Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In Search of Xian, Nov. 26 2003
By 
B. Marold "Bruce W. Marold" (Bethlehem, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Land Of Plenty (Hardcover)
Fuchia Dunlap's first book on Sichuan cooking is a very strong entry into the world of works on regional cuisines. I heartily agree with blurbs by such notables as John Thorne and Alan Davidson that the work puts Dunlap in the company of Diana Kennedy and Paula Wolfert. One can hope that future works validate this initial judgement. We can use a lot more books like this.
I believe it is common knowledge among foodies that there is a big difference between Sechuan and Cantonese cuisine, and that the former is characterized by very spicy foods. Viewing a few episodes with the Iron Chef Chinese will fill you on this. What this book covers is to characterize with great clarity and thoroughness what Sichuan cooking is all about.
The first impression I get is that Sichuan cooking is very highly codified, almost on the same level as French cuisine. This immediately reveals to the reader that, for example, there are easily a half dozen different types of stir fry cooking within Sichuan cuisine alone. It also means that the Sichuan doctrines on taste match or exceed Western culinary tradition. They have, for example, the concept of 'xian' which describes the 'indefinable, delicious taste of fresh meat, poultry, and seafood'. This is in addition to the real magic the cuisine does with the more familiar sweet, sour, salty, and bitter. The author effectively captures and communicates the importance of these tastes in Sichuan cuisine to the reader, including experiments so one can experience these tastes first hand.
The second impression I get is that chilis, that is, plants of the genus capsicum from the new world, had as big an impact on Sichuan cuisine as the tomato had on Italian cuisine, at roughly the same time in history. Before new world chilis arrived, the heat in this cuisine came primarily from a local red pepper, a berry similar to our familiar black pepper. In the seventeenth century, the genus capsicum really took over. Yet, the cuisine is not as fiery hot as one may find in Mexico or the Caribbean. The peppers most commonly used are just moderately hot and the author constantly warns against substituting Thai chili peppers for the Sichuan peppers, as the result would be painful.
Following Ms. Wolfert and Ms. Kennedy, the author has successfully translated the Chinese techniques for English speaking readers. However, one would not be able to fully appreciate or execute these recipes without some basic ingredients and equipment. I really believe that one would loose something in these recipes if one did not have a round bottom wok and it's tools. Fortunately, even very good Chinese woks are very inexpensive, especially at restaurant supply stores. For those with electric ranges, a flat bottomed wok may be a reasonable approximation. I would also recommend that one make the effort to get the authentic canned and bottled ingredients. Substitutions, even from other Asian cuisines may give very misleading results. For the non-foodie recipe hunter, I recommend the chicken recipes and the vegetable recipes. The Kung Pao recipe is worth the price of admission and one always needs a way to make veggies more interesting. (I was surprised when the grean bean recipes used the French haricort vert and not the long Asian grean bean.)
If Ms. Dunlap is not presenting authentic recipes, she has done a very good job of fooling me. She has also succeeded in keeping me thoroughly entertained with her headnotes and stories about how she came across the various dishes. The only heads up I would give you, dear reader, about the recipes is that sometimes important information about the recipe is given in the headnote, which people in a hurry may not read. Otherwise, this is a first class job of recipe writing.
The photographs are gathered in color sections and are of reasonable, but not extraordinary quality. The introductory background on Sichuan cuisine and appendices are superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must for the serious Asian 'foodie', Oct. 9 2006
By 
C. J. Thompson "Arctic John" (Pond Inlet, Nunavut Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Land Of Plenty (Hardcover)
I have a huge collection of cookbooks... This is one of my best. So many Szechuan cookbooks simply contain a collection of chinese recipes spiced up with chili paste.This one does interesting things with a wide range of spices (cardamom, sand ginger etc) that I really didn't realize were popular in some chinese cusines until I read this book. A must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real Chinese cookbook, July 28 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Land Of Plenty (Hardcover)
I'm an Asiaphile, and have been for a long time. And as a result, I'm only too aware of how hard it is to find really good Chinese cookbooks in English. This is one of them. Dunlop shares the recipes she learned at Sichuan's highest-profile cooking school, and puts them in context - not only do you learn how to cook the dish, you learn how to taste it as well.
If you're the kind of cook who'd rather eat after hours with the kitchen staff at your local Chinese restaurant than order the Americanised stuff on the menu, this book is for you. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rare book on Chinese regional cooking, June 18 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Land Of Plenty (Hardcover)
If you're a fan of Sichuan cuisine, this is the only book available in English that provides authentic recipes! Some items, particularly in the street food section, you'd be hard pressed to find in any restaurant here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best regional Chinese recipes, June 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Land Of Plenty (Hardcover)
Ms. Dunlop writes great recipes that are interesting and approachable. The book is good looking and well laid out.
I am enjoying both of her books (Revolutionary Chinese Cookbook) and will be ordering another soon. I believe her books are classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Coobook, but with one very SERIOUS caveat, Aug. 30 2003
By 
Rachel Perlow "The Perlows" (NJ, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Land Of Plenty (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful treatise on Sichuan cooking, but be advised that this book was originally written for the UK market and has only recently been adapted for US readers. Unfortunately, one of the most key ingredients in Sichuan cooking, the Sichuan Pepper or "fagara" which is used in at least half of the key recipes on this book, has been BANNED in the USA by the US Department of Agriculture because it carries a devastating canker virus that kills citrus plants. The US is not expected to lift this ban anytime soon, it may be decades before they consider the spice to be safe for import.
The two mail-order sources listed in the appendix in the book for Sichuan Peppercorn turn out to be duds, as they themselves have had their inventories seized. So the aspiring home chef looking to replicate these dishes at home will have to find the Sichuan Peppercorn via illicit means.
Check out egullet.com for more information on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A peppering of photos enhances the presentation, Jan. 12 2004
This review is from: Land Of Plenty (Hardcover)
Fuchsia Dunlop's Land Of Plenty is an impressive gathering of authentic Sichuan recipes personally gathered by Dunlop in the Chinese province of Sichuan provides dishes both available in other cookbooks and unique to this culinary guide. Access to a well-stocked Chinese market will aid in the appreciation of a guide which includes such regional specialties as Pork Steamed in Lotus Leaves and Braised Chicken with Chestnuts. A peppering of photos enhances the presentation but the 'meat' lies in its unusual dishes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply lovely, July 27 2003
This review is from: Land Of Plenty (Hardcover)
this is a WONDERFUL cookbook. i am truly enamored of the in-depth descriptions of the origins of the recipes and accompanying folklore about life and food for the sichuanese. our oldest daughter, adopted from chongqing in '98, loves to cook congee, or "zhou". i was so glad to find the recipe and name for the "strange but delicious purple porridge" we ate in chongqing in '98. we have priceless photos of a restaurant waitress shovelling spoonsful of the porridge into our then-10-month-old daughter, who loved it! now i know how to make that "zhou" at home.
our second daughter from china, adopted in guizhou province this past spring, may have to wait for her "guizhou cookbook". i wish i could find one! in the meantime, i highly recommend this book about the splendors of sichuan cuisine. "huo guo" (hot pot) for everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars question, July 16 2003
By 
dmitry (Moscow,Russia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Land Of Plenty (Hardcover)
I got Fuchsia'first book wich is a real treasure.But I do not understand whether this one is new.Want to hope it is.If anyone has red it, please let the world know.Thank u.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Land Of Plenty
Land Of Plenty by Fuchsia Dunlop (Hardcover - May 27 2003)
CDN$ 34.50 CDN$ 21.63
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews