Customer Reviews


164 Reviews
5 star:
 (124)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and Captivaring
As both an author and father of a child with Asperger's, I was drawn to this book to see if Haddon could truly capture the unique brilliance and absent social skills of an autistic boy. Not only does he succeed at the task, he adds a healthy dash of humor while avoiding the easy trap of pathos a lesser author might have fallen into. The book is stunning in its accuracy of...
Published on Sept. 15 2005 by Mark Wakely

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A light read
I found this book to be entertaining but not especially touching or engaging. After reading so many fabulous reviews I was disappointed after reading it. For people with no knowledge of autism this book can provide important insight into this world. I thought the book lacked direction but did a good job of developing the character and perspective of an autistic child.
Published on March 24 2005


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and Captivaring, Sept. 15 2005
By 
Mark Wakely (Lombard, Illinois) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time (Paperback)
As both an author and father of a child with Asperger's, I was drawn to this book to see if Haddon could truly capture the unique brilliance and absent social skills of an autistic boy. Not only does he succeed at the task, he adds a healthy dash of humor while avoiding the easy trap of pathos a lesser author might have fallen into. The book is stunning in its accuracy of how those with autism view the world and- just as important- how the world views them. It is this last viewpoint that elevates the book to more than just clever, because we see through Christopher's literal-minded eyes the duplicity of the "normal" world, the world that all assume must be superior. In a way, Haddon's book reminds me of that great short story "Gimpel the Fool" by Isaac Bashevis Singer, a story of a simple man who believes all the lies he's told. In the end, it's not those who tried to trick him, but Gimpel himself who's revealed to be the wisest one for remaining firm in his belief that goodness will prevail. So too does Christopher prevail, his detective work unveiling the truth and overcoming all the futile attempts to thwart or dismiss his meticulous investigation.
I don't know if I'll ever write a book with an autistic character, but thanks to Mr. Haddon, I feel like it's already been done for me.
Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Educating entertainment, May 25 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time (Paperback)
Mark Haddon's real-life experience with autistic children allowed him to craft this masterpiece by providing the perspective of a young autistic teenager's mind. Christopher's why of thinking - and consequently, his actions - make logical sense, but because he lacks a normal person's ability to make intuitive connections or understand the unspoken, Christopher has to rely on the imperfect set of rules he's learned about human behavior. Haddon is a subtle and sensitive writer, leaving it to us to draw the conclusions that Christopher can't. I thoroughly enjoyed Christopher's often poetic digressions on mathematics, religion, astronomy, and cosmology, which helped bring his character alive and provided humor as well as food for thought. This is a book that I highly recommend to everybody - it is not only an interesting read, but also a great learning experience. For the same reason (educating entertainment) I also recommend a series of 3 children's books titled "Why some cats are rascals"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A light read, March 24 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time (Paperback)
I found this book to be entertaining but not especially touching or engaging. After reading so many fabulous reviews I was disappointed after reading it. For people with no knowledge of autism this book can provide important insight into this world. I thought the book lacked direction but did a good job of developing the character and perspective of an autistic child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artfully Autistic, Feb. 11 2004
By 
Jacquelyn M. Martin (Akron, OH United States) - See all my reviews
If having autism could be demonstrated quite literally, this book is it! I have known many individuals with autism over the last 30 years and I saw many of them in the character of the narrator, Christopher. Christopher's character is the essence of the person with autism, who wants the world to be well-ordered and logical. He does mathematical equations in his head to get calm and I wish that would work for me!
I loved reading Christopher's thought processes thoughout the book. Christopher decides to investigate who murdered Wellington, the neighbor's dog. His father tells him to mind his own business and not investigate. But Christopher thinks about what Sherlock Holmes would do and investigates anyway. Christopher reasons that most people who kill others usually kill someone they know and are close to. He then reasons it would not unusual to be murdered by someone in your family on Christmas Day!
This book is a work of art and it provides pathos, wisdom and understanding to the curious world of people with autism in the daytime and the nighttime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Middle Ground, March 1 2005
This review is from: The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time (Paperback)
"The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time" is not an unenjoyable reading experience. It's alright. I wasn't overwhelmed, but I had no problem enjoying the book. I wouldn't put it on a "must read" list, but it's overall pretty good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enlightening book and a terrific debut novel, June 21 2003
By 
Excession "excession" (Westfield, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
This is a very unusual novel mostly because of the narrator's autism. Simple to read, the novel has an interesting rhythm to it as the reader becomes more familiar with Christopher's disability. While I initially thought it would become repetitive, the story takes some turns to make it a consistently enjoyable reading experience.
Christopher begins to write the book to solve the mystery of the murder of Wellington, a neighbor's dog, like his hero Sherlock Holmes. Along the way, we learn about his family situation, his view of the world, his idiosyncrasies, and his school life. He's not exactly an unreliable narrator, but the author does an excellent job of imagining the problems involved when the storyteller has autism and the story is consistent with this perspective.
While not a perfect book, I would recommend this highly, especially to people who want a fresh and different reading experience. It's not at all preachy, and it deals with a little understood disability with honesty; this reader came away from the book with a new understanding of the difficulties of dealing with autism. It is well worth your time to pick this one up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The book itself was so-so., June 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time (Paperback)
The book came in the time stated and was in the shape stated. The book itself was hard to get into and I had to force myself to finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great!, May 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time (Paperback)
this is a great book. the story is about a boy with autism, it's awsome, you guys should read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A book to have and share, April 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time (Paperback)
Read this book in English literature class . Gave it to a patient who had a grandson with autism . Can't deny the fact this is a very good book . Higly recommend if
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great read to understand the world we live in and ourselves, March 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time (Paperback)
I found this book quite bizzare at first. It offers a prospective of an autistic person on the world. It immitates the specifics of the logic of such person. It was quite hard to read it at first. Had it not been for my English teacher who decided that we were to read it for class, I would have dropped reading it right there. After having had the in-class discussions, I realized that this book is actually a great literary work as it expands one's outlook by introducing logic different from one's own. Also this book makes the reader learn more about themselves - how they feel about the people who are different from themselves and why. It is the book that helps reveal the truth in many ways - both about the society we live in and ourselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon (Paperback - May 18 2004)
CDN$ 19.95 CDN$ 14.40
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews