Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars 44 Charles Street
Another successful hit from Danielle Steel. This novel is a must have and like all Danielle Steel novels this is another masterpiece. Thank you Danielle Steel for all the enjoyment I have received over the years by reading your novels.
Published 11 months ago by John Turcotte

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Felt like a first draft
I was sorely disappointed in this book. It felt like a first draft of a book that still needed to be edited.

- She kept saying the same things over and over again - the same phrases to describe the shallowness of the mother, the relationships of the people in the storyline, and more.

- You hear "show don't tell" at writer's conferences, but this felt...
Published on April 9 2012 by Cassiopeia


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Felt like a first draft, April 9 2012
This review is from: 44 Charles Street: A Novel (Hardcover)
I was sorely disappointed in this book. It felt like a first draft of a book that still needed to be edited.

- She kept saying the same things over and over again - the same phrases to describe the shallowness of the mother, the relationships of the people in the storyline, and more.

- You hear "show don't tell" at writer's conferences, but this felt more like you were having coffee with someone as they made up a story to tell you across the table. It was a good storyline but needed to be fleshed out more to be a novel. I didn't care about any of the characters or what happened to them. I could stop reading at any time and the only reason I kept reading was because I PAID for the book.

- The author didn't bother making any of the major scenes "major" but side-stepped them. When the main character comes home to a dead roommate she "senses" something is wrong and calls the police from outside, totally skipping the drama of the situation. When her boyfriend's son is kidnapped, the father remembers where the ex-wife used to take him, they show up and take him home. A complete non-event!

- The two couples who fall in love during the story go from being friends to kissing and agreeing to have a relationship without any catalyst for a change to romance.

This book left me feeling frustrated and ripped off. The publishers know they'll sell the book because the author is famous, but they should focus more on quality than on deadlines and dollars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 44 Charles Street, Dec 31 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 44 Charles Street: A Novel (Hardcover)
Another successful hit from Danielle Steel. This novel is a must have and like all Danielle Steel novels this is another masterpiece. Thank you Danielle Steel for all the enjoyment I have received over the years by reading your novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It was OK, Oct. 9 2012
By 
Leigh - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 44 Charles Street: A Novel (Hardcover)
It wasn't the best Danielle Steel I've read, but it certainly wasn't the worst either. It dragged in places, seemed far fetched in others and frankly you could see the ending coming after the first chapter. There was the usual repetition in this book as all recent Danielle Steel books. I work in a long term care home so reading her books is like having a conversation with some of the residents I care for, so not ideal for a vacation read for me. The characters all did some stupid and foolish things, like leaving an abused young girl alone in the house with her abusive boyfriend aware of where she was, no one really caring when a life was cut abruptly short, people just out of nowhere deciding that they had fallen in love. Seriously one day you think of someone as being like a brother and then next you want to marry him, yuck. Overall it was an ok read in that I was able to finish it, I'm slowly losing faith in this author that she can go back to her old ways of writing brilliant riveting stories as she once did. I guess I'll have to find a new favourite author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless., Feb. 6 2012
This review is from: 44 Charles Street: A Novel (Hardcover)
Classic Danielle Steel. This book was a great read, and to sound cliche, I couldn't put it down. It was everything, every emotion wrapped up and bound into one novel. I am a huge Danielle Steel fan and she never disappoints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, Aug. 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Like all the other Danielle Steel novels it builds up to a very quick ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Sept. 25 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Yes it was everything I expected and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE, May 17 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 44 Charles Street: A Novel (Hardcover)
Danielle Steel is one of my favorite authors. This book doesn't disappoint!! Didn't take me long to read it as it was a real page turner! Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

44 Charles Street: A  Novel
44 Charles Street: A Novel by Danielle Steel (Hardcover - April 5 2011)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews