Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Countdown to Black Friday in Home & Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Countdown to Black Friday in Lawn & Garden

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars27
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: HardcoverChange
Price:$22.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 27, 2012
There was no need for Michael Lewis to go to Europe to understand what was going on during the latest financial crisis. Although the chapters on Greece, Iceland, Ireland and Germany are fine to read and full of details, neither of these countries describes more accurately the gravity of the situation than the last chapter about California.
Lewis is following former governor Arnold Schwarzenneger on his bike in 2011, and we can see right in this part on California's debt and relation of its people with money and taxes, where everything has started. You won't learn that much by reading this if you've already read "The big short", but Lewis is a great storyteller. And this story is still going on. A year after this book has been published, the eurozone is stil in big trouble. It's frightening.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon November 22, 2011
Michael Lewis is always informative while keeping the reader interested - this book is consistent with his previous work in that regard. This book is somewhat a continuation of the theme of "The Big Short". This time he goes abroad to view what went wrong in Iceland, Ireland, Greece & Germany. Once can't help but think that natives of these countries will be insulted, but that's what you get with Lewis. I found the chapter on Germany weakened - Lewis for some indefinable reason gets obsessed with scatological subjects. Lewis insists its the Germans who are obsessed but the reader has reasons to wonder if Lewis is not perhaps their equal?

The final chapter brings home the bite as Lewis returns to the US, particularly California, suggesting that the next Greece might be right here.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2013
I have read several of Michael's books and this is one of his best. Michael points out how many nations monetary systems all started to come apart at the same time, just in different formats. The prime culprit in each case was easy credit and excessive greed. This easy to read overview of half a dozen different countries gives a macro view of the world with cheap credit and lax rules allowing massive leverage. After reading Boomerang I have a much better understanding of what went wrong during the credit crisis!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2011
For anyone looking for a easy to understand, non technical explanation of the current European financial meltdown, this is the best one I've seen so far. Lewis goes a little too easy on the significant role US policy makers and Wall St powerbrokers played in the crisis, but I'm sure the inevitable day of reckoning for the US markets (likely to begin to play out after the 2012 election cycle) will make for an equally good sequel.

If any of us will be able to afford to buy the sequel, that is :-)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2015
Michael Lewis is a good writer, a little cynical sometimes and also a king at spotting hilarious behavior in the financial world; in the case of boomerang, he describes four contenders for the Big joke award, being Iceland,Greece,Ireland and Germany.
The story is short (200 pages) , precise and well documented as always, for the books Lewis writes.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2015
This was the first book I'd read by Michael Lewis. He is a really good writer (I have since read three other of his books). He subject here is a travelogue of financial catastrophes (since 2008). Iceland, Ireland, Greece, Hamburg (Who knew?) California cities. It's entertaining to read, it's topical, it's informative. What more can you ask.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Michael Lewis has a voice and a critical intellect that shines through murky worlds where people want things kept obscure. There was a great deal of embarrassment, grief and loss following the finacial debacle of 2008. Lewis went on the road to investigate and as always spared no prisoners. His account in incisive, funny and well worth the read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2015
fantastic read that explains how the greedy american bankers screwed most of the developed world in 2008
Michael Lewis is a very funny and entertaining writer. I couldn't put it down and bought copies for many of my friends.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2013
It's a little scary to know our delicate world economy depends on human judgement and moral authority, or lack of it.
At least the Greeks didn't work hard at trying to mask their lack of it. I, for one, am buying Gold.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2014
One of the most interesting books of this type that I have read. The mind boggles at the greed, arrogance and stupidity of those who are supposedly leading the financial community in these countries.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Flash Boys: A Wall Street Revolt
Flash Boys: A Wall Street Revolt by Michael Lewis (Paperback - March 24 2015)
CDN$ 14.21

The Big Short: Inside The Doomsday Machine
The Big Short: Inside The Doomsday Machine by Michael Lewis (Paperback - Feb. 1 2011)
CDN$ 15.00

Liar's Poker
Liar's Poker by Michael Lewis (Paperback - March 2 2010)
CDN$ 13.87