Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (91)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real eye-opener
I remember several years ago, when I first became interested in my faith, that being the Catholic faith, and I decided that if I am to call myself Catholic, and if I am to practice my faith, and identify myself with the tag "Catholic", then I am to know what my Church teaches. I was also very clear with myself, in making sure that I didn't choose wishy-washy...
Published on June 14 2004 by Joseph Muir

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Let's Be Honest, This Viewpoint ISN'T NEW!!!!
OK, I like the concept of the book. I'm putting it in my shopping cart to purchase on my next order. In fact, I think EVERYONE should understand the Book of Revelation and the Lord's Supper in this way.
But let's be honest. This information isn't new. In fact, I first read these views from a PROTESTANT MINISTER!
Where? In David Chilton's book DAYS OF VENGEANCE...
Published on Aug. 17 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A very refreshing scripture-based interpretation of the Mass, Dec 18 2001
By 
This review is from: The Lamb's Supper: The Mass as Heaven on Earth (Hardcover)
Those who read Scott Hahn's "The Lamb's Supper" will enjoy a discourse/meditation on the importance of the Mass itself, and one that encourages Catholics to take interest in the most important actitivity of their lives. After giving an overview of the origins and history of the Eucharist, Hahn compares the Mass with the imagery in the Book of Revelation, which he discusses in great detail. Each Mass parallels the worship offered to God by the choirs of angels and saints, Hahn observes. At Mass, heaven and earth meet before the eyes of the faithful Catholics throughout the world. Hahn's Scripture-based interpretation of the Mass is refreshing, especially in our time, when the sacred character of the Mass is often neglected, if not ignored outright.
Exploring the New Testament "eschaton" in order to explain the Eucharist not only reinstills in readers some knowledge of biblical imagery and symbolism, but also, more importantly, connects these images with the liturgy. An understanding of this relationship between the liturgy of the Eucharist and biblical motifs can develop one's awareness of the cosmic and eternal dimensions of Mass, since, as many Catholic liturgies emphasize today, the Scriptures reveal an eternal God working in and through time. As Hahn points out, the celebration of the Mass turns the images about which we read into the realities that we experience first hand. Hahn also establishes a connection between an authentic understanding of the liturgy and an authentic practice of the liturgy. Faithful Catholics need to hear that the Mass is "heaven on earth"; but they also need to see this in the manner and disposition of the priest, the music selected, and in all other elements in the celebration of the liturgy.
Hahn's book, with its strong emphasis on the biblical symbolism as realized in the Mass, is highly recommended, particularly for prospective converts, and for Catholics re-learning their faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended as an instrument of liturgical renewal, Dec 5 2001
This review is from: The Lamb's Supper: The Mass as Heaven on Earth (Hardcover)
In this remarkable work, Dr. Scott Hahn provides a spirited and illuminating explanation of how the Book of Revelation cannot be fully understood apart from the Mass, and how the Mass cannot be fully appreciated without reference to the Book of Revelation. As "The Lamb's Supper" makes clear, the sacred liturgy not only points us towards the final consummation of all things in Christ but it actually enables us to participate in that heavenly banquet now. In a very real sense, the Mass is heaven on earth.
In a lively and engaging style, Hahn begins with an account of his first experience of the Mass as a curious Protestant minister "slipping into the back of a Catholic chapel in Milwaukee." To his amazement, the Catholic liturgy was "soaked in Scripture" with words coming forth from Isaiah, the Psalms, and, most of all, Revelation. What follows is a profound scriptural and theological exegesis of the liturgy that links the various parts of the Mass to the message of Revelation, and indeed, the whole economy of salvation. Making use of the Fathers of the Church, Vatican II and the Catechism, Hahn ties together the great themes of both the Old and New Testaments: covenant, Passover, sacrifice, temple, priesthood -- all culminating in the great supper of the Lamb descxribed in Revelation and made truly present at every Eucharist.
This book is highly recommended as an instrument of liturgical and theological renewal. "The Lamb's Supper" shows the awesome power of the Eucharist as a summation and participation in the Paschal Mystery that links heaven and earth, as well as the past, present and future. Here these mystical and eschatological dimensions of the Mass, so deeply rooted in Scripture and Tradition, are once again brought to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRAVO, Professor Hahn! A BRILLIANT & WONDERFUL Work, indeed!, Oct. 4 2001
By 
"ihsha" (PENNSYLVANIA, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lamb's Supper: The Mass as Heaven on Earth (Hardcover)
With his exceptional knowledge and understanding of Sacred Scripture, the once Evangelical Protestant who converted to the Roman Catholic Faith, Dr. Hahn presents the reader with an indepth explanation of The Catholic Mass as it relates to the book of Revelations.
Catholicism's most renowned Apologist (or Defender of The Faith)
"walks" the reader through both, The Catholic Liturgy and The Book of Revelations, taking the key points and symbols of St. John the Evangelist's writings and shows, categorically, the Biblical/Scriptural basis for the Catholic Mass.
Extremely thorough and informative; this valuable book, along with the "Catechism of the Catholic Church", belongs in every Catholic home.
I've already purchased a copy for a friend and plan on getting more to give out as gifts.
A definite Page-Turner; this book will enlighten, not only Catholic Christians, but ALL Christians as well.
~ ~ Note to Priests, Spiritual/Religious Ed. Directors and
Catechists: This book is very IMPORTANT (even crucial)
for educating students and RCIA Candidates on the Sacrafice
of the Mass; Especially, the "Meaning" of the Mass.***
Thank You and God Bless!
~ IHSHA ~
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More Scholarly Brilliance from Dr. Hahn, March 12 2001
By 
Chris in Maine (Portland, ME United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lamb's Supper: The Mass as Heaven on Earth (Hardcover)
Truly a gift to the modern Church, this book is a breath of fresh air for those who are put off by the all too common wild interpretations of Revelations being put forth today by men such as LaHaye and Hunt, and for those who thought they could never hope to understand its language.
Though certainly not a new interpretation - in fact, Dr. Hahn shows how ancient this interpretation is - it is probably new to many Catholics, both in the laity and the clergy. It may also serve to shed new light on the Liturgy for non Catholic Christians. For all Catholics who read this, you will never go to Mass with the same attitude again. You will see it in a whole new, beautifully new light. This much is guaranteed.
Readers familiar with Rome Sweet Home may be overwhelmed by the "weight" of this book. While not extremely difficult reading, the book's length is misleading. The book does go into great detail, and the reader would do well to pause every now and again to read the relevant passages that Dr. Hahn cites (and there are MANY of them). Rome Sweet Home, while a heartening conversion story, is only that; a conversion story. As such, it was not meant as a theological opus or even a complete explanation of the issues which caused him to convert. For readers wanting to know about the "exciting, innovate discoveries" Dr. Hahn only talks about in passing in his conversion story, here is your granted wish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Lamb's Supper: A New but Ancient Prespective of the Mass, Feb. 20 2001
This review is from: The Lamb's Supper: The Mass as Heaven on Earth (Hardcover)
After reading Scott Hahn's THE LAMB'S SUPPER there are two things the reader, if he is serious about his Faith, will not do again. One, he will not read the Book of Revelation from the same perspective. And two, he will not again assist at the Eucharistic Sacrifice as a matter of routine.
Dr. Hahn reunites for us "commoners" these two seemingly unrelated subjects, The Book of Revelation and the Mass. What joy to recognize their apostolic relatedness! Still the great truth is that Dr. Hahn only discovers what was there in the memory of the Church from the beginning and he's not too proud to say so.
Dr. Hahn writes for the "commoner" in a lively and engaging style. Yet he is never flippant. The meaning behind what he has to say is profound and rests upon solid evidence. However, he spares the "commoner" the myriad of potentially overwhelming details which, in its turn, results in an easy and exciting read. He writes the way he speaks; in an ever growing crescendo of enthusiasm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A co-reading of Mass and the Revelation of St. John, Aug. 19 2000
By 
M. J. Smith (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lamb's Supper: The Mass as Heaven on Earth (Hardcover)
The focus of this book is reflecting on the Mass in light of the Revelation of John, or, if you prefer, interpreting the book of Revelation in light of the Mass. He brings together teachings of the early church fathers, Vatican II council, and the most recent Cathechism to show how Mass on earth is one with the heavenly Mass. He does so in non-technical language and persuasive language. Occasionally, as in his discussion on evil in the world, I would disagree with his theology but his theology represents one thread of Catholic theology. Therefore, I suggest that this book be read critically, expecting that you may not agree with him entirely. But even where there is disagreement his arguments are well worth hearing.
An example of his thought. Rather than seeing the second coming, the Parousia, as a coming event, he sees Revelation (also translatable as "unveiling") as pointing to parousia perpetually occurring in the Mass. He martials both Scripture and tradition to confirm this point.
All in all this book is a very accessible study of Revelation and The Liturgy, that I recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, with nothing essential or orthodox missing., Aug. 3 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lamb's Supper: The Mass as Heaven on Earth (Hardcover)
The Lamb's Supper combines solid scriptural scholarship and theological orthodoxy, and delivers it at a popular level. The result is potentially life-changing. It is disconcerting, then, to read some comments made below by the reviewer from Drexel Hill, who managed to squeeze almost as many misrepresentations into his brief review as the puns Hahn sprinkles thoughout an entire chapter.
First, the "essential point" that the reviewer says "Hahn fails to mention" is found, according to my count, at least four times (read pages 23-24, 28, 36, 150), and that in a book of only 163 pages! Take heart, Fr. Groeschel, you and Dr Hahn may not be heretics after all.
Second, the Drexel Hill reviewer seems to miss (or misrepresent) the essential point of the entire book, that the Mass is a true participation in Christ's high priestly sacrifice, which is the liturgy of heaven. Much like Luther and Calvin, the reviewer fails to recognize how the Apocalypse depicts Christ's heavenly activity as high priestly and sacrificial. Like the Reformers, he reduces Christ being in heaven simply "to adore the Father and intercede for the Church," as he puts it. That misses the essential point of John's Revelation, where Jesus is constantly depicted as "the Lamb standing as though it had been slain," for the purpose of highlighting his high priestly sacrifice, which stands at the heart of the heavenly liturgy, and the Mass.
Third, what the reviewer calls Hahn's and Groeschel's "fatal flaw" appears rather to be his own. I took his advice and read Paragraph #1085 of the Catechism of the Catholic Church. What I found is exactly what The Lamb's Supper presents, "the Paschal mystery" is identified with "the Cross and Resurrection," not with Calvary alone. That is why the Catechism goes on in the next five paragraphs to describe how, "in the earthly liturgy... we participate in the heavenly liturgy" (#1086-1090).
Fourth, Hahn was careful to run his "scriptural ruminations" by other dogmatic theologians (I was one), as well as liturgical specialists, biblical scholars, and orthodox bishops. Perchance, one of his approving readers has been a member of the Pontifical Roman Theological Academy. Indeed, apart from this churlish review, nobody else has expressed any doubt about the orthodoxy of The Lamb's Supper, or Fr. Groeschel. At the end of the day, some old-fashioned soul-searching may be in order, should there be any professional jealousy or envy. Do not just study, learn from the Little Flower.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The "re-presentation" is everywhere in this book, Aug. 2 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lamb's Supper: The Mass as Heaven on Earth (Hardcover)
I'd like to respond to the critic from Drexel Hill. I'm no dogmatic theologian, but I don't need a doctorate to see that the reviewer is wrong -- VERY wrong. Though it's been months since I read the book, I had no trouble finding ample evidence. Several times, Hahn makes the statement the reviewer says he "fails to mention." And he uses, almost verbatim, the language the reviewer uses! Consider this from page 150: "The Mass is the 'once for all,' perfect sacrifice of Calvary, which is presented on heaven's altar for all eternity. . . . There is only one sacrifice; it is perpetual and eternal, and so it needs never be repeated. Yet the Mass is our participation in that one sacrifice and in the eternal life of the Trinity in heaven, where the Lamb stands eternally 'as if slain.'" And this from page 28: "It was the Eucharist: the re-presentation of the sacrifice of Jesus Christ, the sacramental meal where Christians consumed Jesus' body and blood." And this from page 36: "Justin . . . explained that the Passover sacrifice and the Temple sacrifices were mere foreshadowings of the one sacrifice of Jesus Christ and its re-presentation in the liturgy." Moreover, chapter 2 is pretty much devoted to the very idea that the reviewer says is absent! I'm amazed that a fellow Pennsylvanian would post such a petty and irresponsible review. Perhaps the reviewer should have a dogmatic theologian read his literary ruminations before he races to the Web.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Wait a Minute - Something Essential is Missing!, July 30 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lamb's Supper: The Mass as Heaven on Earth (Hardcover)
Dr. Scott Hahn's book on the Holy Eucharist gives an interesting and, in my view, correct view of a dimension of the Holy Eucharist that is often overlooked: The Mass places the Church on earth in the presence of the risen Lord Jesus who adores His Father and intercedes for the Church in Heaven. Hahn notes many texts from the Book of Revelation that highlight this vital component of the Eucharist.
HOWEVER, Hahn fails to mention the central-most important component of the Eucharist - the most distinctly Catholic element: In the celebration of the Holy Eucharist the Risen Lord through the Spirit makes present the one sacrifice offered on Calvary for the salvation of the world.
Yes, the Mass puts us in touch with the heavenly worship of the Lamb, but it more immediately puts us in touch with the sacrifice on Calvary which becomes present in an "unbloodly manner" in the Eucharist. The sacrificed Lord becomes present so that His Church may offer Him to the Father and be joined to His offering for the salvation of others.
Dr. Hahn, please ask dogmatic theologians to read your scriptural ruminations before you race to print. I am amazed that Fr. Benedict Groeschel missed this point. He is usually so orthodox!
Readers, read the Catechism of the Catholic Church on the Eucharist as Sacrifice and especially #1085. Therein you will discover a fatal flaw in an otherwise worthy book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic! Dr. Hahn does it again., July 4 2000
This review is from: The Lamb's Supper: The Mass as Heaven on Earth (Hardcover)
What a delightful, wonderful, interesting, thought-provoking, and inspiring book this one is. Evangelical Biblical scholars have pondered the meaning of John's Book of Revelation for a long time.
For too many, they read it as the "end times." Dr. Hahn did the same thing, as a Presbyterian minister.
It wasn't until he became Catholic that he began to see Revelations as a blueprint for the Mass. Hahn demonstrates how Revelation gives us a glimpse of Heaven and of Mass. The premise of the book is that Mass itself is a little slice of Heaven on Earth.
What Hahn offers is not something new. This is what the Church has taught for centuries. Yet, Hahn presents it as only he can.
Hahn offers not only a beautiful view of Revelation, but also of Mass. It is a view that too few Catholics take to heart.
Not only is this a simply delightful book, but it's also a short book - one that could easily be read in one sitting.
I highly recommend it. Catholics will gain a new appreciation for Mass and all that they have taken for granted. Non-Catholics will appreciate an alternative view of The Book of Revelation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lamb's Supper: The Mass as Heaven on Earth
The Lamb's Supper: The Mass as Heaven on Earth by Scott Hahn (Hardcover - Nov. 9 1999)
CDN$ 25.00 CDN$ 15.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews