Customer Reviews


1,061 Reviews
5 star:
 (375)
4 star:
 (287)
3 star:
 (159)
2 star:
 (124)
1 star:
 (116)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Master storyteller
Grisham has literally before our eyes turned into a master storyteller with his book, THE TESTAMENT. His characterizations are vivid in depth portrayals and his smooth plots go down like a shot of Jack Daniels on a hot summer afternoon. As the plot the book progresses, the characters find themselves in life-and-death situations, entangled in the legal process, and...
Published on June 28 2004

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Obsess Much?
John Grisham has written a novel with almost no sympathetic characters. There's a huge amount of money to be divided up by an eccentric billionaire...all of his relatives are greedy, almost worthless human beings. Nate, the guy sent to find one last heir, is a recovering alcoholic/drug addict...I personally didn't care who got the money, but John Grisham really seems to...
Published on June 21 2004 by Moonlight Graham


‹ Previous | 1 2107 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Master storyteller, June 28 2004
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: The Testament (Mass Market Paperback)
Grisham has literally before our eyes turned into a master storyteller with his book, THE TESTAMENT. His characterizations are vivid in depth portrayals and his smooth plots go down like a shot of Jack Daniels on a hot summer afternoon. As the plot the book progresses, the characters find themselves in life-and-death situations, entangled in the legal process, and fighting against others and their own wills. Will Nate ever find Rachel? And if so, what is she like? Will she accept Troy's fortune? Will the greedy Phelan family get to it first? The Testament has a detailed and gripping plot, threading the legal world to that of our own actions and resolve. John Grisham has written another best seller, one that everyone is sure to appreciate. Not since McCrae's THE BARK OF THE DOGWOOD and Grisham's KING OF TORTS have I so enjoyed a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Obsess Much?, June 21 2004
By 
Moonlight Graham "Ben" (Chicago, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: The Testament (Mass Market Paperback)
John Grisham has written a novel with almost no sympathetic characters. There's a huge amount of money to be divided up by an eccentric billionaire...all of his relatives are greedy, almost worthless human beings. Nate, the guy sent to find one last heir, is a recovering alcoholic/drug addict...I personally didn't care who got the money, but John Grisham really seems to be obsessed with large amounts of money. Grisham's books are typically page turners, but this one was a tough one to plow through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, Sept. 14 2009
By 
Dark Chocolate (Quebec, QC Canada) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: The Testament (Mass Market Paperback)
That book was hard to put down and, as a consequence, dishes and laundry were piling up over the weekend. I strongly recommend cleaning the house thoroughly before opening the first page.

The story is really good, and John Grisham really lets us "see" the characters of his book. The Testament was my first experience with Grisham's writing, but other books soon followed, and gave me the opportunity to discover his rich writing style and documented research.

Great book for a cocooning weekend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars NOT WHAT I EXPECTED!, June 28 2004
By 
Ce commentaire est de: The Testament (Mass Market Paperback)
...it was a good read. I was expecting something a little more thrilling, a little more intense and exciting. But the slower pace of this book still kept my attention. Grisham has a good writing style and had no trouble getting me interested in the story, the location, the people. Parts of it were like a travel documentary, but surprisingly I found it all interesting. I was never at the edge of my seat, but never wanted to put the book down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Nutty Billionaire, Hapless Heirs, Greedy Lawyers, a Brazilian Search for Livingstone, and Redemption, June 21 2008
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Ce commentaire est de: The Testament (Audio CD)
Troy Phelan, worth $11 billion, loves his business and hates his ex-wives and children. Rumored to be suffering from terminal cancer, Phelan calls the family together to sign a new will. The heirs cooperate by providing psychiatrists to observe and verify that Phelan is in his right mind. That's the apparent game plan, but Phelan has a second and more shocking one. Thus opens The Testament.

Probate law isn't very exciting, and John Grisham decides to dress it up with a cast of characters that are almost parodies of parodies, so much so that they didn't resonate with me. As a result, the "exciting" beginning bored me.

The bulk of the story eventually shifts to recovering alcoholic and drug addict, attorney Nate O'Riley, who is sent straight from rehab to Brazil to find a missing heir, Rachel Lane, who is a medical missionary to the indigenous people there. His journey is harrowing and tests his limited strength to the limits. But the journey also is a beginning of his personal redemption through receiving Salvation for the Lord, Jesus Christ. As soon as the redemption part of the story begins, the book vastly improves. Without that element, I would have rated this as a one- or two-star effort.

It's unusual for a secular writer to put a major Christian theme in a popular work of fiction. I applaud Mr. Grisham for doing so.

I enjoyed the reading by Frank Muller which added a lot of emotional depth to the book that would be missed by simply reading The Testament.

May God bless you, Mr. Grisham!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Nutty Billionaire, Hapless Heirs, Greedy Lawyers, a Brazilian Search for Livingstone, and Redemption, June 21 2008
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Ce commentaire est de: The Testament (Mass Market Paperback)
Troy Phelan, worth $11 billion, loves his business and hates his ex-wives and children. Rumored to be suffering from terminal cancer, Phelan calls the family together to sign a new will. The heirs cooperate by providing psychiatrists to observe and verify that Phelan is in his right mind. That's the apparent game plan, but Phelan has a second and more shocking one. Thus opens The Testament.

Probate law isn't very exciting, and John Grisham decides to dress it up with a cast of characters that are almost parodies of parodies, so much so that they didn't resonate with me. As a result, the "exciting" beginning bored me.

The bulk of the story eventually shifts to recovering alcoholic and drug addict, attorney Nate O'Riley, who is sent straight from rehab to Brazil to find a missing heir, Rachel Lane, who is a medical missionary to the indigenous people there. His journey is harrowing and tests his limited strength to the limits. But the journey also is a beginning of his personal redemption through receiving Salvation for the Lord, Jesus Christ. As soon as the redemption part of the story begins, the book vastly improves. Without that element, I would have rated this as a one- or two-star effort.

It's unusual for a secular writer to put a major Christian theme in a popular work of fiction. I applaud Mr. Grisham for doing so.

May God bless you, Mr. Grisham!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Book!, July 2 2004
By 
Melvin Hunt (Cleveland,, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: The Testament (Mass Market Paperback)
This was my first John Grisham book and I certainly enjoyed it.
In this book one of the ten richest men in the country(Troy Phelan) has a ceremony to read his last will and testament to
his greedy family.He has three psychiatrists on hand to verify his sanity.After the ceremony ends and the family leaves he
produces a holographic will disinheriting his family and leaving
the entire estate to an illigitemate daughter who is a missionary
in Brazil.Phelan has left each of his children $5 million dollars
on their 21st birthday.They have all squandered the money.In the
meantime the daughter Rachel Lane must be found.
That job is given to lawyer Nate O'Reilly(a rehabbed drunk).He
makes a perilous trip to Brazil to locate the missing heiress.He
discovers that she wants nothing to do with her 11 billion dollar inheritance.Nate returns to America emptyhanded.In the meantime the disinherited heirs and their lawyers are trying every type of legal manuevering to overturn Troy Phelan's will.
It is imperative that Nate return to Brazil and talk to Rachel
Lane again.
This was a very good book that I enjoyed reading.The ending was
shocking.Buy it and read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Grisham�s latest focuses on jungle rather than courtroom, June 16 2004
By 
CincinnatiPOV "Bibliophile" (Cincinnati, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: The Testament (Mass Market Paperback)
Like clockwork, John Grisham churns out at least one novel a year, as he has for the past eight years. The Testament, his most recent in paperback, meets all the basic requirements of his previous novels (legalese with tension), but it has a new twist that sets it apart from the rest.
Grisham attracted the attention of litigious America in 1992 with his first novel, A Time to Kill, the tale of a lawyer defending a black Vietnam war-hero who killed the men who raped his child. Since then, Grisham's lawyers have found themselves in different compelling plots that make for enjoyable reads without inundating the reader with any deeper meaning.
With The Testament, Grisham seems to have left his usually formulaic writing behind - here he creates a deeper, more involved story.
Troy Phelan is planning his last will and testament and wants to make sure that his good-for-nothing, money-grubbing children don't get their hands on a red cent of his 11-billion dollar fortune. He plans everything down to the most minute detail and then jumps off a balcony to his death.
When the will is finally read to his heirs, everyone is surprised to learn that every last penny is left to Rachel Lane, an unknown, illegitimate daughter of Phelan's, currently working as a missionary in a Brazilian jungle.
Josh Stafford and his law firm must ensure Phelan's last wishes are carried through - the first and most difficult task falls upon the shoulders of Nate O'Riley.
O'Riley has just finished a stay at a detox center, one of many such programs he has been through. Stafford and his partners decide that sending O'Riley to South America might be the best way to keep him away from the stresses of the law firm for just a little longer.
Herein lies the genius of The Testament: Almost the all rest of the book takes place in South America and not in law offices. There are running subplots about the other Phelan heirs and their schemes to undo their father's will, so that they can get what they feel to be their rightful share of the money, but these stories are hindrances to the main plot.
With the help of Jevy, an ex-Brazilian army-man who acts as a translator and guide, O'Riley enters the jungles of Brazil as an unprepared American. A suicide attempt, plane crash, boat wreck and bout of Dengue later, O'Riley finds himself more at peace with his life and rather well-acquainted with Lane, the famous Phelan heiress.
Rather than churning out a novel filled with his typically entertaining legal mumbo-jumbo, Grisham creates an adventure novel with The Testament, with both romance and a lesson to be learned at the end. Perhaps the greatest pleasure of the book is that the answer to everyone's problems lies not in the hands of a judge, but rather a missionary in South America who neither wants nor needs to be a billionaire. What she does in the end is definitely surprising.
There are still court scenes and lawyers galore, but in The Testament, Grisham has written a novel that is decidedly different from his others, and thus very satisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant Read, May 26 2004
By 
D. Brickeen "dbrickeen" (TN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: The Testament (Mass Market Paperback)
To start with, I take issue to annmason1, who wrote the review "Hogie Sandwhich". She obviously has trouble with Grisham and his stories...why read him if you have so many hangups with the man's talent? I also must add that hogies down here in the south must be MUCH different than they are in the pacific northwest, because here in Dixie we pile on the meat.
And to be honest, southern-boy John Grisham did the same in this book-piled on the meat. I won't go so far as to say this is better, or even in the ballpark, with "The Firm" and "Pelican Brief", but it is on par with "The Client", "The Chamber", and "Runaway Jury".
There are moments in the book, as there are in ANY book, that people will look at as nothing but filler (or bread, as it where, since we are on this sandwhich kick at the moment). But as a whole, the story is well-written, superbly laid out, and flows easily from beginning to end.
If only ALL hogies sandwhiches could say that...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A Hogie Sandwich, March 25 2004
By 
annmason1 (Pacific Northwest) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: The Testament (Mass Market Paperback)
I didn't care for this book. It would have been much more interesting if it were two thirds the size. I mean, we GET IT ALREADY...that's one big SWAMP!
But the main problem with The Testament is the weak character of Rachel Lane Porter. Grisham is not a good portrayer of women and he lives up to his standard here. Rachel is a flat, trite, unsympathetic dolt who would rather paddle her own leaky canoe to "help my people" than use 5 billion dollars to HELP her people! I don't get it, why is this shortsighted swampy martyr worth considering as an inspiration to Nate or anybody else? Turning down money that would seriously help lobby for, treat, preserve and protect Brazilian Indians just because,"I didn't earn the money" is a devise a fifth grader wouldn't design for a character. Does Grisham really think the reader will be touched by this nut?
Rachel's mysterious hospital visit is a useless devise. What's the point of the secrecy? Who cares? So she can slip into a smelly ward unseen, stroke Nate's head and HEAL HIM, then disappear with no trace...what's the point? If Grisham meant to bestow miraculous powers on "Our Lady of the Swamp", he didn't follow up on it.
This weak character reminds me of the equally vague and pointless young female clerk in "A Time to Kill." The personalities are different, but their purpose and character development are equally questionable. Why are they in the plot, why weren't they developed, and why were they dropped abruptly and without the slightest concern one way or the other by the reader?
Like I said, Grisham doesn't understand women and employs female characters as disposable accessories to his central themes, never exploring or utilizing them effectively.
It is true that Rachel leaves the money for good stuff (by default at her death), but here again,why didn't she leave the will with her lawyer instead of entrust it to a rusty box in the innards of a swamp with a hostile chief to dispense to someone who might or might not ever show up? How dumb can one woman be?
So, this book is like a Hogie sandwich...some thin slices of meat- Troy, Sr. and Stafford, but otherwise, too much tasteless bread (the swamp, the church and fixing the basement- what was THAT about?), etc.
High carb, time wasting junk food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2107 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Testament
The Testament by John Grisham (Hardcover - Feb. 2 1999)
CDN$ 41.00 CDN$ 25.71
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews