Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for the serious chef.
The benefits of having a skilled writer and a passionate chef collaborate is evident in this text. It is detailed, easy to read, clear for even a novice cook and is full of excitement and reverence for the craft.

I have been barbecuing, smoking, curing meat, making sausage and brining pork and poultry for many years and yet this book offered new insights and...
Published on April 27 2007 by Peter Follett

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite good but not perfect
I found this book quite interesting, informative and adequate about the theoritical aspect of things. I'm somehow sorry about many recipes, though. I was expecting something really more into the great French tradition of charcuterie, or close to the origins of some other recepies.

Some examples :
* a Merguez recipe that includes porc products is a...
Published on Dec 27 2010 by erivest


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for the serious chef., April 27 2007
By 
Peter Follett (Temiskaming, Ontario.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charcuterie (Hardcover)
The benefits of having a skilled writer and a passionate chef collaborate is evident in this text. It is detailed, easy to read, clear for even a novice cook and is full of excitement and reverence for the craft.

I have been barbecuing, smoking, curing meat, making sausage and brining pork and poultry for many years and yet this book offered new insights and fresh ideas I had not imagined possible.

Illustrations are used to advantage to explain techniques and easily replace the customary colour plates.

All aspects of the craft are fully detailed, recipes are well thought out and offer suggestions for variations. Ingredients, equipment and methods of work are all covered very well.

This volume will rest comfortably beside Rytek Kutas' legendary text.

Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For the Advanced Cook, May 29 2014
By 
ATC123 - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Charcuterie (Hardcover)
I bought this book for a friend as a gift and then read it myself and I am glad that I did. It provided a good insight into what is involved with "prepared" goods and recipes it provides are worth the price of the book alone. If you like to make your own sausages, etc. and enjoy experimenting this is a great book. It is not for a novice or someone who is not prepared to pay attention to details but captures a wealth of information that unless you were a professional butcher, you would never know. This book is easy to read and is well worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent resource, Jan. 7 2014
By 
Bill G. Riel - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charcuterie (Hardcover)
This is a fantastic guide to the craft of sausage making, enthusiastically covering topics such as salting, curing and smoking. The authors go beyond typical sausage recipe books and include information on making cured meats such as bacon and pastrami and even venture into the realm of dry-cured meat.

The book is well written and well illustrated. The authors have an obvious and contagious passion for the topic at hand. Very highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you love meat..., Dec 8 2013
By 
Dominic (Bangkok, Thailand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Charcuterie (Hardcover)
Then you'll definitely love Michael Ruhlman: Sausage king!
That sounds a bit off..... But in any case, "Charcuterie" is the book that got me started on an unhealthy obsession with cured meats. It's great for beginners and experts (advanced amateurs?) and has some great recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great recipes, Nov. 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Charcuterie (Hardcover)
The book is well written and easy to read. It is a must for someone who wants to make it themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Home run!, Aug. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Charcuterie (Hardcover)
I've tried a lot of charcuterie but this book represents the first time it has ever worked for me.

Ruhlman is an awesome food writer and he doesn't miss the mark with this excellent guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book, May 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Charcuterie (Hardcover)
Just starting to get into sausage making and this book is perfect for me. It goes into enough explanation about techniques and equipment so you understand the techniques and the recipes are great. A wonderful general reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A useful reference, March 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Charcuterie (Hardcover)
This is a very useful how-to book for anyone contemplating making sausage or dry salami. This book explains step-by-step what you need and how to do it. It also has many useful tips and recipes. I found most useful as a reference book rather than a book to read cover to cover
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Charcuterie, Feb. 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Charcuterie (Hardcover)
Well if you' like me are looking for an intro to international approaches to Charcuterie in English - here it is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific book on a daunting subject, Oct. 28 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Charcuterie (Hardcover)
Clear writing, makes me feel like i can make anything in it. I have already made Thuringer sausage, and am going to start on a pastrami this afternoon. Thorough, easy to read, and inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Charcuterie
Charcuterie by Brian Polcyn (Hardcover - Nov. 22 2005)
Used & New from: CDN$ 32.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews