march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage SmartSaver Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars37
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$22.23+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 1, 2016
Captivating and well written.. Highly recommend..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2016
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Although fiction but based on real people it prompted me to research Ernest Hemingway and his life including the women in his life. Any book that makes you want more information is a worthy read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2016
I thoroughly enjoyed riding alongside the arrogance and genius of the famous authors and poets of the day. Having a glimpse into their day to day struggles, high and lows, was both inspiring, humbling and human.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2016
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2016
This book was well written. However I had trouble identifying with the characters especially with Hemingway. This book was meant to represent the characters as they were in "real" life. Not familiar with Hemingway's work I was frustrated with him and felt he was not a nice man. I was motivated to finish it because I really wanted to like him. In the end I was glad I had read it, because I did get a glimpse of that era. Although I had a hard time relating to the "lifestyle" I felt Paula Mclain wrote an honest and interesting story. She made no apologies, nor try to represent Hemingway in any other way than what he was - it is what it is!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2015
Fantastic book. Great story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2015
Enjoyed this book very much! Bought it after I had read another book from this author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2015
Paula Mclain writes in a direct style which in its straightforwardness mimics the style of the central character of the novel, Ernest Hemingway. Strangely, I knew Hemingway's family in Michigan many years ago, and can attest to the accuracy of the facts used in this semi-historical novel. The book brought forward not only the character of Hemingway, but the frothy times in which he and his Paris wife lived in that city. The wife's character becomes pivotal to the development of the author's notorious life, and adds a dimension of humanity and realism.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2015
found book too long and it was boring.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2015
Definitely worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse