Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grisham is a great storyteller
If you like short stories, then this book is for you. I borroweed this book from my mother and was skeptecial before I started reading. After the first 10 pages, my opinion changed. Each story brings different characters to life. Mr. Grisham uses humour, drama and very eloquent prose to tell stories of 3 drunken friends on a blood drive, an insurance adjuster turned...
Published 21 months ago by G. Camilleri

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars No postcards
John Grisham isn't Stephen King or Richard Matheson when it comes to short stories, though the collection improved with the final three offerings. Of the seven stories, "Funny Boy" was the best, while "Blood Drive" and "Casino", though unpredictable, had dismal conclusions.
Published 12 months ago by Chris


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grisham is a great storyteller, Oct. 5 2012
By 
G. Camilleri (Toronto, Ont) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ford County: Stories (Paperback)
If you like short stories, then this book is for you. I borroweed this book from my mother and was skeptecial before I started reading. After the first 10 pages, my opinion changed. Each story brings different characters to life. Mr. Grisham uses humour, drama and very eloquent prose to tell stories of 3 drunken friends on a blood drive, an insurance adjuster turned card shark and a person living with an awful disease in rural Mississippi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Get to know Ford County, July 3 2014
By 
W. VanB (Burlington, ON) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This provides some more insight into the setting of so many of Grisham's novels. These stories are very intriguing and interesting to read. Possibly the beginnings of longer novels, that didn't have quite enough to get there. But they are good stories none the less. Worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, Jan. 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ford County: Stories (Hardcover)
Excellent short stories; for each the ending is not what you expect.... A very enjoyable read.
Each story plot, taking place in Ford County, is so vivid that it almost discourages the reader to visit the County :o))
Quite imaginative, as usual John Grisham at his best,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars No postcards, July 27 2013
By 
Chris (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
John Grisham isn't Stephen King or Richard Matheson when it comes to short stories, though the collection improved with the final three offerings. Of the seven stories, "Funny Boy" was the best, while "Blood Drive" and "Casino", though unpredictable, had dismal conclusions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Snippets of Some of John Grisham's Favorite Ford County Themes in Short Stories, Feb. 13 2010
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ford County: Stories (Hardcover)
"They have all turned aside,
They have together become corrupt;
There is none who does good,
No, not one."

--Psalm 14:3

If you are looking for a funny John Grisham book about crooked lawyers, you won't begin to find the usual quota in Ford County. You won't like these short stories nearly as much as what you are looking for.

I was attracted to this book after hearing Mr. Grisham talk about how these were stories that he had worked on for a long time that refused to turn themselves into full-fledged novels. I was immediately curious about how a gifted story teller like Mr. Grisham could possibly paint himself into a large number of boxes.

Keeping that perspective in mind, I found that these stories were more rewarding than his interview suggested to me. In many cases the reason they cannot be novels is because he has built up a single scene or episode in a character's life to such an extent that anything else you might add to it would pale too much by comparison.

I also didn't expect to find some terrific stories and was pleasantly surprised to find one. Michael's Room is one of the most compelling short stories I remember reading. I also disagree with Mr. Grisham about this not being able to become a novel. Add the background to this story as the rest of the novel, end with this story, and you've got quite a compelling and rewarding novel.

For pure irony and humor, Blood Drive rings very true about the ways we are all easily distracted into doing things that we shouldn't. You could drop this story into the middle of a novel about a pill-popping drunk on his way down (Roger Tucker) and end the novel either with him in the gutter or experiencing redemption.

I thought that some of these stories shouldn't be novels because they don't work very well . . . unfortunately, because they don't offer enough contrast to a bleak look at human nature. I put Fetching Raymond and Fish Files in that category.

Quiet Haven provides us with a lovable scoundrel, the type of character that Mr. Grisham can write well about. This story wouldn't stretch into a novel because the story depends on a set-up that's not strong enough to carry a whole book.

Casino was too predictable to me, but was mildly entertaining.

Funny Boy is full of pathos, but much of the story depends on people being very ignorant about AIDS. Knowing what we know now about that terrible disease, it's hard to get back into the mindset of when we were all first learning about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real fast read!, Dec 11 2010
This review is from: Ford County: Stories (Paperback)
I usually stay away from these type of books (book with many short stories) but I know this author so I thought I would give it a chance.

To my great astonishment, this is a must read!!! The stories keep you reading until you are done, then you search for more! If you want something to read on the beach, or before hitting the pillow - this is a must have!

Thanks John for the superb short stories!

- Michel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Grisham, Sept. 14 2010
This review is from: Ford County: Stories (Paperback)
While not usually a fan of short stories, this collection was terrific. A great "just before lights out" read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, May 29 2010
By 
JohnnyBlues (Orleans, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ford County: Stories (Hardcover)
Each storey leaves you wanting more...once you start reading you can not put it down. Brilliant Read!

Johnny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ford County stories by John Grisham, Jan. 4 2010
This review is from: Ford County: Stories (Audio CD)
It's a long drive from Toronto to Florida. Listening to these stories made a whole lot easier!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Short Stories, Aug. 15 2011
This review is from: Ford County (Paperback)
A different type of book for Grisham. Was well written and I liked it more than his regular books. Easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ford County: Stories
Ford County: Stories by John Grisham (Hardcover - Nov. 3 2009)
CDN$ 28.95 CDN$ 18.14
Usually ships in 2 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews