Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing Story Regarding Financial Madness
Lewis decides to become a financial disaster tourist, and travels to various bankrupt European countries. He wants to find out at the ground level, what happened in; Iceland, Greece, and Ireland. Well Lewis collects the data he was looking for, and spins out quite the story.

In a nutshell these countries get a hold of cheap foreign credit, and go into a wild...
Published on Sept. 30 2011 by Patrick Sullivan

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An American Point of View
Lewis demonstrates with great panache that one book can be funny, brilliant and dead wrong, all at the same time. In Lewis's case, this is aggravating. His assessments of world fiscal situations have the ring of freshness, experience, truth and wisdom, yet his assessments of people, often quite humorous, are unsteady and thus undercut whatever it is he wishes to say about...
Published 21 months ago by Nordmann


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Stories behind the financial meltdown, July 2 2013
By 
Wayne Crookes (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
Lewis, a good story teller, gives the reader a background of many of the causes of the financial meltdown, including some of the cultural reasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We are all Greek, April 10 2013
By 
Gordon D Lamont (Lloydminster, Alberta) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's a little scary to know our delicate world economy depends on human judgement and moral authority, or lack of it.
At least the Greeks didn't work hard at trying to mask their lack of it. I, for one, am buying Gold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It wasn't just the Americans!, April 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Boomerang (Hardcover)
I have read several of Michael's books and this is one of his best. Michael points out how many nations monetary systems all started to come apart at the same time, just in different formats. The prime culprit in each case was easy credit and excessive greed. This easy to read overview of half a dozen different countries gives a macro view of the world with cheap credit and lax rules allowing massive leverage. After reading Boomerang I have a much better understanding of what went wrong during the credit crisis!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars California, Oct. 27 2012
By 
A. Castonguay (Quebec City, QC Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Boomerang (Hardcover)
There was no need for Michael Lewis to go to Europe to understand what was going on during the latest financial crisis. Although the chapters on Greece, Iceland, Ireland and Germany are fine to read and full of details, neither of these countries describes more accurately the gravity of the situation than the last chapter about California.
Lewis is following former governor Arnold Schwarzenneger on his bike in 2011, and we can see right in this part on California's debt and relation of its people with money and taxes, where everything has started. You won't learn that much by reading this if you've already read "The big short", but Lewis is a great storyteller. And this story is still going on. A year after this book has been published, the eurozone is stil in big trouble. It's frightening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tongue-in-Cheek Humor about Global Responses to Being Awash in Cheap Debt, Jan. 23 2012
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Boomerang (Hardcover)
"And you shall give the money, with which the excess number of them is redeemed, to Aaron and his sons." -- Numbers 3:48 (NKJV)

Did you ever win big in the lottery, obtain a large inheritance you didn't expect, get an extra several thousand dollars added to your credit limit, or take out a home equity line of credit? If so, you'll know what this book is all about: Suddenly having a lot of money available . . . and how you responded to that circumstance. Most people find something to spend it on . . . either for fun, for potential profit, or for foolish investments.

In the recent global expansion, ridiculously cheap debt was available to hundreds of millions of people and to governments of all kind in a way that was unprecedented. Almost everyone got themselves into financial trouble in the process.

In Boomerang, that entertaining writer of financial folly, Michael Lewis, visits Iceland, Greece, Ireland, Germany, and California to describe what happened differently in each case. You'll find his descriptions hilarious . . . if obviously oversimplified for good punch line effects. He leaves you in one of the most desperately broke municipalities in the world, providing a vision of what the future will look like for many of those governments that overspent.

While it's not up to Liar's Poker or The Big Short, Boomerang makes for a fun, quick read that will give you lots of laughs . . . and leave you with some solid food for thought about any debt crisis that might be impending in your part of the world.

The book could have been improved a lot by including some more overspending countries (such as building entirely empty cities that no one ever occupies in China to meet government quotas for growing the economy, Japan trying to spend its way out of a demographic disaster, and nations all around the world spending like crazy to put in infrastructure to supply demand that will evaporate as soon as all the governmental overspending is inevitably cut back). The substance could also have been increased to better balance the tongue-in-cheek oversimplifications of national "character." In places, the sections feel a lot like fluff (especially the section on Iceland).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice travel tale, Nov. 2 2011
By 
bookweasel (Calgary AB) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Boomerang (Hardcover)
This book does not have the depth or rigour of Lewis's earlier work. It is an easy read because of that. The stories told seem to me to be a simplistic view of the economic crises in the countries covered but are still solid as a major cause. If you are wondering how the global financial crisis got traction this is a good start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A layman's guide to financial ruin, Dec 17 2011
By 
bbb1771 (British Columbia, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Boomerang (Hardcover)
For anyone looking for a easy to understand, non technical explanation of the current European financial meltdown, this is the best one I've seen so far. Lewis goes a little too easy on the significant role US policy makers and Wall St powerbrokers played in the crisis, but I'm sure the inevitable day of reckoning for the US markets (likely to begin to play out after the 2012 election cycle) will make for an equally good sequel.

If any of us will be able to afford to buy the sequel, that is :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining as usual, Nov. 22 2011
By 
Rodge (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Boomerang (Hardcover)
Michael Lewis is always informative while keeping the reader interested - this book is consistent with his previous work in that regard. This book is somewhat a continuation of the theme of "The Big Short". This time he goes abroad to view what went wrong in Iceland, Ireland, Greece & Germany. Once can't help but think that natives of these countries will be insulted, but that's what you get with Lewis. I found the chapter on Germany weakened - Lewis for some indefinable reason gets obsessed with scatological subjects. Lewis insists its the Germans who are obsessed but the reader has reasons to wonder if Lewis is not perhaps their equal?

The final chapter brings home the bite as Lewis returns to the US, particularly California, suggesting that the next Greece might be right here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Nov. 15 2011
This review is from: Boomerang (Hardcover)
Great book, I thorougly enjoyed it and read it over a weekend. I really like this author he has a great sense of humour and makes teh complex seem easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Quite disappointing, May 8 2012
This review is from: Boomerang (Hardcover)
I am a big Michael Lewis fan but must say Boomerang was quite a disappointing read. I did not find anything insightful in this book, nothing new, it was more compilation of casual chats with different folks from some of countries hardest hit by the financial crisis (Iceland, Ireland, and Greece), as well as an overview of Germany's role in bailing out these countries (nothing new here) along with some background on German bank's willingness to be the purchaser of last resort of the subprime bonds being issued by Wall Street institutions. As well, presumably to fill up a few pages, some background was provided on Californian state financial crisis which i thought was totally out of context with the rest of the book.

Overall, the book was very disappointing, i don't think a lot of effort went into researching and writing this book (5 chapters, barely 200 pages in large font). Seems the book was more intended as a quick cash grab leveraging the author's previous works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Boomerang
Boomerang by Michael Lewis (Hardcover - Oct. 4 2011)
CDN$ 30.00 CDN$ 18.81
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews