Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wake up and see the hijabs!
This is the type of book that the multicultists will disagree with, or even hate. They are stuck in their disbeliefs and their refusals to see the truth, even when it happens before their eyes. In dealing in great depth with the problems of Islam in Europe, Bruce Bower is showing us the future for the rest of us, the non-Muslim world.

Reviewers like poor Angel,...
Published on July 24 2007 by Drinse

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor
The idea of any religious extremist gaining serious political power is a frightening one to my mind, whether those extremists be Muslim or Christian. Whether that is ever likely to happen, or whether those who suggest it might are just unreasonable fear-mongers, is something I don't know. I should like to learn more, of course, and thereby reach my own conclusion one way...
Published on Oct. 16 2010 by C. J. Thompson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wake up and see the hijabs!, July 24 2007
By 
This review is from: While Europe Slept: How Radical Islam is Destroying the West from Within (Hardcover)
This is the type of book that the multicultists will disagree with, or even hate. They are stuck in their disbeliefs and their refusals to see the truth, even when it happens before their eyes. In dealing in great depth with the problems of Islam in Europe, Bruce Bower is showing us the future for the rest of us, the non-Muslim world.

Reviewers like poor Angel, from Ottawa, can't understand what's in this book, because it's ideas don't mesh with their multicult idealism and self-deception. In fact, she is a perfect example of the type of people that make up the European elites (and the Canadian elites, for that matter). They refuse to see the actual story, or accept that something must be done, about the takeover of Europe by Muslims. She instead sets up the strawman argument that there is no "conspiracy" among Muslims to take over the world. Well, there doesn't have to be, since one of the tenets of the new Muslim order is that the new Caliphate has to be established, and it is only a matter of time. And they all believe it, so there doesn't have to be any formal "conpiracy". They just act in concert automatically. "Moderate" Muslims (if there are really such people) don't even bother to speak their minds, since they know it is useless.

Bowers' point is that Europe's elites (including the media and academia) have pushed their left-wing ideas on to the people for so long, so steadily, that the ethnic European people themselves live in a world of perpetual political correctness, and practise self-censorship for their own security and safety. Reviewers like Angel prefer to believe that the depradations of Muslim youth are not happening, but they are. Europe is on it's way down, and there but for the grace of God and our own vigilance, will go Canada.

This book will open your eyes to the truth of radical Islam, as it is happening, today, every day, in Europe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Civilizational suicide, July 16 2006
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: While Europe Slept: How Radical Islam is Destroying the West from Within (Hardcover)
In this absorbing work, Bawer examines the psychological, moral and political aspects of Europe's current predicament and its reaction to the threat posed by large unassimilated minorities in its midst. One of the most fascinating revelations concerns the monolithic multiculturalism of the continent's academic, media and political establishment. Political journalists are part of this ideological club so they consider mainstream politicians as colleagues. One consequence is that the ideological range of the European media is quite narrow. Rigid adherence to multiculturalism renders the integration of immigrants impossible with the result that members of these communities turn to Islamism for inspiration.

Beneath the surface tolerance and welfarism, there lurks something sinister in Europe today, something that the sanctimonious political correctness, anti-Americanism and anti-Zionism of the elites cannot cover up. Bawer exposes Europeans' nativism and intense awareness of ethnicity as manifested through subtle discrimination and the bigotry revealed in private discourse. Reared as bureaucrats, European politicians aspire to lucrative positions at the EU and the United Nations. The fall of the Berlin Wall did not result in gratitude towards the USA but increased resentment.

The first manifestations of the clash of civilization have been the murders of Van Gogh and Fortuyn, the Madrid bombing & London bombings, the 2005/6 riots in France and the uproar about the Danish cartoons. These are just the beginning of an ominous cultural conflict. The denial evident amongst the political and intellectual elites shows disturbing similarities to the 1930s. The elites employ the potent stigmatic "populist" indiscriminately against all those who challenge the consensus, maligning the leaders and mocking the members of such parties. Some of these movements are suspect but there are also parties firmly rooted in classical liberalism.

The consensus obsessed Eurocrat elites have a hostile view of classical liberalism which they consider Americanism. The welfare state is soft Leftism based on multiculturalism and moral relativism. What is most disgraceful about the current European mindset is the phony tolerance, for example the European view of unassimilated minorities as "colorful" but Europe's refusal to meaningfully integrate them into society. Europeans are happy to dole out welfare money but not prepared to give these people proper employment. When applied to European politics, the word "sophisticated" indicates ideas removed from observable reality plus a peculiar selectivity that leads to idolization of the EU & UN and disparagement of Israel & the USA.

The pieties of multiculturalism obscure a very tenacious ethnocentrism & the implications of the declining birthrate of native Europeans versus the rapid rise in the numbers of immigrants. European elites remained in deep denial after the murders of Theo Van Gogh and Pim Fortuyn. Bawer's observations on the passivity of bystanders are particularly disturbing, especially the examples provided from the Netherlands and Sweden. The rhetoric of "solidarity & community" is just welfare state sloganeering. Dependence on the state has undermined individual responsibility and established a deadly pattern of indifference.

It is clear that the continent, especially Old Europe, is in deep trouble. Bawer sees it poised between Islamism and native Neo-fascism. It might also be a type of Christian fascism that is embraced by a panicked population amidst serious economic and social turmoil. Part of the problem is that Europe mostly lacks a decent Right, except perhaps amongst the libertarian parties of Scandinavia. The senescent Christian Democrats have accepted the tenets of welfarism whilst fascist tendencies characterize many European "conservative" parties. The welfare state consensus has never been properly challenged except in the UK where Margaret Thatcher positively transformed the country in the 1980s. That is why British society is in a better state today.

In part three: Europe's Weimar Moment, the author looks at the liberal resistance and considers future prospects. First the consistency of newspaper editorials from across the continent in response to the Madrid bombing is dissected: Expressen (Sweden), The Guardian (UK), De Volkskrant (Netherlands), Dagbladet and Aftenposten (Norway) all sang the same wildly irrational tune. Pim Fortuyn is discussed as an early example of liberal resistance in the Netherlands who was demonized by the consensus media. Other individuals who saw the danger and have acted upon it include Ayaan Hirsi Ali, British comedian Rowan Atkinson, author Melanie Phillips, Sabine Herold & Guy Milliere in France, the now departed Oriana Fallaci and Denmark's Queen Margrethe and prime minister Anders Fogh Rasmussen.

In the Afterword to the paperback edition, Bawer shows how dhimmitude is on the march. The elites still explain away delinquency, suppress reports of violence and continue to smear defenders of freedom with labels like "secular fundamentalist, extremist or single-issue fanatic." There were further riots in France in 2006, the cartoon controversy in Denmark and the Pope's speech at Regensburg. In all cases, there was a craven response of appeasement and accelerating tendency towards self-censorship. Free speech is not only being criticized but also outlawed and prosecuted as Bawer shows with reference to cases in Norway, Belgium and Britain and the notorious Ad Dura hoax in France where Israel was falsely accused. Responsible reporting is found in a few papers such as The Times, Telegraph & Daily Mail in Britain, De Volkskrant in Holland and Denmark's Jyllands-Posten.

Crime continues to rise at an alarming rate, illustrated by the situation in Berlin, Oslo and Stockholm and antisemitism is on the march again, Bawer shows with reference to an article in Der Spiegel and the disgusting statements of a prominent Norwegian writer. Thus the process of Europe's betrayal by its ruling class continues through the inversion or suppression of truth. For more information on the recent history and the current state of Europe, I recommend Icarus Fallen by Chantal Delsol, The Changing Face of Antisemitism by Walter Laqueur, Eurabia by Bat Ye-or, The Force of Reason by Oriana Fallaci and Menace in Europe: Why the Continent's Crisis Is America's Too by Claire Berlinski.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Educate yourself, Nov. 14 2006
This review is from: While Europe Slept: How Radical Islam is Destroying the West from Within (Hardcover)
Bawer writes with intelligence and passion. He reveals the problems that European face as a result of their appeasement of Islamic fundamentalism, homophobia, and religious intolerance. In Bawer's view this corresponds to the appeasers of Nazi Germany over half a century ago. Can Europeans see the similarities and draw appropriate conclusions? The threat of radical Islam is real. Bawer makes his case moderately but eloquently and powerfully. Whether one agrees with Bawer's views or not, this book may not remain unread.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To Angel from Ottawa, Oct. 1 2007
By 
Chris (Vancouver, BC) - See all my reviews
Perhaps you ought to read this book in depth and analyze its arguments and concrete examples supporting those arguments before disparaging it?

Your post is completely worthless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor, Oct. 16 2010
By 
C. J. Thompson "Arctic John" (Pond Inlet, Nunavut Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The idea of any religious extremist gaining serious political power is a frightening one to my mind, whether those extremists be Muslim or Christian. Whether that is ever likely to happen, or whether those who suggest it might are just unreasonable fear-mongers, is something I don't know. I should like to learn more, of course, and thereby reach my own conclusion one way or the other, but I am afraid that after getting a third of the way through this book, I decided it was not going to be a trustworthy and unbiased source and I put it down. I am not saying that I did so because I took a fundamental exception to Mr Bawer's conclusions, rather, the way the book is written makes me doubt the author's objectivity and reliability.

In the first place, Mr Bawer makes it clear in the opening passages of the book that he is gay. Naturally, that fact hardly dis-entitles him to an opinion on the subject at hand, but his personal experiences with homophobia and his clear (not to mention quite rightful) disgust with the hardcore Islamic position on homosexuality are emphasized repeatedly from the beginning. Eventually, I could not help but begin to feel that his personal affront at Islamic anti-gay hatred (again, perfectly understandable), has unfortunately colored his ability to be objective. As I read on, this feeling was only compounded.

The thesis of the work, encapsulated in the subtitle, is not at all well, or clearly developed. It is haphazard, very unfocused, and seems to leap from topic to topic without a clear common point. Structurally, it is very poor, but my real problem with the book the fact that the points that are introduced consist, in the main, of very little more than wild over-generalizations and unsupported, anecdotal 'facts'. In one passage dealing with the evil of 'political correctness', Mr Bawer mentions that a Scandinavian person in the public eye was fined in Court for making racist comments and then he expresses the view that the comments were not racist at all. Why one wonders, does he not then actually quote the supposedly objectionable speech thus allowing the reader to draw his or her own conclusions? Were those words actually more capable of being construed as racist than the author would have us believe or (as I suspect) is he only repeating a vague story he has heard without bothering to look up the actual facts?

I really don't have anything positive to say about the book. The more I read, the more I became convinced that this author has not done any proper research and has merely spouted his own half-formed opinions. It is a diatribe... more suited to the 'conspiracy theorists' than those looking to learn more about an important issue. I am sorry I wasted my money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 54 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No more than fear-mongering, March 10 2007
By 
Angel (Ottawa, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: While Europe Slept: How Radical Islam is Destroying the West from Within (Hardcover)
I remember going to conference on black crime in Detroit in the early nineties. The audience was filled with nice pious frightened whites. They were frightened to death of perceived threat of black crime so much so that many of them lived in gated communities, moved into the suburbs in order to escape this threat. At that time, I wondered how much of this threat was real and how much self-magnified.

The same thing occurs with the fear of Islam, which is composed of more than a billion adherents worldwide. Given those numbers it is impossible to perceive some sort of conspiracy theory that most Muslims worldwide are involved in or that most Muslims in Europe are involved in some sort of clandestine operations. It's like any conspiracy theory - it's just a theory not fact. In this case based on fear aroused from violent incidents. Of course, the violence isn't one-sided as proven by Iraq, Afghanistan and other places where Western armies have intervened in shaping the Islamic world and they have not hesitated to use weapons at their disposal.

True crime among blacks in the US is higher than white neighbourhoods. In Canada, suicide rates are far higher on Indian reserves. These sociological differences are rooted in history and not race or ethnically based. In the same way some young Muslims have been radicalized for various socio-political reasons but to ring the alarm bells and to call off multiculturalism and pluralism is merely playing into fears not rising above them.

The lesson to be learned from Hitler and the Third Reich is less about the evils of appeasement because the parallels between radical Islam and Nazi Germany just don't exist. Radical Islam is a phantom enemy that exists as much in the European imagination as in reality. Our stereotypes of Muslims inform us of our own prejudices, not of an objective reality that can be proven, since Islam does not exist as a homogeneous whole.

Muslims like Christians are diverse in their beliefs and practices, ranging from highly conservative to highly liberal. Therefore, we cannot minimize these differences in order to create the enemy-in-our-midst scenario that we like. It is the same type of thinking as the Red scare that plagued Western democracies during the Cold War.

I would suggest that people read more intelligent books on Islam, such as, "The Trouble with Islam Today" by Irshad Manji, where she constructively challenges both Islam and Western stereotypes of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

While Europe Slept: How Radical Islam is Destroying the West from Within
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews