Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grisham At His Finest!!!
Have read all the Grisham's thus far, and absolutely loved this book. This book kept me guessing throughout and reminds me of the writing style of his earlier novels (ie: Time To Kill, Runaway Jury and The Chamber). Would definately recommend this to anyone who likes a good read that will keep you interested and guessing!
Published 21 months ago by Lyle Steele

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Should Be Called "Money Grab"
And I am not referring to the plot. Kudos to Mr. Grisham for creating a unique style within the mystery genre but this effort was on auto-pilot. One only has to read the author's note at the end which is an admission of sorts. The least enjoyable aspect was the main character. In his past novels the Grisham formula includes a main character that you empathize with and...
Published 21 months ago by Jeffrey Swystun


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Should Be Called "Money Grab", Nov. 24 2012
By 
Jeffrey Swystun (Toronto & Mont Tremblant) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Ce commentaire est de: The Racketeer (Paperback)
And I am not referring to the plot. Kudos to Mr. Grisham for creating a unique style within the mystery genre but this effort was on auto-pilot. One only has to read the author's note at the end which is an admission of sorts. The least enjoyable aspect was the main character. In his past novels the Grisham formula includes a main character that you empathize with and root for. In The Racketeer, I was actually hoping that the plot would see Malcolm Bannister get duped. I expect the author will return to form and may even innovate again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grisham At His Finest!!!, Nov. 10 2012
By 
Lyle Steele (Edmonton, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: The Racketeer (Hardcover)
Have read all the Grisham's thus far, and absolutely loved this book. This book kept me guessing throughout and reminds me of the writing style of his earlier novels (ie: Time To Kill, Runaway Jury and The Chamber). Would definately recommend this to anyone who likes a good read that will keep you interested and guessing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read anyway..., Nov. 5 2012
By 
The Rich (Brantford, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: The Racketeer (Hardcover)
Definitely not one of Grisham's best. He decides, in this book, that he is a black man. I'm not sure what effect he was going for, but it doesn't work because not actually being black himself, he can't write as if he were. He mentions several times in the book that he is feeling like he stands out, but it's neither relevant nor believable. He says in the author's note at the end of the book that he did no research and that is obvious as you read the book. Simply put, the story is not believable at all. It involves a "pile" of little gold bars which he is able to carry around and use as if it were currency. Still, it is written by Grisham and is therefore worth a read if only for his writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Goes down easy, utterly forgettable, Nov. 10 2012
By 
Rodge (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Ce commentaire est de: The Racketeer (Hardcover)
Grisham is writing as a black man, though I kept forgetting that he was supposedly black until he mentioned it again. Grisham is not really a suspense writer - his strength is writing books that go down smooth and easy. This one does that and tries to be a thriller as well with big twists and everything. The initial premise is thoroughly unbelievable and the twist that comes later even more so, primarily because the characters are not established with enough depth for us to believe in in much of anything they do. In spite of this, I don't really regret reading this. Love it or hate it, that's the power of Grisham.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced easy reading., July 31 2014
By 
J Reader (CANADA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: The Racketeer (Kindle Edition)
The Racketeer is a faced paced read, with drama, action, suspense and a good story.

A small town lawyer has found himself in prison for unknowingly getting involved with some unsavory characters. He has a plan to get out for good and no one not even us the readers know exactly what that plan is.

Grisham uses humour to make all of the characters likeable even the ones that you don't want to like. He has combined a blend of political drama, crime story who-dunnit, romance and intrigue to create a story that is certainly sensational but extreamly entertaining.

Anyone who enjoys a fun summer read will enjoy the Rackeeteer!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a ride!, March 19 2014
By 
Ce commentaire est de: The Racketeer (Kindle Edition)
Fast paced from start to finish. Main character was great throughout - lots of laughs about payback. Loved it...on to the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, Feb. 4 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: The Racketeer (Kindle Edition)
Once again John Grisham has created excellence. The Racketeer is written in such a way as to hold your attention from beginning to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, Jan. 9 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: The Racketeer (Kindle Edition)
Enough twists to keep you intrigued and coming back for more, I would highly
Recommend. Another excellent Grisham book, what's next
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, Jan. 9 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: The Racketeer: A Novel (Paperback)
Loved it. Enjoy all of Grisham's books. Thanks again for another great book. Can't put it down. Grab a coffee, tea, or whatever you like and get lost in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Grisham is Back with a Winner, Jan. 6 2014
Ce commentaire est de: The Racketeer: A Novel (Paperback)
I haven’t read a John Grisham book in a long time. This little gem was picked up recently and it was a pleasant surprise. It moved along at a good pace, had an excellent story line, first class dialogue, and will definitely keep the reader on the edge. It is one of the best books I’ve read in a long time and I thoroughly enjoyed every page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Racketeer
The Racketeer by John Grisham (Hardcover - Oct. 23 2012)
CDN$ 32.00 CDN$ 20.06
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews