biss boutiques-francophones Learn more Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Own the 2016 GRAMMY Nominee Album featuring the Biggest Hits from Music's Biggest Night vd2016beauty Exercice Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars32
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: HardcoverChange
Price:$22.45+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 31, 2015
Fantastic book. Great story.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2015
Enjoyed this book very much! Bought it after I had read another book from this author.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2015
Paula Mclain writes in a direct style which in its straightforwardness mimics the style of the central character of the novel, Ernest Hemingway. Strangely, I knew Hemingway's family in Michigan many years ago, and can attest to the accuracy of the facts used in this semi-historical novel. The book brought forward not only the character of Hemingway, but the frothy times in which he and his Paris wife lived in that city. The wife's character becomes pivotal to the development of the author's notorious life, and adds a dimension of humanity and realism.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2015
found book too long and it was boring.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2015
Definitely worth reading.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2015
Wonderful
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2014
the wife of Hemingway.. true intimate details of Hemingway's delicious life. Book club choice and seller sent it int time for our club meeting
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2014
I simply loved reading this book. It wasn't hard to get into the story, as it is based on the life of Ernest Hemingway. That era of writers is fascinating as they all struggled to get published, while hanging out in Paris and living a life of partying, drinking and seemingly a glamorous life. Hemingway was a womanizer which made it so difficult for his "Paris" wife.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2014
Do you mean to say to whom would you recommend this book.? One of the reasons for only 4 stars was the poor grammar at times. However, I felt his could be excused since the narrative was written as if by Hadley.
The reader is drawn Into the lives and lifestyle of the two central characters who quickly become acquaintances I felt most connected to Hadley and despite the fact that her life was happy again, I still felt her great sense if a real love which was kost
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2014
The story of Hadley and her life with Ernest Hemingway was obviously well researched and beautifully executed. I felt as if I got to know her personally. Well done.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$10.99