march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage snsflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars63
3.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 22, 2015
Re-reading this great story in a new format! Most enjoyable! Great addition to my ebook collection. BB
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2015
One of the classics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2015
but not up to the standards of his other books as ShoGun, Whirlwind for example.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2015
A hot mess ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2014
The book is like the author's other saga book, save it covers too many sub plots and characters, to flow smoothly. On the other hand the descriptions of life in those times and places measure up to the others very well. I had to start this one several times, and almost push myself through due to all the data being thrown at the reader. Sho-gun and Tai-Pan have both been read several times by me and even now fully knowing the story and the plot, I have trouble laying the books down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2013
The late James Clavell was a master story teller and this is one of his best efforts. Hard to put down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2013
Great purchase, couldnt be happier, Ive read every book in the series so far and keep coming back for the next one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2013
Fantastic historical details of early Japan and would be traders. Great read but there is somewhat graphic details of the Willow World (courtesans & prostitutes). That been said, the other details and characters of the story are truly well developed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2004
Sometimes amusing, sometimes irritating. Too often the writing seems to be there only in order to show off mr Clavell's research that he however hasn't put in perfect use, as others have pointed out.
I have a question. Why Angelique? Why do I have to suffer trough the mewlings of the airhead? And however unearthily beautiful, do all the men of the book really have so unified taste as to drool after the self-centered bimbo?
I liked the Japanese characters much better than the gai-jin. Was rooting for the shishi all the time.
I love to read about the samurai era Japan, but next time I'll pick a Japanese author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2004
Though there have been numerous negative comments surrounding this book, I thought I would tackle it anyway. And I have to say it was well worth it.
I will admit that at times, Clavell has characters 'space out' when they are in the middle of a conversation. At times it is difficult to keep up with the transitions he goes through.
But I still had to give it 5 stars because I loved every minute of this book. The characters are superb and if you have read shogun and tai-pan then you feel like you are still in the same book only later in life.
Read it, it will not disappoint you...
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$11.39
$10.55
$11.39
$11.39