Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars `Everywhere you look, you see signs of the Net's hegemony over the packaging and flow of information.'
Is our constant exposure to electronic stimuli good for us? Can we transform the data we receive into the knowledge we need? Are we swapping deep understanding for shallow distractions?

In this book, Nicholas Carr argues that our constant exposure to multiple and faster data streams is changing the way our brains are wired. This change, which is due to the...
Published on Sept. 1 2010 by Jennifer Cameron-Smith

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting
Interesting reflexions and research about effect of new technologies. But the content is at time too repetitive and lacks organisation of thoughts.
Published 17 months ago by Book Lover


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars `Everywhere you look, you see signs of the Net's hegemony over the packaging and flow of information.', Sept. 1 2010
By 
Jennifer Cameron-Smith "Expect the Unexpected" (ACT, Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Shallows, The (Hardcover)
Is our constant exposure to electronic stimuli good for us? Can we transform the data we receive into the knowledge we need? Are we swapping deep understanding for shallow distractions?

In this book, Nicholas Carr argues that our constant exposure to multiple and faster data streams is changing the way our brains are wired. This change, which is due to the inherent plasticity of the brain, tends to reduce our capacity to absorb and retain what we read. Mr Carr cites a number of different studies to support his views, and the book makes for interesting reading.

Mr Carr acknowledges that the digital world brings both advantage and disadvantage: `Every tool imposes limitations even as it opens possibilities.' The Internet is a wonderful tool for finding information, but value usually requires some analysis, and often requires a context which is not always immediately obvious. How do we find a balance between those aspects of life that require self-awareness, time and careful consideration, and those aspects of life where an automatic (or semi automatic) response is more appropriate and perhaps even required? Do we understand what choices we have, or are we responding in line with the immediacy of the medium we are using? Are we consumers of data or evaluators of information? Does it matter? I think it does: `The more distracted we become, the less able we are to experience the subtlest, most distinctly human forms of empathy, compassion, and emotion.'

The most valuable aspect of this book, to me, was thinking about the short and long term consequences of the Internet. Those of us who grew to adulthood before the Internet shaped the way we work and communicate have (to varying degrees) embraced the benefits and new possibilities afforded.

A return to the past is neither possible nor desirable - but conscious choice is both.

Jennifer Cameron-Smith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book on the history of thought processes, Jan. 13 2011
This review is from: Shallows, The (Hardcover)
Why aren't there more reviews of this book? Nicholas Carr's book is less to do with the internet, and more to do with how human thinking has evolved with the development of new communication technologies -- I picked it up because largely because of perverse pleasure in reading articles that bash the dumbing-down qualities of the internet, but it turned out to be a very well-balanced, well-argued, and ultimately frightening book about how even educated adult brains can be moulded to fit the ADD-multitask thought process made possible (and encouraged) by the internet. If you're wondering why you can't seem to type out a paragraph without simultaneously checking the Huffington Post, listening to a song on YouTube, watching a video on Failblog (or Cuteoverload, whichever your drug is), then this book will solve the mystery for you.

And while it solves no problems, it will make you more aware of what you are doing to yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A scientific and philosophical examination of the Internet's impact on YOUR brain, Aug. 11 2012
By 
Trevor Jones (Ottawa, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shallows, The (Hardcover)
This book is deeply personal, written directly to each of the hundreds of millions of people who spend many hours a day in front of a monitor. For those like me who are middle age, this provides incredible context for something we were likely glancingly aware of; the Internet, through e-books, computers and smart phones, is changing our brains. Nicholas Carr brings together a rich set of scientific and philosophical sources to demonstrate how technology that extends our intellect (clocks, maps, alphabets, the printing press, the computer, the Internet) has ended up changing everything from our worldview to the physical makeup of our brains. The chapter on Google is an insightful aside, reinforcing the main point that "our ability to engage in 'meditative thinking'...might become a victim of headlong progress." The author builds a case that being "Internet-connected" while trying to engage is meditative thinking is like reading a book while doing a crossword puzzle. It cannot be effectively done. The concern is that we are losing an essential element of our humanity and becoming more like the machines we spend so much time engaging with. Since computers aren't going away, and indeed are increasingly enriching our society in so many ways, this left me wondering how we teach our children to think calculatively and meditatively. Surely someone who is able to effectively combine calculative thinking (ie expertise in data mining) with meditative thinking (using data to drive real insights from complex, personal schema) has limitless opportunities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An insightful and interesting read, April 26 2012
By 
J. Hogan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shallows, The (Paperback)
An insightful and interesting read on how our brains work and how the internet is changing how we comprehend, understand and learn. Carr questions our pursuit of ever more user friendly interfaces. As we cede more of our thinking and understanding to technology, are we diminishing our own cognitive abilities?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Anything but shallow, April 4 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shallows, The (Paperback)
The Shallows by Nicholas Carr is a book that can make you feel stupid at times if you are of average intelligence as I am. I have read quite a few popular books dealing with scientific information that is written so the lay reader can understand. This book was a bit difficult but the information so essential that I plodded through it however slowly. The Shallows is well written and clearly underlines a problem that far too many of us trustingly ignore: What the internet is doing to our brains. It's not frightening information but it is timely and should not be ignored as we look for better and faster and less cumbersome technologies. It made me want to reassess my need for wireless technology; in some cases I've eliminated it, in others I've begun to use it more wisely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome !, March 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shallows, The (Paperback)
Very informative, content is very coherent and will make you realize how much we need to step away from the internet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Shallows: What the Internet Is Doing to Our Brains, June 18 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Well researched and cause for refection; an excellent read for those who are entrapped in the needless cycle of urgent and non-essential connectivity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Shallows, July 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shallows, The (Paperback)
A very perceptive author with a unique perspective on the impact of the internet on our society in general an on individuals as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, Nov. 10 2012
By 
Book Lover "Book Lover" (Montréal, Québec Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shallows, The (Paperback)
Interesting reflexions and research about effect of new technologies. But the content is at time too repetitive and lacks organisation of thoughts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae1929fc)

This product

Shallows, The
Shallows, The by Nicholas Carr (Hardcover - May 25 2010)
CDN$ 33.50 CDN$ 21.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews