Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars long overdue critique of how academia "thinks" about animals
This book has been an eye-opener for me. It outlines the hidden assumptions, as well as the explicit scientific philosophies, behind the academic world's disrespect and irreverence for animals. Because it analyzes and weighs ideas, it is not an easy read in many sections--thus, I think, the number of reviews which gave it 1 or 2 stars. Like some readers, I thought...
Published on Oct. 28 1999 by Ruth Henriquez Lyon

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pseudo-scientific nonsense
A great disappointment! The author proposes to prove that animals have a rich emotional range that humans can understand and interact with, but offers no rigorous evidence whatever! His argument is to repeat again and again assertions along the lines of "People who work with animals a LOT will certainly tell you that animals really do experience emotions"...
Published on Jan. 10 2003 by steve@schiavo.com


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for all!, May 25 2000
This review is from: When Elephants Weep: The Emotional Lives of Animals (Paperback)
One of the best researched and creative books ever written. A must read for any thinking, feeling being. Nothing is forced upon you in this great book, everything is explained. A very pleasant, enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pesonal lives give indisputable evidence, Feb. 29 2000
This review is from: When Elephants Weep: The Emotional Lives of Animals (Paperback)
In this book, you will read many wonderful accounts of animal behavior, many which you can see evident in your own living room if you've ever owned an animal, especially a cat. This is an excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review of When Elephants Weep, Nov. 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: When Elephants Weep: The Emotional Lives of Animals (Paperback)
This is a marvellous book. It demonstrates the high level of thought and emotions that elephants have. The idea of people shooting elephants for "sport" is actually a criminal action. Laws should be passed to prosecute killers of elephants, with severe penalties. It is a wonderful book . . . very touching and informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Fine Gift, Oct. 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: When Elephants Weep: The Emotional Lives of Animals (Paperback)
I gave "When Elephants Weep: The Emotional Lives of Animals" to my friend for Christmas. He was so very happy to receive this gift. It is such a very fine account of the sensitive, emotional lives that animals have. It makes one so very much more perceptive to animals. It is an excellent companion volume to "The Elephant Whisperer: My Life with the Herd in the African Wild" by Lawrence Anthony and Graham Spence. I recommend Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson and Susan McCarthy's book highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars More on other animals and the author than elephants, Nov. 18 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: When Elephants Weep: The Emotional Lives of Animals (Paperback)
I really can't judge this book fully because I'm still reading it. But so far is not what I expected. I was looking more for a book about elephants and them habit. So far it isn't what I was looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Keeper!!, Nov. 14 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: When Elephants Weep: The Emotional Lives of Animals (Paperback)
As an avid reader I see alot of books come and go,and this one is definitely a keeper. I plan on re-reading this book over and over throughtout the coming years. I loved it...any animal lover would!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truly heart rending, Oct. 31 2001
By 
Maria A. Bustos (Framingham, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: When Elephants Weep: The Emotional Lives of Animals (Paperback)
A must read book, I personally recommend this book. I read it and I am glad I did.
People must give due respect to all creation, all sentient manifestation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quite possibly the best book I have ever read, Aug. 11 2000
By 
David Nelson (Allendale, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: When Elephants Weep: The Emotional Lives of Animals (Paperback)
as well as one of the most provocative, intelligent, and vastly entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars very bad book, Feb. 28 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: When Elephants Weep: The Emotional Lives of Animals (Paperback)
this book was the worst book i ever read it was very boring
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fascinating Documentation of Animal Feelings, March 5 2012
This review is from: When Elephants Weep: The Emotional Lives of Animals (Paperback)
This book presents the argument that other animals are sentient, and that in a moral society we wrong them when we fail to take their suffering into account in the way we treat them. Illustrated by anecdotes showing the emotional reactions and feelings of animals of many species and in many situations, the authors successfully make the case that they must experience emotions and declare that it must be acknowledged. Elephants provide an excellent example since they are highly intelligent, and as emotionally bound to their family members as humans are.

I found the book a fascinating and revealing read, and for people who love their pets and wonder whether other species could be emotionally responsive to humans and have feelings, this book is a good one. While arguments are also presented, criticizing the way mainstream society considers animals and in failing to take their suffering into account, it is a wonderful read for anyone interested in animal subjective states, if only for the surprising anecdotes that are given.

And considering the reality of the way animals are being treated today, for big business in so many forms, from agribusiness to elephant torture training in circuses, these are arguments that need to be stated. For a comprehensive view of this more social side of the question, this book tells it like it is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

When Elephants Weep: The Emotional Lives of Animals
When Elephants Weep: The Emotional Lives of Animals by Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson (Paperback - May 2 1996)
CDN$ 21.00 CDN$ 15.16
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews