Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mrs. Q: Book Addict : Visit my blog for newest reviews.
Words cannot describe how amazing this book is. A short read, but it has a huge impact on the reader. I had to read the ending twice, because I just couldn't believe it. I was shocked, and stunned. It should be a compulsory read, especially for young adults. This book should go hand and hand with "Night" by Eli Weisel. I wish I could give in 10 stars because it really...
Published on Feb. 26 2008 by Mrs. Q: Book Addict

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting plot but so-so writing quality
This is a fiction book geared towards 9- to 12-year-olds. The reader gradually learns who the hero of the book is, through his recalling recent events in his family's move from Berlin to "Out-With".The plot is fairly interesting and the character development not too bad. The author should have continuously reminded himself, though, that he should be speaking and thinking...
Published on Jan. 14 2007 by yermither


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mrs. Q: Book Addict : Visit my blog for newest reviews., Feb. 26 2008
This review is from: The Boy in the Striped Pajamas (Paperback)
Words cannot describe how amazing this book is. A short read, but it has a huge impact on the reader. I had to read the ending twice, because I just couldn't believe it. I was shocked, and stunned. It should be a compulsory read, especially for young adults. This book should go hand and hand with "Night" by Eli Weisel. I wish I could give in 10 stars because it really deserves it. My local book store has it on the "16 books you should read before you die" list. Honestly, you want a fast read that is simply amazing...GO BUY THIS BOOK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas, Aug. 8 2006
By 
I reommend this book highly. It should be compulsory reading for everyone. A poignant story of a nine year old boy whose father is the commandant for the German army and lives next to the concentration camp, but doesn't really know what it is or what his father's real job is. He meets a boy the same age from the concentration camp and is a heartrending story of their friendship and family situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting plot but so-so writing quality, Jan. 14 2007
By 
yermither (Niagara, Ontario) - See all my reviews
This is a fiction book geared towards 9- to 12-year-olds. The reader gradually learns who the hero of the book is, through his recalling recent events in his family's move from Berlin to "Out-With".The plot is fairly interesting and the character development not too bad. The author should have continuously reminded himself, though, that he should be speaking and thinking like a 9-year-old. Too many times he puts words and thoughts into little Bruno's mouth and head that no 9-year-old would have in his vocabulary. And so many of the expressions are British/Irish, not German. Like telling his friend to put on a "jumper" when he is cold. The book needs a good editing, to remove these kinds of inaccuracies. There was also puerile use of repetition. I thought I would close the book at one point if the author used the phrase "Hopeless Case" one more time to refer to Bruno's older sister, or the description of his father's office as being "Out of Bounds At All Times And No Exceptions". What is the point of all this capitalization? Is he trying to sound like A.A. Milne's "Winnie the Pooh"? I realize it is difficult to come down to a child's level when trying to teach something as horrible as the Holocaust, and the author tried. I much preferred books by Carol Matas (Lisa's War, After the War), Lois Lowry (Number the Stars) for fictional accounts, and such ones as Daniel's Story for non-fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Could not pud down, May 8 2014
This review is from: The Boy in the Striped Pajamas (Paperback)
So interesting and to see it from the other side. This book is worth the read. It is also an easy read and would be a good vacation book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 4 STARS, May 5 2014
By 
Sofie (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Boy in the Striped Pajamas (Paperback)
This book made me cry, in public...in a bookstore in Germany. Three, maybe four or five books have ever made me shed tears. This is one of them. Powerful, heart-breaking, and unforgettable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DIFFERENT VIEW OF WWII, July 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I enjoyed this book very much and so did my book club. It stirred up a lot of discussion, some thought it was naive, but then the story was about a young boy. As group they would highly recommend it to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It touches your heart, May 30 2013
Authors who can make me cry about thier books are simply the best authors. This book is one book that made me cry. My expiriences with this book was truelly amazing.
Although I laughed at some of the situations that I read about I know realize that there was nothing to laugh about since the book is actually very sad in the end.
Many Jews were killed in this concentration camp and we know that it is horrible to think of all the things Hitler did but we need to know about all these things.
Here is a poem that I wrote myself about Concentration Camps

Concentration Camps
O what a shame
Never any pity from those nasty Germans
Can we even express the horrible deeds done
Even we know that Jews are not animals
Not fair or even civelized
Truelly horrible
Ready to die?
Actually stupidity
Tired People
Inclosed in a fence
Opposite of nice
Never do something like it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars It's already been said, April 15 2013
This review is from: The Boy in the Striped Pajamas (Paperback)
The review by Kirk R. Jones "Ivan Yeremnko" (Canada) - says it all as I see it. I was greatly disturbed to find that this book was purchased as a class set by a teacher at the JH/HS in which I taught English grades 11 and 12. I see nothing of value in this book - not even as a really bad example of writing.
Please read Kirk R. Jones' review for specific details, all of which I agree with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Book, June 25 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Boy in the Striped Pajamas (Paperback)
Wow, this book is just... wow. I didn't want to put it down. I think the author did an amazing job at telling the story through Bruno's eyes. The fact that he wasn't really aware of what was really going on between the Nazi's and the Jews was so... real. I loved Bruno and Shmuel's friendship. The end was sad but perfect. I love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars THE BOY IN THE STRIPED PAJAMAS, April 2 2012
By 
Louise Jolly "Bookaholic" (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Boy in the Striped Pajamas (Paperback)
Story Description:

Random House Children's Books | October 23, 2007 | Trade Paperback

Berlin 1942.

When Bruno returns home from school one day, he discovers that his belongings are being packed in crates. His father has received a promotion and the family must move from their home to a new house far, far away, where there is no one to play with and nothing to do. A tall fence running alongside stretches as far as the eye can see and cuts him off from the strange people he can see in the distance.

But Bruno longs to be an explorer and decides that there must be more to this desolate new place than meets the eye. While exploring his new environment, he meets another boy whose life and circumstances are very different to his own, and their meeting results in a friendship that has devastating consequences.

My Review:

Bruno is nine-years-old when he arrives home from school one day to find the maid, Maria packing up the belongings in his room. He becomes very upset and demands to know what is going on when his mother comes into the room and asks him to meet her downstairs in the dining room. Bruno is so anxious that he speeds past his mother and his waiting for her downstairs before she even has a chance to step off the first stair. She tells Bruno that his father has received an important promotion and they must leave Berlin and move to another city and live in another house. Bruno, of course, is quite upset as he doesn't want to leave his beloved home nor his three best friends. His mother assures him that things will be alright and that the whole family including: Bruno; his twelve-year-old sister, Gretel; their father; the maid, Maria; the butler, Lars; and Cook will all be moving together.

When they arrive at the new house Bruno is very disappointed as it sat almost in the middle of nowhere with no other homes nearby nor markets or stores. All Bruno can see from the window of his new bedroom is a fence with barbed wire on top, some huts in the distance, and older men, younger men, and boys all wearing the same grey striped pajamas and grey striped cap with soldiers watching them. He doesn't even know what his father's job is.

What is this place and what could possibly be his father's job working with all these dirty, filthy people all dressed the same? He wants to be an explorer so decides to go for a walk. He follows the fence along for quite a distance until he comes to a piece of fencing where he sees a small boy. The boy approaches the fence and he and Bruno and make introductions and begin talking. The boy's name is Shmuel, he is the same age as Bruno and even shares the same birthday. During an entire year, naïve Bruno brings his new friend bread, cheese and cake most days as the boy doesn't have enough to eat.

One day Bruno is told by his father that his mother, Gretel and Bruno will be returning to Berlin while he stays and continues working at the same job. He tells Bruno that it is no place to raise children and he'd be much happier back in Berlin. Bruno is devastated, he doesn't want to go back to Berlin now because he doesn't want to leave Shmuel but they plan to have a last day together like no other bringing the story to a crashing end! I was totally taken aback at the ending and didn't expect it at all.

John Boyne has written a book about nine-year-olds that isn't for nine-year-olds as it says on the back cover of the novel. Don't miss this one people, it'll surprise you and break your heart so have some kleenex standing by. Beautifully and hauntingly written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas
The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne (Paperback - Oct. 23 2007)
CDN$ 10.99 CDN$ 9.89
Usually ships in 3 to 5 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews