march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage snsflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools Family

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars15
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 19, 2013
Just received the book 2 days ago and I really enjoy the no non-sense, no holds barred view of Rob Carricks view of Canadian investing. Not quite finished yet but I can already recommend this as a read. Enjoy!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2013
I purchased this in the hope of learning more about Canadian investments and techniques.Unfortunately ,for me at least, it was too basic.
I think it would be a good starter book ,but for me any way It did not turn out to be useful and it was a boring read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2013
Carrick brings his points across very well and adds a touch of humour. I think it suits a beginner investor who still believes investment firms and banks act in the interest of their clients.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2012
A fantastic book for investing newbies. I was never able to truly piece together all financial products out there before this book. Rob goes through lots of financial products in a very clear way, but also wrote the book so the reader can read chapters on their own.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon October 21, 2011
Rob Carrick is a prolific writer, of books as well as journalism, about personal finances, real estate, etc. His style and manner of conveying information are marvels of clarity. Some have criticised his background of studies in journalism, rather than in business, but perhaps it is his journalistic orientation that helps him to avoid the conformist mindset, and rigidly unworkable and outdated theories behind them, of Bay Street and of Wall Street.

One probably should seek out that more purely professional advice on finance and balance it with what hard-hitting, non-conforming (to the business elties) Carrick has to say about the same matters despite the mindset of the business community, which often is far from having the average individual's interests uppermost in mind, even in Canada, where regulation protects the public's interest, and most certainly does not so regard the public with any kindesss in that cynically greed- and corruption-beset, callously unregulated (or very insufficiently regulated) banana republic, the U. S. of A., or in the U.K.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2011
I am a fan of CARRICK.

He writes for the regular Joe who wants to get ready for retirement.
Very easy to understand, and I use the book as a reference weekly.
I have told so many people about this book.
He is like the Investment version of the Canadian Tax payers Federation, keeping an eye on
abuse in the investment community. By either poor performing Funds or just ridiculously high fees.
I highly recommend this book. You will not get a better bang for your buck anywhere, period!!!!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2011
Carrick is without a doubt one of the least informed 'experts' in financial advice, yet is legitimized by the fact that the Globe and Mail hasn't had anyone else to write for them for many years. The advice he gives is one-sided, without experience and without the practical implications beyond what sounds good. I would consider his advice if Rob had any actual industry experience or accreditation, but his degree in journalism isn't quite up to what makes him a self-professed expert. Talk about buyer-beware with this one...
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2011
I found this book to be most interesting and helpful to my investment decisions and education. It is written in the author's typical unbiased manner, who always says things as they are. Very easy to understand by all, including the investments novice. I have strongly recommended to friends of mine who are looking for good ideas and tips to improve their investment strategies.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2011
This is a book that merits, and repays, careful and attentive reading cover to cover. Experienced and knowledgeable investors can skip introductory paragraphs and move straight to the details.

One caution: the principles of sound investing remain constant but any specific stock market advice inevitably becomes out-of-date, so check for the current position when considering specific placements of your money!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2010
I think everyone in Canada should read this book. At this point in time the majority of Canadians are responsible for not just selecting investments for our RRSPs but we're responsible for our Pensions as well. This book will help you make some intelligent decisions in your investments.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse