Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid Story of a Viking Slave and the Man She Masters
"Hearts Aflame" is a magnificent romance! A story about a Saxon lord and his Viking prisoner, "Hearts" sizzles with passion, wit, and MANY unforgettable scenes (a whipping, naked run-ins with the King, hundreds of armed Vikings to the rescue...). Kristen is the boldest, most open character JL has ever written; the Viking maid knows what she wants, and sets out to get...
Published on July 11 2004 by Dakota

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Typical Lindsey Predictability
Johanna Lindsey is undoubtably one of my favorite romance writers. I can't tell you why. She was one of the first authors I read, and I've kept pace with her over the years. If a reader has read more than say 3 of her books, they sense very definate patterns. While that formula is very successful, it does get a bit tedious in its endless repetition. This book, while...
Published on Jan. 8 2001 by Kat K. Munro


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid Story of a Viking Slave and the Man She Masters, July 11 2004
By 
Dakota "daxydakota" (Southern California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hearts Aflame (Mass Market Paperback)
"Hearts Aflame" is a magnificent romance! A story about a Saxon lord and his Viking prisoner, "Hearts" sizzles with passion, wit, and MANY unforgettable scenes (a whipping, naked run-ins with the King, hundreds of armed Vikings to the rescue...). Kristen is the boldest, most open character JL has ever written; the Viking maid knows what she wants, and sets out to get it. And what she wants is Royce, an utterly delicious man who hates Vikings with a vengeance. He may hate her people, but there's no way he can resist such a saucy, sassy, spirited "slave" who gives as good as she gets, even in chains. I thoroughly enjoyed this novel - it has a sexy couple, passionate encounters, believable storyline, and lots of sub-characters who charm you immensely (especially Selig, who was such a precious baby in "Fires of Winter," but now such a hunk of a Viking in "Hearts Aflame"). Yes, "Hearts Aflame" is the second book in a trilogy, though it easily stands alone (and does so, with barely any back story). It is also THE BEST in the trilogy, which includes "Fires of Winter" and "Surrender My Love." I highly recommend "Hearts Aflame," but I suggest you read its prequel first, just to enjoy its sub-characters all the more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent! Non-stop storyline, romance, humor, excitement, Jan. 9 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Hearts Aflame (Mass Market Paperback)
I love a heroine who can fight for herself! No man gets the best of tall, strong, fiesty Kristen... except the one she chooses. Royce is that man. Powerful, handsome, and hot- tempered, Royce finds himself giving his beautiful prisoner special treatment. Here is their story:
Kristen wants adventure. She also wants to escape the pursual of an unwanted suitor. She dresses as a boy and stows away on her brother's Viking ship. By the time he finds her, it is too late to turn back. When the Vikings are taken by surprise, Kristen sees her brother stabbed to death. She attacks his killer and takes him down in the battle. She is one of the remaining 17 Vikings still living after the attack. They are taken prisoner by the Saxon's who ambushed them. Kristen keeps her male alter- ego, as a precaution to keep from being raped. Her chief capture, Saxon Lord Royce, notices that the rest of the Vikings are protective this "boy." So he decides to whip the "boy" in front of the rest of the prisoners to get them to talk. After he cuts her shirt open in back and demands the first two lashings, he discovers he is actually having a woman whipped. He stops the punishment immediately and sends her to work with the women in his home. He is shocked, after she is bathed, to see her beauty. From the first site of her as a woman, he is begins to lose his heart. Kristen is equally besotted with Royce.
Royce's temper is often tested by Kristen's temper and out-spokenness. He's frustrated by her ability to deny her want of him, but he figures out that she is waiting for him to take charge. Other men will pursue her and try to abuse her in the great hall of Royces home, but Kristen is a fierce fighter and lays them flat. Royce is enamored with her strength and courage. Surrounded by whining women, he finds Kristen refreshing. He begins to show her open affection and he makes it clear to everyone in his home that he is her protector. (Although she tends to do quite well at that herself.)
One of the men who pursued Kristen wants to avenge his pride after she has twice bested him. He brings a small army into the woods and attacks the couple. He injures Royce and chains him in a barn. He then seeks to attack Kristen again. She teaches him a final lesson, then sets out to save Royce.
Despite all they have been through, Kristen is still a slave in Royce's home. He's no longer happy with that, and sets his mind to changing things. He doesn't take care of it fast enough. Kristen's Viking parents have found her and they attack Royce's home in the middle of the night with a huge army. Their daughter has been compromised. Kristen's dad challenges Royce to a sword battle for her. Royce and Kristen's dad are both confident, capable, and powerful warriors. Who will win? You'll have to read to find out.
These are just pieces of all that this great story entails. A definite page turner, I read the 363 page book in 2 days. I never wanted to put it down. Awesome heroine, powerful hero, vivid characters throughout the book. Sweet love scenes and romance. Plenty of conflict and action to keep it exciting. Great book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Vikings, captives, lust and battle, March 31 2003
By 
K. Newman "krazykmcd" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hearts Aflame (Mass Market Paperback)
Kristen Haardrad smuggled herself in her brothers' ship bound, she thought, on a trading voyage. However Selig has plans to raid a Saxon church, supposedly easy pickings. The raid goes horribly wrong, Selig is struck down and the remainder of the force taken prisoner. At first, Kristen is taken for a man (due to her Viking height and men's clothing) but once it is discovered she's a woman she is removed from her compatriots and sent to work in the hall of Royce of Wyndhurst. And now for a battle of another kind, as master and prisoner become attracted to one another. Who will win the battle of lust and love?
For a seemingly straightforward plot, there is much that is complex here. The relationship of the Haardrad family members is in turn endearing, frustrating, funny and heart-warming in their dedication to one another. Kristen is not the normal mould of Viking, due to her mother's teachings and beliefs (her mother herself was taken captive by Kristen's Viking father). Yet her fierceness, exuberance and willingness to fight is pure Viking, and very different from the Saxon way. Kristen never considers herself a slave, although all the Saxons including Royce do. Kristen quickly realises that she wants Royce for her own, and has few maidenly hesitations about using whatever it takes to make him hers, dedicating herself entirely to the task. Much about the book may be uncomfortable from the modern perspective - the issue of slavery, of the Viking culture and attitude to women taken prisoner being prime examples - and may give some readers pause. The action scenes are excellent, the development of the relationship developing between Kristen and Royce is well described.
Once reconciled to the cultural issues, there is much to enjoy about this romance as Kirsten sets about winning her man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars JOHANNA LINDSEY'S BEST, June 8 2001
By 
Mary Allen "Mary B Allen" (HARRISBURG, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hearts Aflame (Mass Market Paperback)
I'm a big fan of Johanna Lindsey and have read many of her books because of the way she mixes real romance and eroticism with adventure. HEARTS AFLAME is the best one yet.
The beautiful Viking, Kristen, stows away on ship with her brothers and clansmen to enjoy adventure before she's forced to marry one of the locals who she definitely does not love. But on this voyage, she, posing as a lad, and her crew are captured and enslaved by Lord Royce, who hates Vikings for personal reasons.
Soon Lord Royce finds out the true sex of Kristen and orders her into his home as a shackled servant. But Kristen is proud, unyeilding and unashamed, vowing that her Viking father will come and rescue her and her clansmen. Royce is, against his will, drawn to Kristen and her unbreakable spirit. She proves herself to be the opposite of everything he expected.
The two of them begin to want each other. Kristen readily admits it because she has been taught the normalcy of sexuality. Royce can't because to do so would only mean that he'd allowed Kristen to have power over him. The coming together of these two is nothing less than beautiful.
Soon Kristen wonders that, if her father comes to rescue her, will she really want to leave this new place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Typical Lindsey Predictability, Jan. 8 2001
By 
Kat K. Munro (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hearts Aflame (Mass Market Paperback)
Johanna Lindsey is undoubtably one of my favorite romance writers. I can't tell you why. She was one of the first authors I read, and I've kept pace with her over the years. If a reader has read more than say 3 of her books, they sense very definate patterns. While that formula is very successful, it does get a bit tedious in its endless repetition. This book, while enjoyable, follows that same predictability of plot.
Kristen stows away on her brother, Selig's ship and finds herself inadvertantly going raiding with the Vikings. Unfortunately, their intended victims are a bit more prepared for them than they ever knew. This leads to the enslaving of Kristen and her band of Viking warriors. Enter predictable "dueling of fiery woman who is enslaved/held captive by a dangerous and ridiculously handsome master" storyline. In its execution, this story was well written. If you've read a Lindsey or two, this book holds no surprises. But, if that formula still captures your attention? Then this book is as good as any of her books. Strongly written characters and a very interesting time of history inhabited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Misleading, April 7 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Hearts Aflame (Mass Market Paperback)
I was mislead into believing that this book would be a captivating love story. Much to my dismay, it was not nearly so. When I read the excerpt, I just had to have it. It appeared that Kristine was a strong-willed and firey woman. I'll admit that she could rumble with the best of men. But she became so utterly submissive for Royce, I was disgusted. He treated her like crap to me. For almost the whole book he was engaged to another woman, while bedding Kristine practically every night. He was a jerk.
I liked how bold Kristine was with him. She is one of the few heroines who is not ashamed to desire a man and show it. The fighting scenes between her and practically the whole household were hysterical and entertaining. Still, Royce's lack of moral and emotion (besides anger, resentment and jealousy) were a bit much.
If you want to read a story about a strong-willed woman and steamy love scenes, read "Lord of a Thousand Nights" by Madeline Hunter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Misleading, April 7 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Hearts Aflame (Mass Market Paperback)
I was mislead into believing that this book would be a captivating love story. Much to my dismay, it was not nearly so. When I read the excerpt, I just had to have it. It appeared that Kristine was a strong-willed and firey woman. I'll admit that she could rumble with the best of men. But she became so utterly submissive for Royce, I was disgusted. He treated her like crap to me. For almost the whole book he was engaged to another woman, while bedding Kristine practically every night. He was a jerk.
I liked how bold Kristine was with him. She is one of the few heroines who is not ashamed to desire a man and show it. The fighting scenes between her and practically the whole household were hysterical and entertaining. Still, Royce's lack of moral and emotion (besides anger, resentment and jealousy) were a bit much.
If you want to read a story about a strong-willed woman and steamy love scenes, read "Stealing Heaven" by Madeline Hunter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Kristen for a Kristen, Dec 25 1999
This review is from: Hearts Aflame (Mass Market Paperback)
I first heard of Kristen after reading about her brother Selig. Since my name is also Kristen, I HAD to find this book.
I LOVED IT! At first, I was disappointed in the love affair because of the seemingly hopeless attitude that Royce could not marry his slave and that he hated all Vikings. However, he eventually came around. :)
I love Kristen's relationships with her family members, and I quite enjoyed the entrance of her family to save her. That scene was so funny!
The love scenes were great, although I thought the kidnapping plot was useless. There was already enough turmoil within Kristen and Royce's relationship to keep you interested without the kidnapping. In defence, I do understand that something needed to take place to convince Royce to marry Kristen. Isn't that always like men? :)
Beyond being excited to see my name (spelled correctly) used in a Romance novel, I loved this book, and I love JL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Viking Series Part 2, May 28 2003
By 
Lealing (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hearts Aflame (Mass Market Paperback)
Kristen, a norsewoman of Viking heritage finds herself a captive slave in England, after stowing away on her brother's boat which set sail intending to raid a wealthy monastery in England. Her captor is Royce, a saxon knight under the reign of Alfred the Great. Both Royce and Kristen have a mutual attraction. But will love overcome his prejudice and hate for the Vikings?
Another captivating JL book. The attraction between Royce and Kristen is sizzling.Kristen is neither afraid of Royce nor her feelings for him. She's trained in the arts of fighting and will not let any man take her if she is not willing. Royce carries a pain from his past and will not trust anyone but he will protect all those he loves.
The prequel to this book is Fires of Winter, Garrick and Brenna's story. The Sequel is Surrender My Love, Selig's story. It's a fun series to read but repetitive as the same story is rehashed three times.
Lealing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A true medieval romance, Aug. 12 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hearts Aflame (Mass Market Paperback)
After having read „Prisoner of my desire" I swore never to read a Joanna Lindsey romance novel again. I was truly appalled. But the customer reviews persuaded me that I probably would like that one-and I did! Usually I don't like medieval romances but that one was different. I liked sassy and daring Kristin who is a really strong heroine and also Royce who is a true match for her. I could understand both point of views which is seldom the case when I read romance novels. It is so sweet to see how Royce and Kristen eventually admit their love for each other. The only thing I did not like was the spanking scene. It was unnecessary and didn't fit at that moment. It was as if Lindsey only brought it in because she has a liking for such scenes. The bondage scene (only a mild one) seems to be one of Lindsey's favourites, too but at least it fitted into the storyline. Nevertheless I did enjoy the book thoroughly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hearts Aflame
Hearts Aflame by Johanna Lindsey (Mass Market Paperback - June 1 1987)
CDN$ 8.99 CDN$ 8.54
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews