Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great
Typical Dexter novel, well written and suspenseful. A great read. Hopefully he keeps writing them now the TV series is gone
Published 10 months ago by THOMAS J GOWDYK

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but TV series better!
As one who has watched all five seasons of this monstrously raucous made-for-TV series and read three of the novels that follow the dark and troubled existence of a modern cape-crusading vigilante, I know which one I prefer. The hour-long movie version is long enough to capture the critical essence of the plot and the suspense that goes with it. Everything happens swiftly...
Published on Oct. 25 2012 by Ian Gordon Malcomson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but TV series better!, Oct. 25 2012
By 
Ian Gordon Malcomson (Victoria, BC) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
As one who has watched all five seasons of this monstrously raucous made-for-TV series and read three of the novels that follow the dark and troubled existence of a modern cape-crusading vigilante, I know which one I prefer. The hour-long movie version is long enough to capture the critical essence of the plot and the suspense that goes with it. Everything happens swiftly and made to order. While the book is loaded with psychological detail and plenty of little rabbit holes to investigate, the more Dexter is seen as a complex person who is the composite of various roles such as blood-spatter analyst, brother, father and husband, working on numerous fronts from the very visible world to his private world where he goes prowling for the bad guys of which society desperately needs rid. While his killing routine might be ritualistically banal, it does show clear signs of being swift, deliberate and final. However, the lengthier novel format, such as found in this particular story, goes to great lengths to entertain us with a variety of devious subplots that eventually come together as one gigantic tidal wave of understanding. All you need to know, as you take on this novel is that Dexter is the one who is being stalked by murderous men within the ranks of the Miami PD, whose only goal is to take him down before he eliminates them. The majority of this novel is taken up with Dexter finding out who his tormentors are and devising a way to silence them. While there is a story here, the action tends to crawl in places with too much domestic moil and toil, what with snotty, annoying kids and a too-often chiding and all-too often screeching wife. While all this secondary action does win Dexter some sympathy for the plight he finds himself in, it does tend to get in the way of the story having an ideal buildup to dramatic conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, Feb. 6 2014
By 
THOMAS J GOWDYK - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Double Dexter: A Novel (Hardcover)
Typical Dexter novel, well written and suspenseful. A great read. Hopefully he keeps writing them now the TV series is gone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love all the Dexter books, Dec 31 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Nothing more to say. All these books are phenomenal. So sad the show is over. I'm not going to say anything about the book because I don't want to give anything away
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love love love dexter, May 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
got here super fast, cant wait to see what happens next, these books are the only thing that kept me distracted enough not to think about when my copy of dexter season 7 was going to get here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what I was expecting!, May 26 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Double Dexter (Paperback)
I was trying to get the complete Dexter book series with these type of book covers (just my preference) and am excited to get reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Oct. 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great for the Dexter fans who miss the show. Different that the show, bit still good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darker Dexter but just as compelling and enjoyable a read, Oct. 22 2011
This review is from: Double Dexter: A Novel (Audio CD)
The latest Dexter novel in the series which inspired possibly the best thriller TV series out there does not disappoint. While the character of Dexter is a bit darker than in previous novels, this book is every bit as compelling and enjoyable as its excellent predecessors. It keeps you on the edge of your seat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Still Sophomoric, Dec 24 2011
This review is from: Double Dexter: A Novel (Hardcover)
Double Dexter: A Novel I cannot remember when I last got within 50 pages of the end of a book, especially a "mystery" like this one, and said to myself, "I really don't care what happens at the end, I can't stomach another page." And I closed the book. I had tried to read Lindsay's first in this series, Darkly Dreaming Dexter, and found it so bad I quit after 100 pages, but I expected more from the latest in a supposedly successful series. But this book fails on all fronts. The principal character is still only an inch deep, and the others are little more than cardboard cliches. We are still subjected to Dexter's nauseating, and groundless, self-laudatory musings. His actions exceed all of the reader's efforts at suspension of disbelief, making you feel he is little more than an idiot. The dialogue continues to be a disappointing combination of inanity and foul language. Lindsay clearly feels there are a lot of third graders out there, and he wants to write for them.

So I got to the point where the Bad Guy has kidnapped Dexter's two children, and the world is supposedly holding its collective breath to see if he can rescue them, and I said, "To hell with it!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Double Dexter: A Novel
Double Dexter: A Novel by Jeff Lindsay (Hardcover - Oct. 18 2011)
CDN$ 29.00 CDN$ 18.18
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews