Customer Reviews


223 Reviews
5 star:
 (142)
4 star:
 (56)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thinking outside the box
Michael Lewis deftly inserted himself into the A's front office to find out how a professional baseball team with a $40 million payroll can win 102 games and consistently 90 or more wins in subsequent years and compete with teams like the New York Yankees who have payrolls exceeding $130 million.
What he reveals is that by approaching baseball in a more rational,...
Published on July 19 2004 by Christopher Griffen

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining read, but may not be very enlightening to some.
Lewis is a gifted writer who draws attention the great things that Billy Beane has accomplished in Oakland. This is really the first time that Beane has been given the credit he deserves in the mainstream, and it is long overdue.
When discussing Beane's player evaluation techniques, Lewis outlines a field of study known as "sabermetrics." For anyone who...
Published on July 28 2003


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thinking outside the box, July 19 2004
By 
Christopher Griffen "Commitment to mediocrity!" (Pleasanton, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Moneyball (Paperback)
Michael Lewis deftly inserted himself into the A's front office to find out how a professional baseball team with a $40 million payroll can win 102 games and consistently 90 or more wins in subsequent years and compete with teams like the New York Yankees who have payrolls exceeding $130 million.
What he reveals is that by approaching baseball in a more rational, analytical way and doing away with all the traditional conventions, you can compete with anyone who doesn't do the same. Too many GMs and coaches are seduced by speed, home runs, and batters who swing at bad pitches when the simple truth of it is that in baseball the most precious thing you have are your three outs per inning. Anything that risks losing one or more of those outs is something you should avoid. As a long-time fan of the game, it's hard for me to swallow some of the anti-traditional things Lewis describes in this book. But the proof is in the pudding as they say and the A's success over the past several years is hard to argue with.
The focus of the book is A's GM Billy Beane, a former A's player himself who had a world of talent but could not transform that talent into a Hall of Fame career. He didn't have certain intangibles that are needed. Beane now recognizes those talents in the players he drafts, recruits and trades for. Beane's obsessive personality and unorthdox ways make for interesting reading. He's a man who seems horribly tortured by the game and yet thrives on his success in the game as well.
There are excellent mini-biographies in the book including one on A's first baseman, Scott Hatteberg, a Red Sox catcher who was thought all but done with baseball after he ruptured a nerve in his throwing arm. The A's reclamation project recognized a diamond in the rough and brought him aboard to train him as a first baseman, mostly so they could benefit from Hattie's shrewd batting.
Chad Bradford, the A's middle relief pitcher with the unorthodox pitching style and uncanny ability to get outs, is also profiled. A's minor league phenom Jeremy Brown, a former University of Alabama catcher who broke all sorts of NCAA records but wouldn't get a look from most pro teams, is also profiled. You get the sense from this book that there IS no traditional upbringing for a pro baseball player. The A's unusual collection of "misfits" all came from different backgrounds and most have taken a rather odd path to success.
This book is a great insiders look at a pro baseball team and how they approach the game from a very unique perspective. The most fascinating thing of it is, the A's didn't invent what they're doing at all. They're exploiting baseball wisdom that was anyone's for the taking for the past 30 years. You just need to know where to look.
If you're a baseball fan or just someone who can appreciate creativity and ingenuity in a world that promotes imitation, you'll enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Story - Even for the Non-Baseball Fan, Dec 16 2009
This review is from: Moneyball (Paperback)
Let me start out by stating this: I'm not a baseball fan. Hockey is my game. But Moneyball transcends the game itself because it is a great story. The failed athlete and now General Manager of the poor and humbled Oakland Athletics must figure out a way to compete against the freespending New York Yankees who have triple their budget. With a rag tag team of defective players, GM Billy Bean takes on the big market teams and baseball traditionalists with a couple of Havard grads with laptops.

And baseball will never be the same again.

Sure it has baseball and statistical analysis for content, but the real story is about a group of underdogs that by wit alone figure out a way to win an unfair game.

Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining read, but may not be very enlightening to some., July 28 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Moneyball (Hardcover)
Lewis is a gifted writer who draws attention the great things that Billy Beane has accomplished in Oakland. This is really the first time that Beane has been given the credit he deserves in the mainstream, and it is long overdue.
When discussing Beane's player evaluation techniques, Lewis outlines a field of study known as "sabermetrics." For anyone who has not yet been exposed to sabermetrics or has only a passing familiarity with the subject, this will be an eye-opening book and could change the way you view the game of baseball. Many of the things you thought you knew about baseball will be proven incorrect, and you will be introduced to a number of new concepts that you will undoubtedly use in the future.
On the other hand, for anyone who is already quite familiar with sabermetrics (and more specifically, Billy Beane), you will not get much out of this book. Chapters 2, 5, and 9 will be informative, but the rest is either filler or a review of concepts you already know. You won't regret reading the book, but it may not be a particularly memorable one for you (it wasn't for me, hence the three stars). For people in this situation, it would be fine to wait for the book to come out in paperback and save a few bucks.
Overall, I would recommend reading Moneyball, but don't set your expectations too high if you're already familiar with the subject matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read..., June 24 2003
By 
Max Frause (New York, NY

New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews

This review is from: Moneyball (Hardcover)
As an avid baseball fan, avid Seattle Mariner's fan, and avid Oakland Athletic's hater, I am in complete awe of this book. While I don't agree with every one of Billy Beane's philosophy's, so much of it makes sense. When you break it down, it's hard to dispute that it works for him. If every team used his thoughts would it work? Probably not, but that's the beauty of Billy and his team of computer nerds, they made a new way of thinking in baseball work.
Even if you're not a baseball fan, this book is a fabulous read. While he does go into great detail about many aspects of the game a casual observer wouldn't understand, he does it with such grace and elegance that it doesn't get the least bit heavy handed. Micheal Lewis is a master at turning in something that may seem dry to some, and making it a personal, touching story, with fabulous characters and incredible plot development. I highly recommend this book to anyone. It will be talked about for the next few decades for sure, if not beyond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating book for baseball fans! Even some non-baseball fans might enjoy the story., March 23 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Moneyball (Hardcover)
great book with a lot of fascinating insight into the world of professional baseball and how Sabermetrics has changed the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's Ok!, Nov. 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Moneyball (Paperback)
I am not a baseball fan, so I went into Moneyball with very little background information. That being said, the book was easy to follow and digest, and I found it to be enjoyable. The only negative thing I can say about it is that some of the chapters are too long, and just seem to drag on. I found myself putting the book down half way through a chapter, before coming back to it a day or two later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bookworm Wayne's Short Review, Sept. 17 2013
This review is from: Moneyball (Paperback)
Read this book if you want to learn about Sabermetrics or what it's like to be GM in MLB. Stats have changed baseball (but really I believe that football pioneered these micro-stats). Many of us have been virtual GM in fantasy sports league, but this book reveals what it's *really* like, with real-money and real jobs on the line.

Overall this book was great, quick read. As I said in my The Blind Side review, I liked it so much that I went and bought Lewis' other sporting book before I even finished this one.

For a more detailed review, please go to my blog here: [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Over a decade later, its relevance remains, May 27 2013
By 
Rodge (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Moneyball (Paperback)
The passing of some time gives us some perspective on the real success or otherwise, of the A's. Not everyone that they picked in that 2002 draft turned out to be so wonderful. Jeremy Brown made the big leagues, but that was about it. The challenge to the entrenched philosophies of baseball remains, though, and the increasing adoption throughout MLB of much of what the A's practiced shows that while they may not have been completely right, they weren't completely wrong. As long as the current situation in MLB continues, smarts will make up for some lack of $$, though not entirely. The Yankees make the playoffs every year, after all. Or maybe the Yankees aren't so dumb after all?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, May 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Moneyball (Paperback)
I love baseball and I in find stats interesting as well. I really enjoyed this book. It's just a great read. A great story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book Easy read, March 19 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Moneyball (Paperback)
I love Michael Lewis books. Well researched, well written with a touch of humor. All his books are a must
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb8b18138)

This product

Moneyball
Moneyball by Michael Lewis (Hardcover - May 27 2003)
CDN$ 27.50 CDN$ 17.24
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews