Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy This Book !
I have long been a fan of Carrick's Globe & Mail column. This book continues & expands upon many topics. It is written in a candid, non-jargon style without pages of charts & other filler. All the advice is succinct & well thought out. The author is not afraid to praise or criticize various investment types & companies. I enjoy his no nonsense approach to helping readers...
Published on Jan. 21 2010 by Glenn McM

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very ,very basic info
I purchased this in the hope of learning more about Canadian investments and techniques.Unfortunately ,for me at least, it was too basic.
I think it would be a good starter book ,but for me any way It did not turn out to be useful and it was a boring read.
Published 15 months ago by Gary Myers


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy This Book !, Jan. 21 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rob Carrick's Guide to What's Good, Bad and Downright Awful in Canadian Investments Today (Paperback)
I have long been a fan of Carrick's Globe & Mail column. This book continues & expands upon many topics. It is written in a candid, non-jargon style without pages of charts & other filler. All the advice is succinct & well thought out. The author is not afraid to praise or criticize various investment types & companies. I enjoy his no nonsense approach to helping readers make an informed decision on how to invest their savings. You owe it to yourself to get this book. It is an excellent guide for both beginners & experienced investors who are looking for guidance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, Sept. 22 2010
By 
IronM (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rob Carrick's Guide to What's Good, Bad and Downright Awful in Canadian Investments Today (Paperback)
I think everyone in Canada should read this book. At this point in time the majority of Canadians are responsible for not just selecting investments for our RRSPs but we're responsible for our Pensions as well. This book will help you make some intelligent decisions in your investments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid, sound advice throughout, Jan. 18 2011
This review is from: Rob Carrick's Guide to What's Good, Bad and Downright Awful in Canadian Investments Today (Paperback)
This is a book that merits, and repays, careful and attentive reading cover to cover. Experienced and knowledgeable investors can skip introductory paragraphs and move straight to the details.

One caution: the principles of sound investing remain constant but any specific stock market advice inevitably becomes out-of-date, so check for the current position when considering specific placements of your money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CARRICK is on your side!!!!!!!!!!!, Sept. 4 2011
This review is from: Rob Carrick's Guide to What's Good, Bad and Downright Awful in Canadian Investments Today (Paperback)
I am a fan of CARRICK.

He writes for the regular Joe who wants to get ready for retirement.
Very easy to understand, and I use the book as a reference weekly.
I have told so many people about this book.
He is like the Investment version of the Canadian Tax payers Federation, keeping an eye on
abuse in the investment community. By either poor performing Funds or just ridiculously high fees.
I highly recommend this book. You will not get a better bang for your buck anywhere, period!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very easy and helpful read, Feb. 22 2011
This review is from: Rob Carrick's Guide to What's Good, Bad and Downright Awful in Canadian Investments Today (Paperback)
I found this book to be most interesting and helpful to my investment decisions and education. It is written in the author's typical unbiased manner, who always says things as they are. Very easy to understand by all, including the investments novice. I have strongly recommended to friends of mine who are looking for good ideas and tips to improve their investment strategies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent INDEPENDENT Advice!, Feb. 16 2010
By 
John Woolsey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rob Carrick's Guide to What's Good, Bad and Downright Awful in Canadian Investments Today (Paperback)
I have read Rob Carrick's investment articles in the Globe & Mail for a long time now and this book is a concise summary of his best advice. He is an advocate for any investor, has no investment firm bias and will save you money!
No nonsense, clear explanations of the market....boy, does he "un-muddy" the water!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lifesaver!, July 5 2012
This review is from: Rob Carrick's Guide to What's Good, Bad and Downright Awful in Canadian Investments Today (Paperback)
A fantastic book for investing newbies. I was never able to truly piece together all financial products out there before this book. Rob goes through lots of financial products in a very clear way, but also wrote the book so the reader can read chapters on their own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome read, Dec 19 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rob Carrick's Guide to What's Good, Bad and Downright Awful in Canadian Investments Today (Paperback)
Just received the book 2 days ago and I really enjoy the no non-sense, no holds barred view of Rob Carricks view of Canadian investing. Not quite finished yet but I can already recommend this as a read. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read!, April 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rob Carrick's Guide to What's Good, Bad and Downright Awful in Canadian Investments Today (Paperback)
Carrick brings his points across very well and adds a touch of humour. I think it suits a beginner investor who still believes investment firms and banks act in the interest of their clients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional, Jan. 23 2010
By 
byethesea "Chris" (New Brunswick Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rob Carrick's Guide to What's Good, Bad and Downright Awful in Canadian Investments Today (Paperback)
Excellent and detailed...provides specific details rather than just general suggestions for investing...a must have for any investor..bought copies for all my 5 kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rob Carrick's Guide to What's Good, Bad and Downright Awful in Canadian Investments Today
CDN$ 19.95 CDN$ 14.56
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews