biss boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store Exercice Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars44
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: HardcoverChange
Price:$27.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 27, 2015
A feel good book with an ending that will make you smile, and finally a book without blood and gore and people getting shot.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2015
Excellent
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2015
A++
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2015
Absolutely amazing!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2015
GREAT
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon September 27, 2015
What did I like about this book? In a nutshell: everything. :-)

Entertaining from the first page to the last. Characters that literally "jump off the page" with their authenticity. A page-turner that I read in two days and that would have been even less time, if I hadn't had other things I had to do. I really couldn't put this one down!

So what made this one different from other John Grisham books I've enjoyed to date? I found myself laughing so much as I was reading along. Really loud, can't stop, side-splitting laughter.

Not that there isn't usually some clever, witty content, in most of Grisham's books. And again, that is often a result of the true- to- life characters that he is so skilled at creating. But several parts of this book are truly hilarious in addition to the usual suspense and drama that are in keeping with Grisham's signature style.

The twists and turns of the plot continue to the very last chapter. Complete with a satisfying ending that ties up all the loose ends (so many novelists fall short in this respect) but the norm when it comes to a Grisham novel.

A bit about the plot....

If ever there was a stereotype for a "seedy lawyer" Wally Figg is one of them and in spades. Wally and his partner world-weary Oscar Finley, have been waiting (and waiting) for that "big break" for over 20 years that will free them up from the "nickle and dime" cases they've been handling at Finley & Figg for far too long.

Wally Figg (multiple divorcee) and his new, oh-so tacky girlfriend DeeAnna provide a big part of the LOL's in this book. If ever there was a sleazy couple, made for each other, it's these two. Some clever "accounting practises" on the part of Wally also include DeeAnna. Suffice to say, it makes for some hilarious and engaging reading, throughout the story.

By a series of events, that seem to be coincidental at the time; a young, upwardly mobile but burnt-out and disillusioned lawyer by the name of David Zinc "lands" drunk as a skunk at their office one afternoon. This sets off a series of events that will change the course of Finley & Figg forever.

One of the things that was mentioned repeatedly in the Amazon reviews I read was that John Grisham seems to have had a lot of fun writing this book and I definitely agree with that. Hopefully this will be made into a movie too.

The Litigators joins my list of Grisham all-time favorites which to date include: Ford County (short stories), The Street Lawyer and The Rainmaker.

If ever the term "you're not getting older, you're getting better" applied, that's what I think of John Grisham. The Litigators is a perfect example of his ongoing evolution as a writer. No wonder he's called "America's Favorite Storyteller".

The Litigators is a must read for Grisham fans and for anyone looking for an entertaining, suspenseful AND humorous novel.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2015
GREAT BOOK
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2014
One of his best books. Holds your attention until your done and ready for the next one.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2014
Hilarious! First time I actually felt sorry for lawyers. This book gave me insight into the challenges they face.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2014
Always a favorite author
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items