Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars a tale of adventure and independence
This book follows Brian into the wilderness. This time, he is choosing to go back there. He realizes that he doesn't fit in at school and needs to find himself in the wild. It helps kids to see that they can choose to leave the crowd and find their own way in life.
Published 2 months ago by Sharon Rose

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars mysticism beyond survival
The fight scene is informative as to how the atitude of having to kill for survival can bleed over into inapropriate areas. The List of equipment Brian takes back into the wild is usefull. How he describes both the beauty of the woods as well as his restlessness in the city is good. His differentness in what he cares about is also informative.
However, the book is...
Published on Nov. 10 2003 by David Brown


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars a tale of adventure and independence, May 26 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book follows Brian into the wilderness. This time, he is choosing to go back there. He realizes that he doesn't fit in at school and needs to find himself in the wild. It helps kids to see that they can choose to leave the crowd and find their own way in life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, April 9 2010
My son love any book written by this author and if he keeps writing books I am going to go broke! Highly recommend them for older children and teens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars every kid should read this book, May 20 2004
By 
Bonnie Lucas (Eastlake, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
AFTER BEING LOST IN THE WOODS, BRIAN DOESN'T FEEL LIKE HE FITS IN ANYMORE, WITH ANYONE. HE ENJOYED THE WOODS AND PLANS A TRIP BACK FOR GOOD. I FOUND I HAD TO CONTINUE READING. I COULDN'T WAIT TO SEE WHAT WOULD HAPPEN NEXT. IT REALLY IS A GREAT BOOK. I THINK EVERYONE WHO READS IT WILL ENJOY IT!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great But Not Best, Nov. 11 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Brian's Return (Hardcover)
Brian's Return is about a boy named Brian that in the past was stuck in the wilderness for a long time alone (if you didn't know that read Hatchet.) He diecides to go back after seeing an ex-cop, Caleb for counseling after an fight with a football jock. Before departing, he finds out the pilot can only take him so far and he'll have to canoe the rest of the way. Without telling his mom about this detail he starts preparing.
I think it's a great book for learning how to survive in the wilderness, but it's a good book for someone without a care in the world also. I didn't like the fact that there wasn't many characters in the book. The beginning is kinda boring until you get into the second chapter, but hang on to it. After that it gets better and better until the end. I wish it wouldn't have let off as if Gary Paulsen had to make a deadline. I wish he would make a followup to tell us what's next. But don't take my word for it, read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars mysticism beyond survival, Nov. 10 2003
By 
David Brown (VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The fight scene is informative as to how the atitude of having to kill for survival can bleed over into inapropriate areas. The List of equipment Brian takes back into the wild is usefull. How he describes both the beauty of the woods as well as his restlessness in the city is good. His differentness in what he cares about is also informative.
However, the book is essentialy a mysical journey. While Brian is Thankfull, I wonder to whom he is thankfull. What spirits guide him?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Brian's Return, Nov. 3 2003
nonfiction
Brian's Return
Brian's Return is a disappointment! Gary Paulsen is a excellent author, but he could of done a better job for this book. This wasn't his best writhing. The beginning of this book was very boring, because he is in his home town telling how boring it is to be in town. Brian finally figures out that he likes the woods better and it makes him free. He wants to get permission to go back to the woods and live there. When he finally gets the permission the permission to go back, he has to find a why out there. An airline will drive when to 1 island and Brian's has to row his way to three other islands. He rows to one island a day and has to find his own food.
The sequels to Brian's Return are Hatchet, The River, and Brian's Winter. Gary Paulson is the author of the best selling novel of the year "Brian Winter". This book is very adventurous at times. I thought it would like Hatchet ,but it wasn't even close. I think that's way I didn't like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another great sequile to the hatchet series, Oct. 21 2003
By 
DULA (Solon, OH) - See all my reviews
Gary has pulled off yet another one! Brians return is an overall great read for a rainey day. It is when brian gets saved befor the winter and is shipped back to his home town in the good old USA. Brian has adjusted to the wilderness and is not yet ready to go back to civilazation. Things happen and brian is forced to go into tharepey with a blind x-cop. The x-cop shows him the light and now brian is preparing to go back into the wilderness, but this time he's prepared. Another great book from Gary Paulson and a great book for all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brians Return, Oct. 15 2003
By 
jacob kirkendall (Falls City Nebraska) - See all my reviews
Brian's Return is about a boy who has lived in the forest for a long time. He comes back into the city to tell his mom all about his trip. He starts school to see if he likes it or not. Brian tells his mom how much he hates it and he wants to go back. She first tells him to try it again to see if he likes it. After, school he goes and hangs out with his friends. Brian and this bullie both like the same girl. Brian beats the kid up really bad. After, his mom heres what happens she hires a counselerto help him. Every day Brian goes and see's him. He tells him about the experience he has with the forest. Brian tells his mom he is going back to the forest. She ask him to stay but he said he is going. Brian and his mom both start to pack all of his stuff he will need. He gets a ride from the pilot to the forest. Every now and then he writes letters to Caleb the counsler. Brian tells him how he has been, and how he is doing. If you wnat to know more just read the book.
What I liked about this book is it deals with problems that we have right now. It relates to me because I do most of that stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brians winter, May 6 2003
By A Customer
This is a very good book. Some may not have thought so but i did. And i have a few reasons to back it up. first of all if you like adventure books this is the book for you. I think that the characters were believable, And they described it very well. the only thing that bugged me is there are not that many characters. But you get a good description about what is going on. Also it prepares you for the wild. Like if you want to go on a camping trip you will now how to provide for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Wilderness book, Jan. 16 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Brian's Return (Audio Cassette)
Your book Brian's Return is a great book because of what Brian does to go see the Smallhorns again. Brian went against a bear and mother nature herself to get there.Brian's hole journey started when he got in a fight with a football player , but what he didn't know was that he would be repeating his life once again. After the fight he started to see a councilor named Caleb and Caleb send Brian back to the wild to releave his pain. I recommend this book to all readers because it is so good you can't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brian's Return
Brian's Return by Gary Paulsen (Hardcover - Jan. 12 1999)
CDN$ 23.95 CDN$ 17.48
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews