Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars picks up where get shorty leaves off
Be cool fallows our favorite Hollywood loan-shark as he continues with his hollywood career. Be Cool is a really faced paced and captivating. It's definetely something to read if you like get shorty.
Published on Feb. 3 2002 by Neel Aroon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great first half.
This is a sequel in which Chilli Palmer goes into the music business. Chilli, as his name suggests, is wonderfully cool. He is tough, but gets his way by outsmarting and confusing his adversaries. As is usual in an Elmore Leonard, most of the characters are fun, even the evil ones. I loved the first half of the book (until about the baseball bat murder) which is done...
Published on Sept. 7 2003 by algo41


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars The return of Chili Palmer..., July 15 2004
By 
Brent Wigen (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Be Cool (Mass Market Paperback)
Be Cool is Elmore Leonard's sequel to Get Shorty, and is, as are all of Leonard's books, entertaining and easy to read.
Chili Palmer has made one blockbuster and one bomb. He's looking for a new movie idea when a former mob friend-turned music executive gets shot as the two are eating lunch in Hollywood. The ensuing action takes Chili into the music industry and all the drama, ego, and jealousy that exists within, all in search of a new script. Palmer takes on the management of an up-and-coming singer, upsetting her former manager, who spends most of the book trying to figure out how to kill Chili. Along the way, Chili has to deal with gangsta rappers, russian mobsters, a mafia hit man, a gay samoan bodyguard, and a budding diva or two.
This book was not as good as Get Shorty, but is still a lot of fun to read. Leonard sticks to his formula here, shady good guys and nasty bad guys, all of whom are odd and entertaining characters. Leonard has a gift for writing interesting people and great dialogue, and this book is full of both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great first half., Sept. 7 2003
By 
algo41 "algo41" (philadelphia, pa United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Be Cool (Mass Market Paperback)
This is a sequel in which Chilli Palmer goes into the music business. Chilli, as his name suggests, is wonderfully cool. He is tough, but gets his way by outsmarting and confusing his adversaries. As is usual in an Elmore Leonard, most of the characters are fun, even the evil ones. I loved the first half of the book (until about the baseball bat murder) which is done with a light touch. By the end, however, the book became ALMOST tiresome. I am not sure what the problem is. Perhaps it is that Palmer's ultimate love interest is a totally uninspired character, and Palmer, himself, seems to be going through the motions, even while the plot twists continue unabated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars KEEP Looking at me., Jan. 29 2003
By 
This review is from: Be Cool (Mass Market Paperback)
This is one of the best L.A. books I've ever read. It's fairly recent and takes place in locations that L.A. people actually go (Swingers, Canter's Deli, Ralph's). The plot is a bit reminscent of Get Shorty, but who cares. The book is very entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars picks up where get shorty leaves off, Feb. 3 2002
By 
Neel Aroon "jaroon7648" (Lexington, KY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Be Cool (Mass Market Paperback)
Be cool fallows our favorite Hollywood loan-shark as he continues with his hollywood career. Be Cool is a really faced paced and captivating. It's definetely something to read if you like get shorty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Waiting for the movie (On video), Dec 18 2001
By 
Kenneth Burns (Thornton, CO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Be Cool (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is not the standard E. Leonard novel, relative to its level of violence (not much, yea!!). It is full of humor and as usual he paints a great literary picture. I would love to see what a screen writer could do with this Leonard book but the right character actors are required. Without the right actors I'd still watch just for the thrill of humanizing Chil and Elliot, but that would be a video rental. The title is exactly the theme and with a name like Chili, the main character that is "cool" and hot at the same time. Really good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Be Cool IS cool, Dec 6 2001
This review is from: Be Cool (Mass Market Paperback)
Kevin T. - RVHS
The Miami loan shark Chilli Palmer goes to Hollywood and gets into the movie business making two movies. The first is a big box office hit and the second a big flop. He needs another smash hit and this book is about how he develops scripting his next movie. He wants to turn his life into a movie and after a lunch with the music business bigwig, Tommy, someone executes the big shot. Chilli is a murder suspect. From here in the scripting unfolds as Chilli sets up real life encounters with real people. He manipulates a beautiful singer, shady music professionals, and villains. He wonders (and finds out) if these real-life events will turn into his next screen hit.
BE COOL is cool. The ripping dialog really tells the story and you definitely get to know the characters from their speech. You can just imagine John Travolta being in this movie if and when it really hits the big screens. I like this book because you just have to keep reading - you can't put it down. I'm into movie making and scripting and I enjoyed the idea that Chilli was stymied and turned to his life as a basis for his next script. Authors write best about what they know and understand. What better material is there for a writer than what experiences the writer has had? Well, in this case, what better experiences than what the writer will be having? This is an example of event based story telling with exciting characters and wild happenings. You'll be entertained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Be Cool IS Cool, Dec 4 2001
This review is from: Be Cool (Mass Market Paperback)
The Miami loan shark Chilli Palmer goes to Hollywood and gets into the movie business
making two movies. The first is a big box office hit and the second a big flop. He needs
another smash hit and this book is about how he develops scripting his next movie. He
wants to turn his life into a movie and after a lunch with the music business bigwig,
Tommy, someone executes the big shot. Chilli is a murder suspect. From here in the
scripting unfolds as Chilli sets up real life encounters with real people. He manipulates a
beautiful singer, shady music professionals, and villains. He wonders (and finds out) if
these real-life events will turn into his next screen hit.
BE COOL is cool. The ripping dialog really tells the story and you definitely get to know
the characters from their speech. You can just imagine John Travolta being in this movie
if and when it really hits the big screens. I like this book because you just have to keep
reading - you can't put it down. I'm into movie making and scripting and I enjoyed the idea
that Chilli was stymied and turned to his life as a basis for his next script. Authors write
best about what they know and understand. What better material is there for a writer than
what experiences the writer has had? Well, in this case, what better experiences than what
the writer will be having? This is an example of event based story telling with exciting
characters and wild happenings. You'll be entertained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read!, July 13 2001
By 
Sean L. (Twin Peaks, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Be Cool (Mass Market Paperback)
Be Cool is a masterpiece. In a way it's a sequel to Elmore Leonard's GET SHORTY, which I never read, but that's mainly because SHORTY's seedy movie producer, Chili Palmer, is back (For those of you who saw the movie, Chili is the Travolta character).
Be Cool has a plot which I don't think I can explain right now. Not because it's complicated, but because it's 10:15 at night right now. What I can tell you is that Chili is having lunch with a record producer and gets up to go to the bathroom. When he comes back, he witnesses the producer getting shot down. He begins to start working on the treatment to a movie involving this incident as well as the life of Linda Moon, a singer who's band Odessa is a perfect example of today's struggling musicians.
As Chili works on his movie, a group of people want him dead for various reasons. Raji, the Kangol-wearing pimp who has Linda under contract, wants him dead because he convinced Linda to quit the band International Chicks, a band which did cover songs which Raji profitted off. Then the Russian mob wants him dead because he knows incriminating facts about the killer of the record producer.
It's a lot of fun and you won't be able to put it down. This is a very small price to pay for such a fantastic read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Leonard's novels ore page turners like no else, May 27 2001
By 
This review is from: Be Cool (Mass Market Paperback)
Elmore Leonard makes me turn pages faster than anything I've read. I am a fan of Hunter Thompson, Kurt Vonnegut, Charles Bukowski, WS Burroughs so Leonard lacks one thing FOR ME: substance. His books are PURE entertainment. And there is nothing wrong with that. I read his books in two or three nights. I DEVOUR them. Characters are great, story is unique and thrilling, and dialogue is crisp, like no other ever! He is the king of the crime novel. But don't look for any theme or motif really,because there isn't one. EL never pretended to have this though, he is just a great writer. Just light reading for me and extremely entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Difference of Opinion, May 21 2001
This review is from: Be Cool (Mass Market Paperback)
I was amazed to see that Be Cool's average rating is 3 stars. I think it is one of Leonard's funniest, most insightful, and best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Be Cool
Be Cool by Elmore Leonard (Hardcover - Feb. 9 1999)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.26
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews