countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
50
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$18.83+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 17 reviews(4 star). Show all reviews
on July 14, 2016
I like the writing style of Grisham, interesting, clear, and almost educational (to those unfamiliar with law). This story, however, could have been turned into a Touchstone film (Disney's parent company for older ages) or a Lifetime movie - at least, that was the theme with the subplots of DeeAnna, the cheesy tramp girlfriend of lawyer Wally injected to the story to add humor, or the silly way David lands on the steps of his new-found, slower-paced law firm where is he readily accepted to come on board, and accept losing money from the start of his employ.... but, any indiscretion amongst the (now) three partners at the firm is dismissed, forgiven, and not held accountable - remember, Disney here. A little silly, but Grisham is an interesting writer who takes the reader into the inner parts of the law, the courts.......so, I liked the entertainment, but will say that it didn't really suspend my disbelief!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2012
Having read most of John Grisham's novels, it wasn't surprising that this novel was true to form and an easy read. What was surprising was how humourous this book was relative to some of his others. The characters are real "characters" and, while there are certainly serious and touching story lines, there's a nice injection of lighter moments. A great book to take on vacation.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon February 23, 2013
One morning David Zinc walks out on his high-salary job with a high-pressure, high-profile Chicago law firm. He spends the day drinking and somehow ends up at the south-side office of Finley and Figg. He accepts a job as the firm's third attorney and, once he sobers up, decides to keep it. David adapts to a new practice of chasing ambulances, refereeing divorces, and drafting wills. And he is home for dinner with his family most nights.

David's new employers expect an easy win as minor players in a mass tort suit against drug manufactuer Varrick Labs. Krayoxx, one of Varrick's cholesterol drugs, has been linked to several deaths from weakened cardiac muscles. As they eagerly enter the fray, they begin counting--and spending--the anticipated settlement money. It doesn't quite work out that way and David ends up first-chairing an increasingly-desperate courtroom battle against his former law firm. It goes on from there.

Lighter than most Grisham tales, this story has some clever and amusing twists. A few characters turn out to be a little nicer than you expect. There are some well-written bad guys, too. And there's the signature Grisham theme of the little guy ignoring the call of the dollar to mix it up with the big guy's well-financed legal talent.

My daughter and I listened to the audio edition of this book during several weeks of car rides to high school, the gym, and the library. Katie and I both enjoyed her first Grisham book. We've since moved on to The Rainmaker. No regrets about the time spent with either of them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2014
Excellent reading, especially if you are at all interested in legal matters and lawyers in general.
Many overlapping events and issues that keep your interest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2014
great writing a little slow to start but has a very interesting story line . it held my attention all the way to the end. loved the ending
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2013
Good plot, fun characters and well written. Kept me turning pages all the way through. Looking forward to reading his next novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2012
Pas le meilleur John Grisham, mais les 200 dernières pages valent le coup! Vraiment. Aurait pu être quelque peu écourté.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2013
As with The Racketeer, the book makes for good reading and I did recommend it to
family and friends and neigbors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2016
l liked David Zinc - his character & loyalties to his clients, his friends & his new law firm. This book had many twists & turns but always kept you interested in what was going to unravel next.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2014
Hilarious! First time I actually felt sorry for lawyers. This book gave me insight into the challenges they face.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items