Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Rather Amazing Book
This book is sad - and infuriating. How can people be so shallow; how can things stack up so badly for such good people. Richards, once again, has his heroes misjudged by those who should know them best. This book, although at times awkward to read, is a strong story of revenge and spite. It reminded me a little of Jude the Obscure for some reason. Mr. Richards is an...
Published on April 2 2007 by Donald W Norris

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story, poorly written
The Friends of Meager Fortune has a good overall plot, which will keep you interested if you can get past the first 200 pages. The first half is, well, boring and has insufficient plot development. There are such long descriptions of the difficulties in New Brunswick forestry it makes you want to shout, "Ok, I get it!" The sentence structure is frequently awkward and...
Published on Oct. 5 2006 by David Hatherly


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Rather Amazing Book, April 2 2007
This book is sad - and infuriating. How can people be so shallow; how can things stack up so badly for such good people. Richards, once again, has his heroes misjudged by those who should know them best. This book, although at times awkward to read, is a strong story of revenge and spite. It reminded me a little of Jude the Obscure for some reason. Mr. Richards is an excellent writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful Book, Aug. 6 2013
By 
Elsa Paterson (Saint John, New Brunswick (Canada)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
David Adams Richards has done it again, reminding me why he is at the top of my contemporary author favourites list. As one of the earlier reviewers stated, even the horses pulling the sleds are fully developed characters. I found the details of the lumbering industry riveting and had no problem reading the descriptive passages. I for one am glad he included the details, as they drew me into the scenes and helped me understand what these men went through. Given the series of tragic misunderstandings and false speculations one after the other, I figured there was no way DAR could end this book on a satisfying note; however, at the last sentence, I said out loud, "Wow"! Like someone who has lost a pet and doesn't want to replace it right away, I couldn't imagine picking up another book of fiction before allowing this one to digest for awhile. It's a powerful book. What a writer he is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good story, poorly written, Oct. 5 2006
The Friends of Meager Fortune has a good overall plot, which will keep you interested if you can get past the first 200 pages. The first half is, well, boring and has insufficient plot development. There are such long descriptions of the difficulties in New Brunswick forestry it makes you want to shout, "Ok, I get it!" The sentence structure is frequently awkward and slows the reader.

That said, the story gets better in the latter sections and Richards does a great job of describing the end of an era of manual forestry. The final scene on the last logging day is riveting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing characters and a fast, galloping, twisting plot, Nov. 19 2009
By 
This review is from: The Friends of Meager Fortune (Paperback)
I could not put this book down. The plot keeps moving and twisting and creates much anticipation in the reader for what lies around the next turn - sometimes bordering on urgency and desperation. The characters are well-developed and realistic. You will really experience deep emotional reactions, whether to the peril and plight of the brave and innocent, or to the insults and injuries wreaked by the cowardly and wicked. Even the horses in the story are characters and heroes. This story is richly woven of so many different threads - survival in the wilderness and brutal weather; the small town rumor-mill; human jealousy, envy and pettiness; a case of mistaken identity; an innocent man wrongly accused; courtroom drama; family ties, loyalty and treachery. Truly one of the greatest novels I have ever read. Please do yourself a favour and read one of the most unforgettable stories ever written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great writer, April 27 2010
This review is from: The Friends of Meager Fortune (Paperback)
The author is very good at developing an excellent story about different characters within a town and how tragic life can be. I read two of his books in a row and found that it was too much tragidy for me at once. I will read more of his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Friends of Meager Fortune, Dec 16 2006
By 
Martin W. Dobbin "Marty Dobbin" (Whitehorse YK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The "Friends of Meager Fortune" is a good example of why a good editor would be appreciated by the reader. Richards has assembled some very interesting characters, situations and placed them in a dramatic setting, which should offer an fast paced and exciting story. Unfortunately the storyteller labours over the more mundane background events and seems to ignore the larger more interesting tale. I found it a frustrating experience and only read 2/3rds of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa1933fc0)

This product

The Friends of Meager Fortune
The Friends of Meager Fortune by David Adams Richards (Paperback - July 31 2007)
CDN$ 21.00 CDN$ 15.33
Usually ships in 11 to 14 days
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews