countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Pets All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
9
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$26.21+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 30, 2013
I really enjoy Ross King's books. This is my third one and it delivers as well as e first two did. I love art and in particular the renaissance period. While I am familiar with many of the artists mentioned in the book, Mr
Ing brings them alive in a new and exciting way for me. The history covered here was of great interest to me and helped me clearly visualize the period of Leonardo Da Vinci's life. He covers not only the time of the creation for the fresco of the Last Supper but he years before and after. I always look forward to a Ross
King novel and was definitely not disappointed with this one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2013
This well written, well researched book details the history of one of the world's most famous paintings.

Literally, all aspects appear to be covered: Leonardo's own biography, the political, economic and military context that led to the painting's production, the contents of the work based on Biblical sources, the actual making of the painting, how it has (partially) withstood the trials of time, etc.

The writing style is lively and, despite the amount of information conveyed, the book is of reasonable length and constantly interesting.

The only shortcoming is the lay-out which is hopelessly traditional with rough grained black and white photographs inserted in the main text and all colour photos grouped together in a few pages in the middle of the book. It turns out that no colour photo of the fresco is actually provided!

Nevertheless, this book is strongly recommended to all interested in Italy, art or the Renaissance.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2013
The writer has obtained a lot of background history to this famous work and gives good technical explanations for its early deterioration and also the Ludovico Sfortza family. However he still comes across as a populist writer and he would have benefited from better editing. There is also more speculative aspects which could have made the book a little shorter if they had been omitted
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2013
I found Leonardo and the Last Supper by Ross King to be an immensely entertaining and informative book. This book traces the life of Leonardo da Vinci in and around the painting of his notoriously famous last supper mural. Not only is this a history of Leonardo’s art, but it is also a history of the political scene in Italy. Renaissance political figures, especially Ludovico Sforza, ruler of Milan, feature prominently. There are also many exciting battles within this book’s pages. I am inspired to read further in the field of Renaissance history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2012
This is a highly interesting read, filled with lots of backstory dealing with the times in Italy, the warring factions, French invasion, eccetera, as well as the story of Leonardo da Vinci's life, inspirations, ambitions and genius. Well researched and written in a very accessible style. Not fiction, but you know what they say - sometimes truth is stranger...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon September 28, 2013
Informative and good read. The book is not "dry" history, its actually very entertaining. I enjoyed this. Mr King is a good writer who gives the reader a wealth of information in an easily digestable format.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2015
Ross King once again details the world of Renaissance Italy with this complete story of never before heard behind the scenes look at the making of Leonardo's masterpiece. Enjoyed the book thoroughly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2015
A really good read. I find it difficult to put down once I start reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2016
Great story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse