Customer Reviews


179 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book.
Amazing book. I need not say more, Chuck P. never ceases to captivate me. This book starts out leading you to believe it will remain a tragic story about a family and the hardships that seem to stem from the acquisition of their new house and this new *book of lullabies*, but it steers you in a completely weird, macabre and fantastical direction. 2 thumbs up!
Published 29 days ago by Justin Ward

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars observer of the absurd
What first fascinated me was the "culling song" plot element. Really the only part of the synopsis you need to know is "The consequences of media saturation are the basis for an urban nightmare in Lullaby. Assigned to write a series of feature articles investigating SIDS, troubled newspaper reporter Carl Streator begins to notice a pattern among the cases...
Published on June 22 2004 by KimberleyM


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great book., July 2 2014
By 
Justin Ward (Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lullaby (Paperback)
Amazing book. I need not say more, Chuck P. never ceases to captivate me. This book starts out leading you to believe it will remain a tragic story about a family and the hardships that seem to stem from the acquisition of their new house and this new *book of lullabies*, but it steers you in a completely weird, macabre and fantastical direction. 2 thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sing me to sleep, March 23 2007
This review is from: Lullaby (Paperback)
Who would have thought that Palahniuk's LULLABY would be such a knock-out book? The power of words has no equal. They can inform, inspire, motivate, pacify and entertain. Words can also hurt, deceive, and kill. Kill? You know that words have inspired others to kill, but what if words themselves could kill? In LULLABY, the new novel by Chuck Palahniuk, words have exactly that power. I'm not going to give anything away, because I want you to read it with no preconceptions or knowledge of the subject matter. If you've already read a review. Too late, but you'll still enjoy it. Chuck has taken his ablilities in a slightly new (The book is still 100% vintage Palahniuk) with wonderful results. Highly recommended, along with another great Amazon by Jackson T. McCrae titled "Katzenjammer."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lullabies and Culling, Jan. 11 2003
This review is from: Lullaby: A Novel (Hardcover)
The only other exposure I have had to the work of this writer, Chuck Palahniuk, was the cinema version of his work, "Fight Club". If you have seen the film you already know how original a thinker he is, and while I don't know how much the story changed from book to screen, I had no trouble recognizing, "Lullaby", as the work of the same writer. I even found myself placing the same actors in the primary roles in this book that appeared in the previous film.
"Lullaby", is thought provoking at a minimum, and will take you to areas of conduct that are still among some subjects that virtually all will consider taboo. An example is Necrophilia which I think will make most people feel they are reading material that will cause varying degrees of discomfort. The entire book is meant to press the darkest buttons inside of readers, Mr. Palahniuk will venture wherever he decides his story needs to go, he offers no respite, no safe haven. Whether you like this style or not I think it is refreshing to find an author that will go in to the darkest areas of human nature, not to be puerile or exploitative, rather to utilize material that is a valid piece of his tale. He is not afraid of offending, or perhaps he is just completely honest, he writes what he needs to write, if some are put off and he sells less books, so be it. The man is not commercial.
Placing topic aside for a moment and turning to style, I find this writer's work to be original in how he presents detail. Colors play a large part in this book, so when he needs to use green it becomes much more than simply green. He describes the green that appears on the felt of a pool table, but only when the red number 3 ball is upon the felt, as opposed to the yellow number 1. Or green is not lime but rather like the color of key lime pie, not avocado but avocado bisque topped with a thin sliver of lemon. This level of description is not meant as sleight of hand or an effort to fill space; it makes the reading incredibly rich, or perhaps lush
Mr. Palahniuk is not for everyone but if you like stepping away from what you usually read, and take a bit of a risk, you may be pleasantly surprised and appropriately rewarded. This writer follows only his own path.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars observer of the absurd, June 22 2004
By 
KimberleyM (Austin, TX USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lullaby (Paperback)
What first fascinated me was the "culling song" plot element. Really the only part of the synopsis you need to know is "The consequences of media saturation are the basis for an urban nightmare in Lullaby. Assigned to write a series of feature articles investigating SIDS, troubled newspaper reporter Carl Streator begins to notice a pattern among the cases he encounters..."

You don't need to read more as it will give away some plot points that are nice to discover rather than having them exposed on the dust jacket.
The culling spell leads to even more old world spells which when used in modern day have some interesting applications... so of course I suggest it because it has magic and as one review put it "it's chock full of eco-hippie rhetoric and nihilistic tendencies".
But I also found some beautiful paragraphs about color - yes it was the artist in me that drooled over these - and moments of startling profundity that awaken the reader to the absurdity of modern culture and make you wonder whose world is crazier - his or ours. This is a modern day Film Noir pulp detective story - complete with haggard-life-weary detective. It's got a lot of dark and dry humor and is a little gritty.
Half way through it get even more surreal and though I finished it I thought there were two books under one binding... I was not as enthralled with the second half. In Fight Club I identified with Marla (yeah say what you will) in this one I'm just an observer of the absurd.

Give it a peek and see what you think. But if you did not like or see moments of profundity of the counter culture statements in Fight Club you won't like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Palahniuk Starter, June 10 2004
By 
Daveda J. Campbell "tcmanifesto" (Friendswood, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lullaby (Paperback)
In a Guardian Online interview, Chuck claimed that this book would be the best book for a Palahniuk novice to enter his world of eco-hippe rhetoric and nihilistic tendencies. Having only read two of his books(This and Fight Club), I enjoyed the socially conscious message that Chuck sends through both the Protagonist and Antagonist of the story. The plot can best be described as surreal. The absurdity of the wiccan lovers and the necrophiliac co-worker and succesful real estate agent all mingling to obtain the source of the culling lullaby is laughable(in a good way). Overall the most powerful impression this book leaves is the affect that we have on the environment, how we willingly rape the land of its natural resources and habitat and slaughter animals for our own self-interests pushed me in the direction of vegetarianism or at least incited me to accept the validity of the vegan lifestyle.
Fun book that Chuck sprinkles with statements of profundity that will take your mind off the crazy store and apply much of what happens to your own life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Enough, June 10 2004
This review is from: Lullaby (Paperback)
I bought this on a whim since i had read most of Fight Club and loved that book. I have to say I was pretty disappointed with this book. I haven't read any other books by Palahniuk, so i dont' know if this is just his style of writing or what, but it felt as though it had the same exact tempo as fight club but without the great outcome and story to go with it. I think if maybe it was just a bit shorter and a lot of parts were left out or more developed it would have been better, not sure though. Overall it was still a pretty decent book, but i don't really think i have any intention of going and reading it again any time soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Infanticide and all the things that go with it, June 2 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Lullaby: A Novel (Hardcover)
Few authors will tackle the subjects that Palahniuk does, and even fewer would be able to carry them off as a novel once undertaken, but with a master storyteller like Mr. P, you can't go wrong. Yes, we're all familiar by now with FIGHT CLUB and his other works (INVISIBLE MONSTERS was my favorite), but just when you think he's going to run aground, he pulls another rabbit out of the hat and surprises all of us. With its themes of infanticide, LULLABY is reminiscent of Jackson McCrae's BARK OF THE DOGWOOD. With its cinematic overtones and pacing, it is like Palahinuk's INVISIBLE MONSTERS or FIGHT CLUB. All-in-all, this is one great read. But then, this guy doesn't write anything that's not top notch. Great read. Great fun. Like all of his works, not for the faint-of-heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars it is still Chuck Palahniuk, but its not his best, May 21 2004
By 
SergeNYC "sergenyc" (Staten Island, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lullaby (Paperback)
It's an excellent book, but
It's not as
hilarious as Choke
big as Survivor
outrageous as Invisible Monsters
or fun as Fight Club
With that said, it is still excellent and its still Chuck Palahniuk
It's like getting into the newer model of BMW. Maybe the new model doesn't offer anything new and groundbreaking to the automotive industry, but it's still a BMW ;)
While you read it, you might get to the point where you feel this is not as good as....... but right then he pulls the rabbit out of the hat and you realize he still got it.
Final Verdict: the book is not a step up or ground breaking stuff, but it's not a step down. The book is still very entertaining and appealing to Chuck Palahniuk's fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars This book sucks, May 19 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Lullaby: A Novel (Hardcover)
Being a fan of Chuck Palahniuk's previous works I was looking forward to reading this. The problem with this novel is that it is way too farfetched. Culling songs are not only retarded, but unrealistic. As a previous reviewer noted, this would have been great if it was made into a short story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lullaby, May 19 2004
By 
Josh Daniels "jd83" (Maple Grove, MN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lullaby (Paperback)
"Lullaby" is a story about a reporter (Carl Streader) who is working on a story for Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS.) Through his research for the story, he makes a startling discovery -- a poem that is printed in a children's book, called the "Culling Song," causes death to its listeners. The story follows Carl in his quest to destroy all of the copies of the Culling Song, and he gets mixed up with other characters who share his secret of the poem's power, if not his desire to destroy it.
I was drawn to this book because I really enjoyed the movie "Fight Club," and "Lullaby" possesses alot of the same angry undertones that made Fight Club entertaining. The book started out very strong. Palahniuk seems to have a gift for creating intelligent, edgy, and angry characters who go on rants that feel like they were borne from blast furnaces. Another thing I notice in the book that you can't detect in the movie is his unique way of describing things. Green is not good enough, he describes green as the reflection off of the yellow ball on the pool table rather than the red one. I like that.
This story does bog down a little bit. He spends much too much time on a road trip scene, and he tries to develop a love interest for Carl that feels like a movie where the two love interests are just plain miscast, (i.e., Keanu Reeves and anybody...just kidding.) These parts of the book are slower, but they do not undo all the good that Palahniuk created in the beginning of his story.
This story, though probably one of the author's weaker ones, was very entertaining to a first time reader, and I am excited to read more of his works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lullaby
Lullaby by Chuck Palahniuk (Paperback - July 29 2003)
CDN$ 18.00 CDN$ 13.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews