Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for the serious chef.
The benefits of having a skilled writer and a passionate chef collaborate is evident in this text. It is detailed, easy to read, clear for even a novice cook and is full of excitement and reverence for the craft.

I have been barbecuing, smoking, curing meat, making sausage and brining pork and poultry for many years and yet this book offered new insights and...
Published on April 27 2007 by Peter Follett

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite good but not perfect
I found this book quite interesting, informative and adequate about the theoritical aspect of things. I'm somehow sorry about many recipes, though. I was expecting something really more into the great French tradition of charcuterie, or close to the origins of some other recepies.

Some examples :
* a Merguez recipe that includes porc products is a...
Published on Dec 27 2010 by erivest


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for the serious chef., April 27 2007
By 
Peter Follett (Temiskaming, Ontario.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charcuterie: The Craft Of Salting Smoking And Curing (Hardcover)
The benefits of having a skilled writer and a passionate chef collaborate is evident in this text. It is detailed, easy to read, clear for even a novice cook and is full of excitement and reverence for the craft.

I have been barbecuing, smoking, curing meat, making sausage and brining pork and poultry for many years and yet this book offered new insights and fresh ideas I had not imagined possible.

Illustrations are used to advantage to explain techniques and easily replace the customary colour plates.

All aspects of the craft are fully detailed, recipes are well thought out and offer suggestions for variations. Ingredients, equipment and methods of work are all covered very well.

This volume will rest comfortably beside Rytek Kutas' legendary text.

Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference, perfect for the novice home charcutier, June 16 2010
By 
spike and wave (Toronto, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Charcuterie: The Craft Of Salting Smoking And Curing (Hardcover)
To get started, you may have to hunt down some specialized supplies/ingredients (pink salt is a must, nitrate for the extended cures, a grinder for sausage). The salt cures can be a little tricky to secure in Canada, but definitely worth pursuing. Canadians can order cures from the States (suppliers listed) - just know that the s/h charges will probably exceed the product prices. Best to buy in quantity.

I've been making sausage for years, but never cured or fermented meats. Curing whole meat slabs is actually quite simple ... apply cure to meat and refrigerate. Some cured meats benefit from air drying (that's what your cantina is for!) ... regulating temperature and humidity is important, here.

Ruhlman recommends trying a home cured bacon to begin with. For bacon, you mix a basic cure of kosher salt, pink salt, and sugar, apply to pork belly, place in a ziploc bag and refrigerate. After 1 week, you've got bacon. Smoking the meat after it cures will enhance the bacony flavor. This was the first recipe I attempted, and it came out perfectly. Next time, pancetta!

Excellent recipes, with clear, concise directions. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For the Advanced Cook, May 29 2014
By 
ATC123 - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Charcuterie: The Craft Of Salting Smoking And Curing (Hardcover)
I bought this book for a friend as a gift and then read it myself and I am glad that I did. It provided a good insight into what is involved with "prepared" goods and recipes it provides are worth the price of the book alone. If you like to make your own sausages, etc. and enjoy experimenting this is a great book. It is not for a novice or someone who is not prepared to pay attention to details but captures a wealth of information that unless you were a professional butcher, you would never know. This book is easy to read and is well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent resource, Jan. 7 2014
By 
Bill G. Riel - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charcuterie: The Craft Of Salting Smoking And Curing (Hardcover)
This is a fantastic guide to the craft of sausage making, enthusiastically covering topics such as salting, curing and smoking. The authors go beyond typical sausage recipe books and include information on making cured meats such as bacon and pastrami and even venture into the realm of dry-cured meat.

The book is well written and well illustrated. The authors have an obvious and contagious passion for the topic at hand. Very highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Charcuterie, July 12 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Charcuterie: The Craft Of Salting Smoking And Curing (Hardcover)
This is a great book for the first time or experienced sausage maker. Great explanation of the binding process when mixing the meat and spices together. I tried the corned beef brine with great results. It is an excellent reference book, for everything you ever wanted to know about processing meat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you love meat..., Dec 8 2013
By 
Dominic (Bangkok, Thailand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Charcuterie: The Craft Of Salting Smoking And Curing (Hardcover)
Then you'll definitely love Michael Ruhlman: Sausage king!
That sounds a bit off..... But in any case, "Charcuterie" is the book that got me started on an unhealthy obsession with cured meats. It's great for beginners and experts (advanced amateurs?) and has some great recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A useful reference, March 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Charcuterie: The Craft Of Salting Smoking And Curing (Hardcover)
This is a very useful how-to book for anyone contemplating making sausage or dry salami. This book explains step-by-step what you need and how to do it. It also has many useful tips and recipes. I found most useful as a reference book rather than a book to read cover to cover
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great help to a beginner sausage maker, Oct. 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Charcuterie: The Craft Of Salting Smoking And Curing (Hardcover)
Great help to a beginner sausage maker, fantastic place to start making yummy meats. Once you try a couple recipes you'll figure out how to tweak them to your own tastes. Just watch the salt ... there's a lot of them in these recipes for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book, May 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Charcuterie: The Craft Of Salting Smoking And Curing (Hardcover)
Just starting to get into sausage making and this book is perfect for me. It goes into enough explanation about techniques and equipment so you understand the techniques and the recipes are great. A wonderful general reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Meat curing for the home cook, Sept. 28 2009
By 
James Vidoczy (Toronto) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charcuterie: The Craft Of Salting Smoking And Curing (Hardcover)
This is the best book I have ever read for anyone who wants to make cured meats in the home kitchen. Excellent recipes and very clear directions. A must-have for the serious cook! Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Charcuterie: The Craft Of Salting Smoking And Curing
Charcuterie: The Craft Of Salting Smoking And Curing by Brian Polcyn (Hardcover - Nov. 22 2005)
Used & New from: CDN$ 45.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews