Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Integrity Counts . . . in a Humorous Study of Lawyers on the Prowl
"Better is the poor who walks in his integrity
Than one perverse in his ways, though he be rich." -- Proverbs 28:6 (NKJV)

John Grisham takes readers on a humorous tour of what street lawyers (aka "ambulance chasers") do. He wisely chooses three different characters with wildly different motives and talents to make cautionary points for anyone thinking of...
Published on Nov. 9 2011 by Donald Mitchell

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars THe Litigators
I've read every novel that Grisham has ever written and except for Playing for Pizza that is just a horrible book, I've liked all the others to various degrees; I like the lawyers' world Grisham sets his books in and the intrigues that he puts them through. But The Litigators is boring and confusing; there are so many characters and plots and sub-plots playing together...
Published on Nov. 15 2012 by Carolyn SADL


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, April 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Litigators (Hardcover)
I have read alot of John Grisham's books. He's a great author with such well developed characters and fully thoughtout story lines. This book of his was one of my favourites. The characters are so very different from one another and all very interesting. An enjoyable read from the first page to the last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Litigators (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellenr!, June 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Litigators (Kindle Edition)
One of the best ones I have read by John Grisham. He never disappoints. Can't wait to read his next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Class action lawsuits seem a waste of time., May 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Litigators (Kindle Edition)
It took me a long time to understand what the heck I was reading. Book really didn't grab me, happy to reach the end.Class action lawsuits are profitable for somebody, I just didn't find out for sure who profited most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a ride, March 16 2014
By 
This review is from: The Litigators (Kindle Edition)
Hard to root for the mass tort group, but this unlikely underdog team was awesome. Quick pace, comedy and tension throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Story with Nasty Teeth, Feb. 23 2013
By 
John M. Ford "johnDC" (near DC, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Litigators (Kindle Edition)
One morning David Zinc walks out on his high-salary job with a high-pressure, high-profile Chicago law firm. He spends the day drinking and somehow ends up at the south-side office of Finley and Figg. He accepts a job as the firm's third attorney and, once he sobers up, decides to keep it. David adapts to a new practice of chasing ambulances, refereeing divorces, and drafting wills. And he is home for dinner with his family most nights.

David's new employers expect an easy win as minor players in a mass tort suit against drug manufactuer Varrick Labs. Krayoxx, one of Varrick's cholesterol drugs, has been linked to several deaths from weakened cardiac muscles. As they eagerly enter the fray, they begin counting--and spending--the anticipated settlement money. It doesn't quite work out that way and David ends up first-chairing an increasingly-desperate courtroom battle against his former law firm. It goes on from there.

Lighter than most Grisham tales, this story has some clever and amusing twists. A few characters turn out to be a little nicer than you expect. There are some well-written bad guys, too. And there's the signature Grisham theme of the little guy ignoring the call of the dollar to mix it up with the big guy's well-financed legal talent.

My daughter and I listened to the audio edition of this book during several weeks of car rides to high school, the gym, and the library. Katie and I both enjoyed her first Grisham book. We've since moved on to The Rainmaker. No regrets about the time spent with either of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good story as usual with Mr. Grisham, Feb. 1 2013
This review is from: The Litigators (Kindle Edition)
Good plot, fun characters and well written. Kept me turning pages all the way through. Looking forward to reading his next novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Boh-ring!, Nov. 21 2012
I am quite a fan of John Grisham, but I have to say this was such a boring book I could barely get through it! No real intrigue, no surprises, just a rather unambitious novel. : )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Litigators, Aug. 7 2014
By 
R. Masters (Hamilton, Ontario) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Litigators (Kindle Edition)
Excellent reading, especially if you are at all interested in legal matters and lawyers in general.
Many overlapping events and issues that keep your interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great book, June 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
great writing a little slow to start but has a very interesting story line . it held my attention all the way to the end. loved the ending
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Litigators
The Litigators by John Grisham (Hardcover - Oct. 25 2011)
CDN$ 31.00 CDN$ 19.44
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews