Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Countdown to Black Friday in Lawn & Garden

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars74
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 18, 2015
It has been one of my most favourite pieces I read this year though mostly for the visuals. Erin Morgenstern's background in visual artist bled through the text creating a world I couldn't wait to crawl into. The main relationship in the story I had mixed feelings about and found the time frames confusing, but overall worth it for the chance to run away into the Circus.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2015
The last time I felt so softly satisfied about a book, was with my first introduction to Neil Gaiman. I loved the imagery and the storytelling. Erin Morgenstern has taken a seat next to Gaiman at the enjoyable table of luscious storytelling. The Night Circus reads like a rich oil painting that shifts into un-rushed intent and emotion. The more you stare at the this painting, the more engaged your attention becomes with little to no strain. The characters are colourful even without much intense details. And the story is fresh, and fulfilling. Like a cup of your favourite warm beverage on a rainy afternoon where you have no where to go, and so you just enjoy the lush story in your hand.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2015
“The Night Circus” by Erin Morgenstern is a powerful tale of pure magic presented as a rich physical and metaphorical creation. At the core of Le Cirque des Rêves – which is open only from sunset to sunrise – is a deadly contest between two rivals whose identities remain hidden from each other till much later in the game. Real magic wielded by them is showcased as the tricks and illusions that create this impossible circus.

The inception and birth of the circus, the fantastic clock where each hour creates a whole new drama in and around the clock, the magical cauldron of fire lit on opening night by 12 archers, the labyrinth in the sky, the bedtime stories in jars, the pool of tears … this story is filled with countless magical moments and surprising events. Creating this circus, where (barring one mysterious exception) no one is born, no one ages and no one dies, are fascinating characters with fantastic stories narrated through alternating flashbacks to the beginnings of the circus, current experiences, and almost a flashforward as we follow the adventures of Bailey.

Amid all the enchanting mists, we are of course never allowed to forget the main plot: the challenge - what is it? who is it between? who will decide the winner? based on what points? … The underlying mystery, started by the man who “has no shadow” is something that we, along with the chosen contestants, must slowly discover with time. For when that realization dawns, and the Circus begins to disintegrate, we truly see the powerful darkness that abounds all around.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2015
The circus is a magical event. Most people only go to one or two in their lives. When they are very young, teenage years with friends, or taking your own child there. You see them in the distance; large tents striped in the colors red, white or yellow. One or several tents, the circuses serves fun for the whole family. From bears on unicycles, to terrifying clowns, all the way to acrobats and magicians. Those seemed to be the basics of a circus. Which is why when Le Cirque des Reves comes to town, it is an unordinary event.

Le Cirque des Reves is French for The Circuses of Dreams as it is only open from when the sun goes down till it goes up again. The circus is made up of two colors: black and white. Everything for the tents to the circus people's outfits to the color of the flames at the bonfire are either black or white. There are several tents to the circus, with new ones keep being added. From the Ice Garden, Wishing Tree which are new, to the old and loveable tents like the Fortune Teller and the Illusions. All of these tents travel the world without signs, or anyone knowing where they will land next. You would be walking by a normally empty field, yet this morning the circus would be set up. Next week it will be gone until reports show its somewhere thousands miles away. That is the true magic of Le Cirque des Reves.

The true magic of Le Cirque des Reves is not the tents, but the people themselves. The book starts off with one of our main stars Celia when she was six. She and her father are both illusions, but what they do is more than an illusion. Some call it magic, they prefer to call it manipulation. Where Celia father was harsh on her, he was doing it all for… not love but for the game. Yes a game. Where he and another illusionist pit their students against each other, to see which was survives. Bounded together by a ring the games goes on for years, with the only ending being in death of one. Yet her opponent remains a mystery. Celia spends years training to become a better “illusions” with her father’s harsh methods of particle teaching. Yet she manages to withstand the training and move out on her own after her father’s passing. Celia then is off to find work, and at none other than the illusionist tryout for Le Cirque des Reves. Having her father known to all, Celia dazzles the judges and gets the job. There she meets many interesting people and literally becomes the heart of the circus. The circus is the root of the problem. It is where she meets her opponent and has to battle them to death. It is where she falls in love, disobey her father, and eventually passes on to a new world only illusionist have even heard about.

Erin Morgenstern did a fantastic job with this one of a kind book. The story line is fantastic and so different that you have no predictions on what will happen next. The time jumping is a little strange and confusing, same with the switching of points of views. At parts it did not flow as each chapter change brought you in a completely different setting and time. The book was hard to get into at first. It was not till around a hundred pages in did I get the writing concept. And yes I’ll agree that the start is extremely boring but do not give up. Soon it becomes a captivating book that you will never want to put down. It had the best ending that could be hated and love which just tops off this novel.

Check out more of my book reviews at
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2015
This was a fabulous read. Dreamlike and full of imagery with interesting characters. Generally not my genre of choice but I thoroughly enjoyed it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2015
Simply breathtaking. I have no other words.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2015
This was beautifully written and the story weaves back and forth, getting more intriguing as it goes along. Really enjoyed it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2015
"The circus arrives without warning.
No announcements precede it, no paper notices on downtown posts and billboards, no mentions or advertisements in local newspapers. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not."

In the past, I've never been one to read a lot of fantasy. But if I keep coming across books like, THE NIGHT CIRCUS, I'll be a fan of the genre in no time. Kudos to Erin Morgenstern for coming up with something so imaginative. This novel takes you places. I felt like I was being sucked into each page. I cannot say enough about this book. You need to discover it for yourself.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2015
Very interesting book I liked it very much.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2015
For fans of fantasy, this would be a winner. The descriptions of the circus were indeed magical but I got lost somewhere along the way between the myriad details, characters, plots and overall direction of this book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
By Erin Morgenstern - The Night Circus
By Erin Morgenstern - The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern (Hardcover - Aug. 29 2011)

The Paper Magician
The Paper Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg (Paperback - Sept. 1 2014)
CDN$ 15.43

Vampires in the Lemon Grove: And Other Stories
Vampires in the Lemon Grove: And Other Stories by Karen Russell (Paperback - Jan. 14 2014)
CDN$ 13.99