Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leonardo and the last supper.
I really enjoy Ross King's books. This is my third one and it delivers as well as e first two did. I love art and in particular the renaissance period. While I am familiar with many of the artists mentioned in the book, Mr
Ing brings them alive in a new and exciting way for me. The history covered here was of great interest to me and helped me clearly visualize the...
Published 17 months ago by Sue DiBattista

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read.
The writer has obtained a lot of background history to this famous work and gives good technical explanations for its early deterioration and also the Ludovico Sfortza family. However he still comes across as a populist writer and he would have benefited from better editing. There is also more speculative aspects which could have made the book a little shorter if they...
Published 17 months ago by Dr. Brien R. Roy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leonardo and the last supper., Jan. 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I really enjoy Ross King's books. This is my third one and it delivers as well as e first two did. I love art and in particular the renaissance period. While I am familiar with many of the artists mentioned in the book, Mr
Ing brings them alive in a new and exciting way for me. The history covered here was of great interest to me and helped me clearly visualize the period of Leonardo Da Vinci's life. He covers not only the time of the creation for the fresco of the Last Supper but he years before and after. I always look forward to a Ross
King novel and was definitely not disappointed with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable read., Jan. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Leonardo and the Last Supper (Hardcover)
The writer has obtained a lot of background history to this famous work and gives good technical explanations for its early deterioration and also the Ludovico Sfortza family. However he still comes across as a populist writer and he would have benefited from better editing. There is also more speculative aspects which could have made the book a little shorter if they had been omitted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, Nov. 24 2013
By 
Pierre Gauthier (Montréal) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This well written, well researched book details the history of one of the world's most famous paintings.

Literally, all aspects appear to be covered: Leonardo's own biography, the political, economic and military context that led to the painting's production, the contents of the work based on Biblical sources, the actual making of the painting, how it has (partially) withstood the trials of time, etc.

The writing style is lively and, despite the amount of information conveyed, the book is of reasonable length and constantly interesting.

The only shortcoming is the lay-out which is hopelessly traditional with rough grained black and white photographs inserted in the main text and all colour photos grouped together in a few pages in the middle of the book. It turns out that no colour photo of the fresco is actually provided!

Nevertheless, this book is strongly recommended to all interested in Italy, art or the Renaissance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Give me more Renaissance!, Nov. 11 2013
I found Leonardo and the Last Supper by Ross King to be an immensely entertaining and informative book. This book traces the life of Leonardo da Vinci in and around the painting of his notoriously famous last supper mural. Not only is this a history of Leonardo’s art, but it is also a history of the political scene in Italy. Renaissance political figures, especially Ludovico Sforza, ruler of Milan, feature prominently. There are also many exciting battles within this book’s pages. I am inspired to read further in the field of Renaissance history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, Sept. 28 2013
By 
Bootsy Bass (Winnipeg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Informative and good read. The book is not "dry" history, its actually very entertaining. I enjoyed this. Mr King is a good writer who gives the reader a wealth of information in an easily digestable format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Leonardo & The Last Supper, Dec 29 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a highly interesting read, filled with lots of backstory dealing with the times in Italy, the warring factions, French invasion, eccetera, as well as the story of Leonardo da Vinci's life, inspirations, ambitions and genius. Well researched and written in a very accessible style. Not fiction, but you know what they say - sometimes truth is stranger...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Leonardo and the Last Supper
Leonardo and the Last Supper by Ross King (Hardcover - Sept. 25 2012)
CDN$ 34.95 CDN$ 21.91
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews