Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lot more than just 24 hours, this one is great
SATURDAY is a remarkable novel. It grips you in its symbolism, and I did enjoy it as much as ATONEMENT. It gives us a story of great love, happiness and the misery that can be interjected into our lives. What we come to expect as just another day turns into an event that is quite unexpected with reverberating consequences. This novel follows 24 hours in the life of...
Published on March 30 2005 by Ty Krupp

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unlikely and unlikeable
Although well written, I found it hard to keep going with this book. There are numerous long descriptive sections (for example, pages and pages were taken up in describing a squash game) in which I lost interest. The high level of introspection was somewhat unconvincing. And the characters, apart from Baxter and Grammaticus, were dull and complacent. I found Perowne's...
Published on March 19 2005 by Symbianist


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant to the Core, April 5 2005
This review is from: Saturday (Hardcover)
"SATURDAY" at its core is about how we live today, in today's world, under today's political climate. This is no social commentary; "SATURDAY" is a novel - and a fine novel at that. Yet author Ian McEwan's keen wording and brilliant subtlety paint a world of muted brilliance, contrast and compliment. I am such a fan of well written books, it makes such a difference. "SATURDAY" is in the realm of "THE DA VINCI CODE", "MY FRACTURED LIFE" and even the "HARRY POTTER" series, not because of any similarities between the diversity of genres, but because of what they are at the core. "SATURDAY" is just a fabulously well written book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Powerful!, March 15 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Saturday (Hardcover)
SATURDAY is a very powerful manuscript. Not unlike predecessor ATONEMENT or contemporary greats MIDDLESEX, AMATEUR MARRIAGE, and MY FRACTURED LIFE, it gains power from the solemn inner voicing. In this case it is the story of London neurosurgeon Henry Perowne and how his life is forever changed in a series of events starting with witnessing a plane crashing and including neurosurgery, a car accident, a family reunion, and a confrontation with a criminal. Like MY FRACTURED LIFE and MIDDLESEX, a lot is thrown at you, but there is an order to the chaos. An amazing journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An incredible look into the post 9/11 psyche, April 7 2010
This review is from: Saturday (Paperback)
Saturday, Ian McEwan's single-day probe into the psyche of Henry Perowne, a London neurosurgeon, is a brilliant work which explores the neurosis and fears of the post-9/11 era. Set on February 23rd 2003, the novel focuses on the political and personal preoccupations of Perowne in the time leading up to the invasion of Iraq and the homecoming of his eldest child, Daisy. As the reader meanders through the effortless stream of conscious narration, it becomes clear that Perowne is a sort of contemporary Everyman. We see reflected in Perowne a highly nuanced and obsessive attention to the forces of consumerism, the inevitability of the human body's decline, parental pride, professional fulfillment, and the general joys and anguishes of living an everyday existence in the 21st century. The book is, to my mind, not McEwan's greatest novel (that has to be Atonement or The Child in Time) but it is probably his greatest expression of literary virtuosity: only McEwan could make the quotidian details of everyday life as incredibly vivid and meaningful as they are in Saturday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thought Provoking, Jan. 24 2006
This review is from: Saturday (Paperback)
This is a very interesting novel, compelling at times, that reminds us of the power each day of our lives can bring. It tackles life's fragility and lack of predictability in a subtle way, and less direct / in your face compared to the approach of other great British authors like Nick Hornby or Steve Horsfall. A good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Provocative and Complex, Aug. 4 2005
This review is from: Saturday (Hardcover)
"SATURDAY" is a highly provocative novel of complex plots and characters. You have to pay attention to truly enjoy it, but that shouldn't be a problem because the writing is engrossing enough to make you want to do that. It would be easy to compare it to "MY FRACTURED LIFE" because of the use of nontraditional protagonists, however I prefer to challenge that "SATURDAY" and any other book be judged individually. "SATURDAY" and "MY FRACTURED LIFE" are both excellent and I recommend them both, but not for their similarities, but for their inherent uniqueness. They should be read as individual books and judged as individual books. From my point of view, "SATURDAY" is a strong and compelling book that stands on its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One great book!, June 29 2005
This review is from: Saturday (Hardcover)
In my quest for the next best thing, I ran across SATURDAY. While I hadn't read ATONEMENT, I was still cautiously optimistic, given the fact that sometimes the term "bestseller" doesn't always mean "good." But the sixth day of the week turned out to be quite fascinating. Well written and well thought out, along the same lines as McCrae's CHILDREN'S CORNER and full of inspirational insight (think GLASS CASTLE) this wonderful novel captivated my attention from page one until the end. Certainly one of the reasons for the success of this novel is the fact that it deals in some way or other with terrorism and the war in Iraq. But McEwan takes things farther than just that. It may only be one day in a man's life, but what happens internally to him is much, much more. Caution: This is not the book for you if you don't like to think!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not just an old day of the week--your favorite--and mine, June 3 2005
This review is from: Saturday (Hardcover)
So often I come across a book I want to read and think to myself, "Is this journey really going to be worth the effort and money?" So often I am disappointed, especially after spending hours alone, delving into some hyped and over-touted book, only to find that the critics were wrong when they came to praising it. Not so with SATURDAY. Riveting characters make this book more memorable than most and I felt it moved along with more edge than ATONEMENT or even the much suggested BARK OF THE DOGWOOD, which was recommend at the same time. If you want a book that won't disappoint, this is it.
Also very highly recommended: ATONEMENT, BARK OF THE DOGWOOD and the novel CURIOUS INCIDENT OF THE DOG.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Provocative and Complex, May 25 2005
This review is from: Saturday (Hardcover)
"SATURDAY" is a highly provocative novel of complex plots and characters. You have to pay attention to truly enjoy it, but that shouldn't be a problem because the writing is engrossing enough to make you want to do that. It would be easy to compare it to "MY FRACTURED LIFE" because of the use of nontraditional protagonists, however I prefer to challenge that "SATURDAY" and any other book be judged individually. "SATURDAY" and "MY FRACTURED LIFE" are both excellent and I recommend them both, but not for their similarities, but for their inherent uniqueness. They should be read as individual books and judged as individual books. From my point of view, "SATURDAY" is a strong and compelling book that stands on its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The weekend is here---do you know where YOU are?, May 22 2005
This review is from: Saturday (Hardcover)
In my quest for the next best thing, I ran across "Saturday." While I hadn't read "Atonement," I was still cautiously optimistic, given the fact that sometimes the term "bestseller" doesn't always mean "good." But the sixth day of the week turned out to be quite fascinating. Well written and well thought out, along the same lines as McCrae's "Children's Corner" and full of inspirational insight (think "Glass Castle") this wonderful novel captivated my attention from page one until the end. Certainly one of the reasons for the success of this novel is the fact that it deals in some way or other with terrorism and the war in Iraq. But McEwan takes things farther than just that. It may only be one day in a man's life, but what happens internally to him is much, much more. Caution: This is not the book for you if you don't like to think!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday . . . you get the idea, May 16 2005
This review is from: Saturday (Hardcover)
So often I come across a book I want to read and think to myself, "Is this journey really going to be worth the effort and money?" So often I am disappointed, especially after spending hours alone, delving into some hyped and over-touted book, only to find that the critics were wrong when they came to praising it. Not so with SATURDAY. Riveting characters make this book more memorable than most and I felt it moved along with more edge than ATONEMENT or even the much suggested CHILDREN'S CORNER by McCrae, which was recommend at the same time. If you want a book that won't disappoint, this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Saturday.
Saturday. by Ian. McEwan (Hardcover - 2005)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews