeezed some of that love-at-first-sight stuff. It's either professionally disguised or Quinn is just a superb novelist for I never once cringed or bit my lip when I find myself imprisoned with the gooey-mooshy dialogues. Anyway, this is my first Quinn book, and as sure I am that Danielle Steel's books will never be as entrancing as her studio shots on the jacket cover of her novels, this won't be my last. It's not often that you find a writer who writes so freely and confidently. She took hold of the cinderella-plot as if it was her idea all along and not merely a revision. I like the way she interweaves humor on her scenes, subtle and not deliberate. Most of all, I like how she grasps human emotions and pour them not in one big splash, but drip by drip onto the right pages, on the exact moments. And when she knows it's enough, she stops and she doesnt ruin the effect by overdoing it. A person is a good writer if she doesnt have to convince her readers that she is really good. And I think Ms Quinn has convinced me completely when she transformed a universal tale of rich-boy;poor-girl type into a whole new story that even grown-ups like me, would surely enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Predictable but well written, Dec 7 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Offer From A Gentleman (Mass Market Paperback)
I'd already read four of the other Brigerton novels with great enjoyment before reading this one (Anthony, Daphne, Colin and Eloise) so I definitely had my hopes up for another satisfying read. I did enjoy this book, but it didn't have the originality or anticipation of the other four... not only did it use the somewhat hackneyed Cinderella theme, but once that was established, Quinn did nothing to insert any originality into the familiar tale. There wasn't a single suprising scene or even surprising moment throughout. That being said, there's nothing more painful than a poorly written romance novel, and Quinn definitely delivered her usual smooth and humorous writing style, so it was a fun read nevertheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars JQ's version of Cinderella, Sept. 16 2003
By 
janlouise (Ruston, LA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Offer From A Gentleman (Mass Market Paperback)
We all know the story of Cinderella - but this has a twist to it. It is the night of the Masquerade Ball and Sophie Beckett (the illegitimate daughter of the deceased Earl of Penwood) has no plans on going until servants present her with her deceased mother's gown and help make her presentable to attend. It is understood that she must meet the carriage before midnight so she will arrive back home before her hateful step-mother and step-sisters get back. She goes and meets up with Benedict Bridgerton - both are intriqued with each other and before Sophia has to reveal her identity, Sophia runs out leaving a monogramed glove behind. Now Benedict is determined to find the mystery girl searching with the glove in hand. His mother recognizes the monogram sending Benedict to the home of Sophia's step-mother. Discovering Sophia's adventure, she sends Benedict away without revealing Sophia and throws her out to fend for herself. Embarrassed that Benedict might find out the truth about her birth, Sophia leaves London. Three years later Benedict saves Sophia from some wreckless rogues at a bachelor party he attends. Not recognizing her due to her servant dress, Benedict takes her to his mother's to work - fall's in love with her all over again wanting her to become his mistress. Sophia's world is a dream with Benedict's attention drawn to her - until her step-mother discovers her and reveals her as a servant. Things start to fall apart for Sophia and Benedict. But if you know anything of the Bridgerton family (from JQ's previous books) they pull together during a time of crisis. It is a wonderful story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Passion, Charm and Fun, Aug. 24 2003
By 
Trisha A. Howell "Howell Canyon Press author" (Los Angeles, CA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Offer From A Gentleman (Mass Market Paperback)
The lovely Bridgerton family becomes more charming all the time!
In this, the third novel in the series, Benedict Bridgerton meets a mysterious lady at his family's masquerade ball who is the woman he's always dreamed of. When she disappears without a trace, he looks for her for years and despairs of ever finding someone he can truly love. Not willing to settle for second best, Benedict wants the intense, all-consuming love his siblings Daphne and Anthony have found.
Then finally Benedict meets Sophie Beckett, a lady's maid he saves from an assault and escorts to work in his family's household. (Here the charm and goodness of the whole Bridgerton family is happily showcased!) Though Sophie is way beneath his station, Benedict cannot banish thoughts of the alluring miss and the intense attraction he feels for her. She is the only woman other than the mysterious masquerade lady whom he's ever felt such a rush and depth of feeling for.
Sophie Beckett, illegitimate daughter of an Earl, is raised to be a lady but is made into a virtual slave by her wicked stepmother and stepsisters upon his death. After she sneaks out to the Bridgerton masquerade ball for just one night of heaven and meets the man of her dreams, her wicked stepmother finds out and throws her onto the streets.
Without references, Sophie drifts for years through a number of terrible positions before Benedict appears at a party where she's being assaulted and saves her. She is both relieved and disappointed that he doesn't recognize her from earlier. For she loves and dreams of him but knows that she is not his social equal, and so an honorable relationship between them is not possible.
As Benedict gets to know Sophie, he increasingly burns with desire for her and cannot stand to be away from her company for long. He determines to make her his mistress and will not give up even though she repeatedly refuses him. Sophie does not tell him her reasons, but we know that she cannot bear the possibility of bringing another bastard into the world after she, as a bastard, has had such a horrible life.
This is an excellent Cinderella story with winning characters. There is so much passion and drama in Benedict and Sophie's relationship that it's impossible to put the book down. Also, Lady Whistledown continues to be a hoot as she comments on all the society goings-on. She and the marvelously warm and charming Bridgerton family are the very strong backbone on which this wildly entertaining novel is built.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab159dd4)

This product

Offer From A Gentleman
Offer From A Gentleman by J Quinn (Mass Market Paperback - June 14 2001)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews