Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mrs. Q: Book Addict : Visit my blog for newest reviews.
Words cannot describe how amazing this book is. A short read, but it has a huge impact on the reader. I had to read the ending twice, because I just couldn't believe it. I was shocked, and stunned. It should be a compulsory read, especially for young adults. This book should go hand and hand with "Night" by Eli Weisel. I wish I could give in 10 stars because it really...
Published on Feb. 26 2008 by Mrs. Q: Book Addict

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting plot but so-so writing quality
This is a fiction book geared towards 9- to 12-year-olds. The reader gradually learns who the hero of the book is, through his recalling recent events in his family's move from Berlin to "Out-With".The plot is fairly interesting and the character development not too bad. The author should have continuously reminded himself, though, that he should be speaking and thinking...
Published on Jan. 14 2007 by yermither


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mrs. Q: Book Addict : Visit my blog for newest reviews., Feb. 26 2008
Ce commentaire est de: The Boy in the Striped Pajamas (Paperback)
Words cannot describe how amazing this book is. A short read, but it has a huge impact on the reader. I had to read the ending twice, because I just couldn't believe it. I was shocked, and stunned. It should be a compulsory read, especially for young adults. This book should go hand and hand with "Night" by Eli Weisel. I wish I could give in 10 stars because it really deserves it. My local book store has it on the "16 books you should read before you die" list. Honestly, you want a fast read that is simply amazing...GO BUY THIS BOOK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Moving, Oct. 15 2014
By 
Toni Osborne "The Way I See It" (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This is an unforgettable and a small wonder of a book. A Holocaust drama that explores the horror of WW11 seen through the eyes of Bruno, the eight year old son of the commandant at a concentration camp called “Out With” and of a Jewish inmate of the same age called Shmuel.

The strength is in the narrative which mires the preoccupations of child’s curiosity and interest in the high-wired compound inhabited by sad people in striped pyjamas. It is an effortless read that puts us directly into Bruno’s and Shmuel’s worldview.

Bruno is an explorer by heart and after doing so around the house he decides to do some of the area. After an hour or so he discovers Shmuel, a boy behind the fence in the camp. They start to talk about their life and every day they meet at the same spot. Till one day, Shmuel’s father goes missing and Bruno wants to help his friend find him. He changes into the striped pyjamas, climbs under the fence and explores Shmuel’s world……

This fabrication of the author’s imagination is elegantly written and very moving. Although not particularly graphic or dark it will nevertheless leave a deep impact in any reader’s minds. Mr. Boyne is a master in depicting the setting and capturing the character’s emotions. The style is meant for the eyes of Young people therefore it may seem a bit simplistic for grown-ups, so with this in mind be prepare to read a sanitised version of the period, one with little historical significance and enjoy it for what it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, Aug. 25 2007
What an incredible story! John Boyne has created innocent, naïve Bruno and given him a powerful story to tell. This moving book should be required reading for everyone.

Set in the 1940's in Berlin, Germany, the story centers around a nine-year-old German boy named Bruno. His family leaves Berlin to move to the country because his father has been reassigned by the "Fury." Bruno's youth and innocence has protected him from the harsh realities of Hilter and his reign of terror.

Life in the country is dull and boring for Bruno. He doesn't understand his new home, "Out-With." He's left his friends behind and doesn't like the smaller house he's forced to live in with his parents and his sister. Missing the hustle and bustle of the city, Bruno begins to explore his new surroundings. Beyond the fence near his house, he sees people, but is confused by their strange striped pajamas and their sad demeanor.

Bruno's loneliness is somewhat relieved when he becomes friends with a boy on the other side of the fence. They meet daily and exchange comments about their daily lives, but neither fully understands the circumstances of the other.

Boyne presents a story about the Holocaust like none other before. He brings tragedy to life through the eyes of innocent children. Readers of all ages will be spellbound until the last page and beyond.

Reviewed by: Sally Kruger, aka "Readingjunky"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas, Aug. 8 2006
By 
I reommend this book highly. It should be compulsory reading for everyone. A poignant story of a nine year old boy whose father is the commandant for the German army and lives next to the concentration camp, but doesn't really know what it is or what his father's real job is. He meets a boy the same age from the concentration camp and is a heartrending story of their friendship and family situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting plot but so-so writing quality, Jan. 14 2007
By 
yermither (Niagara, Ontario) - See all my reviews
This is a fiction book geared towards 9- to 12-year-olds. The reader gradually learns who the hero of the book is, through his recalling recent events in his family's move from Berlin to "Out-With".The plot is fairly interesting and the character development not too bad. The author should have continuously reminded himself, though, that he should be speaking and thinking like a 9-year-old. Too many times he puts words and thoughts into little Bruno's mouth and head that no 9-year-old would have in his vocabulary. And so many of the expressions are British/Irish, not German. Like telling his friend to put on a "jumper" when he is cold. The book needs a good editing, to remove these kinds of inaccuracies. There was also puerile use of repetition. I thought I would close the book at one point if the author used the phrase "Hopeless Case" one more time to refer to Bruno's older sister, or the description of his father's office as being "Out of Bounds At All Times And No Exceptions". What is the point of all this capitalization? Is he trying to sound like A.A. Milne's "Winnie the Pooh"? I realize it is difficult to come down to a child's level when trying to teach something as horrible as the Holocaust, and the author tried. I much preferred books by Carol Matas (Lisa's War, After the War), Lois Lowry (Number the Stars) for fictional accounts, and such ones as Daniel's Story for non-fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Moving, But Not Great, Dec 29 2009
By 
K. Edwards (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: The Boy in the Striped Pajamas (Paperback)
Bruno is nine years old. He is distraught when his family must leave their house in Berlin ' his father has received a promotion, and will now be in charge of a place called Out-With.

Out-With is very boring. The only thing of interest is a huge fence with lots of people behind it, who get to wear striped pajamas every day.

One day, while exploring, Bruno finds a boy named Shmuel on the other side of the fence. He discovers that they were born on exactly the same day, and they become fast friends. Shmuel says the soldiers are mean, but Bruno knows it can't be that bad if his father is in charge.

Then Shmuel's grandfather disappears. Months later, his father does too. Bruno is determined to help his friend, so he disguises himself in the striped pajamas and climbs under the fence.

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas, by John Boyne, is a powerful account of the Holocaust, as seen through the eyes of a child.

Although I found this book moving, I also found it slightly unbelievable: Bruno is old enough that he should have caught on to some of the things happening in the world around him. The tone is also a little to didactic for my choice. Nevertheless, this is worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Could not pud down, May 8 2014
Ce commentaire est de: The Boy in the Striped Pajamas (Paperback)
So interesting and to see it from the other side. This book is worth the read. It is also an easy read and would be a good vacation book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 4 STARS, May 5 2014
By 
Sofie (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Ce commentaire est de: The Boy in the Striped Pajamas (Paperback)
This book made me cry, in public...in a bookstore in Germany. Three, maybe four or five books have ever made me shed tears. This is one of them. Powerful, heart-breaking, and unforgettable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DIFFERENT VIEW OF WWII, July 3 2013
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
I enjoyed this book very much and so did my book club. It stirred up a lot of discussion, some thought it was naive, but then the story was about a young boy. As group they would highly recommend it to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It touches your heart, May 30 2013
Authors who can make me cry about thier books are simply the best authors. This book is one book that made me cry. My expiriences with this book was truelly amazing.
Although I laughed at some of the situations that I read about I know realize that there was nothing to laugh about since the book is actually very sad in the end.
Many Jews were killed in this concentration camp and we know that it is horrible to think of all the things Hitler did but we need to know about all these things.
Here is a poem that I wrote myself about Concentration Camps

Concentration Camps
O what a shame
Never any pity from those nasty Germans
Can we even express the horrible deeds done
Even we know that Jews are not animals
Not fair or even civelized
Truelly horrible
Ready to die?
Actually stupidity
Tired People
Inclosed in a fence
Opposite of nice
Never do something like it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas
The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne (Paperback - Oct. 23 2007)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.92
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews