Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action-packed! Romantic! Gripping! . . . and introspective?
Taking us through one day of Henry Perowne's life must, in less than 300 pages, necessarily result in an "action packed" story. Opening with Henry's discovery of a fiery jet crossing the sky in the early hours, we follow his busy day of surgery, auto smash, family relations and musings on his life. McEwan's story is intense. It could be no other way, given the complexity...
Published on June 9 2006 by Stephen A. Haines

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Familiar ground..
I have been a fan of Ian MacEwan since his first short story collections, First Love Last Rites and In Between the Sheets. After the excellent Atonement, which had some fun at the expense of modern writers who research everything to the nth degree and then regurgitate what they've learnt, regardless of relevance to the book, MacEwan falls into the same trap by swotting...
Published on April 8 2005


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The weekend is here---do you know where YOU are?, May 22 2005
This review is from: Saturday (Hardcover)
In my quest for the next best thing, I ran across "Saturday." While I hadn't read "Atonement," I was still cautiously optimistic, given the fact that sometimes the term "bestseller" doesn't always mean "good." But the sixth day of the week turned out to be quite fascinating. Well written and well thought out, along the same lines as McCrae's "Children's Corner" and full of inspirational insight (think "Glass Castle") this wonderful novel captivated my attention from page one until the end. Certainly one of the reasons for the success of this novel is the fact that it deals in some way or other with terrorism and the war in Iraq. But McEwan takes things farther than just that. It may only be one day in a man's life, but what happens internally to him is much, much more. Caution: This is not the book for you if you don't like to think!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Provocative and Complex, Aug. 4 2005
This review is from: Saturday (Hardcover)
"SATURDAY" is a highly provocative novel of complex plots and characters. You have to pay attention to truly enjoy it, but that shouldn't be a problem because the writing is engrossing enough to make you want to do that. It would be easy to compare it to "MY FRACTURED LIFE" because of the use of nontraditional protagonists, however I prefer to challenge that "SATURDAY" and any other book be judged individually. "SATURDAY" and "MY FRACTURED LIFE" are both excellent and I recommend them both, but not for their similarities, but for their inherent uniqueness. They should be read as individual books and judged as individual books. From my point of view, "SATURDAY" is a strong and compelling book that stands on its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Provocative and Complex, May 25 2005
This review is from: Saturday (Hardcover)
"SATURDAY" is a highly provocative novel of complex plots and characters. You have to pay attention to truly enjoy it, but that shouldn't be a problem because the writing is engrossing enough to make you want to do that. It would be easy to compare it to "MY FRACTURED LIFE" because of the use of nontraditional protagonists, however I prefer to challenge that "SATURDAY" and any other book be judged individually. "SATURDAY" and "MY FRACTURED LIFE" are both excellent and I recommend them both, but not for their similarities, but for their inherent uniqueness. They should be read as individual books and judged as individual books. From my point of view, "SATURDAY" is a strong and compelling book that stands on its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not just an old day of the week--your favorite--and mine, June 3 2005
This review is from: Saturday (Hardcover)
So often I come across a book I want to read and think to myself, "Is this journey really going to be worth the effort and money?" So often I am disappointed, especially after spending hours alone, delving into some hyped and over-touted book, only to find that the critics were wrong when they came to praising it. Not so with SATURDAY. Riveting characters make this book more memorable than most and I felt it moved along with more edge than ATONEMENT or even the much suggested BARK OF THE DOGWOOD, which was recommend at the same time. If you want a book that won't disappoint, this is it.
Also very highly recommended: ATONEMENT, BARK OF THE DOGWOOD and the novel CURIOUS INCIDENT OF THE DOG.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fills It�s Niche Perfectly, May 9 2005
This review is from: Saturday (Hardcover)
"Saturday" is a love it or hate it type of book. It has a very distinct, very English personality to it. If you love this kind of dry, subdued style, Ian McEwan's "Saturday" is going to be very enjoyable because it captures the style perfectly. It is the day in the life of a brain surgeon in England. Although it is not going to have as far reaching an impact as books that appeal to highly diverse interest groups ("Da Vinci Code, "My Fractured Life", "Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time", "Simon Lazarus", "Nightmares Echo", "Losers Club"), "Saturday" is an idea book within its specific niche and is sure to satisfy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday . . . you get the idea, May 16 2005
This review is from: Saturday (Hardcover)
So often I come across a book I want to read and think to myself, "Is this journey really going to be worth the effort and money?" So often I am disappointed, especially after spending hours alone, delving into some hyped and over-touted book, only to find that the critics were wrong when they came to praising it. Not so with SATURDAY. Riveting characters make this book more memorable than most and I felt it moved along with more edge than ATONEMENT or even the much suggested CHILDREN'S CORNER by McCrae, which was recommend at the same time. If you want a book that won't disappoint, this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bowled over., July 16 2007
By 
Samantha "Critical Reader" (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Saturday (Paperback)
Having been disappointed by Atonement, I expected little from this book. I was surprised to find myself enthralled from the first word. Although the book is quiet, there hangs a foreshadowed threat from the opening pages. McEwan is masterful in building Henry Perowne's character by following him through one Saturday in his life. The writing style is extraordinary; McEwan is a true wordsmith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Master in the Middle, March 8 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Saturday (Hardcover)
Ian McEwan is a master at pitting chaos and order against one another to create human drama. I personally loved McEwan's "Amsterdam" as an all time favorite and thoroughly enjoyed "Atonement" as well. With "Saturday" he keeps that same approach of human drama. Here with "Saturday" he utilizes a stream of conscious voice reminiscent of "My Fractured Life" that is tremendously effective. Just when you think the voice is rambling you realize its purpose and the lesson of consequence. You will be enthralled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reaches New Heights, March 4 2005
This review is from: Saturday (Hardcover)
How fragile life is. In an astonishingly well written snapshot of life, "Atonement" author Ian McEwan creates a literary masterpiece with "Saturday." How easily happiness can be shattered. A work as definitive, stirring, and personally voiced as "Atonement", "My Fractured Life", and "Never Let Me Go." The texture of the writing and the simple elegance put "Saturday" atop McEwan's resume as his most impressive and priceless work yet showing a new level in his gift for storytelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty darn good, March 25 2005
This review is from: Saturday (Hardcover)
From the author of Atonement, comes this great new read. Saturday is filled with drama (more so than Atonement) but the writing is still first rate. With its memorable characters and first-rate pacing and storytelling, McEwan has given the world yet another great novel. If you enjoyed books such as McCrae's "The Children's Corner" or Seabold's "Lovely Bones" with their excellent pacing and style, then "Saturday" is a book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Saturday.
Saturday. by Ian. McEwan (Hardcover - 2005)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews