Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Realities of Modern Medicine
For those who don't like the short-story format, this is not the book for you. While there is no big deciding moment that unifies all these unique personal experiences of young doctors in the field, Lam manages to convey a very real sense of humanity in his characters as they struggle to understand the demands of their very challenging profession. These are professionals...
Published on May 31 2011 by Ian Gordon Malcomson

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Clinically engaging.
The author's style is stilted and clinical. The characters leave you with a faint taste of metal in your mouth or a squint as if you are looking at them from a distance. Somehow it all works. One shouldn't expect a book about a clinically detached scientific profession to read the same as One L for example. Different profession, different feel. If it were more...
Published on June 15 2007 by M. Catalano


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Realities of Modern Medicine, May 31 2011
By 
Ian Gordon Malcomson (Victoria, BC) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bloodletting and Miraculous Cures: Stories (Paperback)
For those who don't like the short-story format, this is not the book for you. While there is no big deciding moment that unifies all these unique personal experiences of young doctors in the field, Lam manages to convey a very real sense of humanity in his characters as they struggle to understand the demands of their very challenging profession. These are professionals who are forced to make decisions that are not always convenient or textbook in nature, while trying to meet the needs of their patients. I found this collection of literary vignettes on life in a modern hospital to be a fascinating read because they tell it as it is: not glamorous, downright disgusting, very stressful, and not always successful or popular. The benefit of having these tales presented in a short-story format is that the reader has a chance to select ones he or she can relate to: the first two dealing with life in medical school were especially appealing to me because I have always wondered what some of my friends have had to go through in order to become doctors, especially with so many personal issues crowding their lives. The story of how a young ER doctor deals with the emerging needs of a mentally disturbed patient is both humorous and enlightening. Overall, "Bloodletting and Miraculous Cures" appears to be an honest treatment of a very complex subject that can't be covered in some superficial novel-style like a Robin Cook medical thriller, because it is anything but. Being a medical doctor in Canada means being open to a maelstrom of unpredictable and quite often ordianaryy circumstances. Lam has the talent to present the mundane in such a way as to strike the reader as being crucial to the bigger picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Clinically engaging., June 15 2007
This review is from: Bloodletting and Miraculous Cures: Stories (Paperback)
The author's style is stilted and clinical. The characters leave you with a faint taste of metal in your mouth or a squint as if you are looking at them from a distance. Somehow it all works. One shouldn't expect a book about a clinically detached scientific profession to read the same as One L for example. Different profession, different feel. If it were more empathetically written I'm not sure it would ring as true. If you are looking for the literary equivalent of a fast paced episode of ER or a soapy drama like Grey's Anatomy I suggest that you will want to look elsewhere though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, June 7 2009
By 
MD (Toronto, ON) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bloodletting and Miraculous Cures: Stories (Paperback)
Thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was a nice way to gain insights into the lives of doctors and med school students in Canada. A very easy read! You don't have to be a doctor to find it interesting or to understand the subject mater.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straight to the Heart, Jan. 7 2008
By 
Anne Berndl - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bloodletting and Miraculous Cures: Stories (Paperback)
As an Obstetric Resident, Bloodletting was like speaking to someone who truly felt the intensity of the day- to-day life of a physician. I couldn't put it down, and read the whole thing front to back sitting lopsided in an uncomfortable chair. His story "an insistent tide" stuck a particular cord with me, he did an excellent job of capturing the acuity of a cord prolapse and the emotions that accompany the shift from a normal healthy birth to an emergency situation. My heart was pounding. Well done!
-Dr. Anne Berndl, Author; "So You Want to Be a Doctor, Eh?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bloodletting and Miraculous Cure, Feb. 20 2011
By 
C. Lau (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bloodletting and Miraculous Cures: Stories (Paperback)
I found the book thought provoking and emotional.
Great exterior. A few pages in bad condition, but considering the price- it was a steal!
Good delivery time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average tale of the medical world, Jan. 11 2007
By 
B. NH (Ottawa, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bloodletting and Miraculous Cures: Stories (Paperback)
As a medical student myself, I did not find this collection of short stories to be that powerful, captivating nor truly interesting. It was a quick read, but the characters weren't memorable. The stories are life-like, but seeing as I live this everyday, didn't find the stories too entertaining.

For medical stories, I preferred Complications by Atul Gawande. Despite Complications' documentary style, it was informative, funny and enlightening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit average, Nov. 14 2006
This review is from: Bloodletting and Miraculous Cures: Stories (Paperback)
This collection of short stories has some interesting moments, but the book is highly uneven, with some weak work towards the center that gets a bit better towards the end. This collection is not for readers who seek a memorable literary experience. The work is more akin to a reality TV show, and relies heavily on the drama that medicine affords gratis instead of literary virtuosity or masterful story telling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I don't read much but I enjoyed this book quite a lot, Aug. 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bloodletting and Miraculous Cures: Stories (Paperback)
Bought this book for school. I don't read much but I enjoyed this book quite a lot. Enough for me to actively get involved with discussions and write a final essay on it. Incredible book, I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloodletting and Miraculou Cures, Oct. 13 2008
By 
Mrs. Pam (Fonthill, ON, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bloodletting and Miraculous Cures: Stories (Paperback)
I immensely enjoyed Boodletting and Mraculous Cures. I couldn't put it down. Dr. Lam's book not only gave me a greater appreciation of what our doctors must go through in order to get to be doctors, but also, at the end of the day, reminds us they are people too. People who are dead tired at the end of thier work day too. People who fight with their spouses, then have to go to work. People who suffer from alcohol and drug problems. But, like a small majority of our work force, people who, when called to do so, put their lives on the line for us, their patients.

Another book to read after Bloodletting, How Doctors Think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Left wanting more, Oct. 2 2011
This review is from: Bloodletting and Miraculous Cures: Stories (Paperback)
It was disappointing to start getting into each short story then to be left hanging... I couldn't put the book down.

I can't wait to download the short series tv adaptation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bloodletting and Miraculous Cures: Stories
Bloodletting and Miraculous Cures: Stories by Vincent Lam (Paperback - Sept. 26 2006)
CDN$ 17.95 CDN$ 12.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews